DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of group I in the reply filed on 07/07/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that “the alternative laser printing process cited by the Examiner falls outside the claimed method’s scope and cannot support the finding that the claimed method produces a materially different product”. This is not found persuasive because the main goal of the alternative is to show that the same product can be made by using a different method and not the other way around. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-9 and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Lee (US. Pub: 2022/0369486 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses (in at least figs. 4-11) a display device comprising: a display panel (DP; [0085]) having different first and second areas on one surface (see fig. 4); and a coating layer (RM, PCL) on the one surface of the display panel (DP), the coating layer (RM, PCL) comprising a light blocking cushion portion in the first area (AT1; i.e. the RM portion; [0112]-[0114]), and a first support portion in the second area (i.e. AT2; i.e. other RM portion) located on one side of the first area to support the display panel (see at least fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses (in at least figs. 4-11) the coating layer further comprises a second support portion (PCL; [0106]) on the light blocking cushion portion (AT1).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses (in at least figs. 4-11) in a plane parallel to the one surface of the display panel (DP), the coating layer has a round shape at one corner area (best seen in at least fig. 7).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses (in at least figs. 4-11; [0112]-[0115]) the light blocking cushion portion comprises a first material mixed with an elastic material that comprises at least one of silicon, urethane, epoxy acrylate, or polyethylene, and a light blocking material comprising at least one of graphene oxide (GO), reduced graphene oxide (RGO), aluminum, carbon black (CB), or copper (Cu).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses (in at least figs. 4-11; [0144]-[0145]) the first support portion comprises a second material comprising at least one of silicon, urethane, epoxy acrylate, or polyethylene.
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses (in at least figs. 4-11) the display panel comprises a bending area adjacent to the first area on the one surface (best seen in at least fig. 7).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses (in at least figs. 4-11) the first area (AT1) is located on one side of the bending area in a first direction, and the second area is located on an other side of the bending area in the first direction (best seen in at least fig. 7).
Regarding claim 13, Lee discloses (in at least figs. 4-11) a display device comprising: a display panel (DP); and a coating layer (RM) on one side of the display panel, the coating layer comprising a light blocking cushion portion (AT1, AT2; [0112]-[0115]) on the one side of the display panel, and a support portion (PCL; [0106]) on the light blocking cushion portion to support the display panel.
Regarding claim 14, Lee discloses (in at least figs. 4-11; [0112]-[0115]) the light blocking cushion portion comprises a first material mixed with an elastic material that comprises at least one of silicon, urethane, epoxy acrylate, or polyethylene, and a light blocking material comprising at least one of graphene oxide (GO), reduced graphene oxide (RGO), aluminum, carbon black (CB), or copper (Cu).
Regarding claim 15, Lee discloses (in at least figs. 4-11) the support portion (PCL) comprises a second material comprising at least one of silicon, urethane, epoxy acrylate, or polyethylene ([0143]-[0146]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 4 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US. Pub: 2022/0369486 A1).
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Lee does not expressly disclose the light blocking cushion portion has a different thickness from the first support portion and the coating layer has a shape where the thickness gradually decreases from one end to the outside.
However, Lee discloses (in at least figs. 4-11) a light blocking cushion portion (RM at AT1) and a first support portion (RM at AT2).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been led to the recited thickness through design choice. Applicant has not disclosed the recited thickness is for a particular unobvious purpose, produces an unexpected result, or is otherwise critical, and it appears prima facie that process would possess utility using the thickness of Lee. Indeed, it has been held that mere thickness limitations are prima facie obvious absent a disclosure that the limitations are for a particular unobvious purpose, produce an unexpected result, or are otherwise critical.
Regarding claims 10 and 12, Lee discloses (in at least figs. 4-11) the display panel comprises a substrate (SF, SLM) exposed on the one surface.
Lee does not expressly disclose the material of the substrate is glass or polyimide.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the of the invention to consider using glass or polyimide to form the substrate of Lee, since it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use support a prima facie obviousness determination.
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses (in at least figs. 4-11) the substrate (SF, SLM) comprises: a through portion in which the bending area is etched (best seen in at least fig. 7), a first substrate (SF) on one side of the through portion in a first direction, and a second substrate (SLM) located on an other side of the through portion in the first direction.
Conclusion
The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure. Park et al. (US. Pub: 2022/0068165 A1~hereinafter “Park”) and Lee et al. (US. Pub: 2023/0127915 A1~ hereinafter “Lee”).
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875