DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,772,593).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses a single pixel moisture protected sensor array (the pixel is enclosed therefore it is protected from moisture) comprising:
a plurality of sensors (Fig. 1, elements 100u; column 8, lines 8-11);
a first inorganic layer over the plurality of sensors (Fig. 1, elements 104b2);
an organic layer including a plurality of individually isolated organic layer segments over the inorganic layer and laterally extending over each of the plurality of sensors (Fig. 1, elements 108b; column 7, lines 21-30); and
a second inorganic layer encapsulating each of the plurality of individually isolated organic layer segments (Fig. 1, elements 110a; column 12, lines 36-37).
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses a glass or flexible substrate coupled to the first inorganic layer (column 5, lines 62-63).
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses a data line in the first inorganic layer and laterally positioned underneath a boundary between adjacent organic layer segments (Fig. 1, elements 106b).
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses a data line above the first inorganic layer at a boundary between adjacent organic layer segments (Fig. 1, elements 106c).
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses first inorganic layer comprises silicon oxynitride (column 6, lines 36-40).
Regarding claim 6, Liu discloses the organic layer comprises an organic material having a low dielectric constant relative to that of silicon dioxide (column 7, lines 27-30, resin having a low dielectric constant relative to that of silicon dioxide).
Regarding claim 7, Liu discloses the second inorganic layer comprises silicon nitride (column 12, line 44).
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses a plurality of thin-film transistors (TFTs) in a one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of sensors (Fig. 1A, elements TR1, one pixel shown in the figure, there is plurality of pixels).
Regarding claim 9, Liu discloses a portion of each of the individually isolated organic layer segments is removed to expose at last a portion of each of the plurality of TFTs (Fig. 1A).
Regarding claim 19, Liu discloses a single pixel moisture protected sensor array (the pixel is enclosed therefore it is protected from moisture) comprising a plurality of pixels (Fig. 1A, elements 100u; column 8, lines 8-11), wherein each pixel is moisture protected by a single encapsulated organic layer segment that is isolated from single encapsulated organic layer segments of adjacent pixels (Fig. 1, element sections 108b).
Regarding claim 20, Liu discloses a flexible substrate configured for flexibly supporting the plurality of pixels (column 5, line 60).
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,294,837).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a single pixel moisture protected sensor array (the pixel is enclosed therefore it is protected from moisture) comprising:
a plurality of sensors (Fig. 18, elements 44; column 4, line 2);
a first inorganic layer over the plurality of sensors (Fig. 18, elements 70; column 6, lines 4-6);
an organic layer including a plurality of individually isolated organic layer segments over the inorganic layer and laterally extending over each of the plurality of sensors (Fig. 18, elements 92; column 9, lines 39-41); and
a second inorganic layer encapsulating each of the plurality of individually isolated organic layer segments (Fig. 18, stack 100/123/130; column 8, lines 20-23).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses a data line in the first inorganic layer and laterally positioned underneath a boundary between adjacent organic layer segments (Fig. 18, element 23).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses a data line above the first inorganic layer at a boundary between adjacent organic layer segments (Fig. 18, elements 113).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses first inorganic layer comprises silicon oxynitride (column 8, line 63).
Regarding claim 7, Kim discloses the second inorganic layer comprises silicon nitride (column 6, line 6).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses a plurality of thin-film transistors (TFTs) in a one-to-one correspondence with the plurality of sensors (Fig. 18, elements TFT1/TFT2, column 4, lines 15-17).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses a portion of each of the individually isolated organic layer segments is removed to expose at last a portion of each of the plurality of TFTs (Fig. 18).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses a single pixel moisture protected sensor array (the pixel is enclosed therefore it is protected from moisture) comprising a plurality of pixels (Fig. 18, column 6, lines 65-67), wherein each pixel is moisture protected by a single encapsulated organic layer segment that is isolated from single encapsulated organic layer segments of adjacent pixels (Fig. 18, elements 91-93).
Regarding claim 20, Kim discloses a flexible substrate configured for flexibly supporting the plurality of pixels (column 3, lines 33-35).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Homma et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7,982,190) in view of Liu et al. (U.S. Patent No. 12,772,593).
Regarding claim 10, Homma discloses a method for fabricating a single pixel moisture protected sensor array comprising:
forming a gate dielectric layer over a substrate, the gate dielectric layer including a gate for a thin film transistor (TFT) (Fig. 13, element 23; column 4, line 50);
forming a drain (Fig. 13, element 24; column 4, line 50), an island (Fig. 13; column 4, line 45), a source (Fig. 13, element 25; column 4, line 50), and a first metallization layer on a surface of the gate dielectric layer (Fig. 13, please see the attached figure, the metal line connects the drain 25 to the sensor 21);
forming a sensor on the first metallization layer (Fig. 13, element 21; column 4, line 55);
forming an inter-layer dielectric (ILD) over the TFT and the sensor (Fig. 13, please see the attached figure);
etching the ILD to provide vias to the drain and the sensor (Fig. 13, please see the attached figure, via to the sensor and to the drain via the sensor);
forming a second metallization layer over the ILD (Fig. 13, please see the attached figure);
etching the second metallization layer to form contacts to the drain and the sensor (Fig. 13, please see the attached figure);
forming an organic layer (Fig. 13, element 26, column 5, line 7);
etching the organic layer to form an organic layer segment laterally located over the sensor (Fig. 13); and
forming a second inorganic layer of the first inorganic layer and the organic layer (Fig. 13, element 48).
