DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in present Application No. 18/929,741, filed on October 29, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed October 29, 2024, has been submitted for consideration by the Office. It has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. It is important that the abstract not exceed 150 words in length since the space provided for the abstract on the computer tape used by the printer is limited. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
Extensive mechanical and design details of apparatus should not be given.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because in line 1, the abstract recites the terms “Provided are……”, which is improper language for the abstract. The applicant should delete the terms, to provide the abstract with proper language. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. In certain patents, particularly those for compounds and compositions, wherein the process for making and/or the use thereof are not obvious, the abstract should set forth a process for making and/or use thereof. If the new technical disclosure involves modifications or alternatives, the abstract should mention by way of example the preferred modification or alternative.
The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following:
(1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation;
(2) if an article, its method of making;
(3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use;
(4) if a mixture, its ingredients;
(5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of apparatus should not be given.
In lines 3-5, the abstract refers to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention, which is improper content for the abstract. The applicant should delete the references to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention to provide the abstract with proper content.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) anticipated as being anticipated by Tsutsumi et al (Pub Num 2021/0017337, herein referred to as Tsutsumi). Tsutsumi discloses an insulating coating material that can be cured at a low temperature, turned into a cured product superior in mechanical properties, heat resistance, relative permittivity, dielectric tangent, moisture resistance, and adhesiveness (abstract) and capable of coating an electrical wire (i.e. coating material, Paragraph 11). Specifically, with respect to claim 1, Tsutsumi discloses an insulating coating material comprising: (A) a maleimide compound having a number average molecular weight of 5,000 to 50,000 (i.e. 3,000-50,000, Paragraph 20) and defined by the following formula (1):
(Page 2, Formula 1), wherein b=n & a=m,
wherein in the formula (1), each Q1 independently represents a divalent group defined
(Page 2, Formula I as shown above, wherein X1 independently represents a divalent group selected from any one of the following formulas
As shown on Page 2, Paragraph 15 (see below)
and wherein, in the formula (1), a is a number of 0 to 50 (i.e. a=m, which may be 1-30, Paragraph 14), b is a number of 1 to 50 (i.e. b=n, which may be 1-5, Paragraph 14), and each of A1 and A2 independently represents a group defined by the formula (2) or (3):
As shown in Paragraph 17 (see below)
wherein, in the formulas (2) and (3), each X2 independently represents a divalent group selected from any one of the following formulas:
As shown on Page 2, Paragraph 18 (see below)
and wherein, in the formula (2), each R1 independently represents a hydrogen atom, a chlorine atom, or a substituted or unsubstituted aliphatic hydrocarbon group having 1 to 6 carbon atoms (Paragraph 18) and (B) a reaction initiator (Paragraphs 39-41). With respect to claims 2-3, Tsutsumi discloses that the reaction initiator may be an organic peroxide (i.e. dicumyl peroxide, t-butyl peroxybenzoate, t-amyl peroxybenzoate, dibenzoyl peroxide, dilauroyl peroxide, 2,5-dimethyl-2,5-di(t-butylperoxy)hexane, 1,1-di(t-butylperoxy)cyclohexane, di-t-butyl peroxide, dibenzoyl peroxide, and 1,6-bis(t-butylperoxycarbonyloxy)hexane, Paragraph 98), which has an 1 hour half-life temperature of 110-150oC (i.e. the applicant has stated that the above stated reaction initiators exhibit the characteristics of having an 1 hour half-life temperature of 110-150oC). With respect to claim 4, Tsutsumi discloses that the insulating coating material may further comprise (C) an organic solvent (i.e. xylene, anisole, and cyclohexanone, Paragraph 45), which as a boiling point of 135-200oC (i.e. the applicant has stated that the above stated organic solvents exhibit the characteristics of having a boiling point of 135-200oC).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsutsumi (Pub Num 2021/0017337) in view of Satoru et al (JP Pat Num 2022-011106A, herein referred to as Satoru). Tsutsumi discloses an insulating coating material that can be cured at a low temperature, turned into a cured product superior in mechanical properties, heat resistance, relative permittivity, dielectric tangent, moisture resistance, and adhesiveness (abstract) and capable of coating an electrical wire (i.e. coating material, Paragraph 11). Specifically, with respect to claims 5-7, Tsutsumi discloses that the cured film layer of the insulating material comprising: (A) a maleimide compound having a number average molecular weight of 5,000 to 50,000 (i.e. 3,000-50,000, Paragraph 20) and defined by the following formula (1):
