DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The claims filed 5/22/2026 are entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are independent.
Claims 1-3, 5-11, and 14-20 are currently amended.
Claims 4 and 12-13 are original.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Double Patenting
Applicant’s arguments with regard to the prior double patenting rejection of claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the current amendment presented herein.
35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant’s arguments with regard to the prior rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection necessitated by the current amendment.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim recites “…using an identifier of the, and…”, which is understood as “…using an identifier of the server, and…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
US Patent 11,727,394
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,727,394 B2 in view of Cho (US 2014/0040120 A1), further in view of Lau (US 2020/0342439 A1).
The instant claims share substantially similar limitations as the reference claims as demonstrated below.
Instant Claims
Reference Claims (U.S. Patent No. 11,727,394 B2)
1. A user device, comprising:
a non-transitory memory storing instructions; and
one or more hardware processors coupled with the non-transitory memory and configured to execute the instructions from the non-transitory memory to cause the user device to:
receive, by a digital wallet application of the user device associated with a user, transaction information associated with an electronic transaction between the user and a merchant;
determine, from a plurality of financial instruments associated with the digital wallet application, a first financial instrument for processing the electronic transaction, wherein the first financial instrument is determined for processing the transaction independent of the transaction information;
generate, for the electronic transaction and based on the first financial instrument, a digital token;
process the electronic transaction using the first financial instrument;
subsequent to transmitting the digital token detect that the user device is no longer associated with the computer network limiting condition;
in response to detecting that the user device is no longer associated with the computer network limiting condition, determine, from the plurality of financial instruments, a second financial instrument for processing the electronic transaction; and
cause the server to re-process the electronic transaction based on the second financial instrument.
1. A system, comprising:
a non-transitory memory; and
one or more hardware processors coupled with the non-transitory memory and configured to read instructions from the non-transitory memory to cause the system to perform operations comprising:
receiving, from an electronic payment tool associated with a first user and via a first network, transaction information associated with an electronic transaction between the first user and a merchant, wherein the transaction information comprises transaction data specific to the electronic transaction including a monetary amount associated with the electronic transaction;
receiving, via a payment network different from the first network, a first digital token corresponding to the electronic payment tool associated with the first user;
in response to receiving the first digital token, accessing a digital wallet associated with the electronic payment tool, wherein the digital wallet is linked to a plurality of financial instruments associated with the first user;
determining, from the plurality of financial instruments, a first financial instrument for processing the electronic transaction;
processing the electronic transaction using the digital wallet without transferring first funds from a funding account of the first financial instrument, wherein the processing the electronic transaction comprises:
creating a receivable record in an account database for storing the transaction information associated with the electronic transaction based on the first digital token received via the payment network, wherein the receivable record comprises allocation data indicating an initial allocation of the monetary amount associated with the electronic transaction to the first financial instrument associated with the digital wallet, and purchase data indicating at least one of an MCC code associated with the electronic transaction, a purchase category associated with the electronic transaction, or a merchant identifier of the merchant;
transmitting second funds from an account associated with the system in the monetary amount to the merchant; and
transmitting, to a merchant server associated with the merchant, a message indicating a successful processing of the electronic transaction;
subsequent to the processing the electronic transaction, determining a second financial instrument, from the plurality of financial instruments, for use in the electronic transaction;
in response to determining the second financial instrument for use in the electronic transaction, re-processing the electronic transaction using the second financial instrument via a series of commands transmitted within the payment network, wherein the re-processing the electronic transaction using the second financial instrument comprises charging at least a portion of the monetary amount to the second financial instrument for repaying the at least the portion of the monetary amount to the account associated with the system, wherein the charging comprises transmitting the series of commands to the payment network for transferring the at least the portion of the monetary amount from the second financial instrument to the account associated with the system and communicating the purchase data stored in the receivable record to an issuer host associated with the second financial instrument via the payment network;
updating the receivable record based on the re-processing of the electronic transaction using the second financial instrument; and
transmitting, to a user device associated with the first user, a notification indicating a completion of the re-processing of the electronic transaction using the second financial instrument.
