DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/28/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is made in response to applicant’s amendment submitted on 01/12/2026. Claims 1, 12, 17-19, 25, 36, 39 and 41-43 have been amended. Claims 11 and 35 have been cancelled. Claims 49-50 have been newly added. Claims 1-10, 12-34 and 36-50 are currently pending in the application.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s argument filed on 01/12/2026 has been fully considered but it is not persuasive.
Applicant submits “However, a review of HALL and PRESCHER indicates HALL and PRESCHER do not teach or suggest the aforementioned features recited in the presently amended claims. In particular, HALL and PRESCHER do not teach or suggest at least "a processing unit including a signal processing circuit and a signal holding circuit, and configured to generate at least a third signal based on the first signal and the second signal; and a display unit configured to display information based on at least the third signal supplied from the processing unit" as presently claimed.” (Remarks, page 13, the first paragraph)
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s premises and conclusions. Applicant argues Prescher doesn’t teach a processing unit including a signal processing circuit and a signal holding circuit, and configured to generate at least a third signal based on the first signal and the second signal; and a display unit configured to display information based on at least the third signal supplied from the processing unit without pointing out which part of the limitations that Prescher doesn’t teach. As stated in the previous office action, Prescher teaches a processing unit (figure 1, signal processing unit 12-14, 20-22 and 30) including a signal processing circuit and a signal holding circuit (figure 1, digital image processing circuitry 39 and image memory 14 and 22), is electrically connected to the first sensor unit and the second sensor unit (figure 1, electrically connected to first sensor unit APD and second sensor unit B), and configured to generate at least a third signal based on the first signal and the second signal (figure 1, generate a third signal from 30 to 34 based on at least one of first signal and second signal Data out), and a display unit configured to display information based on at least the third signal supplied from the processing unit (figure 1, display 34 displays information based on third signal from 30). As above, if Applicant believes that the current invention is different from Examiner’s interpretation of the prior art, the claim language should be amended to reflect the difference and more clearly define Applicant’s invention. However, based on the currently pending claim language, Examiner maintains the rejections of the independent claims 1 and 25.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-10, 12-13, 15-17, 19-34 and 36-48 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7-8, 10-14, 16-18, 20-28, 30-41, 43-45 and 47-49 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the broader claim limitation of claim 1 of the current application is met by the narrower claim limitation of claim 1 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584 as shown in the following tables and the discussion thereafter.
Current Application
US. Patent No. 12,158,584
1. (Currently Amended) A head mount display comprising:
a first sensor unit including an avalanche photodiode and configured to acquire a first signal related to a signal from the avalanche photodiode;
a second sensor unit including a photodiode and a transistor configured to output a signal based on electric charge from the photodiode, and configured to acquire a second signal related to the signal from the photodiode;
a processing unit including a signal processing circuit and a signal holding circuit, and configured to generate at least a third signal based on the first signal and the second signa; and
a display unit configured to display information based on at least the third signal supplied from the processing unit
8. The head mount display according to claim 1, further comprising a signal processing unit, wherein the signal processing unit includes a signal processing circuit and a signal holding circuit, is electrically connected to the first sensor unit and the second sensor unit, and is configured to generate information based on a signal acquired by the first sensor unit in a first light quantity range and a signal acquired by the second sensor unit in a second light quantity range which includes a light quantity higher than the first light quantity range.
1. (Currently Amended) A head mount display comprising:
a first sensor unit including an avalanche photodiode and configured to acquire a first signal related to a signal from the avalanche photodiode;
a second sensor unit including a photodiode and a transistor configured to output a signal based on electric charge from the photodiode, and configured to acquire a second signal related to the signal from the photodiode; and
a display unit configured to display an image based on at least one of the first signal and the second signal; and
a signal processing unit, wherein the signal processing unit includes a signal processing circuit and a signal holding circuit, is electrically connected to the first sensor unit and the second sensor unit, and is configured to generate an image signal based on a signal acquired by the first sensor unit in a first light quantity range and a signal acquired by the second sensor unit in a second light quantity range which includes a light quantity higher than the first light quantity range.
