DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of U.S. Patent 1255765 filed 12/20/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clark et al., “hereinafter Clark” (U.S. Patent: 10275798) in view of Coimbra et al., “hereinafter Coimbra” (U.S. Patent Application: 20210326430).
As per Claim 1, Clark discloses a system comprising:
a first computing device comprising a processor and a memory; and machine-readable instructions stored in the memory that, when executed by the processor (Clark, Col.32, Line:64-67, a computer program may be stored in a non-transitory, tangible computer readable storage medium, or any type of media suitable for storing electronic instructions, which may be coupled to a computer system bus. Furthermore, any computing systems referred to in the specification may include a single processor or may be architectures employing multiple processor designs for increased computing capability.), cause the first computing device to at least:
receive, from a source application, a request comprising a set of data (Para.43, users of the online system 140 can request information stored in the application linking addressability store 245, allowing for users to easily link into application associated with the online system 140 or out of the application into an additional application);
send at least a portion of the set of data to a second computing device (The application identifier is information identifying an application. For example, an application identifier is a name of the additional application or an identifier associated with the application by an application installation interface (e.g., a purchasing, installing, or downloading identifier associated with the application) executing on a client device 110, or any other suitable information for executing the application via the client device 110 or presenting information from the application via the client device 110.);
receive, from the second computing device, a token associated with the portion of the set of data (Clark, Col.32, Line:64-67, A client device 110 includes an application interface module 115, which communicates information between different applications executing on the client device 110. For example, the application interface module 115 receives an application identifier and one or more instructions associated with the application identifier and communicates the instructions to an application corresponding to the application identifier);
generate a deep link based at least in part on the token (Clark, Col.14, Line:1-8,The deep link generation module 240 generates a deep link for a state of an application such as an application associated with the online system 140 or an application associated with an advertiser advertising products in the online system 140. The generated deep link can be generated for an application using a custom address scheme used by the application and includes an application identifier and one or more instructions.); and
return the deep link and the token to the source application (Clark, Col.3, Line:1-5, a user playing a game in a game mobile app can interact with an offer in the game that deep links to a state in another mobile app that presents the offer, and the offer mobile app can provide the user with an option to return to a particular state in the game mobile app that corresponds with the game level the user was playing (e.g., click here to return to Level 7 of Game X), Clark, Col.4, Line:5-20, When the user interacts with the reverse deep link via the client device (e.g., the link in the offer mobile app to return to Level 7 in the game mobile app), an additional indication is received by the client device, for example, by the additional application (e.g., the offer mobile app) and communicated to the application (e.g., the game mobile app) associated with the application identifier included in the reverse deep link. After receiving the additional indication, one or more additional instructions included in the reverse deep link are communicated by the client device to the application associated with the reverse deep link. Thus, the application executes the one or more additional instructions and presents a state of the application based on the one or more additional instructions (e.g., the game mobile app presents Level 7 of Game X).).
However Clark does not disclose the second computing device.
Coimbra discloses the second computing device (Coimbra, Para.36, The system 100 can include application delivery infrastructure. The system 100 can include an online application store or marketplace. The system 100 can include a data processing system 102. The data processing system 102 can communicate with one or more of an third-party (“3P) developer device 162 (or application developer device) or a client computing device 128 (or client device or computing device) via network 101. The system 100 can also communicate with other devices, such as third-party devices, content provider devices, or digital surface devices, Para.78, The action data structure generated by the direct action API 108 can include a deep link for an application installed on the client computing device 128. The application installed on the client computing device 128 can then perform the action or communicate with the 3P developer device 162 or a 3P developer device 162 to perform the action.).
