DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4-8, 11-15, 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,757,640. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘640 patent include all the limitations of the instant claims.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 11,757,640
obtain a cryptographic challenge and a token address from a client device, the cryptographic challenge being signed with a private key associated with the client device; (Claim 1)
receive a cryptographic challenge from a content provider in response to sending an access request to the content provider to access content that requires authentication; sign the cryptographic challenge with the private key; (Claim 3)
receive a token address from the token issuer system... (Claim 1)
identify token data associated with a non-fungible token stored in a distributed ledger based at least in part the token address, the token data comprising a public key; (Claim 1)
the token address corresponding to a location of the non-fungible token on a distributed ledger. (Claim 1)
transmit the public key and the one or more identity credentials to the token issuer system; (Claim 1)
determine that the public key is associated with the private key used to sign the cryptographic challenge; (Claim 1)
generate a key-pair comprising a private key and a public key; (Claim 1)
sign the cryptographic challenge with the private key; (Claim 3)
and authenticate a user in response to determining that the private key is associated with the public key. (Claim 1)
receive access to the content in response to the content provider authenticating the user account based at least in part on the cryptographic challenge and the non-fungible token associated with the token address. (Claim 3)
Claims 2-3, 9-10, 16-17 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,757,640, in view of in view of Hamel, U.S. Patent No. 11,539,533 (“Hamel 2”). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘640 patent include all the limitations of the instant claims except the verification of a token issuer against a list of approved token issues.
Hamel 2 discloses checking the credential issuers against a list of trusted issuers such that if the credential issuer exists in the list of trusted issuers, a given transaction should proceed (Col. 4, lines 11-48: transaction should proceed when the credential issuer exists in the list of trusted issuers shows to those having ordinary skill in the art that the transaction should not proceed when the credential issuer does not exist in the list of trusted issuers), which meets the limitation of the machine-readable instructions further cause the computing device to at least verify that a token issuer associated a creation of the non-fungible token is included in a list of approved token issuers, authentication of the user being denied in response to the token issuer failing to be included in a list of approved token issuers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the claims of the ‘640 patent to have included limitations that require checking token issuers against a list of trusted issuers in order to provide a means of vetting the credential issuers as suggested by Hamel 2 (Col. 4, lines 11-48).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 8, 14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamel, U.S. Publication No. 2019/0319940, in view of Rehm, U.S. Patent No. 11,494,799. Referring to claim 1, Hamel discloses a DCIAMS that includes a processor (Figure 1C, element 1C04) and a memory (Figure 1C, element 1C26) that includes executing application data (Figure 1C, element 1C28), which meets the limitation of a computing device comprising a processor and a memory, and machine-readable instructions stored in the memory that, when executed by the processor, cause the computing device to. The DCIAMS receives a proof response from an authentication device that includes a signature generated using the identity private key of the DID holder ([0225]: authentication device reads on the claimed client device) that includes a DID ([0227]: DID reads on the claimed token address), which meets the limitation of obtain a cryptographic challenge and a token address from a client device, the cryptographic challenge being signed with a private key associated with the client device. The DID keypair is registered as a DID document in a distributed ledger, and in association with a badge credential ([0223]), such that the DID document is retrieved from the distributed ledger using the target DID and comparing the public key from the DID document with the public key of the badge credential ([0227]), which meets the limitation of identify token data [associated with a non-fungible token] stored in a distributed ledger based at least in part the token address, the token data comprising a public key. If the public key from the decentralized ledger matches a DID in the badge credential, the badge credential is satisfactory to unlock a lock ([0227]: satisfactory credential would be considered a user authentication; public key would be considered to be associated with the private key used to sign to the extent that the public key from the DID document is stored with the private key from the DID document used to sign the proof response [0225]), which meets the limitation of determine that the public key is associated with the private key used to sign the cryptographic challenge, and authenticate a user in response to determining that the private key is associated with the public key.
Hamel does not specify that the badge credential is implemented as an NFT. Rehm discloses badge credentials that can be implemented as NFTs (Col. 6, line 61 – Col. 7, line 18), which meets the limitation of token data associated with a non-fungible token. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the badge credentials of Hamel to have been implemented as an NFT because Rehm discloses that NFTs are one of a finite number of possible implementations for badge credentials that could have been utilized by one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success (Rehm: Col. 6, lines 61 – Col. 7, line 18).
Referring to claim 7, Hamel discloses that the authentication device provides a request to unlock to the lock system associated with the lock ([0225]) allowing entry to a building ([0215]: access to the building shows that the lock system is providing access to a restricted location), which meets the limitation of obtain an access request to access to a restricted location from the client device, access to the restricted location requiring user authentication. If the public key from the decentralized ledger matches a DID in the badge credential, the badge credential is satisfactory to unlock a lock ([0227]: satisfactory credential would be considered a user authentication) allowing entry to the building ([0215]), which meets the limitation of grant access to the restricted location in response to authenticating the user.
