DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bober US 2014/0084934 in view of Alexander Sergeevich Serebryakov RU 2730535 C1 (hereinafter referred to as Serebryakov) in view of Fan et al. US 20210041505 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Fan).
Regarding claim 1, Bober discloses battery isolation testing (BIT) system (fig. 1, system 10 for determining an isolation resistance, par. [0006]) for a high voltage battery system (fig. 1, elm. 20, par.[0011]) of an electrified vehicle (fig. 1, electric vehicle, par. [0007]), the BIT system comprising: a voltage meter (fig. 1, elm. 50, par. [0011]); and a control unit (fig. 1, elm. 60, par. [0006], [0011]) configured to: measure, a first voltage (fig. 1, first voltage level (V1), par. [0011]) between a negative terminal (fig. 1, elm. 120, par.[0011]) of the high voltage battery system and a chassis ground (fig. 1, vehicle chassis 30, par. [0011]) of the electrified vehicle; measure, a second voltage (fig. 1, third voltage level (V3), par. [0013]) between a positive terminal (fig. 1, elm. 130, par.[0013]) of the high voltage battery system (20) and the chassis ground fig. 1, vehicle chassis 30, par. [0013]); based on a comparison between the measured first and second voltages, insert a resistor (fig. 1, resistor 90, par. [0012]) having a known resistance between (i) one of the negative (120) and positive terminals (130) and (ii) the chassis ground (30) and obtain an updated first (fig. 1, second voltage level (V2), par. [0012]) or second voltage (fig. 1, fourth voltage level (V4), par. [0014]); based on the measured first and second voltages, the known resistance, and the updated first or second voltage, calculate an isolation resistance (fig. 1-3, determine a second isolation resistance, par. [0017]-[0021]) of the high voltage battery system (20); and selectively generate a malfunction alert based on a comparison between the calculated isolation resistance (fig. 2-4, test flag equal to the test failure value, par. [0019]-[0021]) and an isolation resistance threshold (fig. 2-4, predetermined test value, par. [0019]).
Bober does not disclose automated battery isolation testing (ABIT) system; dual-channel digital multimeter (DMM); configured to measure voltages using separate first and second channels; using the first channel of the dual-channel DMM; using the first channel of the dual-channel DMM.
Serebryakov discloses dual-channel digital multimeter (DMM) (fig. 2, two-channel digital meter with memory 11, par. [00); configured to measure voltages using separate first and second channels; using the first channel of the dual-channel DMM; using the first channel of the dual-channel DMM (see fig. 2, first information input of the two-channel digital meter 11 through the opening block-contact 8 of the charging key and the closing block-contact 10 of the bit switch is connected to the output of the first scale voltage converter 6 connected in parallel to the output terminals of the device. The second information input of the two-channel digital meter 11 through the closing block contact 9 of the charging key is connected to the second the output of the test voltage source, Descrip., pg. 4, par. 7, clm.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a two-channel digital meter with a storage device, as taught in Serebryakov in modifying the apparatus of Bober. The motivation would be allows measurement two different parameters or signals at the same time. (see Serebryakov).
Fan discloses automated battery isolation testing (ABIT) system (abs., par. [0003], [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide methods and systems for performing an active isolation detection function within an electrical system having a battery pack and a high-voltage bus., as taught in Fan in modifying the apparatus of Bober and Serebryakov. The motivation would be s automatically disconnecting the battery pack from the high-voltage bus (see Fan: par. [0014]).
Regarding claim 2, Bober, Serebryakov and Fan discloses the ABIT system of claim 1, Bober discloses wherein the control unit (fig. 1, elm. 60, par. [0006], [0011]) is further configured to, when the measured first voltage (fig. 1, first voltage level (V1), par. [0011]) is greater than or equal to the measured second voltage (fig. 1, third voltage level (V3), par. [0013]): insert the resistor (fig. 1, resistor 90, par. [0012]) between the negative terminal (120) and the chassis ground (30); and after inserting the resistor, measure the first voltage (fig. 1, second voltage level (V2), par. [0012]) to obtain the updated first voltage .
