DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7-10, 12, 15, 16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Emmons et al. (US 20230057509).
With respect to claim 1, Emmons et al. teach obtaining image data generated using a first camera (Fig. 1A, ref label 102A-F) having a first field of view (Fig. 1B ref label 122, image information3);
generating transformed image data by applying a transformation to the image data based at least on extrinsic camera data corresponding to the first camera, the transformation converting the first field of view to simulate a second field of view of a second camera (Fig. 3A and 3B; para [0026], receive the feature maps and transform the information into an output vector space. For example, the output vector space may be associated with a virtual camera at a first height.);
computing, using a machine learning model, output data representative of one or more predictions (para [0093], three dimensional graphics of objects (e.g., vehicles, pedestrians, optionally performing actions based on the signals or information described herein) may be rendered based on positional information, velocity information, signal information, and so on, determined by the machine learning model.); and
transmitting the output data to cause a vehicle to perform one or more operations based at least on the one or more predictions(para [0093], In some embodiments, the information (e.g., the outputs described herein) determined by the machine learning model described herein may be presented in a display of the vehicle. For example, the information may be used to inform autonomous driving (e.g., used by a planning and/or navigation engine).
With respect to claim 2, Emmons et al. teach that the first camera is a physical camera (para [0016]) and the second camera is a virtual camera (Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 4, Emmons et al. teach that the extrinsic camera data includes at least one of positional data, pose data, location data, or orientation data associated with the first camera (para [0054], roll, pitch, and/or yaw).
With respect to claim 7, Emmons et al. teach that the transformed label data includes an annotation selected from the group consisting of middle lane, right lane, left lane, split left, split right, merge from left, and merge from right. (para [0060], Example signals may include lane assignment, whether a vehicle has its door open, a particular lane in which a vehicle is located, whether a vehicle is cutting into the autonomous vehicle's lane, and so on).
With respect to claim 8, Emmons et al. teach identifying a region of interest (ROI) based at least on the transformed image data (para [0060], The output may represent information associated with objects, such as location (e.g., position with a virtual camera space)).
Claim 9 is rejected as same reason as claim 1 above.
Claim 10 is rejected as same reason as claim 2 above.
Claim 12 is rejected as same reason as claim 4 above.
With respect to claim 15, Emmons et al. teach a control system for an autonomous or semi-autonomous machine (abstract).
Claim 16 is rejected as same reason as claim 1 above.
Claim 18 is rejected as same reason as claim 2 above.
Claim 20 is rejected as same reason as claim 15 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A. Claim 3, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Emmons et al. (US 2023/0057509) in view of Jin et al. (US 2020/0334861).
Emmons et al. teach all the limitations of claim 1 as applied above from which claim 3 respectively depend.
Emmons et al. do not teach expressly that the generating the transformed image data further includes associating one or more two-dimensional (2D) locations included in the image data with one or more 2D locations included in the transformed image data based on at least one of a transformation matrix or a lookup table.
Jin et al. teach the generating the transformed image data further includes associating one or more two-dimensional (2D) locations included in the image data with one or more 2D locations included in the transformed image data based on at least one of a transformation matrix(para [0087], determine the offset compensation transformation matrix which may be observed by both the virtual camera and the real camera. This is the offset compensation transformation matrix between the real camera and the virtual camera).
At the time of effective filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to transform image using transformation matrix in the method of Emmons et al.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that to formulate calibration of real camera a mathematically solvable problem.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Jin et al. with Emmons et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 3.
Claim 11 is rejected as same reason as claim 3 above.
Claim 19 is rejected as same reason as claim 3 above.
B. Claim 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Emmons et al. (US 2023/0057509) in view of Nelson et al. (US 2010/0182400).
Emmons et al. teach all the limitations of claim 4 as applied above from which claim 5 respectively depend.
Emmons et al. do not teach expressly that the positional data includes three-dimensional (3D) positional coordinates referenced from a location within the vehicle.
Nelson et al. teach the positional data includes three-dimensional (3D) positional coordinates referenced from a location within the vehicle (Fig. 4A).
At the time of effective filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to transform image using 3D) positional coordinates of physical camera in the method of Emmons et al.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that to use critical baseline to transform an image view point.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Nelson et al. with Emmons et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 5.
Claim 13 is rejected as same reason as claim 5 above.
C. Claim 6, 14 and 17 are rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Emmons et al. (US 2023/0057509) in view of Elluswamy et al. (US 10997461).
Emmons et al. teach all the limitations of claim 4 as applied above from which claim 5 respectively depend.
Emmons et al. do not teach expressly that the machine learning model is trained using transformed training image data and corresponding transformed label data, the transformed label data including a set of 2D locations included in the transformed training image data defining a ground truth vehicle path associated with the transformed training image data.
Elluswamy et al. teach the machine learning model is trained using transformed training image data and corresponding transformed label data, the transformed label data including a set of 2D locations included in the transformed training image data defining a ground truth vehicle path associated with the transformed training image data. (col. 2 lines 32-37, For example, a ground truth is determined based on a group of time series elements and is associated with a single element from the group. As one example, a series of images for a time period, such as 30 seconds, is used to determine the actual path of a vehicle lane line over the time period the vehicle travels; col. 9 lines 55-59, For example, a time series of elements made up of sensor and odometry data is collected from a vehicle and used to automatically create training data. In various embodiments, the process of FIG. 3 is used to automatically label training data with corresponding ground truths; col. 18 lines 5-7, By training the machine learning model using a ground truth determined using image and related data of a time series).
At the time of effective filing, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to train machine learning model using ground truth data in the method of Emmons et al.
The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been that to make machine learning model with high accuracy, reliable and directly measurable performance.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Elluswamy et al. with Emmons et al. to obtain the invention as specified in claim 6.
Claim 14 is rejected as same reason as claim 6 above.
Claim 17 is rejected as same reason as claim 6 above.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/RANDOLPH I CHU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667