Referring to claim 8, Hamel discloses a DCIAMS that receives a proof response from an authentication device that includes a signature generated using the identity private key of the DID holder ([0225]: authentication device reads on the claimed client device) that includes a DID ([0227]: DID reads on the claimed token address), which meets the limitation of obtaining a cryptographic challenge and a token address from a client device, the cryptographic challenge being signed with a private key associated with the client device. The DID keypair is registered as a DID document in a distributed ledger, and in association with a badge credential ([0223]), such that the DID document is retrieved from the distributed ledger using the target DID and comparing the public key from the DID document with the public key of the badge credential ([0227]), which meets the limitation of identifying token data [associated with a non-fungible token] stored in a distributed ledger based at least in part the token address, the token data comprising a public key. If the public key from the decentralized ledger matches a DID in the badge credential, the badge credential is satisfactory to unlock a lock ([0227]: satisfactory credential would be considered a user authentication; public key would be considered to be associated with the private key used to sign to the extent that the public key from the DID document is stored with the private key from the DID document used to sign the proof response [0225]), which meets the limitation of determining that the public key is associated with the private key used to sign the cryptographic challenge, and authenticating a user in response to determining that the private key is associated with the public key.
Hamel does not specify that the badge credential is implemented as an NFT. Rehm discloses badge credentials that can be implemented as NFTs (Col. 6, line 61 – Col. 7, line 18), which meets the limitation of token data associated with a non-fungible token. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the badge credentials of Hamel to have been implemented as an NFT because Rehm discloses that NFTs are one of a finite number of possible implementations for badge credentials that could have been utilized by one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success (Rehm: Col. 6, lines 61 – Col. 7, line 18).
Referring to claim 14, Hamel discloses that the authentication device provides a request to unlock to the lock system associated with the lock ([0225]) allowing entry to a building ([0215]: access to the building shows that the lock system is providing access to a restricted location), which meets the limitation of obtaining an access request to access to a restricted location from the client device, access to the restricted location requiring user authentication. If the public key from the decentralized ledger matches a DID in the badge credential, the badge credential is satisfactory to unlock a lock ([0227]: satisfactory credential would be considered a user authentication) allowing entry to the building ([0215]), which meets the limitation of granting access to the restricted location in response to authenticating the user.
Referring to claim 15, Hamel discloses a DCIAMS that receives a proof response from an authentication device that includes a signature generated using the identity private key of the DID holder ([0225]: authentication device reads on the claimed client device) that includes a DID ([0227]: DID reads on the claimed token address), which meets the limitation of obtain a cryptographic challenge and a token address from a client device, the cryptographic challenge being signed with a private key associated with the client device. The DID keypair is registered as a DID document in a distributed ledger, and in association with a badge credential ([0223]), such that the DID document is retrieved from the distributed ledger using the target DID and comparing the public key from the DID document with the public key of the badge credential ([0227]), which meets the limitation of identify token data [associated with a non-fungible token] stored in a distributed ledger based at least in part the token address, the token data comprising a public key. If the public key from the decentralized ledger matches a DID in the badge credential, the badge credential is satisfactory to unlock a lock ([0227]: satisfactory credential would be considered a user authentication; public key would be considered to be associated with the private key used to sign to the extent that the public key from the DID document is stored with the private key from the DID document used to sign the proof response [0225]), which meets the limitation of determine that the public key is associated with the private key used to sign the cryptographic challenge, and authenticate a user in response to determining that the private key is associated with the public key.
Hamel does not specify that the badge credential is implemented as an NFT. Rehm discloses badge credentials that can be implemented as NFTs (Col. 6, line 61 – Col. 7, line 18), which meets the limitation of token data associated with a non-fungible token. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the badge credentials of Hamel to have been implemented as an NFT because Rehm discloses that NFTs are one of a finite number of possible implementations for badge credentials that could have been utilized by one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success (Rehm: Col. 6, lines 61 – Col. 7, line 18).
Claims 2, 3, 9, 10, 16, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamel, U.S. Publication No. 2019/0319940, in view of Rehm, U.S. Patent No. 11,494,799, and further in view of Hamel, U.S. Patent No. 11,539,533 (“Hamel 2”). Referring to claim 2, Hamel discloses that the badge credential is issued by an issuer ([0223]). Hamel does not specify that the checking the badge credential issuer against a list of approved issues.
Hamel 2 discloses checking the credential issuers against a list of trusted issuers such that if the credential issuer exists in the list of trusted issuers, a given transaction should proceed (Col. 4, lines 11-48: transaction should proceed when the credential issuer exists in the list of trusted issuers shows to those having ordinary skill in the art that the transaction should not proceed when the credential issuer does not exist in the list of trusted issuers), which meets the limitation of the machine-readable instructions further cause the computing device to at least verify that a token issuer associated a creation of the non-fungible token is included in a list of approved token issuers, authentication of the user being denied in response to the token issuer failing to be included in a list of approved token issuers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the badge credential issuer of Hamel to have been checked against a list of trusted issuers in order to provide a means of vetting the credential issuers as suggested by Hamel 2 (Col. 4, lines 11-48).
