DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/13/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues the cited prior fails to teach 1) "at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: analyze an analysis area associated with a prediction block of a coding unit that does not have a directionality from its coding mode;" 2) "wherein the at least one intra prediction mode is derived for the prediction block", 3) " wherein the at least one intra prediction mode is derived for the coding unit." The cited prior art Kim discloses software code (instructions) stored in memory executed by at least one processor. [¶ 0260] Kim further discloses non-directional (dc and planar mode) coding modes . [¶ 0093-0094] Kim teaches the prediction mode is determined in the encoding process associating with a prediction block. [fig. 1; ¶ 0047-0061; (¶ 0055-0056)] Kim further discloses the at least one intra prediction mode is derived for the coding unit through the encoding process. [¶ 0055-0056; ¶ 0086; ¶ 0093-0094; ¶ 0131-0132] Kim discloses the coding unit defined as a basic unit for performing the prediction [¶ 0 0086-0088] The cited prior art fairly suggests and teaches the claim limitations as presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. US 2025/0039400.
As to claim 1, Kim teaches an apparatus comprising: at least one processor; [abstract; ¶ 0256; ¶ 0260] and at least one memory storing instructions [¶ 0258-0260] that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: analyze an analysis area associated with a prediction block of a coding unit that does not have a directionality from its coding mode; [¶ 0046; ¶ 0055-0056; ¶ 0093-0094] and derive at least one intra prediction mode, based on the analyzing of the analysis area associated with the prediction block of the coding unit. [¶ 0055-0056; ¶ 0086; ¶ 0093-0094; ¶ 0131-0132]
As to claim 2, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1. Kim teaches wherein the analysis area associated with the prediction block comprises samples inside the prediction block. [figs. 9-10; ¶ 0102; ¶ 0141-0151]
As to claim 3, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1. Kim teaches wherein the apparatus is further caused to: determine at least one dominant direction of the prediction block, based on the analyzing of the analysis area associated with the prediction block; [¶ 0055; ¶ 0086-0087] and wherein the at least one intra prediction mode is derived based on the at least one dominant direction of the prediction block. [¶ 0086-0087; ¶ 0103-0104; ¶ 0132]
As to claim 4, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1. Kim teaches wherein the coding unit comprises at least one of: an inter coding unit, or an affine coding unit, or an intra block copy coding unit, or a spatial geometric partition mode coding unit, or a geometric partition mode coding unit, or an intra template matching coding unit, or a matrix weighted intra prediction coding unit, or an extrapolation filter-based intra prediction unit. [¶ 0056; ¶ 071; ¶ 0086; ¶ 0121; ¶ 0177; ¶ 0180; ¶ 0183; ¶ 0191; ¶ 0210]
As to claim 5, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1. Kim teaches wherein the analyzing of the analysis area associated with the prediction block comprising applying decoder side intra mode derivation with gradient analysis to the analysis area associated with the prediction block. [¶ 0132]
As to claim 6, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1. Kim teaches wherein the at least one intra prediction mode is derived from a predetermined table. [¶ 0086-0087]
As to claim 7, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1. wherein the at least one intra prediction mode is derived from a predetermined function. [¶ 0086-0087]
As to claim 8, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1. Kim teaches wherein the coding unit comprises at least one of: a spatial geometric partition mode coding unit, or a geometric partition mode coding unit, or an intra template matching coding unit, or a matrix weighted intra prediction coding unit, or an extrapolation filter-based intra prediction unit. [¶ 0086; ¶ 0177; ¶ 0180; ¶ 0183; ¶ 0210]
As to claim 9, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1. Kim teaches wherein the at least one intra prediction mode is derived for the prediction block. [¶ 0086-0087; ¶ 0103-0104; ¶ 0132]
As to claim 10, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1. Kim teaches wherein the at least one intra prediction mode is derived for the coding unit. [¶ 0086-0087; ¶ 0103-0104; ¶ 0132]
As to claim 11, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 10. Kim teaches wherein the at least one intra prediction mode that is derived for the coding unit is used for the prediction block. [¶ 0086-0087; ¶ 0103-0104; ¶ 0132]