12. The head mount display according to claim 1, further comprising
a signal processing unit that includes a signal processing circuit and a signal holding circuit, is electrically connected to the first sensor unit and the second sensor unit, and configured to generate a third signal based on the first signal and the second signal,
wherein the display unit displays an image based on the third signal.
Claim 2 of the present application corresponds to claim 2 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 3 of the present application corresponds to claim 3 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 4 of the present application corresponds to claim 4 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 5 of the present application corresponds to claim 5 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 6 of the present application corresponds to claim 7 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 7 of the present application corresponds to claim 8 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 9 of the present application corresponds to claim 10 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 10 of the present application corresponds to claim 11 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 12 of the present application corresponds to claim 13 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 13 of the present application corresponds to claim 14 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 15 of the present application corresponds to claim 16 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 16 of the present application corresponds to claim 17 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 17 of the present application corresponds to claim 18 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 19 of the present application corresponds to claim 20 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 20 of the present application corresponds to claim 22 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 21 of the present application corresponds to claim 8 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 22 of the present application corresponds to claim 43 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 23 of the present application corresponds to claim 44 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 24 of the present application corresponds to claim 45 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Current Application
US. Patent No. 12,158,584
25. (Currently Amended) Smart glasses comprising:
a first sensor unit including an avalanche photodiode and configured to acquire a first signal related to a signal from the avalanche photodiode;
a second sensor unit including a photodiode and a transistor configured to output a signal based on electric charge from the photodiode, and configured to acquire a second signal related to the signal from the photodiode;
a processing unit that includes a signal processing circuit and a signal holding circuit, and configured to generate a third signal based on at least one of the first signal and the second signa; and
a display unit configured to displaythe third signal supplied from the processing unit
32. The smart glasses according to claim 25, further comprising
a signal processing unit that includes a signal processing circuit and a signal holding circuit, and is electrically connected to the first sensor unit and the second sensor unit,
wherein the signal processing unit is configured to generate information based on a signal acquired by the first sensor unit in a first light quantity range and a signal acquired by the second sensor unit in a second light quantity range which includes a light quantity higher than the first light quantity range.
21. (Currently Amended) Smart glasses comprising:
a first sensor unit including an avalanche photodiode and configured to acquire a first signal related to a signal from the avalanche photodiode;
a second sensor unit including a photodiode and a transistor configured to output a signal based on electric charge from the photodiode, and configured to acquire a second signal related to the signal from the photodiode; and
a display unit configured to displays image based on at least one of the first signal and the second signal; and
a signal processing unit that includes a signal processing circuit and a signal holding circuit, and is electrically connected to the first sensor unit and the second sensor unit,
wherein the signal processing unit is configured to generate an image signal based on a signal acquired by the first sensor unit in a first light quantity range and a signal acquired by the second sensor unit in a second light quantity range which includes a light quantity higher than the first light quantity range.
32. The smart glasses according to claim 21, further comprising
a signal processing unit that includes a signal processing circuit and a signal holding circuit, is electrically connected to the first sensor unit and the second sensor unit, and configured to generate a third signal based on the first signal and the second signal,
wherein the display unit displays an image based on the third signal.
Claim 26 of the present application corresponds to claim 23 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 27 of the present application corresponds to claim 24 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 28 of the present application corresponds to claim 25 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 29 of the present application corresponds to claim 26 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 30 of the present application corresponds to claim 27 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 31 of the present application corresponds to claim 28 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 33 of the present application corresponds to claim 21 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 33 of the present application corresponds to claim 30 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 34 of the present application corresponds to claim 31 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 36 of the present application corresponds to claim 33 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 37 of the present application corresponds to claim 34 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 38 of the present application corresponds to claim 35 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 39 of the present application corresponds to claim 36 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 40 of the present application corresponds to claim 37 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 41 of the present application corresponds to claim 38 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 42 of the present application corresponds to claim 39 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 43 of the present application corresponds to claim 40 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 44 of the present application corresponds to claim 41 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 45 of the present application corresponds to claim 28 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 46 of the present application corresponds to claim 47 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 47 of the present application corresponds to claim 48 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim 48 of the present application corresponds to claim 49 of US. Patent No. 12,158,584.
