DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of papers, which have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on February 26, 2025 has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by HU et al. (hereinafter Hu) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2026/0239639 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hu teaches and discloses an apparatus (wireless communication device, figures 2 and 5) comprising: at least one processor (processor module, figure 2), and at least one memory (memory module, figure 2) storing computer program codes that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to:
arrange the apparatus in a low power state; receive a wake-up signal with a low power receiver that is operable in the low power state and the wake-up signal comprises information identifying an apparatus or type of apparatus, and instructions to perform one or more actions in response to the wake-up signal ([0011]; [0041]; “…A signal (e.g., a LP-WUS) may carry at least one of following information: wake-up information; user equipment (UE) or wireless communication device identifier (ID) information; a defined ID information…”; [0045]; “…The UE or wireless communication device group information can be obtained based on the user equipment (UE) or wireless communication device identifier (ID) information or defined ID information…”; [0049]; “…When the signal is received, after a time duration or time offset, the UE may determine the action…”; [0144]; “…a low-power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) may trigger a UE action for power saving instead of always-on monitoring…”; teaches the wireless communication device arranges in a low-power state receives a low-power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) where the WUS carries ID information and instructions for the wireless communication device to perform actions in response to receiving the WUS);
determine if the wake-up signal is intended for the apparatus based on the information identifying an apparatus or type of apparatus in the wake-up signal; and perform the one or more actions indicated in the wake-up signal based on the determination ([0011]; [0041]; “…A signal (e.g., a LP-WUS) may carry at least one of following information: wake-up information; user equipment (UE) or wireless communication device identifier (ID) information; a defined ID information…”; [0045]; “…The UE or wireless communication device group information can be obtained based on the user equipment (UE) or wireless communication device identifier (ID) information or defined ID information…”; [0049]; “…When the signal is received, after a time duration or time offset, the UE may determine the action…”; [0144]; “…a low-power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) may trigger a UE action for power saving instead of always-on monitoring…”; [0151]; “…The wireless communication device may determine the action when the wireless communication device is in the RRC_CONNECTED state…”; teaches the wireless communication device determines if the LP-WUS carries ID information and instructions for the wireless communication device to perform actions in response to receiving and determining the WUS).
Regarding claim 2, Hu further teaches and discloses transition the apparatus to a high power state to perform the one or more actions ([0011]; [0144]; “…a low-power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) may trigger a UE action for power saving instead of always-on monitoring…”; [0151]; “…The wireless communication device may determine the action when the wireless communication device is in the RRC_CONNECTED state…”; teaches the wireless communication device performs actions in a high power/connected state).
Regarding claim 3, Hu further teaches and discloses wherein the apparatus comprises a main radio wherein the main radio is separate from the low power receiver, has a higher power usage than the low power receiver and is arranged in an off state when the apparatus is in the low power state ([0032]; [0042]; “…The wake-up information can be used to wake up a main radio or a UE by the WUR…”; [0043]; teaches a main radio and low power transceiver/WUR).
Regarding claim 4, Hu further teaches and discloses wherein the wake-up signal is modulated so that the wake-up signal can be received by an on-off keying receiver ([0040]; teaches the LP-WUS can be modulated using OOK and received by a receiver).
Regarding claim 8, Hu further teaches and discloses receive a signal in response to the one or more actions wherein the signal indicates that one or more of the actions performed by the apparatus have been observed ([0011]; [0144]; “…a low-power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) may trigger a UE action for power saving instead of always-on monitoring…”; [0151]; “…The wireless communication device may determine the action when the wireless communication device is in the RRC_CONNECTED state…”; teaches the wireless communication device performs the actions and the action is completed).
Regarding claim 9, Hu further teaches and discloses wherein the apparatus is at least one of, an emergency device, a sensing device, a localisation device, an Internet of Things device (wireless communication device, figure 2) ([0030]).
Claims 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by He et al. (hereinafter He) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2026/0270874 A1).
Regarding claim 10, He teaches and discloses a user equipment (UE, figures 1 and 3) comprising: at least one processor (processor, figure 3), and at least one memory (memory, figure 3) storing computer program codes that, when executed by the at least one processor ([0067]; figure 3), cause the user equipment at least to:
determine whether the user equipment satisfies one or more location criteria; and broadcast a wake-up signal based on the determination wherein the wake-up signal comprises information identifying an apparatus or type of apparatus, and instructions to perform one or more actions in response to the wake-up signal ([0077]; [0079]; “…a UE monitors for a LP-WUS from a network node based on meeting at least one condition. The UE wakes up to receive communication from the network node in response to receiving the LP-WUS. By monitoring for a LP-WUS (as opposed to a PDCCH-WUS) based on at least one condition being met (e.g., a location of the UE within a cell…”; [0081]; “…second configuration 408 of a base station transmitting LP-WUS for UEs meeting a one or more criteria and transmitting PDCCH-WUS for other UEs…the condition may be based on…a location of the UE within a cell…”; [0088]; “type of UE”; [0092]; teaches determining whether the UE satisfies a criteria, such as location, and the broadcasting a low-power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) comprising type of UE and identifier and instructions to perform actions in response to the WUS).
