DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 8, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “gradually” in claims 2 and 17 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “gradually” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It would not be clear to a PHOSITA how gradually the varying width structure must be to be considered “gradually decreases”.
The term “rough” in claim 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “rough” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It would not be clear to a PHOSITA how rough the surface must be to be considered “rough”. Examiner recommends using the term “textured” as stated in the Specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 9-10, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi (US Publication No. 2022/0201880, as cited in IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses an electronic device, comprising: a curved surface (Figure 6, pressing part 643); a flexible display (display 610) comprising a flat area (first section 612, fixed section 610a), and a bending area (second section 614, bendable section 610b), the bending area (614, 610b) configured to move along the curved surface (pressing part 643; see Paragraphs [0091] and Figure 6); and a supporting structure (bendable member 620) comprising a plurality of bars (bars 622) spaced apart from each other on a rear side of the bending area of the flexible display (rear side of 610b, 614), wherein a width of a center portion of at least one bar (width of center portion of 622) from among the plurality of bars (622) is larger than a width of an end portion of the at least one bar (width of end portion of 622).
Regarding claim 2 (as best understood), Choi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the at least one bar (622) comprises a varying width structure (see annotated Figure 17B below) that has a width that gradually decreases from the center portion (center portion of 622) toward the end portion (end portion of 622).
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the at least one bar (622) comprises at least one stepped jaw (Figures 7 and 17B, stepped portion between protrusion 624 and portion of 622 contacting 1622; see annotated Figure 17B below) such that a width of the at least one bar (622) decreases from the center portion (center portion of 622) toward the end portion (end portion of 622).
Regarding claim 4, Choi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the at least one bar (622) comprises a symmetrical structure with respect to the center portion (center portion of 622).
Regarding claim 5, Choi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a supporting plate (Figure 16, bending plate 1620) comprising a first surface (top surface of 1620) facing a rear side of the flexible display (rear of 610) and a second surface (bottom surface of 1620) contacting the supporting structure (620).
Regarding claim 6, Choi discloses the electronic device of claim 5, and further discloses wherein the supporting plate (1620) comprises an area corresponding to the bending area of the flexible display (see Figure 17B), and the area (see Figures 17B) comprises: at least one support area (support plate 1622) that contacts the plurality of bars (622); and at least one stretchable area (reduction section 1624) comprising a plurality of holes or slits (see Figure 17B), and wherein the at least one support area (1622) and the at least one stretchable area (1624) are alternately arranged (see Figure 17B).
Regarding claim 7, Choi discloses the electronic device of claim 5, and further discloses wherein the supporting plate (1620) comprises at least one support area (1622) to which the at least one bar (622) is adhered (see Figure 16), and a shape of the at least one support area (shape of 1622) corresponds to a shape of a surface of the at least one bar (shape of top surface of 622) that is adhered to the at least one support area (1622).
Regarding claim 9, Choi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the plurality of bars (622) comprise a first bar (first 622) and a second bar (second 622) adjacent to the first bar (first 622), and a portion of a surface of the first bar (inner surface of first 622) facing the second bar (second 622) is a flat inclined surface or a curved inclined surface (see Figure 16).
Regarding claim 10, Choi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the plurality of bars (622) comprise a first bar (first 622) and a second bar (second 622) adjacent to the first bar (first 622), and wherein, at the center portion of the first bar (center of first 622), a width of a first surface of the first bar (top surface of first 622) facing the flexible display (610) is larger than a width of a second surface of the first bar (bottom surface of 610) opposite to the first surface (top surface of 622; see Figure 16).
Regarding claim 16, Choi discloses a display assembly, comprising: a flexible display (Figure 6, display 610) comprising a flat area (first section 612, fixed section 610a), and a bending area (second section 614, bendable section 610b), the bending area (614, 610b) configured to move along a curved surface (pressing part 643; see Paragraphs [0091] and Figure 6) such that the flat area (612, 610a) moves toward or away from the curved surface (643) in a first direction (Figures 2-8, x-direction); and a supporting structure (bendable member 620) comprising a plurality of bars (bars 622) spaced apart from each other in the first direction (x-direction), the plurality of bars (622) positioned in a second direction (Figures 2-8, z-direction) perpendicular to the first direction (x-direction) of the bending area of the flexible display (second section 614, bendable section 610b), wherein a width of a center portion of at least one bar (center portion of 622) from among the plurality of bars (622) is larger than a width of an end portion of the at least one bar (ends of 622), and wherein the end portion (ends of 622) is on a side of the center portion (center of 622) in a third direction (Figures 2-8, y-direction) perpendicular to the first direction (x-direction) and the second direction (z-direction).
Regarding claim 17 (as best understood), Choi discloses the display assembly of claim 16, and further discloses wherein the at least one bar (622) comprises a varying width structure (see annotated Figure 17B above) comprising a width in the first direction (x-direction) that gradually decreases from the center portion (center portion of 622) toward the end portion (end portion of 622) in the third direction (y-direction).
Regarding claim 18, Choi discloses the display assembly of claim 16, and further discloses wherein the at least one bar (622) comprises at least one stepped jaw (see Figures 17B below) such that a width of the at least one bar (width of 622) in the first direction (x-direction) decreases from the center portion (center portion of 622) toward the end portion (end portion of 622) in the third direction (y-direction).
Regarding claim 19, Choi discloses the display assembly of claim 16, and further discloses wherein the at least one bar (622) comprises a symmetrical structure with respect to the center portion (center of 622).