2. The user device of claim 1, wherein the network resource limiting condition is associated with a computer network usage of the user device being above a threshold.
See below.
3. The user device of claim 1, wherein the computer network limiting condition is associated with a network connectivity bandwidth of the user device.
See below.
4. The user device of claim 1, wherein the digital token is generated using an identifier associated with the server, and wherein the digital token is routed from the POS device to the server via a payment network based on the identifier associated with the server.
See below.
5. The user device of claim 1, wherein the data is determined based on the transaction information.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the determining the second financial instrument for use in the electronic transaction is based on at least one of the monetary amount associated with the electronic transaction or a rewards program associated with the second financial instrument
6. The user device of claim 5, wherein the data comprises transaction history information associated with the user, wherein determining the second financial instrument for processing the electronic transaction is further based on the transaction history information.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
subsequent to the processing the electronic transaction, receiving, from the first user via the electronic payment tool, an input indicating a selection of a third financial instrument of the plurality of financial instruments for the re-processing the electronic transaction; and
in response to the receiving the input from the first user, providing a notification to the first user indicating that the second financial instrument is an optimal financial instrument for the electronic transaction based on a set of criteria.
7. The user device of claim 1, wherein executing the instructions further causes the user device to: prompt, via a user interface associated with the digital wallet application, the user for a financial instrument selection for the electronic transaction; and receive, via the user interface, the financial instrument selection, wherein determining the first financial instrument is based on the financial instrument selection received via the user interface.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
subsequent to the processing the electronic transaction, receiving, from the first user via the electronic payment tool, an input indicating a selection of a third financial instrument of the plurality of financial instruments for the re-processing the electronic transaction; and
in response to the receiving the input from the first user, providing a notification to the first user indicating that the second financial instrument is an optimal financial instrument for the electronic transaction based on a set of criteria.
9. The method of claim 8, wherein the causing the re-processing of the electronic transaction comprises: causing the server to transmit a series of commands to a payment network for charging the second financial instrument a monetary amount associated with the electronic transaction and to communicate the transaction information to an issuer host associated with the second financial instrument via the payment network.
1… in response to determining the second financial instrument for use in the electronic transaction, re-processing the electronic transaction using the second financial instrument via a series of commands transmitted within the payment network, wherein the re-processing the electronic transaction using the second financial instrument comprises charging at least a portion of the monetary amount to the second financial instrument for repaying the at least the portion of the monetary amount to the account associated with the system, wherein the charging comprises transmitting the series of commands to the payment network for transferring the at least the portion of the monetary amount from the second financial instrument to the account associated with the system and communicating the purchase data stored in the receivable record to an issuer host associated with the second financial instrument via the payment network;
10. The method of claim 8, wherein the electronic transaction is associated with a purchase of an item from the merchant, and wherein the transaction information comprises a merchant category code (MCC) code associated with the merchant and a category of the item.
1…
creating a receivable record in an account database for storing the transaction information associated with the electronic transaction based on the first digital token received via the payment network, wherein the receivable record comprises allocation data indicating an initial allocation of the monetary amount associated with the electronic transaction to the first financial instrument associated with the digital wallet, and purchase data indicating at least one of an MCC code associated with the electronic transaction, a purchase category associated with the electronic transaction, or a merchant identifier of the merchant;
11. The method of claim 8, wherein the determining the second financial instrument for use in the electronic transaction is further based on at least one of a monetary amount associated with the electronic transaction or a rewards program associated with the second financial instrument.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the determining the second financial instrument for use in the electronic transaction is based on at least one of the monetary amount associated with the electronic transaction or a rewards program associated with the second financial instrument.
12. The method of claim 8, further comprising: receiving an indication that the electronic transaction has been re-processed based on the second financial instrument; and providing a notification on a user interface of the digital wallet application based on the indication.
1…
updating the receivable record based on the re-processing of the electronic transaction using the second financial instrument; and
transmitting, to a user device associated with the first user, a notification indicating a completion of the re-processing of the electronic transaction using the second financial instrument.
