DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This action is in response to the applicant’s filing on October 28, 2024. Claims 1-17 are pending and are examined below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. US 12201044 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims recite nearly identical subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 10-12 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wallach et al., US20210022282A1, hereinafter referred to as Wallach, respectively.
As to claim 1, Wallach discloses a method for executing agricultural actions on an agricultural field comprising:
determining a nominal blade separation distance for a weeding module of an autonomous agricultural system (Control blade position via blade actuators – See at least Abstract; Examiner notes blade position is indicative of a nominal blade separation distance in that nominal is understood as a control system input.);
at the autonomous agricultural system, while traversing the agricultural field (Autonomous operation – See at least ¶47):
detecting a first target plant aligned with the weeding module (Sensors for observing plants in target row to maintained – See at least ¶52 and Fig. 4);
autonomously controlling a first weeding action based on a location of the first target plant (Autonomous operation – See at least ¶47; Weeding, i.e., “a first weeding action,” in response to tracking plant position – See at least Abstract), comprising:
in response to the first target plant approaching the weeding module, autonomously triggering the weeding module to open a set of weeding blades to the nominal blade separation distance (Can leave blades closed until approaching plant – See at least ¶44; Examiner notes ¶44 of Wallach is discussing the prior art with respect t Wallach, however, Wallach builds on the prior art – See at least ¶47; Feedback controlled blade actuation – See at least ¶47; Variable blade speed actuators – See at last ¶19; Examiner notes feedback necessarily requires an initial, i.e., “nominal,” value.); and
in response to the first target plant passing the weeding module, triggering the weeding module to close the set of weeding blades (Modify blade actuation in accordance with feedback – See at least ¶47; Examiner notes this blade actuation can include opening or closing the weeding blades as necessary as shown in Fig. 4); and
based on sensor feedback, characterizing a motion for the first weeding action (Modify blade actuation, i.e., “motion for weeding action,” in accordance with feedback – See at least ¶47.);
providing feedback to a remote computing system comprising: the motion for the first weeding action and at least one image of the first target plant (Modify blade actuation in accordance with feedback – See at least ¶47; Analyze camera images – See at least Abstract; Remote control based in part on image data to perform disclosed weeding operations – See at least ¶67);
responsive to the feedback, adjusting the nominal blade separation distance for the weeding module (Continuous feedback control and blade trajectory based on maintaining appropriate distance so as to not disturb plant, i.e., distance is maintained to ensure zero plant motion – See at least ¶53 and Fig. 7); and
at the autonomous agriculture system, controlling a second weeding action based on the adjusted nominal blade separation distance (Continuous operation, i.e., first, second, third, etc., weeding actions – See at least ¶53).
As to claim 6, Wallach discloses prior to the second weeding action: resetting the weeding module from the remote computing system (Continuous and iterative feedback – See at least ¶55 and Fig. 5; Examiner notes no details are provided as to what reset means therefore Wallach’s disclosure regarding a continuously adjustable weeding action meets the broadest reasonable interpretation of “resetting” because Wallach’s control system adapts to necessary conditions.).
As to claim 10, Wallach discloses the feedback comprises: the location of the first target plant, a plant type of the first plant, a plant size of the first plant, and a set of weeding metrics (Feedback control of blades for weeding various crops, wherein plants may be of various sizes and shapes, i.e., “types” and “maturity,” and corresponding blade control, i.e., “weeding metrics” – See at least ¶47 and 55 and Fig. 5; Examiner notes size and shape can indicate both crop type and maturity, as different sizes and shapes are indicative of types, and maturity in that larger plants are typically more mature than smaller plants.).
As to claim 11, Wallach discloses the set of weeding metrics comprises a count of weeding actions (Repetition at any desired frequency – See at least ¶55).