Regarding claims 3 and 13, Bober, Serebryakov and Fan do not explicitly disclose the isolation resistance (Ri): “Ri=R0×Ub (1/U1'-1/U1)“. However, Bober discloses “the isolation resistance (R1): “R1=R0(1+V3/V1)[(V1-V2)/V2)“. Further, determining a particular “Ri=R0×Ub (1/U2'-1/U2)“ is a matter of manipulation of variables requiring only ordinary skill in the art. Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to calculate “Ri=R0×Ub (1/U2'-1/U2)“ using the variables of the isolation resistance (R1): “R1=R0(1+V3/V1)[(V1-V2)/V2)“ in order to precisely determine the desired quantity using known mathematical relationships since manipulation of relevant variables requires only ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, Bober, Serebryakov and Fan do not explicitly disclose the isolation resistance (Ri): “Ri=R0×Ub (1/U2'-1/U2)“. However, Bober discloses “the isolation resistance (R1): “R1=R0(1+V3/V1)[(V1-V2)/V2)“. Further, determining a particular “Ri=R0×Ub (1/U2'-1/U2)“ is a matter of manipulation of variables requiring only ordinary skill in the art. Thus, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to calculate “Ri=R0×Ub (1/U2'-1/U2)“ using the variables of the isolation resistance (R1): “R1=R0(1+V3/V1)[(V1-V2)/V2)“ in order to precisely determine the desired quantity using known mathematical relationships since manipulation of relevant variables requires only ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 4, Bober, Serebryakov and Fan discloses the ABIT system of claim 1, Bober discloses wherein the control unit (fig. 1, elm. 60, par. [0006], [0011]) is further configured to, when the measured first voltage (fig. 1, first voltage level (V1), par. [0011]) is less than the measured second voltage (fig. 1, third voltage level (V3), par. [0013]): insert the resistor (90) between the positive terminal (130) and the chassis ground (30); and after inserting the resistor, measure the second voltage to obtain the updated second voltage (fig. 1, fourth voltage level (V4), par. [0014]).
Regarding claim 6, Bober, Serebryakov and Fan discloses the ABIT system of claim 1, Bober discloses wherein the control unit (60) is further configured to generate the malfunction alert (fig. 2-4, test flag equal to the test failure value, par. [0019]-[0021]) when the calculated isolation resistance (fig. 1-3, determine a second isolation
resistance, par. [0017]-[0021]) is less than the isolation resistance threshold (fig. 2-4, predetermined test value, par. [0019]).
Regarding claim 11, Bober discloses battery isolation testing (ABIT) system (fig. 1, system 10 for determining an isolation resistance, par. [0006]) method for a high voltage battery system (fig. 1, elm. 20, par.[0011]) of an electrified vehicle (fig. 1, electric vehicle, par. [0007]), the, measuring, by a control unit (fig. 1, elm. 60, par. [0006], [0011]) and meter (fig. 1, elm. 50, par. [0011]), a first voltage (fig. 1, first voltage level (V1), par. [0011]) between a negative terminal (fig. 1, elm. 120, par.[0011]) of the high voltage battery system and a chassis ground (fig. 1, vehicle chassis 30, par. [0011]) of the electrified vehicle (fig. 1, electric vehicle, par. [0007]); measuring, by the control unit and meter (fig. 1, elm. 50, par. [0011]), a second voltage (fig. 1, third voltage level (V3), par. [0013]) between a positive terminal (fig. 1, elm. 130, par.[0013]) of the high voltage battery system (20) and the chassis ground (30); based on a comparison between the measured first (V1) and second voltages (V3), inserting, by the control unit (60), a resistor (fig. 1, resistor 90, par. [0012]) having a known resistance between (i) one of the negative (120) and positive terminals (130) and (ii) the chassis ground (30) and obtain an updated first (fig. 1, second voltage level (V2), par. [0012]) or second voltage (fig. 1, fourth voltage level (V4), par. [0014]); based on the measured first and second voltages, the known resistance, and the updated first or second voltage, calculating, by the control unit, an isolation resistance (fig. 1-3, determine a second isolation resistance, par. [0017]-[0021]) of the high voltage battery system; and selectively generating, by the control unit, a malfunction alert based on a comparison between the calculated isolation resistance (fig. 2-4, test flag equal to the test failure value, par. [0019]-[0021]) and an isolation resistance threshold (fig. 2-4, predetermined test value, par. [0019]).
Bober does not disclose automated battery isolation testing (ABIT) system; using a first channel of a dual-channel digital multimeter (DMM); using a separate second channel of the dual-channel DMM meter.