Claim Interpretation under 35 USC § 112(f) or 35 USC 112 (pre-AIA ) sixth paragraph
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a display unit configured to display information in claims 1 and 25.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: page 7, paragraph 25 recites “the display unit 50 displays the image signal supplied from the signal processing unit 30. Any type of display, such as a liquid crystal display, a projection display, or an organic light-emitting display, can be used as the display unit 50”.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-12, 14-15, 20, 22, 25-30, 33-36, 38-39, 44 and 46 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall et al. (US. Pub. No. 2019/0075281, hereinafter “Hall”) in view of Prescher et al. (US. Pub. No. 2011/0249148, hereinafter “Prescher”).
As to claim 1, (Currently Amended) Hall discloses a head mount display [figure 1, head mount display 100] comprising:
a first sensor unit [figure 2, imaging device 255 includes a detector] including an avalanche photodiode [paragraph 32, the imaging device 255 includes a detector (not shown in FIG. 2) implemented as a dense array of Single Photon Avalanche Diode (SPAD) pixels] and configured to acquire a first signal related to a signal from the avalanche photodiode [paragraph 32, The imaging device 255 is configured to capture, through the imaging aperture 120, portions of the one or more light beams 265 reflected from the local area 245. In some embodiments, the imaging device 255 includes a detector (not shown in FIG. 2) implemented as a dense array of Single Photon Avalanche Diode (SPAD) pixels or as a Silicon Photomultiplier (SiPM)]; and
a display unit [figure 2, electronic display 210 to display information] configured to display information
Hall does not disclose a second sensor unit including a photodiode and a transistor configured to output a signal based on electric charge from the photodiode, and configured to acquire a second signal related to the signal from the photodiode;
a processing unit including a signal processing circuit and a signal holding circuit, and configured to generate at least a third signal based on the first signal and the second signal; and
a display unit configured to display information based on at least the third signal supplied from the processing unit.
Prescher teaches a first sensor unit [figure 2, first sensor unit APD including an avalanche photodiode DA] including an avalanche photodiode and configured to acquire a first signal related to a signal from the avalanche photodiode [paragraph 25, an electrical schematic of an illustrative APD photodetector APD, which includes an avalanche photodiode DA. An avalanche photodiode is a photodiode that provides internal signal amplification through an avalanche process. The avalanche photodiode DA is reverse-biased at a bias level Vex that is sufficiently high so that photogenerated electrons and holes are accelerated by the internal bias field to generate avalanche multiplication of carriers so as to produce substantial gain];
a second sensor unit [figure 2, second sensor unit of B including a photodiode D and a transistor AMP] including a photodiode and a transistor configured to output a signal based on electric charge from the photodiode [paragraph 24, the blue photodetector B is a CMOS photodetector including a photodiode D that is pre-charged to a low voltage bias vdd through a reset transistor R1. During the acquisition, electron-hole pairs are photo-generated in the depletion region of the diode D, which lowers the voltage level across the diode D. The diode D can be substantially any type of photodiode, such as a P-I-N photodiode, an avalanche photodiode, or so forth], and configured to acquire a second signal related to the signal from the photodiode [paragraph 24, the blue photodetector B is a CMOS photodetector including a photodiode D that is pre-charged to a low voltage bias vdd through a reset transistor R1. During the acquisition, electron-hole pairs are photo-generated in the depletion region of the diode D, which lowers the voltage level across the diode D. The diode D can be substantially any type of photodiode, such as a P-I-N photodiode, an avalanche photodiode, or so forth, The photodiode D is a broadband photodiode which would in general detect light of substantially any visible wavelength];
a processing unit [figure 1, signal processing unit 12-14, 20-22 and 30] including a signal processing circuit and a signal holding circuit [figure 1, digital image processing circuitry 39 and image memory 14 and 22], and configured to generate at least a third signal based on the first signal and the second signal [figure 1, generate a third signal from 30 to 34 based on at least one of first signal and second signal Data out]; and
a display unit [figure 1, display device 34 to display information] configured to display information based on at least the third signal supplied from the processing unit [figure 1, display 34 displays information based on third signal from 30].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the head mount display of Hall to comprise a second sensor unit including a photodiode and a transistor configured to output a signal based on electric charge from the photodiode, and configured to acquire a second signal related to the signal from the photodiode, a processing unit including a signal processing circuit and a signal holding circuit, and configured to generate at least a third signal based on the first signal and the second signal; and a display unit configured to display information based on at least the third signal supplied from the processing unit, as taught by Prescher, in order to provide sensitivity to low light levels (Prescher, paragraph 2).