The reference Clark discloses application-to-application linking or allowing linking into particular states in an application via a deep link presented in another application within the same client device. The reference Coimbra discloses the application-to-application linking between the first computing device and the second computing device.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Clark with the teachings as in Coimbra. The motivation for doing so would have been for directed to a system for secure digital assistant integration with web pages. The system can include a data processing system having one or more processors and memory. The data processing system can receive, from a third-party developer device, an intent manifest data structure containing a mapping between a plurality of actions of a digital assistant and a plurality of link templates of an electronic resource developed by the third-party developer device. The data processing system can validate, via a validation policy, the electronic resource based on the intent manifest data structure. The data processing system can receive, from a data exchange component of an iframe of the electronic resource loaded by a client computing device, an identifier of the client computing device that executes the electronic resource. The data processing system can query an onsite state sharing application programming interface of the electronic resource. (Coimbra, Para.3).
With respect to Claim 8, 15 are substantially similar to Claim 1 and are rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 2, Clark in view of Coimbra discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the request comprising the set of data identifies a set or subset of the set of data to share with a destination application (Clark, Col.25, Line:17-23, if the ad includes an input for playing a file in an additional application and the instructions communicated 325 to the additional application identify the file and include command to play the file, the reverse deep link can include context describing an option to share information associated with the file in the application or a specified state of the application, Clark, Col.10, Line:16-26, Each advertisement includes an advertisement content (“ad content”), which is content presented to an online system user, such as text data, image data, audio data, video data, or any other suitable data. An advertisement may also associate a destination address with an ad content to specify a source of content presented to a user that accesses the advertisement when it is presented. For example, the destination address identifies a landing page including content that is presented to the user when the user accesses the advertisement. The destination address can be included in a deep link.).
As per Claim 3, Clark in view of Coimbra discloses the system of claim 2, wherein the first computing device queries a source data store to retrieve information associated with the set or subset of the set of data (Clark, Col.03, Line:40-50, an application identifies an additional application and a search query through a deep link associated with an input presented by the application. When a user accesses the input, the search query is communicated from the application to the additional application, which performs a search across one or more sources based on the search query and subsequently presents the search results as the state of the additional application. Thus, deep links may also allow applications to leverage functionality of additional applications executing on a client device to provide a user with additional information.).
As per Claim 4, Clark in view of Coimbra discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the request comprising the set of data includes a destination application identifier associated with a destination application (Clark, Col.02, Line:20-35, The deep link includes an application identifier (also referred to as “app ID”) associated with the additional application (e.g., app ID for mobile travel app) and one or more instructions for execution by the additional application to configure the additional application to a specific state (e.g., instructions to configure the mobile travel app to a state that displays the particular travel deal referenced in the ad). A state of the additional application identifies data received by the additional application as well as data presented by the additional application. Instructions included in a deep link are executed by the additional application identified by the deep link to configure the additional application into a state where content associated with the advertisement or other suitable content is presented based on the instructions.).
With respect to Claim 16 is substantially similar to Claim 4 and is rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 5, Clark in view of Coimbra discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the request comprising the set of data includes a set of data associated with a schema corresponding to the destination application identified by the destination application identifier (Clark, Col.12, Line:65-67 to Col.13, Line:1-10, the metadata can include a web address in addition to the custom address scheme that can be used to present content associated with the deep link a web browser. Thus, if the application associated with the application identifier is not installed on the client device 110, the content of the deep link can still be presented on the web browser using the web address. The metadata can also include referrer information describing the information of an application that presented the deep link including an application identifier associated with an additional application. The metadata can also include a store identifier associated with the application for use when presenting the application for purchase, download, or install on an application installation interface.).
As per Claim 6, Clark in view of Coimbra discloses the system of claim 5, wherein first computing device generates the deep link formatted according to the schema (Clark, Col.11, Line:30-37, The deep link for presenting content on a mobile application includes an application identifier and instructions and, in various implementations, the application identifier can also be referred to as a scheme and the instructions can be in the form of a path and one or more query strings instructing the application to present a state of the application such as a page and the order and/or format of the path and query strings can differ for various operating systems.).