Serebryakov discloses using a first channel of a dual-channel digital multimeter (DMM) (see fig. 2, first information input of the two-channel digital meter 11 through the opening block-contact 8 of the charging key and the closing block-contact 10 of the bit switch is connected to the output of the first scale voltage converter 6 connected in parallel to the output terminals of the device. Descrip., pg. 4, par. 7, clm.); using a separate second channel of the dual-channel DMM meter (see fig. 2, the second information input of the two-channel digital meter 11 through the closing block contact 9 of the charging key is connected to the second the output of the test voltage source, Descrip., pg. 4, par. 7, clm.).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Fan discloses automated battery isolation testing (ABIT) system (abs., par. [0003], [0029]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, Bober, Serebryakov and Fan discloses the ABIT method of claim 11, Bober discloses further comprising when the measured first voltage (fig. 1, first voltage level (V1), par. [0011]) is greater than or equal to the measured second voltage (fig. 1, third voltage level (V3), par. [0013]): inserting, by the control unit (fig. 1, elm. 60, par. [0006], [0011]), the resistor (fig. 1, resistor 90, par. [0012]) between the negative terminal (120) and the chassis ground (30); and after inserting the resistor, measuring, by the control unit (60)
Bober and Fan do not disclose using the first channel of the dual-channel DMM, the first voltage to obtain the updated first voltage.
Serebryakov discloses using the first channel of the dual-channel DMM, the first voltage to obtain the updated first voltage. (see fig. 2, first information input of the two-channel digital meter 11 through the opening block-contact 8 of the charging key and the closing block-contact 10 of the bit switch is connected to the output of the first scale voltage converter 6 connected in parallel to the output terminals of the device. Descrip., pg. 4, par. 7, clm.);
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, Bober, Serebryakov and Fan discloses ABIT method of claim 11, Bober discloses further comprising when the measured first voltage(fig. 1, first voltage level (V1), par. [0011]) is less than the measured second voltage (fig. 1, third voltage level (V3), par. [0013]): inserting, by the control unit (fig. 1, elm. 60, par. [0006], [0011]), the resistor (90) between the positive terminal (130) and the chassis ground (30); and after inserting the resistor, measuring, by the control unit .
Bober and Fan do not disclose using the second channel of the dual-channel DMM, the second voltage to obtain the updated second voltage.
Serebryakov discloses the second information input of the two-channel digital meter 11 through the closing block contact 9 of the charging key is connected to the second the output of the test voltage source, Descrip., pg. 4, par. 7, clm.).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, Bober, Serebryakov and Fan discloses the ABIT method of claim 11, Bober discloses further comprising generating, by the control unit (60), the malfunction alert (fig. 2-4, test flag equal to the test failure value, par. [0019]-[0021]) when the calculated isolation resistance (fig. 1-3, determine a second isolation resistance, par. [0017]-[0021]) is less than the isolation resistance threshold (fig. 2-4, predetermined test value, par. [0019]).
Claim(s) 7-9 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bober in view of Serebryakov in view of Fan as applied to claim 1/6 above, and further in view of Sun US 2016/0091551 A1.
Regarding claim 7, Bober, Serebryakov and Fan discloses the ABIT system of claim 6, Bober, Serebryakov and Fan do not disclose wherein the isolation resistance threshold is approximately 500 ohms per volt.
Suni discloses wherein the isolation resistance threshold is approximately 500 ohms per volt (par. [0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a minimum isolation resistance for electrical isolation in a high-voltage system, as taught in Sun in modifying the apparatus of Bober, Serebryakov and Fan. The motivation would be to provide minimum isolation resistance recommended by the SAE (see Sun: par. [0021]).
Regarding claim 8, Bober, Serebryakov and Fan discloses the ABIT system of claim 1, Bober, Serebryakov and Fan do not disclose wherein the control unit is further configured to communicate via a controller area network (CAN) of the electrified vehicle.
Sun discloses wherein the control unit (fig. 1-2, controller, par. [0018]) is further configured to communicate via a controller area network (CAN) (fig. 1, CAN, par. [0018]) of the electrified vehicle (fig. 1, elm. 12, par. [0012]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide communication between associated controllers and monitored components via a serial bus (e.g., Controller Area Network (CAN)), as taught in Sun in modifying the apparatus of Bober, Serebryakov and Fan. The motivation would be to minimizes the amount of wiring needed in vehicles which in turn lowers costs and decreases the overall weight of the system (see Sun: par. [0031]).