Homma does not disclose forming a first inorganic layer over the ILD and the contacts and the organic layer is formed over the inorganic layer.
Liu discloses forming a first inorganic layer over the ILD and the contacts and the organic layer is formed over the inorganic layer (Fig. 1A, forming first inorganic layer 104b over the ILD 108a and the contacts and the organic layer 108b is formed over the inorganic layer 104b). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Homma in view of Liu to form a first inorganic layer before forming the organic layer in order to provide efficient protection for the sensors under radiation.
Regarding claim 11, Homma discloses the substrate comprises a glass or flexible substrate (column 4, line 23).
Regarding claim 12, Homma discloses the flexible substrate comprises a polymer material (column 13, lines 41-46).
Regarding claim 13, Homma discloses the sensor comprises an amorphous silicon material (column 4, lines 44-46).
Regarding claim 14, Homma discloses the ILD comprises silicon oxynitride (column 10, line 16).
Regarding claim 15, Liu discloses the first inorganic layer comprises silicon oxynitride (column 6, lines 36-40).
Regarding claim 16, Homma discloses the organic layer comprises an organic material having a low dielectric constant relative to that of silicon dioxide (column 5, lines 7-8, resin having a low dielectric constant relative to that of silicon dioxide).
Regarding claim 17, Homma discloses the second inorganic layer comprises silicon nitride (column 10, line 20).
Regarding claim 18, Homma discloses a buffer layer interposed between the substrate and the gate dielectric layer (Fig. 13, column 11, line 60).
Claims 10-11 and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O'Rourke et al. (U.S. Patent No. 9,269,737) in view of Kim et al. (U.S. Patent No. 8,294,837).
Regarding claim 10, O'Rourke discloses a method for fabricating a single pixel moisture protected sensor array comprising:
forming a gate dielectric layer over a substrate, the gate dielectric layer including a gate for a thin film transistor (Fig. 1, element 108);
forming a drain, an island, a source, and a first metallization layer on a surface of the gate dielectric layer (Fig. 1);
forming a sensor of the first metallization layer (Fig. 1, sensor including stack 110-116 on first metallization layer 104);
forming an inter-layer dielectric (ILD) over the TFT and the sensor (Figs. 2-3, element 118/120);
etching the ILD to provide vias to the drain and the sensor (Fig. 5);
forming a second metallization layer over the ILD (Fig. 6-8, element 126/128/130);
etching the second metallization layer to form contacts to the drain and the sensor (Fig. 9);
forming a first inorganic layer over the ILD and the contacts (Fig. 10, element 132).
O'Rourke does not disclose forming an organic layer over the inorganic layer, etching the organic layer to form an organic layer segment laterally located over the sensor, and forming a second inorganic layer of the first inorganic layer and the organic layer.
Kim discloses forming an organic layer over the inorganic layer, etching the organic layer to form an organic layer segment laterally located over the sensor (Fig. 7, elements 91/92/93), and forming a second inorganic layer of the first inorganic layer and the organic layer (Fig. 8-10). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified O'Rourke in view of Kim to form an organic layer over the inorganic layer, etch the organic layer to form an organic layer segment laterally located over the sensor, and form a second inorganic layer of the first inorganic layer and the organic layer, in order to obtain additional protection from the environment.
Regarding claim 11, O'Rourke discloses the substrate comprises a glass or flexible substrate (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 13, O'Rourke discloses the sensor comprises an amorphous silicon material (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 14, O'Rourke discloses the ILD comprises silicon oxynitride (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 15, O'Rourke discloses the first inorganic layer comprises silicon oxynitride (column 5, lines 7-10).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses the organic layer comprises an organic material having a low dielectric constant relative to that of silicon dioxide (organic material known having a low dielectric constant).
Pertinent Art
For the benefits of the Applicant, US-9284187-B2, US-10461211-B2, US-11670648-B2, US-10355040-B2, US-20170236857-A1, US-10707262-B2, US-11495176-B1, US-6707066-B2, and US-20170082558-A1, are cited on the record as being pertinent to significant disclosure through some but not all claimed features of the defined invention. The references fail to disclose the combination of limitation including “etching the second metallization layer to form contacts to the drain and the sensor, forming a first inorganic layer over the ILD and the contacts, forming an organic layer over the inorganic layer, the organic layer including a plurality of individually isolated organic layer segments over the inorganic layer and laterally extending over each of the plurality of sensors.”
Conclusion
/VU A VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897