As to claim 2, (Original) Hall, as modified by Prescher, discloses the head mount display according to claim 1, wherein the first sensor unit is disposed on a side of a first face of the head mount display, and the display unit is disposed on a side of a second face of the head mount display [Hall, figure 2, first sensor unit 255 of DCA 240 is disposed on a side of a first face of head mount display 200 and display 210 is disposed on a side of a second face of 200].
As to claim 3, (Original) Hall, as modified by Prescher, discloses the head mount display according to claim 1, wherein, in a case where a user wears the head mount display, a distance between the first sensor unit and eyes of the user is longer than a distance between the display unit and the eyes of the user [Hall, figure 2, when user wears head mount display 200, a distance between first sensor unit 255 of DCA 240 and eyes 230 is longer than a distance between display 210 and the eyes 230].
As to claim 4, (Original) Hall, as modified by Prescher, discloses the head mount display according to claim 1, wherein, in a case where a user wears the head mount display, the display unit is arranged corresponding to an eye of the user [Hall, figure 2, a user wears 200, display 210 is arranged corresponding to eye 230 of the user].
As to claim 5, (Original) Hall, as modified by Prescher, discloses the head mount display according to claim 1, further comprising
a light source [Hall, figure 2, light generator 250] including a semiconductor laser [paragraph 31, the plurality of emitters could be, e.g., laser diodes (e.g., edge emitters), inorganic or organic LEDs, a vertical-cavity surface-emitting laser (VCSEL), or some other source]; and
a signal processing unit [Prescher, figure 1, signal processing unit 12-14, 20-22 and 30] that includes a signal processing circuit and a signal holding circuit [Prescher, figure 1, digital image processing circuitry 39 and image memory 14 and 22], and is electrically connected to the first sensor unit and the second sensor unit [Prescher, figure 1, electrically connected to first sensor unit APD and second sensor unit B],
wherein the light source and the signal processing unit are configured to measure a distance by a Time-of-Flight method [Hall, paragraph 34, The controller 260 is configured to determine depth information for the one or more objects in the local area 245 based at least in part on the captured portions of the one or more reflected light beams. In some embodiments, for depth sensing based on time-of-flight, the controller 260 determines the depth information based on charges stored in storage bins associated with one or more pixels in the detector of the imaging device 255 over a defined amount of time]. In addition, the same rationale is used as in rejection for claim 1.