As per Claim 7, Clark in view of Coimbra discloses the system of claim 4, wherein the first computing device uses the destination application identifier to search for a deep link schema associated with the destination application and format the deep link generated by the first computing device according to the deep link schema (Clark, Col.11, Line:45-61, Various information (e.g., the application identifier and the instructions) in a deep link can be used in a custom address scheme (e.g., a URL) that allows the mobile app-to-app linking similar to the address scheme used for linking of content on the web. However, the custom address scheme differs from an address scheme used for presenting content on the web (e.g., via a web browser) and can also differ for presenting content on various client devices. For example, an address scheme used for presenting content on the web may have a format of “protocol://domain:path?query_string” to present content at “path?query_string” on “domain” using “protocol” to access the content. The custom address scheme for presenting content via a mobile application may have a format of “application_identifier://path?query_string” for presenting content located at “path?query_string” on a mobile application associated with “application_identifier.”).
As per Claim 9, Clark in view of Coimbra discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising including a destination application identifier in the request comprising data and formatting the deep link according to a schema associated with the destination application identifier (Clark, Col.2, Line:20-35, The deep link includes an application identifier (also referred to as “app ID”) associated with the additional application (e.g., app ID for mobile travel app) and one or more instructions for execution by the additional application to configure the additional application to a specific state (e.g., instructions to configure the mobile travel app to a state that displays the particular travel deal referenced in the ad). A state of the additional application identifies data received by the additional application as well as data presented by the additional application. Instructions included in a deep link are executed by the additional application identified by the deep link to configure the additional application into a state where content associated with the advertisement or other suitable content is presented based on the instructions, Clark, Col.11, Line:32-37, the application identifier can also be referred to as a scheme and the instructions can be in the form of a path and one or more query strings instructing the application to present a state of the application such as a page and the order and/or format of the path and query strings can differ for various operating system).
As per Claim 10, Clark in view of Coimbra discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising including the schema for the deep link compatible with a destination application in the request from the source application (Clark, Col.11, Line:32-37, the application identifier can also be referred to as a scheme and the instructions can be in the form of a path and one or more query strings instructing the application to present a state of the application such as a page and the order and/or format of the path and query strings can differ for various operating system).
As per Claim 11, Clark in view of Coimbra discloses the method of claim 9, further comprising including querying a source data store included in the source computing environment for the schema associated with the destination application identifier (Clark, Col.11, Line:45-61, Various information (e.g., the application identifier and the instructions) in a deep link can be used in a custom address scheme (e.g., a URL) that allows the mobile app-to-app linking similar to the address scheme used for linking of content on the web. However, the custom address scheme differs from an address scheme used for presenting content on the web (e.g., via a web browser) and can also differ for presenting content on various client devices. For example, an address scheme used for presenting content on the web may have a format of “protocol://domain:path?query_string” to present content at “path?query_string” on “domain” using “protocol” to access the content. The custom address scheme for presenting content via a mobile application may have a format of “application_identifier://path?query_string” for presenting content located at “path?query_string” on a mobile application associated with “application_identifier.” ).
As per Claim 12, Clark in view of Coimbra discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising identifying a set or subset of data identified by the request comprising data from the source application to share with a third component ( Clark, Col.25, Line:24-32, if the ad includes an input for generating a search query for searching for content presented by the ad and the instructions communicated 325 to the additional application include a search query based on the content presented by the ad, the reverse deep link can include context describing an option to share the search results of the search query on the application, context describing the input to the search query, or any combination thereof.).
As per Claim 13, Clark in view of Coimbra discloses the method of claim 12, further comprising including the token associated with the data specified in the request from the source application (Clark, Col.12, Line:47-62, a deep link included in an advertisement or other content also includes metadata describing additional information for communication to an application identified by the application identifier of the deep link. For example, metadata associated with the user, associated with the application, associated with the client device 110, or associated with an operating system of the client device 110 is included in the deep link. For example, metadata included in a deep link may be used by the application identified by the deep link to format presentation of information to the user. The metadata can also include user profile information of a user presented with a deep link. The user profile information can include a user identifier, an access token, and an expiration time. The access token indicates whether the application associated with the application identifier has been previously or is currently authenticated with the online system 140 associated with the application.).
