Detailed Action
1. This Office Action is responsive to the Amendment/Request for Reconsideration filed 07/20/2026. Claims 1-10 are pending for examination. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Interpretation
3. The claims 1-9 in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
As explained in MPEP 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
4. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a reset execution determination unit”, “a reset state information notification unit”, “a reset execution suspension unit” and “a reset execution release unit” in claims 1-5 and “a reset state information setting unit”, “a reset state information determination unit”, “a transmission suspension unit”, “an information transmission unit”, “a schedule existence determination unit” and “a reset execution suspension request notification unit” in claims 6-9.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
1Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof, may obtain a patent therefore, subject to the conditions and requirements of this title.
6. Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
7. The independent claim 1 recites the limitations “determining, whether a reset of the in-vehicle communication device is executable; and notifying the push server of reset state information”, are directed to generic computer module interfacing such as receiving, sending and displaying data. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as follows:
The limitations of “determining, whether a reset of the in-vehicle communication device is executable; and notifying the push server of reset state information”, as drafted, are processes that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “a reset execution determination unit and a reset state information notification unit”, nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the independent claim 1 recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the independent claim 1 only recites using “a reset execution determination unit and a reset state information notification unit” to perform the determining and notifying steps. The “a reset execution determination unit and a reset state information notification unit” are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The independent claim 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using “a reset execution determination unit and a reset state information notification unit” to perform the determining and notifying steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
8. The independent claim 10 recites the limitations “transmit, to an in-vehicle electronic control unit that is connected to the in-vehicle communication device, push data in response to receiving the push data from a push server; determine whether a reset of the in-vehicle communication device is executable; and transmit, to the push server, reset state information”, are directed to generic computer module interfacing such as determining and transmitting data. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception as follows:
The limitations of “transmit, to an in-vehicle electronic control unit that is connected to the in-vehicle communication device, push data in response to receiving the push data from a push server; determine whether a reset of the in-vehicle communication device is executable; and transmit, to the push server, reset state information”, as drafted, are processes that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, cover performance of the limitations in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “a processor”, nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed in the mind. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the independent claim 10 recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the independent claim 10 only recites using “a processor” to perform the determining and transmitting steps. The “a processor” is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
The independent claim 10 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using “a processor” to perform the determining and notifying steps amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by HAYASHI (US 2021/0288870 A1).
11. As to claim 1, HAYASHI teaches an in-vehicle communication device transmitting, to an in-vehicle electronic control unit, push data in response to receiving the push data from a push server, the push server transmitting the push data to the in-vehicle communication device in response to reception of a transmission request of the push data from an application server ([0023]: the communication device 100 transmits and receives information on the operation of the communication device 100 by communicating with the management server 200 via the network N2), the in-vehicle communication device comprising:
a reset execution determination unit determining, according to an operation state of the in-vehicle communication device, whether a reset of the in-vehicle communication device is executable ([0030]: The failure detection unit 105 has a function of detecting a failure that has occurred in the communication device 100); and
a reset state information notification unit notifying, in response to determining that the reset of the in-vehicle communication device is executable, the push server of reset state information, which indicates that the in-vehicle communication device is in a reset state, in association with device identification information of the in-vehicle communication device before starting the reset of the in-vehicle communication device, wherein the device identification information enables identifying of the in-vehicle communication device ([0024]: If the communication device 100 has a failure due to a malfunction, the communication device 100 transmits, to the server 200, the notification information for providing a notification that a failure has occurred in the communication device 100. Inherently, any communication/notification message between a client device and a server includes device identification information identifying the client device and the server).
12. As to claim 10, claim 10 is a corresponding in-vehicle communication device that recites similar limitations as of device claim 1 and does not contain any additional limitations with respect to novelty and/or inventive steps; therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAYASHI, in view of Moriguchi et al. (US 2004/0203918 A1), hereinafter “Moriguchi”.
15. As to claim 2, HAYASHI teaches the in-vehicle communication device according to claim 1, wherein the reset state information notification unit notifies the push server of the reset state information ([0024]: If the communication device 100 has a failure due to a malfunction, the communication device 100 transmits, to the server 200, the notification information for providing a notification that a failure has occurred in the communication device 100), but does not further teach “notifies the push server of period information indicating an estimated period of time until reconnection of a communication line between the in-vehicle communication device and the push server is completed or time information indicating an estimated time at which the reconnection of the communication line between the in-vehicle communication device and the push server is completed”.
In an analogous art, Moriguchi teaches that when the time reporting unit 205a predicts the line will be disconnected in Step S102, it further predicts whether the line can be re-connected or not within a specific time based on the prediction result of the communication level obtained by the prediction unit 204 (Step S106). As its result, if the time reporting unit 205a predicts the line can be reconnected after 9 minutes, it reports the user and his calling party on the time required for reconnection (9 minutes) ([0100]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of HAYASHI and Moriguchi to achieve the claimed invention to enable the system to notify all communication parties about the failure/reset state information and the predicted reconnection time to prevent sudden disconnection/failure of the communication (Moriguchi, [0012]).
16. Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HAYASHI, in view of Whiting et al. (US 2022/0194236 A1), hereinafter “Whiting”.
17. As to claim 3, HAYASHI teaches the in-vehicle communication device according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach “a reset execution suspension unit that suspends execution of the reset in response to reception of a reset execution suspension request from the push server”.
In an analogous art, Whiting teaches that the user may remotely control the automotive power system 100 via user commands at the portable electronic device 152. For example, the user commands to start/stop (i.e., suspend) the charge, restart or reset the automotive power system 100 ([0075]). It’s obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the user commands at the portable electronic device can be transmitted to the vehicle via network entities such as a push server.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of HAYASHI and Whiting to achieve the claimed invention to enable the system to remotely facilitate monitoring and controlling of a vehicle.
18. As to claim 5, HAYASHI-Whiting teaches the in-vehicle communication device according to claim 3, further comprising a reset execution suspension release unit that releases suspension on the execution of the reset in response to reception of a reset execution suspension release request from the push server (Whiting, [0075]: the user may remotely control the automotive power system 100 via user commands at the portable electronic device 152. For example, the user commands to start/stop (i.e., suspend) the charge, restart or reset the automotive power system 100).
Allowable Subject Matter
19. Claims 6-9 are allowable over prior art.
20. Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
21. Further references of interest are cited on Form PTO-892, which is an attachment to this Office Action.
/QUANG N NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453