Regarding claim 9, Bober, Serebryakov and Fan discloses the ABIT system of claim 1, Sun discloses wherein the control unit (fig. 2, Battery Energy Control Module, par. [0019]) is further configured to send, via the CAN (fig. 1, CAN, par. [0018]), a wake-up request (output to alert the operator, par. [0030]) to a battery management system (BMS) (fig. 2, BECM 76, par. [0019], [0030]) of a control system of the electrified vehicle (fig. 1, elm. 12, par. [0021]) wherein receipt of the wake-up command causes the BMS to wake-up the high voltage battery system (fig. 1, elm. 24, par. [0029]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 17, Bober, Serebryakov and Fan discloses the ABIT method of claim 16, Bober, Serebryakov and Fan do not disclose wherein the isolation resistance threshold is approximately 500 ohms per volt.
Suni discloses wherein the isolation resistance threshold is approximately 500 ohms per volt (par. [0021]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, Bober, Serebryakov and Fan discloses the ABIT method of claim 11, Bober, Serebryakov and Fan do not disclose further comprising communicating, by the control unit, via a controller area network (CAN) of the electrified vehicle.
Sun discloses communicating, by the control unit (fig. 1-2, controller, par. [0018]) via a controller area network (CAN) (fig. 1, CAN, par. [0018]) of the electrified vehicle (fig. 1, elm. 12, par. [0012]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 8.
Regarding claim 19, Bober, Serebryakov and Fan discloses the ABIT method of claim 18, Sun discloses further comprising sending, by the control unit (fig. 2, Battery Energy Control Module, par. [0019]) and via the CAN (fig. 1, CAN, par. [0018]), a wake-up request (output to alert the operator, par. [0030]) to a battery management system (BMS) (fig. 2, BECM 76, par. [0019], [0030]) of a control system of the electrified vehicle (fig. 1, elm. 12, par. [0021]), wherein receipt of the wake-up command causes the BMS to wake-up the high voltage battery system (fig. 1, elm. 24, par. [0029]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 8.
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bober in view of Serebryakov in view of Fan in view of Sun as applied to claim 9/19above, and further in view of MORTON et al. US 2023/0261331 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Morton).
Regarding claim 10, Bober, Serebryakov, Fan and Sun discloses the ABIT system of claim 9, Bober, Serebryakov, Fan and Sun do not disclose wherein the control unit is further configured to maintain, via the CAN and the BMS, a desired state of the high voltage battery system, wherein the desired state indicates a state of a set of contactors of the high voltage battery system.
Morton disclose wherein the control unit (fig. 5c, smart controller 183, par. [0363], 0365]) is further configured to maintain, via the CAN and the BMS (fig. 6C, 6D, par. [0405]-[0408], [0566]), a desired state of the high voltage battery system (elm. 550, par. par. [0407]), wherein the desired state indicates a state of a set of contactors (contactor State of Health (SOH), par. [0544], [0566]) of the high voltage battery system (fig. 6A, high voltage battery system, par. [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a controller maintains an understanding of the condition, state of health and state of charge of each cell of the cell string including the state of health of the contactors, and can share this data with the vehicle, as taught in Morton in modifying the apparatus of Bober, Serebryakov, Fan and Sun. The motivation would be to allow disabling output of the battery module and reporting the fault to the vehicle systems (see Morton: par. [0365]).
Regarding claim 20, , Bober, Serebryakov, Fan and Sun discloses the ABIT method of claim 19, Bober, Serebryakov, Fan and Sun do not disclose further comprising maintaining, by the control unit (fig. 5c, smart controller 183, par. [0363], 0365]) and via the CAN and the BMS (fig. 6C, 6D, par. [0405]-[0408], [0566]), a desired state of the high voltage battery system (elm. 550, par. par. [0407]), wherein the desired state indicates a state of a set of contactors (contactor State of Health (SOH), par. [0544], [0566]) of the high voltage battery system (fig. 6A, high voltage battery system, par. [0055]).
The references are combined for the same reason already applied in the rejection of claim 9.
Conclusion
/COURTNEY G MCDONNOUGH/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/EMAN A ALKAFAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858 7/22/2026