As to claim 12, Wallach discloses a method comprising: at an autonomous agriculture system which is traversing in an agricultural field:
detecting a first target plant aligned with an actuator (Sensors for observing plants in target row to maintained – See at least ¶52 and Fig. 4);
autonomously controlling the actuator based on a location of the first target plant and a set of control parameters Autonomous operation – See at least ¶47; Plant position – See at least Abstract and Fig. 5); and
based on sensor feedback, characterizing a motion of the actuator (Feedback controlled blade actuation, including blade trajectories – See at least ¶47 and Fig. 5);
providing, to a remote computing system comprising, feedback with a request for remote assistance, the feedback comprising: the motion and at least one image of the first target plant (Modify blade actuation in accordance with feedback – See at least ¶47; Analyze camera images – See at least Abstract; Remote control based in part on image data to perform disclosed weeding operations – See at least ¶67);
responsive to the feedback, adjusting the set of control parameters for the weeding module (Continuous feedback control and blade trajectory based on maintaining appropriate distance so as to not disturb plant, i.e., distance is maintained to ensure zero plant motion – See at least ¶53 and Fig. 7); and
at the autonomous agriculture system, controlling the actuator based on the adjusted set of control parameters (Continuous operation – See at least ¶53 and Fig. 5).
As to claim 16, Wallach discloses the feedback comprises: the location of the first target plant, a plant type of the first plant, a plant size of the first plant, and a set of actuation metrics (Feedback control of blades for weeding various crops, wherein plants may be of various sizes and shapes, i.e., “types” and “maturity,” and corresponding blade control, i.e., “actuation metrics” – See at least ¶47 and 55 and Fig. 5; Examiner notes size and shape can indicate both crop type and maturity, as different sizes and shapes are indicative of types, and maturity in that larger plants are typically more mature than smaller plants. )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallach et al., US20210022282A1, in view of Wang et al., US 20210192180 A1, hereinafter referred to as Wallach, and Wang, respectively.
As to claims 2 and 13, Wallach discloses the sensor feedback comprises a sequence of images captured during the first weeding action (Imaging as autonomous vehicle performs weeding in a continuous loop, i.e., “over time” – See at least ¶53). Wallach fails to explicitly disclose wherein the motion comprises a centroid motion of the first target across the sequence of images. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wallach and include the feature of the motion comprises a centroid motion of the first target across the sequence of images, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Wang teaches it is well-known and routine in the art of object tracking to use centroids (See at least ¶6-7 and claim 1 of Wang).
As to claim 3, Wallach discloses determining terminal weeding associated with the first target plant based on satisfaction of a motion threshold (Feedback loop for controlling weeding, i.e. “terminal weeding,” and motion of blades – See at least ¶55 and Fig. 5. Examiner notes feedback necessarily includes thresholds in order to effect changes in each feedback iteration.).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallach et al., US20210022282A1, in view of Wang et al., US 20210192180 A1, as applied above to claim 3, further in view of Russo et al., US 20220327183 A1, hereinafter referred to as Wallach, Wang, and Russo, respectively.
As to claim 4, the combination of Wallach and Wang fails to explicitly disclose providing feedback to the remote computing system occurs responsive to the determination of terminal weeding associated with the first target plant. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Wallach and Wang and include the feature of providing feedback to the remote computing system occurs responsive to the determination of terminal weeding associated with the first target plant, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Russo teaches it is well-known and routine in the art of autonomous vehicle control to remote a vehicle’s status, e.g., completion of a task like performing weeding, to a remote operator (Information communicated to remote operator – See at least ¶72).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallach et al., US20210022282A1, in view of Clark et al., US 11919636 B2, hereinafter referred to as Wallach, and Clark, respectively.
As to claim 5, Wallach discloses providing feedback to a remote computing system further comprises: a current blade separation distance (Modify blade actuation in accordance with feedback – See at least ¶47; Analyze camera images – See at least Abstract; Remote control based in part on image data to perform disclosed weeding operations – See at least ¶67; Examiner notes blade position, i.e., “current blade separation distance” is necessary for Wallach’s blade/weeding control.).
Wallach fails to explicitly disclose streaming video. However, Clark teaches streaming video (Streaming video – See at least Col. 20 Lines 28-31).
Wallach discloses an autonomous weeding vehicle that communicates with a remote operator. Clark teaches streaming video is a well-known and routine features of remote control vehicle arrangements.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wallach and include the feature of streaming video, as taught by Clark, with a reasonable expectation of success, because streaming video is a well-known and routine features of remote control vehicle arrangements like the remote control vehicle of Wallach.