As to claim 6, (Original) Hall, as modified by Prescher, discloses the head mount display according to claim 1, wherein the first sensor unit is disposed on a side of a first face of the head mount display, and the display unit is disposed on a side of a second face of the head mount display [Hall, figure 2, first sensor unit 255 of DCA 240 is disposed on a side of a first face of head mount display 200 and display 210 is disposed on a side of a second face of 200]. Hall, as modified by Prescher, discloses the claimed invention except for the second sensor unit is disposed on a side of a second face of the head mount display. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the head mount display of Hall to have the second sensor unit dispose on a side of a second face of the head mount display, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an-invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
As to claim 9, (Original) Hall, as modified by Prescher, discloses the head mount display according to claim 1, wherein the second sensor unit includes color filters [Prescher, paragraph 24, a color-selective filter F is included to block light other than blue light from reaching the photodetector D. The red and green photodetectors R, G are similar, except that they utilize red-selective and green-selective filters, respectively]. In addition, the same rationale is used as in rejection for claim 1.
As to claim 10, (Original) Hall, as modified by Prescher, discloses the head mount display according to claim 1, wherein the first sensor unit and the second sensor unit are arranged in a checkered pattern [Prescher, figure 1, first sensor B and second sensor APD are arranged in a checkered pattern]. In addition, the same rationale is used as in rejection for claim 1.
As to claim 12, (Currently Amended) Hall, as modified by Prescher, discloses the head mount display according to claim 1
As to claim 14, (Original) Hall, as modified by Prescher, discloses the head mount display according to claim 1, wherein the second sensor unit includes an amplifier configured to amplify a signal from the photodiode and having a first gain and a second gain higher than the first gain [Hall, second sensor B includes an amplifier AMP to amplify a signal from photodiode D, paragraph 24, The voltage is amplified by a source-follower circuit AMP and can be read out through a readout transistor R2. The photodiode D is a broadband photodiode which would in general detect light of substantially any visible wavelength, During the acquisition, electron-hole pairs are photo-generated in the depletion region of the diode D, which lowers the voltage level across the diode D (different amplified voltages represent different gains with gain values)].
As to claim 15, (Currently Amended) Hall, as modified by Prescher, discloses the head mount display according to claim 1
wherein the signal processing unit are configured to measure a distance by a Time-of-Flight method [Hall, paragraph 34, The controller 260 is configured to determine depth information for the one or more objects in the local area 245 based at least in part on the captured portions of the one or more reflected light beams. In some embodiments, for depth sensing based on time-of-flight, the controller 260 determines the depth information based on charges stored in storage bins associated with one or more pixels in the detector of the imaging device 255 over a defined amount of time].
As to claim 20, (Original) Hall, as modified by Prescher, discloses the head mount display according to claim 1, wherein the first sensor unit includes a counter configured to perform counting based on the signal from the avalanche photodiode [Prescher, figure 1, photon counting 12, paragraph 25, the avalanche photodiode DA in Geiger mode for photon counting]. In addition, the same rationale is used as in rejection for claim 1.
As to claim 22, (Original) Hall, as modified by Prescher, discloses the head mount display according to claim 1, further comprising
a third sensor unit [Prescher, figure 1, APD (on row 2 column 4) including avalanche photodiode DA] including an avalanche photodiode, and
a fourth sensor unit [Prescher, figure 1, B (on row 2 column 5) including photodiode D and transistor AMP] including a photodiode and a transistor,
wherein the first sensor unit, the second sensor unit, the fourth sensor unit, and the third sensor unit are arranged in this order [Prescher, figure 1, first sensor, second sensor, fourth sensor and third sensor are arranged in this order in a row]. In addition, the same rationale is used as in rejection for claim 1.
As to claim 25, (Currently Amended) Hall discloses smart glasses [figure 1, smart glasses 100] comprising:
a first sensor unit [figure 2, imaging device 255 includes a detector] including an avalanche photodiode [paragraph 32, the imaging device 255 includes a detector (not shown in FIG. 2) implemented as a dense array of Single Photon Avalanche Diode (SPAD) pixels] and configured to acquire a first signal related to a signal from the avalanche photodiode [paragraph 32, The imaging device 255 is configured to capture, through the imaging aperture 120, portions of the one or more light beams 265 reflected from the local area 245. In some embodiments, the imaging device 255 includes a detector (not shown in FIG. 2) implemented as a dense array of Single Photon Avalanche Diode (SPAD) pixels or as a Silicon Photomultiplier (SiPM)];
a display unit [figure 2, electronic display 210 to display information] configured to displays information
Hall does not disclose a second sensor unit including a photodiode and a transistor configured to output a signal based on electric charge from the photodiode, and configured to acquire a second signal related to the signal from the photodiode;
a processing unit including a signal processing circuit and a signal holding circuit, and configured to generate at least a third signal based on the first signal and the second signal; and
a display unit configured to display information based on at least the third signal supplied from the processing unit.