Referring to claim 3, Hamel discloses that the DID document is retrieved from the distributed ledger using the target DID and comparing the public key from the DID document with the public key of the badge credential ([0227]) that was created by an issuer ([0223]), which meets the limitation of wherein the token address is associated with the token issuer.
Referring to claim 9, Hamel discloses that the badge credential is issued by an issuer ([0223]). Hamel does not specify that the checking the badge credential issuer against a list of approved issues.
Hamel 2 discloses checking the credential issuers against a list of trusted issuers such that if the credential issuer exists in the list of trusted issuers, a given transaction should proceed (Col. 4, lines 11-48: transaction should proceed when the credential issuer exists in the list of trusted issuers shows to those having ordinary skill in the art that the transaction should not proceed when the credential issuer does not exist in the list of trusted issuers), which meets the limitation of verifying that a token issuer associated a creation of the non-fungible token is included in a list of approved token issuers, authentication of the user being denied in response to the token issuer failing to be included in a list of approved token issuers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the badge credential issuer of Hamel to have been checked against a list of trusted issuers in order to provide a means of vetting the credential issuers as suggested by Hamel 2 (Col. 4, lines 11-48).
Referring to claim 10, Hamel discloses that the DID document is retrieved from the distributed ledger using the target DID and comparing the public key from the DID document with the public key of the badge credential ([0227]) that was created by an issuer ([0223]), which meets the limitation of wherein the token address is associated with the token issuer.
Referring to claim 16, Hamel discloses that the badge credential is issued by an issuer ([0223]). Hamel does not specify that the checking the badge credential issuer against a list of approved issues.
Hamel 2 discloses checking the credential issuers against a list of trusted issuers such that if the credential issuer exists in the list of trusted issuers, a given transaction should proceed (Col. 4, lines 11-48: transaction should proceed when the credential issuer exists in the list of trusted issuers shows to those having ordinary skill in the art that the transaction should not proceed when the credential issuer does not exist in the list of trusted issuers), which meets the limitation of the machine-readable instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the computing device to at least verify that a token issuer associated a creation of the non-fungible token is included in a list of approved token issuers, authentication of the user being denied in response to the token issuer failing to be included in a list of approved token issuers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the badge credential issuer of Hamel to have been checked against a list of trusted issuers in order to provide a means of vetting the credential issuers as suggested by Hamel 2 (Col. 4, lines 11-48).
Referring to claim 17, Hamel discloses that the DID document is retrieved from the distributed ledger using the target DID and comparing the public key from the DID document with the public key of the badge credential ([0227]) that was created by an issuer ([0223]), which meets the limitation of wherein the token address is associated with the token issuer.
Claims 4, 11, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamel, U.S. Publication No. 2019/0319940, in view of Rehm, U.S. Patent No. 11,494,799, and further in view of Kim, U.S. Publication No. 2015/0113275. Referring to claim 4, Hamel discloses that the system can provide access to a requested database application, from an application system, if authorization is verified ([0216]: credential authentication is performed), which meets the limitation of obtain an access request to access content [from the client device], access to the content requiring user authentication, and grant access to the content in response to authenticating the user.
Hamel does not disclose that the application system is part of the authentication device. Kim discloses combining authentication servers with application servers ([0026]), which meets the limitation of from the client device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the application system of Hamel to have been combined with the authorization device to create a single device because Kim describes such a combination as one of a finite number of possible embodiments for application systems and authorization devices that could have been implemented by one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success.
Referring to claim 11, Hamel discloses that the system can provide access to a requested database application, from an application system, if authorization is verified ([0216]: credential authentication is performed), which meets the limitation of obtaining an access request to access content [from the client device], access to the content requiring user authentication, and granting access to the content in response to authenticating the user.
Hamel does not disclose that the application system is part of the authentication device. Kim discloses combining authentication servers with application servers ([0026]), which meets the limitation of from the client device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the application system of Hamel to have been combined with the authorization device to create a single device because Kim describes such a combination as one of a finite number of possible embodiments for application systems and authorization devices that could have been implemented by one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success.
Referring to claim 18, Hamel discloses that the system can provide access to a requested database application, from an application system, if authorization is verified ([0216]: credential authentication is performed), which meets the limitation of obtain an access request to access content [from the client device], access to the content requiring user authentication, and grant access to the content in response to authenticating the user.
Hamel does not disclose that the application system is part of the authentication device. Kim discloses combining authentication servers with application servers ([0026]), which meets the limitation of from the client device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the application system of Hamel to have been combined with the authorization device to create a single device because Kim describes such a combination as one of a finite number of possible embodiments for application systems and authorization devices that could have been implemented by one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 12-13, 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Foster, U.S. Patent No. 11,308,487, discloses a transaction system that utilizes NFT and a blockchain network.
/BENJAMIN E LANIER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2437