Regarding claim 11, He further teaches and discloses wherein the wake-up signal is modulated so that the wake-up signal can be received by an on-off keying receiver ([0077]; teaches the WUS is based on an on off keying (OOK) modulation scheme).
Regarding claim 12, He further teaches and discloses receive a broadcast signal wherein the broadcast signal indicates the one or more location criteria ([0077]; [0079]; [0081]; [0092]; teaches communicating the location criteria).
Regarding claim 13, He further teaches and discloses receive a request to broadcast the wake-up signal ([0008]; [0083]; teaches a request for LP-WUS).
Regarding claim 14, He further teaches and discloses wherein the information identifying an apparatus or type of apparatus, and instructions to perform one or more actions used in the wake-up signal are based on information received in the request to broadcast the wake-up signal ([0077]; [0079]; “…a UE monitors for a LP-WUS from a network node based on meeting at least one condition. The UE wakes up to receive communication from the network node in response to receiving the LP-WUS. By monitoring for a LP-WUS (as opposed to a PDCCH-WUS) based on at least one condition being met (e.g., a location of the UE within a cell…”; [0081]; “…second configuration 408 of a base station transmitting LP-WUS for UEs meeting a one or more criteria and transmitting PDCCH-WUS for other UEs…the condition may be based on…a location of the UE within a cell…”; [0088]; “type of UE”; [0092]; teaches determining whether the UE satisfies a criteria, such as location, and the broadcasting a low-power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) comprising type of UE and identifier and instructions to perform actions in response to the WUS).
Regarding claim 15, He further teaches and discloses transmit an indication that one or more actions performed by an apparatus have been observed ([0077]; [0079]; [0081]; [0092]; teaches an indication that the action was performed).
Regarding claim 16, He further teaches and discloses detect a user input and broadcasting the wake-up signal in response to the detected user input ([0046]; [0054]; [0066]; [0067]; teaches detecting user input regarding receiving the LP-WUS).
Regarding claim 17, He teaches and discloses a network node (base station, figure 1 and 3) comprising: at least one processor (processor, figure 3), and at least one memory (memory, figure 3) storing computer program codes that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the network node at least to:
broadcast a signal indicating one or more location criteria; use received responses to the broadcast signal to select to one or more user equipments for broadcasting a wake-up signal; and transmit a request to broadcast the wake-up signal wherein the request is transmitted to the one or more selected user equipment ([0008]; [0077]; [0079]; “…a UE monitors for a LP-WUS from a network node based on meeting at least one condition. The UE wakes up to receive communication from the network node in response to receiving the LP-WUS. By monitoring for a LP-WUS (as opposed to a PDCCH-WUS) based on at least one condition being met (e.g., a location of the UE within a cell…”; [0081]; “…second configuration 408 of a base station transmitting LP-WUS for UEs meeting a one or more criteria and transmitting PDCCH-WUS for other UEs…the condition may be based on…a location of the UE within a cell…”; [0087]; [0088]; “type of UE”; [0092]; teaches the base station broadcasting a low-power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) comprising type of UE and identifier and instructions to perform actions in response to the WUS).
Regarding claim 18, He further teaches and discloses wherein the one or more user equipments are selected based on location criteria ([0077]; [0079]; [0081]; [0092]; teaches communicating the location criteria).
Regarding claim 19, He further teaches and discloses wherein the request to broadcast a wake-up signal comprises information to be used in the wake-up signal ([0008]; [0083]; teaches a request for LP-WUS).
Regarding claim 20, He further teaches and discloses wherein the network node is one of: a base station, a satellite ([0052]; figures 1 and 3; teaches the network node is a base station).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HU et al. (hereinafter Hu) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2026/0239639 A1) in view of HE et al. (hereinafter He2) (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2026/0239214 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Hu discloses the wireless communication device determines if the LP-WUS carries ID information and instructions for the wireless communication device to perform actions in response to receiving and determining the WUS, but may not explicitly disclose wherein the one or more actions comprise transmitting a wake-up confirm signal.
Nonetheless, in the same field of endeavor, He2 teaches and suggests wherein the one or more actions comprise transmitting a wake-up confirm signal ([0078]; [0080]; teaches transmitting an acknowledgement to the wake up signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate transmitting an acknowledgement to the wake up signal as taught by He2 with the method and apparatus for transmitting a LP-WUS as disclosed by Hu for the purpose of improving power consumption and power conservation, as suggested by He2.
Regarding claim 6, Hu, as modified by He2, further teaches and suggests wherein the wake-up confirm signal comprises at least one of: location information of the apparatus; an indication of one or more actions that have been initiated by the apparatus ([0144]; “…a low-power wake-up signal (LP-WUS) may trigger a UE action for power saving instead of always-on monitoring…”; [0151]; “…The wireless communication device may determine the action when the wireless communication device is in the RRC_CONNECTED state…”; teaches indication of one or more actions to be initiated with the LP-WUS).
Regarding claim 7, Hu, as modified by He2, further teaches and suggests wherein the wake-up confirm signal is modulated using on-off keying ([0040]; teaches the LP-WUS can be modulated using OOK).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/Suk Jin Kang/
Examiner, Art Unit 2477
September 29, 2026