13. The method of claim 8, wherein the user is a first user, and wherein the method further comprises:
detecting, via the digital wallet application, an indication to split the electronic transaction with a second user;
determining a first rewards amount corresponding to the first user and a second rewards amount corresponding to the second user; and
in response to detecting a payment from the second user to the first user corresponding to the electronic transaction, allocating the second rewards amount to a rewards account associated with the second user.
8. The system of claim 1, the operations further comprising:
detecting an indication to split the electronic transaction with a second user;
determining a first rewards amount corresponding to the first user and a second rewards amount corresponding to the second user; and
in response to detecting a payment from the second user to the first user corresponding to the electronic transaction, allocating the second rewards amount to a rewards account associated with the second user.
14. The method of claim 8, further comprising: prompting, via a user interface associated with the digital wallet application, the user for a financial instrument selection for the electronic transaction; and receiving, via the user interface, the financial instrument selection, wherein the determining the first financial instrument is based on the financial instrument selection received via the user interface.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
subsequent to the processing the electronic transaction, receiving, from the first user via the electronic payment tool, an input indicating a selection of a third financial instrument of the plurality of financial instruments for the re-processing the electronic transaction; and
in response to the receiving the input from the first user, providing a notification to the first user indicating that the second financial instrument is an optimal financial instrument for the electronic transaction based on a set of criteria.
16. The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the computer network resource is associated with a signal strength associated with the user device.
See below.
17. The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the computer network resource is associated with a network connectivity of the user device.
See below.
18. The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the digital token is generated using an identifier of the server associated with the digital wallet application, and wherein the digital token is routed, from the POS device via a payment network, to the server based on the identifier.
See below.
19. The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the data comprises transaction history information associated with the user, and wherein the determining the second financial instrument is further based on the transaction history information.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
subsequent to the processing the electronic transaction, receiving, from the first user via the electronic payment tool, an input indicating a selection of a third financial instrument of the plurality of financial instruments for the re-processing the electronic transaction; and
in response to the receiving the input from the first user, providing a notification to the first user indicating that the second financial instrument is an optimal financial instrument for the electronic transaction based on a set of criteria.
20. The non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 15, wherein the operations further comprise: prompting, via a user interface associated with the digital wallet application, the user for a financial instrument selection for the electronic transaction; and receiving, via the user interface, the financial instrument selection, wherein the determining the first financial instrument is further based on the financial instrument selection received via the user interface.
4. The system of claim 1, wherein the operations further comprise:
subsequent to the processing the electronic transaction, receiving, from the first user via the electronic payment tool, an input indicating a selection of a third financial instrument of the plurality of financial instruments for the re-processing the electronic transaction; and
in response to the receiving the input from the first user, providing a notification to the first user indicating that the second financial instrument is an optimal financial instrument for the electronic transaction based on a set of criteria.
As shown above, instant claim 1 shares substantially similar limitations as reference claim 1.
Reference claim 1 does not explicitly disclose, but Cho teaches transmitting the digital token to a point-of-sale (POS) device of the merchant via a short-range wireless communication established between the user device and the POS device (see paras. 0112, 0115, 0122); and detecting a computer resource limiting condition associated with the user device; and performing a payment in response to detecting the computer resource limiting condition associated with the user device (see paras. 0113-0116, 0120).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the reference claim to include the features taught by Cho.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to enable flexible wireless payments in a power off or low battery state (see Cho, paras. 0031-0037).
Reference claim 1 does not explicitly disclose, but Lau teaches: detecting a network limiting condition (see para. 0195); in response to detecting the user device is no longer associated with the network limiting condition, transmit the transaction information to a server (see para. 0207).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of the reference claim to include the feature taught by Lau.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to facilitate an offline transaction and to compare the transaction information to that sent by the terminal (see Lau, para. 0195, 0207).
Instant independent claims 8 and 15 are method and non-transitory machine-readable medium claims sharing substantially similar limitations as instant claim 1. As such, the claims are similarly rejected over reference claim 1 in view of Cho.
Instant claims 2-3 and 16-17 are similarly rejected over reference claim 1 in view of Cho and Lau. Subject to broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim limitations encompass the thresholds and conditions disclosed by Cho and Lau.