Prescher teaches a first sensor unit [figure 2, first sensor unit APD including an avalanche photodiode DA] including an avalanche photodiode and configured to acquire a first signal related to a signal from the avalanche photodiode [paragraph 25, an electrical schematic of an illustrative APD photodetector APD, which includes an avalanche photodiode DA. An avalanche photodiode is a photodiode that provides internal signal amplification through an avalanche process. The avalanche photodiode DA is reverse-biased at a bias level Vex that is sufficiently high so that photogenerated electrons and holes are accelerated by the internal bias field to generate avalanche multiplication of carriers so as to produce substantial gain];
a second sensor unit [figure 2, second sensor unit of B including a photodiode D and a transistor AMP] including a photodiode and a transistor configured to output a signal based on electric charge from the photodiode [paragraph 24, the blue photodetector B is a CMOS photodetector including a photodiode D that is pre-charged to a low voltage bias vdd through a reset transistor R1. During the acquisition, electron-hole pairs are photo-generated in the depletion region of the diode D, which lowers the voltage level across the diode D. The diode D can be substantially any type of photodiode, such as a P-I-N photodiode, an avalanche photodiode, or so forth], and configured to acquire a second signal related to the signal from the photodiode [paragraph 24, the blue photodetector B is a CMOS photodetector including a photodiode D that is pre-charged to a low voltage bias vdd through a reset transistor R1. During the acquisition, electron-hole pairs are photo-generated in the depletion region of the diode D, which lowers the voltage level across the diode D. The diode D can be substantially any type of photodiode, such as a P-I-N photodiode, an avalanche photodiode, or so forth, The photodiode D is a broadband photodiode which would in general detect light of substantially any visible wavelength]; and
a processing unit [figure 1, signal processing unit 12-14, 20-22 and 30] including a signal processing circuit and a signal holding circuit [figure 1, digital image processing circuitry 39 and image memory 14 and 22], and configured to generate at least a third signal based on the first signal and the second signal [figure 1, generate a third signal from 30 to 34 based on at least one of first signal and second signal Data out]; and
a display unit [figure 1, display device 34 to display information] configured to display information based on at least the third signal supplied from the processing unit [figure 1, display 34 displays information based on third signal from 30].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the head mount display of Hall to comprise a second sensor unit including a photodiode and a transistor configured to output a signal based on electric charge from the photodiode, and configured to acquire a second signal related to the signal from the photodiode, a processing unit including a signal processing circuit and a signal holding circuit, and configured to generate at least a third signal based on the first signal and the second signal; and a display unit configured to display information based on at least the third signal supplied from the processing unit, as taught by Prescher, in order to provide sensitivity to low light levels (Prescher, paragraph 2).
As to claim 26, see the above discussion of claim 2.
As to claim 27, see the above discussion of claim 3.
As to claim 28, see the above discussion of claim 4.
As to claim 29, see the above discussion of claim 5.
As to claim 30, see the above discussion of claim 6.
As to claim 33, see the above discussion of claim 9.
As to claim 34, see the above discussion of claim 10.
As to claim 36, see the above discussion of claim 12.
As to claim 38, see the above discussion of claim 14.
As to claim 39, see the above discussion of claim 15.
As to claim 44, see the above discussion of claim 20.
As to claim 46, see the above discussion of claim 22.
Claim(s) 7, 21, 31 and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall in view of Prescher, further in view of Lee et al. (US. Pub. No. 2016/032882, hereinafter “Lee”).