Claims 7, 8, 9, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallach et al., US20210022282A1, in view of Silver et al., US 20200057443 A1, hereinafter referred to as Wallach, and Silver, respectively.
As to claim 7, Wallach discloses adjusting the nominal blade separation distance comprises at the autonomous agriculture vehicle, automatically calculating the adjusted nominal blade separation distance based on the sensor feedback (Continuous feedback control and blade trajectory based on maintaining appropriate distance so as to not disturb plant, i.e., distance is maintained to ensure zero plant motion – See at least ¶53 and Fig. 7).
Wallach fails to explicitly disclose prompting verification by a remote human operator via the remote computing system. However, Silver teaches it is well-known in the art of autonomous vehicle control to query remote operators for confirmation when an autonomous vehicle encounters specific circumstances that require human attention (See at least ¶62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wallach and include the feature of prompting verification by a remote human operator via the remote computing system, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Silver teaches it is well-known in the art of autonomous vehicle control to query remote operators for confirmation when an autonomous vehicle encounters specific circumstances that require human attention, like the claimed blade actuation.
As to claim 8, Wallach fails to explicitly disclose prompting verification occurs responsive to satisfaction of a threshold deviation a nominal parameter value. However, Silver teaches it is well-known in the art of autonomous vehicle control to query remote operators for confirmation when an autonomous vehicle encounters specific circumstances that require human attention that are determined by monitoring various parameters (See at least ¶62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wallach and include the feature of prompting verification occurs responsive to satisfaction of a threshold deviation a nominal parameter value, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Silver teaches it is well-known in the art of autonomous vehicle control to query remote operators for confirmation when an autonomous vehicle encounters specific circumstances that require human attention that are determined by monitoring various parameters.
As to claim 9, Wallach fails to explicitly disclose the feedback comprises a request for remote assistance. However, Silver teaches it is well-known in the art of autonomous vehicle control to query remote operators for confirmation when an autonomous vehicle encounters specific circumstances that require human attention that are determined by monitoring various parameters (See at least ¶62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wallach and include the feature of the feedback comprises a request for remote assistance, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Silver teaches it is well-known in the art of autonomous vehicle control to query remote operators for confirmation when an autonomous vehicle encounters specific circumstances that require human attention that are determined by monitoring various parameters.
As to claim 17, Wallach discloses adjusting the nominal blade separation distance comprises at the autonomous agriculture vehicle, automatically calculating the adjusted nominal blade separation distance based on the sensor feedback (Continuous feedback control and blade trajectory based on maintaining appropriate distance so as to not disturb plant, i.e., distance is maintained to ensure zero plant motion – See at least ¶53 and Fig. 7).
Wallach fails to explicitly disclose prompting verification by a remote human operator via the remote computing system. However, Silver teaches it is well-known in the art of autonomous vehicle control to query remote operators for confirmation when an autonomous vehicle encounters specific circumstances that require human attention (See at least ¶62).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wallach and include the feature of prompting verification by a remote human operator via the remote computing system, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Silver teaches it is well-known in the art of autonomous vehicle control to query remote operators for confirmation when an autonomous vehicle encounters specific circumstances that require human attention, like the claimed blade actuation.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallach et al., US20210022282A1, hereinafter referred to as Wallach.
As to claim 14, Wallach fails to explicitly disclose determining termination of the first target plant based on satisfaction of a motion threshold. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wallach and include the feature of, with a reasonable expectation of success, because the purpose of Wallach is to remove weeds, i.e., terminate targeted plants, to a satisfactory level, and Wallach simply targets the produce not to be damaged rather than the weed itself.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wallach et al., US20210022282A1, in view of Russo et al., US 20220327183 A1, hereinafter referred to as Wallach, and Russo, respectively.
As to claim 15, Wallach fails to explicitly disclose the feedback provision to a remote computing system occurs responsive to termination of the first target plant. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Wallach and include the feature of the feedback provision to a remote computing system occurs responsive to the determination of terminal weeding associated with the first target plant, with a reasonable expectation of success, because Russo teaches it is well-known and routine in the art of autonomous vehicle control to remote a vehicle’s status, e.g., completion of a task like performing weeding, to a remote operator (Information communicated to remote operator – See at least ¶72).
Conclusion
/LAIL A KLEINMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668