Regarding instant claims 4 and 18, reference claim 1 does not explicitly disclose, but Cho teaches wherein the digital token is generated using an identifier associated with the server, and wherein the digital token is routed from the POS device to the server via a payment network based on the identifier associated with the server (see para. 0122, wherein the payment credit card information includes a Bank Identification Number (BIN) which is used for routing, as known in the art).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system and product of the reference claim to include the feature taught by Cho.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to flexible payments in a power off or low battery state (see Cho, paras. 0031-0037).
Instant claims 5-7, 9-14, and 19-20 share substantially similar limitations as reference claims 1, 2, 4, and 8. The claims are rejected over the corresponding reference claims as mapped above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US 2014/0040120 A1) in view of Lau (US 2020/0342439 A1), further in view of Lafeer (US 2018/0218352 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 8, and 15, Cho discloses a user device, associated method, and associated machine-readable medium, comprising:
a non-transitory memory storing instructions (see paras. 0088-0090); and
one or more hardware processors coupled with the non-transitory memory and configured to execute the instructions from the non-transitory memory (see paras. 0088-0090) to cause the user device to:
receive, via a digital wallet application of the user device associated with a user, transaction information associated with an electronic transaction between the user and a merchant (see paras. 0113-0116);
detect a computer resource limiting condition associated with the user device (see paras. 0113-0116);
in response to detecting the computer resource limiting condition associated with the user device, determine, from a plurality of financial instruments associated with the digital wallet application, a first financial instrument for processing the electronic transaction, wherein the first financial instrument is determined for processing the transaction independent of the transaction information (see paras. 0113-0116, 0120, wherein a default payment card is used when the device is in a low-battery state);
generate, for the electronic transaction and based on the first financial instrument, a digital token (see para. 0122, wherein “digital token” reasonably encompasses the digital data representing the financial instrument read and transmitted to the point-of-sale to effectuate the payment, wherein the limitation does not necessarily further limit the token, e.g. to a surrogate PAN);
transmit the digital token to a point-of-sale (POS) device of the merchant via a short-range wireless communication established between the user device and the POS device, wherein transmitting the digital token to the POS device causes the POS device to process the electronic transaction using the first financial instrument (see para. 0112, 0115, 0122);
subsequent to transmitting the digital token to the POS device, detect that the user device is no longer associated with the computer processing limiting condition (see paras. 0099-0105, 0130, wherein the power state of the mobile terminal may be subsequently be greater).
Cho does not explicitly disclose, but Lau teaches:
detecting a network limiting condition (see para. 0195);
in response to detecting the user device is no longer associated with the network limiting condition, transmit the transaction information to a server (see para. 0207);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device, method, and product of Cho to include the feature of Lau.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to facilitate an offline transaction and to compare the transaction information to that sent by the terminal (see Lau, para. 0195, 0207).
Cho does not explicitly disclose, but Lafeer teaches:
in response to detecting that the user device is no longer associated with the computer processing limiting condition, determine, from the plurality of financial instruments, a second financial instrument for processing the electronic transaction (see Fig. 9; paras. 0082-0090, wherein “in response to detecting that the user device is no longer associated with the computer processing limiting condition” reasonably encompasses when the device battery is at an adequate level to run the application);
cause a server to re-process the electronic transaction based on the second financial instrument (see Fig. 9; paras. 0082-0090).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device, method, and product of Cho to include the feature taught by Lafeer.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to allow the user to select an appropriate financial service account to be used in completing a transaction sometime after the transaction between the user and the merchant occurs (see Lafeer, para. 0092).
Regarding claim 3, the combination set forth with regard to the base claim teaches wherein the computer network limiting condition is associated with a network connectivity bandwidth of the user device (see Cho paras. 0113-0116, 120, wherein battery state of charge is reasonably “associated with” network connectivity bandwidth; Lau paras. 0195, 0207).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Cho discloses wherein the digital token is generated using an identifier associated with the server, and wherein the digital token is routed from the POS device to the server via a payment network based on the identifier associated with the server (see para. 0122, wherein the payment credit card information includes a Bank Identification Number (BIN) used for routing, as known in the art).