As to claim 7, (Original) Hall, as modified by Prescher, discloses the head mount display according to claim 1.
Hall, as modified by Prescher, does not expressly disclose wherein the second sensor unit is configured to perform a global shutter operation.
Lee teaches a second sensor unit is configured to perform a global shutter operation [paragraph 41, the image sensor can be implemented as a global shutter sensor].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the head mount display of Hall to comprise a second sensor unit to perform a global shutter operation, as taught by Lee, in order to expose all pixels of the sensor at the same time (Lee, paragraph 41).
As to claim 21, see the above discussion of claim 7.
As to claim 31, see the above discussion of claim 7.
As to claim 45, see the above discussion of claim 7.
Claim(s) 13 and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall in view of Prescher, further in view of Park et al. (US. Pub. No. 2016/0171281, hereinafter “Park”).
As to claim 13, (Original) Hall, as modified by Prescher, discloses the head mount display according to claim 1.
Hall, as modified by Prescher, does not expressly disclose wherein the second sensor unit includes an element configured to switch a capacitance of an input node.
Park teaches wherein a second sensor unit includes an element configured to switch a capacitance of an input node [paragraph 145, the touch sensor 151b may extract coordinates information 330 of at least one node of which capacitance is changed according to the touch input 30].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the head mount display of Hall to have the second sensor unit include an element configured to switch a capacitance of an input node, as taught by Park, in order to provide a mobile terminal capable of authenticating a user’s fingerprint information using a touch sensor (Park, paragraph 7).
As to claim 37, see the above discussion of claim 13.
Claim(s) 16 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall in view of Prescher, further in view of Kang et al. (US. Pub. No. 2020/0014864, hereinafter “Kang”).
As to claim 16, (Original) Hall, as modified by Prescher, discloses the head mount display according to claim 1.
Hall, as modified by Prescher, does not expressly wherein the second sensor unit has a plurality of photodiodes configured to measure a distance by a phase difference autofocus.
Kang teaches a sensor unit has a plurality of photodiodes configured to measure a distance by a phase difference autofocus [paragraph 99, a phase difference may occur between phase information 510 of one photodiode and phase information 520 of the other photodiode, among two photodiodes, based on the distance between the image sensor and the external object].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the head mount display of Hall to have a plurality of photodiodes configured to measure a distance by a phase difference autofocus, as taught by Kang, in order to provide the location information to an external processor of the camera (Kang, paragraph 5).
As to claim 40, see the above discussion of claim 16.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, 17-19, 23-24, 32, 41-43 and 47-50 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art, made of record, singularly or in combination, teaches or fairly suggests the features presented in the combination limitations of dependent claims 8, 17-19, 23, 32, 41-43 and 47-50 such as “wherein the signal processing unit includes a signal processing circuit and a signal holding circuit, is electrically connected to the first sensor unit and the second sensor unit, and is configured to generate information based on a signal acquired by the first sensor unit in a first light quantity range and a signal acquired by the second sensor unit in a second light quantity range which includes a light quantity higher than the first light quantity range”, recited by claims 8 and 32; “wherein the signal processing unit performs at least one of generation of the third signal and adjustment of a brightness of the display unit by detecting a moving object based on at least one of the first signal and the second signal”, recited by claims 17 and 41; “an input unit electrically connected to the signal processing unit, and including at least one of an audio detection unit and a line-of-sight detection unit and configured to output an operation signal to the signal processing unit”, recited by claims 18 and 42; “comprising another display unit, wherein the signal processing unit generates the third signal for the display unit and the another display unit based on a distance signal from each of the first sensor unit and the second sensor unit”, recited by claims 19 and 43; “wherein a dynamic range of the first signal and a dynamic range of the second signal include an overlapping region”, recited by claims 23 and 47; and “wherein the processing unit is configured to interrupt signal reading of the first sensor unit” of claims 49-50.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAN-YING YANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629