DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a bank layer on the protective layer and having a first recess and a second recess overlapping the first light emitting area and the second light emitting area, respectively; a first light emitting element including a first pixel electrode, a first light emitting layer, and a common electrode on the bank layer to correspond to the first recess; a second light emitting element including a second pixel electrode, a second light emitting layer, and a common electrode on the bank layer to correspond to the second recess; and a pixel definition layer defining a light emitting area on the bank layer, wherein the first pixel electrode has a single-layer inclined portion, wherein the second pixel electrode has a multi-layer inclined portion, and the multi-layered inclined portion includes a first sloped portion having a first inclination, and a second sloped portion above the first sloped portion and having a second inclination different from the first inclination, wherein a horizontal width of the first sloped portion is wider than a horizontal width of the second sloped portion” as cited in claim 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5-7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a) (1) as being anticipated by Park et al. (US. Pub: 2016/0190217 A1~hereinafter “Park”); Kimura et al. (US. Pub: 2015/0206928 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses (in at least figs. 3-6) a display device comprising: a substrate (not labeled; see fig. 3); a thin film transistor (T; [0030]) on the substrate; a protective layer (101) on the thin film transistor; a bank layer (102; [0036]) on the protective layer and having a plurality of recesses (see fig. 3); a plurality of light emitting elements ([0030]-[0033]) including a pixel electrode (103), a light emitting layer (105), and a common electrode (106) corresponding to each of the plurality of recesses on the bank layer (see at least fig. 3); and a pixel definition layer (104) defining a light emitting area on the bank layer, wherein a recess from among the recesses has a multi-stage slope (see figs. 3-6), and the pixel electrode (103) includes a first sloped portion (best seen in fig. 5; i.e. the Y slope) having a first inclination along the multi-stage slope of the recess (see at least figs. 3-6), and a second sloped portion (X; best seen in at least fig. 5) above the first sloped portion and having a second inclination different from the first inclination (as evident by at least fig. 5), wherein a horizontal width of the first sloped portion is wider than a horizontal width of the second sloped portion (see figs. 3-6).
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses (in at least figs. 3-6) the second inclination is smaller than the first inclination (see fig. 5).
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses (in at least figs. 3-6) the pixel electrode (103) further comprises a bottom portion connected to a bottom of the first sloped portion (see figs. 3-6), and a top portion connected to a top of the second sloped portion and on a top surface of the bank layer (see figs. 3-6).
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses (in at least figs. 3-6) the pixel definition layer (104) partially overlaps the top portion.
Regarding claim 7, Park discloses (in at least figs. 3-6) the light emitting layer (105) overlaps a bottom portion, a first sloped portion, and a second sloped portion of the pixel electrode (see figs. 3 and 6).
Regarding claim 10, Park discloses (in at least figs. 3-6) the recess has a multi-stage inclined structure.
Note: Kimura also discloses the claimed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US. Pub: 2016/0190217 A1~hereinafter “Park”); Kimura et al. (US. Pub: 2015/0206928 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses all the claimed limitations except for the horizontal width of the first sloped portion is in a range of 3 micrometers (μm) to 5 μm, wherein the horizontal width of the second sloped portion is in a range of 1 μm to 3 μm.
However, Park discloses (in at least figs. 3-6) the horizontal width of the first sloped (Y) is bigger than the horizontal width of the second sloped portion (X) (best seen in fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider forming the horizontal width of the first sloped portion of Park in a range of 3 micrometers (μm) to 5 μm, and the horizontal width of the second sloped portion is in a range of 1 μm to 3 μm through routine experimentation and optimization.
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses (in at least figs. 3-6) the first inclination is in a range of 20° to 30° ([0041]; [0048]), but is silent about the second inclination is in a range of 5° to 15°.
However, Park discloses (in at least figs. 3-6) a second inclination portion (X).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider forming the second inclination portion of Park in a range of 5° to 15° through routine experimentation and optimization.
Regarding claim 8, Park does expressly disclose the second inclination is greater than the first inclination.
However, Park discloses (in at least fig. 3-6) the second inclination (X) is smaller than the first inclination (Y) (see fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the second inclination of Park than the first inclination, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses (in at least figs. 3-6) the first inclination is in a range of 10° to 30° ([0041]), but is silent about the second inclination is in a range of 30° to 60°.
However, Park discloses (in at least figs. 3-6) a second inclination portion (X).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to consider forming the second inclination portion of Park in a range of 30° to 60° through routine experimentation and optimization.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-20 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 11, the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest a display device comprised of, in part, a bank layer on the protective layer and having a first recess and a second recess overlapping the first light emitting area and the second light emitting area, respectively; a first light emitting element including a first pixel electrode, a first light emitting layer, and a common electrode on the bank layer to correspond to the first recess; a second light emitting element including a second pixel electrode, a second light emitting layer, and a common electrode on the bank layer to correspond to the second recess; and a pixel definition layer defining a light emitting area on the bank layer, wherein the first pixel electrode has a single-layer inclined portion, wherein the second pixel electrode has a multi-layer inclined portion, and the multi-layered inclined portion includes a first sloped portion having a first inclination, and a second sloped portion above the first sloped portion and having a second inclination different from the first inclination, wherein a horizontal width of the first sloped portion is wider than a horizontal width of the second sloped portion. Claims 12-20 are allowed due to their dependency upon claim 11.
Conclusion
ELMITO BREVAL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/ELMITO BREVAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875