Claim Objections
Claims 1, 8, 12 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 7, “at least one piezoelectric pressure sensors” should read --at least one piezoelectric pressure sensor--.
Claim 8, “at least on” should read –at least one--.
Claim 12, “at least one piezoelectric pressure sensor” should read --the at least one piezoelectric pressure sensor--.
Claim 16, “antennae” should read –antennas--.Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 9-13 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter (US Patent No. 6,244,121 B1) in view of Takizawa (US Publication No. 2009/0146230 A1) and Weijand (US Patent No. 5,336,244).
Regarding claims 1, 6, 10-13 and 16, Hunter teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a method of leveling a pedestal, the method comprising: within a semiconductor processing chamber (chamber 114), raising a substrate support (par. 24: “substrate support structure 274 generally includes a chuck 294 for supporting a substrate”) to a position proximate a faceplate (par. 22: “A process gas shower head 276 disposed in the chamber lid 278 permits a process gas to enter through a gas source 282 and be dispersed into a processing region 286 of the interior of the process chamber 114 through shower head nozzles 284”), wherein a leveling apparatus (sensor device 200 shown in Figs. 5, 7A-7B; see par. 15, 18-29) is seated on the substrate support. However Hunter fails to teach the sensor being a piezoelectric pressure sensor coupled between two plates of the leveling apparatus (Hunter uses a different type of sensing mechanism) and does not teach the claimed receiver and does not teach the specifics of the piezoelectric sensor having antenna, transmitter and transduce.
Takizawa teaches a piezoelectric pressure sensor with a piezoelectric film 4 sandwiched between two plates. Takizawa teaches this pressure sensor enables pressure to be detected with highly sensitivity (par. 0010).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use pressure sensor of Takizawa in device of Hunter for sensing wafer’s pressure on the substrate support with high sensitivity.
Weijand teaches a wireless piezoelectric sensor equipped with antenna 52, a transducer (not shown in FIG. 1 due to the small scale of that figure) and a transmitter/receiver (RF TX/RX) unit 54 (see par. 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use controller, antenna, transmitter and transducer to wirelessly connect the piezoelectric sensor of Hunter with a controller.
Regarding claim 9, Hunter teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the semiconductor processing chamber further comprises a chamber body (chamber 114) comprising sidewalls (walls 270) and a base, the chamber body defining an interior volume (see Figs. 7A-7B), wherein: the substrate support extends through the base of the chamber body, and the substrate support is configured to support a substrate within the interior volume (par. 22: “A process gas shower head 276 disposed in the chamber lid 278 permits a process gas to enter through a gas source 282 and be dispersed into a processing region 286 of the interior of the process chamber 114 through shower head nozzles 284”); the faceplate is positioned within the interior volume of the chamber body, and the faceplate defines a plurality of apertures (284) through the faceplate; and the leveling apparatus seated on the substrate support.
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter in view of Takizawa and Weijand and further in view of Charles et al. (Proceedings of 2003 ASME, IMECHE: International Mechanical Engineering Congress Washington, D.C., USA, November 15-21, 2003) hereinafter Charles.
Regarding claims 7-8, Hunter alone or in combination with Takizawa and Weijand does not teach the leveling apparatus comprises at least two piezoelectric pressure sensors compressibly coupled between two plates of the leveling apparatus and does not teach the piezoelectric pressure sensors comprise surface acoustic wave pressure sensors.
Charles teaches wireless piezoelectric pressure sensors used in molds. As shown in Figs. below, plurality of piezoelectric pressure sensors compressibly coupled between plates to measure pressure inside the cavity.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to piezoelectric pressure sensor of Charles in device of Hunter to measure pressure between the substrate support and the faceplate.
Regarding claim 17, Hunter teaches heating the substrate support to a temperature above or about 100 °C (Col. 9,lines 31-59: “above 300 degrees”).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter in view of Takizawa and Weijand and further in view of Kim et al. (US 20260162947 A1) hereinafter Kim.
Regarding claim 14, Takizawa does not teach the at least one piezoelectric pressure sensor comprises one or more of lithium niobate, quartz, lithium tantalate, or lanthanum gallium silicate.
Kim teaches high-sensitivity piezoelectric element by using a high-performance piezoelectric material such as quartz or lithium niobate (par. 0092).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use quartz or lithium niobate in piezoelectric pressure sensor to increase sensitivity.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter in view of Takizawa and Weijand and further in view of Patil et al. (US 20220122879 A1) hereinafter Patil.
Regarding claim 15, Takizawa is silent regarding ceramic material.
Patil teaches ceramic materials used for substrate supports to withstand high temperatures (par. 0042).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to use ceramic materials in device of Hunter to withstand high temperature inside the chamber.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 5 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Also adding limitation “the leveling apparatus is configured to identify parallelism between the substrate support and the faceplate when the leveling apparatus is contacted or compressed against the faceplate by the substrate support” to claim 1 moves the case in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723