Regarding claim 5, Lafeer teaches wherein the data is determined based on the transaction information (see para. 0092).
Regarding claims 6 and 19, Lafeer teaches wherein the data comprises transaction history information associated with the user, wherein determining the second financial instrument for processing the electronic transaction is further based on the transaction history information (see Fig. 9; paras. 0082-0090).
Regarding claims 7 and 20, Lafeer teaches wherein executing the instructions further causes the user device to: prompt, via a user interface associated with the digital wallet application, the user for a financial instrument selection for the electronic transaction; and receive, via the user interface, the financial instrument selection, wherein determining the first financial instrument is based on the financial instrument selection received via the user interface (see Fig. 9; paras. 0082-0090).
Regarding claim 9, Lafeer teaches causing the server to transmit a series of commands to a payment network for charging the second financial instrument a monetary amount associated with the electronic transaction and to communicate the transaction information to an issuer host associated with the second financial instrument via the payment network (see Figs. 7-9; para. 0079-0080, wherein the transaction is completed through typical payment processing procedures, which includes communication to an issuer).
Regarding claim 11, Lafeer teaches wherein the data is determined based on at least one of a monetary amount associated with the electronic transaction or a rewards program associated with the second financial instrument (see para. 0003, 0092).
Regarding claim 12, Lafeer teaches receiving an indication that the electronic transaction has been re-processed based on the second financial instrument; and providing a notification on a user interface of the digital wallet application based on the indication (see para. 0080-0081).
Regarding claim 14, Lafeer teaches prompting, via a user interface associated with the digital wallet application, the user for a financial instrument selection for the electronic transaction; and receiving, via the user interface, the financial instrument selection, wherein the determining the first financial instrument is based on the financial instrument selection received via the user interface (see Fig. 9; paras. 0082-0090).
Regarding claim 16, Cho discloses wherein the computer network resource is associated with a signal strength associated with the user device (see paras. 0113-0116, 0120, wherein battery state of charge is reasonably “associated with” computer processing availability).
Regarding claim 17, Cho discloses wherein the computer network resource is associated with a network connectivity of the user device (see paras. 0113-0116, wherein battery state of charge is reasonably “associated with” network connectivity).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US 2014/0040120 A1) in view of Lau (US 2020/0342439 A1), further in view of Lafeer (US 2018/0218352 A1), further in view of Ely (US 2016/0095017 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Cho does not explicitly disclose, but Ely teaches wherein the computer network limiting condition is associated with a computer network usage of the user device being above a threshold (see para. 0127).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Cho further to include the feature of Ely.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification to restrict network access to a client device based on determining that the resource usage has exceeded the threshold value (see Ely, para. 0131).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cho (US 2014/0040120 A1) in view of Lau (US 2020/0342439 A1), further in view of Lafeer (US 2018/0218352 A1), further in view of Shrivastava (US 2014/0019352 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Cho discloses wherein the electronic transaction is associated with a purchase of an item from the merchant (see para. 0110, wherein performing a transaction at a point-of-sale terminal encompasses purchasing an item from a merchant).
Cho does not explicitly disclose, but Shrivastava teaches wherein the transaction information comprises a merchant category code (MCC) code associated with the merchant and a category of the item (see para. 0215).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Cho to include the feature of Shrivastava.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the modification allow the wallet to implement rules for using funds (see Shrivastava, para. 0215).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bhat (US 2019/0130385 A1) discloses a computer program product for facilitating offline transactions including: a computer readable storage medium having program instructions embodied therewith. The program instructions are executable by a user device to cause the user device to: receive an offline payment request from a merchant payment system via local communications; provide a payment approval message to the merchant payment system via the local communications to cause the merchant payment system to store the payment approval message; and provide offline transaction information to the payment server corresponding to the payment approval message; and provide the offline transaction information to the payment server corresponding to the payment approval message to the payment server when the user device and the payment server are connected via a network.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC T WONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3693
ERIC WONG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3693