As per Claim 14, Clark in view of Coimbra discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising appending the token to an end of the deep link (Clark, Col.12, Line:47-62, a deep link included in an advertisement or other content also includes metadata describing additional information for communication to an application identified by the application identifier of the deep link. For example, metadata associated with the user, associated with the application, associated with the client device 110, or associated with an operating system of the client device 110 is included in the deep link. For example, metadata included in a deep link may be used by the application identified by the deep link to format presentation of information to the user. The metadata can also include user profile information of a user presented with a deep link. The user profile information can include a user identifier, an access token, and an expiration time. The access token indicates whether the application associated with the application identifier has been previously or is currently authenticated with the online system 140 associated with the application.).
As per Claim 17, Clark in view of Coimbra discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein the request comprising the set of data includes a schema associated with the destination application identifier (Clark, Col.12, Line:65-67, the metadata can include a web address in addition to the custom address scheme that can be used to present content associated with the deep link a web browser. Thus, if the application associated with the application identifier is not installed on the client device 110, the content of the deep link can still be presented on the web browser using the web address. The metadata can also include referrer information describing the information of an application that presented the deep link including an application identifier associated with an additional application. The metadata can also include a store identifier associated with the application for use when presenting the application for purchase, download, or install on an application installation interface.).
As per Claim 18, Clark in view of Coimbra discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 16, wherein machine-readable instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the first computing device to at least: determine a deep link schema associated with the destination application identifier associated with the destination application identifier; and format the deep link generated by the first computing device according to the deep link schema (Clark, Col.11, Line:45-61, Various information (e.g., the application identifier and the instructions) in a deep link can be used in a custom address scheme (e.g., a URL) that allows the mobile app-to-app linking similar to the address scheme used for linking of content on the web. However, the custom address scheme differs from an address scheme used for presenting content on the web (e.g., via a web browser) and can also differ for presenting content on various client devices. For example, an address scheme used for presenting content on the web may have a format of “protocol://domain:path?query_string” to present content at “path?query_string” on “domain” using “protocol” to access the content. The custom address scheme for presenting content via a mobile application may have a format of “application_identifier://path?query_string” for presenting content located at “path?query_string” on a mobile application associated with “application_identifier.” ).
As per Claim 19, Clark in view of Coimbra discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the first computing device queries a source data store included in a source computing environment for the schema associated with the destination application identifier (Clark, Col.11, Line:45-61, Various information (e.g., the application identifier and the instructions) in a deep link can be used in a custom address scheme (e.g., a URL) that allows the mobile app-to-app linking similar to the address scheme used for linking of content on the web. However, the custom address scheme differs from an address scheme used for presenting content on the web (e.g., via a web browser) and can also differ for presenting content on various client devices. For example, an address scheme used for presenting content on the web may have a format of “protocol://domain:path?query_string” to present content at “path?query_string” on “domain” using “protocol” to access the content. The custom address scheme for presenting content via a mobile application may have a format of “application_identifier://path?query_string” for presenting content located at “path?query_string” on a mobile application associated with “application_identifier.” ).
As per Claim 20, Clark in view of Coimbra discloses the non-transitory, computer-readable medium of claim 19, wherein the first computing device generates the deep link formatted according to the schema (Clark, Col.11, Line:45-61, The deep link for presenting content on a mobile application includes an application identifier and instructions and, in various implementations, the application identifier can also be referred to as a scheme and the instructions can be in the form of a path and one or more query strings instructing the application to present a state of the application such as a page and the order and/or format of the path and query strings can differ for various operating systems.).
Conclusion
/NORMIN ABEDIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449