(Page 2, Formula 1), wherein b=n & a=m,
wherein in the formula (1), each Q1 independently represents a divalent group defined
(Page 2, Formula I as shown above, wherein X1 independently represents a divalent group selected from any one of the following formulas
As shown on Page 2, Paragraph 15 (see below)
and wherein, in the formula (1), a is a number of 0 to 50 (i.e. a=m, which may be 1-30, Paragraph 14), b is a number of 1 to 50 (i.e. b=n, which may be 1-5, Paragraph 14), and each of A1 and A2 independently represents a group defined by the formula (2) or (3):
As shown in Paragraph 17 (see below)
wherein, in the formulas (2) and (3), each X2 independently represents a divalent group selected from any one of the following formulas:
As shown on Page 2, Paragraph 18 (see below)
and wherein, in the formula (2), each R1 independently represents a hydrogen atom, a chlorine atom, or a substituted or unsubstituted aliphatic hydrocarbon group having 1 to 6 carbon atoms (Paragraph 18) and (B) a reaction initiator (Paragraphs 39-41), wherein the cured film may be directly formed on the surface of a coating layer (Paragraph 114).
However, Tsutsumi doesn’t necessarily recite the cured film being utilized in an insulated wire comprising a conductor wherein the cured film is applied directly to the conductor or the cured film is formed on a coating layer of the conductor, wherein the conductor has a coating layer on a surface of the conductor (claim 5), nor a coil comprising the insulated wire (claim 6), nor an electric or electronic device comprising a coil (claim 7).
Satoru teaches an insulating coating material for coating an electrical wire (Fig 11) having improved breaking voltage of an insulating layer without impairing the storage stability, low viscosity, breaking toughness, low thermal expansion, and excellent heat resistance (abstract). Specifically, with respect to claims 5-7, Satoru discloses an insulated wire (Fig 11) comprises a conductor (15), an coating layer (16), and a cured film layer (4) formed of an insulating coating material comprising (A) a maleimide compound (Paragraph 8) having a number average molecular weight of 5,000 to 50,000 (i.e. YPS-007A30 (bisphenol A type / bisphenol S type copolymer phenoxy resin, styrene equivalent average molecular weight is 49000), Paragraph 265), (B) an reaction initiator that may be an organic peroxide ((i.e. dicumyl peroxide or 2,5-dimethyl-2,5-di(t-butylperoxy)hexane, Paragraph 42), which has an 1 hour half-life temperature of 110-150oC (i.e. the applicant has stated that the above stated reaction initiators exhibit the characteristics of having an 1 hour half-life temperature of 110-150oC), and (C) an organic solvent (i.e. cyclohexanone, Paragraph 21), which as a boiling point of 135-200oC (i.e. the applicant has stated that the above stated organic solvents exhibit the characteristics of having a boiling point of 135-200oC), wherein the cured film layer (4) is formed on the coating layer (16) of the conductor (15), wherein the coating layer (16) is on a surface of the conductor (16, Fig 11), wherein the insulated wire (Fig 11) may be utilized as a coil (Paragraph 100) in an electronic device (i.e. switchgear, Fig 10)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art of cables at the time the invention was made to modify the insulating coating material of Tsutsumi to be utilized as a coating material on an insulated wire configuration as taught by Satoru because Satoru teaches that such a configuration provides an insulating coating material for coating an electrical wire (Fig 11) having improved breaking voltage of an insulating layer without impairing the storage stability, low viscosity, breaking toughness, low thermal expansion, and excellent heat resistance (abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to the enclosed PTO-892 form for the citation of pertinent art in the present case, all of which disclose insulating coating materials comprising a maleimide compounds.
Communication
/William H. Mayo III/
William H. Mayo III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
WHM III
August 22, 2026