Regarding claim 20, Choi discloses the display assembly of claim 16, further comprising a supporting plate (Figure 16, bending plate 1620) comprising a first surface (top surface of 1620) facing a rear side of the flexible display (rear of 610) and a second surface (bottom surface of 1620), opposite the first surface (top surface of 1620), contacting the supporting structure (620).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Alternatively, under a different interpretation of Choi, claims 2 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US Publication No. 2022/0201880).
Regarding claim 2 (as best understood), Choi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the at least one bar (622) comprises a varying width structure (see annotated Figure 17B below) that has a width that stepwise decreases from the center portion (center portion of 622) toward the end portion (end portion of 622).
While Choi does not disclose a varying width structure that has a width that gradually decreases from the center portion toward the end portion, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the stepped, varying width structure to be a gradual, varying width structure, considering a change in shape has been held to be an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art, absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed feature is significant. See MPEP § 2144.04 and In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed
container was significant.).
Regarding claim 17 (as best understood), Choi discloses the display assembly of claim 16, and further discloses wherein the at least one bar (622) comprises a varying width structure (see annotated Figure 17B above) comprising a width in the first direction (x-direction) that stepwise decreases from the center portion (center portion of 622) toward the end portion (end portion of 622) in the third direction (y-direction).
While Choi does not disclose a varying width structure that has a width that gradually decreases from the center portion toward the end portion, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the stepped, varying width structure to be a gradual, varying width structure, considering a change in shape has been held to be an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art, absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed feature is significant. See MPEP § 2144.04 and In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US Publication No. 2022/0201880) in view of Wu (US Publication No. 2022/0167509).
Regarding claim 8 (as best understood), Choi discloses the electronic device of claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the at least one bar comprises a rough surface that faces towards the rear side of the flexible display.
However, Wu discloses wherein at least one bar (support plate 30, corresponding to bendable member 620 in Choi) comprises a rough surface (see Figure 17 and Paragraphs [0091]-[0092]) that faces towards the rear side of the flexible display (flexible display 10).
Because Choi also teaches bendable member 620 being coupled to bending plate 1620 (corresponding to bending auxiliary layer 20 in Wu) via adhesive, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the upper surface of the bars in Choi to include a textured surface, as taught in Wu. Doing so would have increased the adhesion between the bendable member and bending plate (see Paragraphs [0091]-[0092] in Wu).
Claims 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (US Publication No. 2022/0201880) in view of Kim (US Publication No. 2020/0319672).
Regarding claim 11, Choi discloses a display assembly of an electronic device, comprising: a flexible display (Figure 6, display 610) comprising a flat area (first section 612, fixed section 610a) and a bending area (second section 614, bendable section 610b), the bending area (614, 610b) configured to move along a curved surface (pressing part 643; see Paragraphs [0091] and Figure 6); and a supporting plate (Figure 16, bending plate 1620) comprising a first surface (top surface of 1620) facing a rear side of the bending area (rear side of 614, 610b), a portion of the supporting plate (1620) corresponding to the bending area (614, 610b) comprising at least one stretchable area (reduction section 1624) and at least one support area (support plate 1622) that are alternatively arranged (see Figures 17B), wherein the at least one stretchable area (1624) comprises a plurality of holes or slits (see Figures 17B).
Choi does not disclose wherein a central portion of the at least one support area has a larger width than a width of an end portion of the at least one support area.
However, Kim teaches a supporting plate (Figure 9B, conductive plate 450) comprising at least one stretchable area (flexible portion 453) and at least one support area (flat portion 451, 452) that are alternatively arranged (see Figure 9B), wherein the at least one stretchable area (453) comprises a plurality of holes or slits (openings 4531), wherein a central portion of the at least one support area (center of 451, 452) has a larger width (Figure 9B, center portions of 451, 452 that extend in area B3) than a width of an end portion of the at least one support area (ends of 451, 452).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective file date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the support area in Choi such that the central portion was larger than the edge portions, as taught in Kim. Doing so would have enhanced the rigidity of the center portion of the supporting plate (see Paragraph [0113] in Kim).
Regarding claim 12, Choi in view of Kim teaches the display assembly of claim 11, and further teaches (in Kim) wherein a center portion of the at least one stretchable area (Figure 9B, openings 4531 in B3 area) has a smaller width (see Figure 9B) than a width of an end portion of the at least one stretchable area (ends of 453).
Regarding claim 13, Choi in view of Kim teaches the display assembly of claim 11, further comprising (in Choi) a supporting structure (bendable member 620) comprising a bar (bars 622) on a support area (1622, as modified by Kim) from among the at least one support area (1622, as modified by Kim; see Figures 17B).
Regarding claim 14, Choi in view of Kim teaches the display assembly of claim 13, and further teaches (in Choi) wherein the support area (1622, as modified by Kim) has a shape (stepped-rectangular shape; see Figure 17B) corresponding to a shape of the bar (622).
Regarding claim 15, Choi in view of Kim teaches the display assembly of claim 13, and further teaches wherein a center portion of the bar (center of 622) has a larger width (see Figures 7 and 17B) than a width of an end portion of the bar (ends of 622).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hwang (US Publication No. 20230073467), Lee (KR Publication No. 2022/0072695), Cha (US Publication No. 2021/0385315), Han (US Publication No. 2017/0060188), Sun (US Publication No. 2017/0285688), Lindblad (US Publication No. 2018/0095551), Choi (US Publication No. 2018/0124931), Yang (US Patent No. 10117346), Jo (US Patent No. 10871797), Song (US Patent No. 10904371), and Song (US Patent No. 10955876) also disclose elements of the claimed invention.
/GAGE CRUM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841
gsc