As to claim 12, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 10. Kim teaches wherein the at least one intra prediction mode that is derived for the coding unit is used for all 4x4 subblocks within the coding unit including the prediction block. [¶ 0077-0079; ¶ 0151; ¶ 0155]
As to claim 13, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1. Kim teaches wherein the apparatus is further caused to: determine whether a 4x4 subblock of the coding unit belongs to a first partition of the coding unit, a second partition of the coding unit, or to both the first partition of the coding unit and the second partition of the coding unit; [¶ 0077-0079; ¶ 0151; ¶ 0155] and determine the at least one intra prediction mode for the 4x4 subblock, based on whether the 4x4 subblock belongs to the first partition of the coding unit, the second partition of the coding unit, or to both the first partition of the coding unit and the second partition of the coding unit. [¶ 0077-0079; ¶ 0151; ¶ 0155]
As to claim 14, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 13. Kim teaches wherein the apparatus is further caused to: apply decoder side intra mode derivation to the analysis area that is in the first partition of the coding unit to determine an analysis result; [¶ 0086; ¶ 0104; ¶ 0132] and determine the at least one intra prediction mode for the 4x4 subblock based on the analysis result determined based on applying decoder side intra mode derivation to the analysis area that is in the first partition of the coding unit, in response to the 4x4 subblock belonging to the first partition of the coding unit. [¶ 0077-0079; ¶ 0086; ¶ 0104; ¶ 0132; ¶ 0151; ¶ 0155]
As to claim 15, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 13. Kim teaches wherein the apparatus is further caused to: apply decoder side intra mode derivation to the analysis area that is in the second partition of the coding unit to determine an analysis result; [¶ 0086; ¶ 0104; ¶ 0132] and determine the at least one intra prediction mode for the 4x4 subblock based on the analysis result determined based on applying decoder side intra mode derivation to the analysis area that is in the second partition of the coding unit, in response to the 4x4 subblock belonging to the second partition of the coding unit. [¶ 0077-0079; ¶ 0086; ¶ 0104; ¶ 0132; ¶ 0151; ¶ 0155]
As to claim 16, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 13. Kim teaches wherein the apparatus is further caused to: apply decoder side intra mode derivation to a blended area of the first partition of the coding unit and the second partition of the coding unit to determine an analysis result; [¶ 0086; ¶ 0104; ¶ 0132; ¶ 0208-0210] and determine the at least one intra prediction mode for the 4x4 subblock based on the analysis result determined based on applying decoder side intra mode derivation to the blended area of the first partition of the coding unit and the second partition of the coding unit, in response to the 4x4 subblock belonging to both the first partition of the coding unit the second partition of the coding unit. [¶ 0077-0079; ¶ 0086; ¶ 0104; ¶ 0132; ¶ 0151; ¶ 0155]
As to claim 17, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 13. Kim teaches wherein the prediction block is the 4x4 subblock of the coding unit. [¶ 0077-0079; ¶ 0151; ¶ 0155]
As to claim 18, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 13. Kim teaches wherein the at least one intra prediction mode is derived per 4x4 subblock for all 4x4 subblocks of the coding unit, wherein a 4x4 subblock of the 4x4 subblocks is the prediction block. [¶ 0077-0079; ¶ 0086; ¶ 0104; ¶ 0132; ¶ 0151; ¶ 0155]
As to claim 19, Kim teaches the limitations of claim 1. Kim teaches wherein the apparatus is further caused to: derive the at least one intra prediction mode for smaller blocks within the coding unit that are smaller than the coding unit; [¶ 0055-0056; ¶ 0064; ¶ 0072; ¶ 0077-0079; ¶ 0086; ¶ 0090; ¶ 0104; ¶ 0132; ¶ 0135; ¶ 0137; ¶ 0151; ¶ 0155] analyze, for each of the smaller blocks within the coding unit using a statistical method, a respective analysis area comprising a number of samples associated with a respective smaller block within the coding unit; [¶ 0055-0056; ¶ 0064; ¶ 0072; ¶ 0077-0079; ¶ 0086; ¶ 0090; ¶ 0104; ¶ 0132; ¶ 0135; ¶ 0137; ¶ 0151; ¶ 0155] and determine the at least one intra prediction mode of all 4x4 subblocks within each of the smaller blocks within the coding unit, based on the analyzing of the respective analysis area comprising the number of samples of each of the smaller blocks within the coding unit; [¶ 0077-0079; ¶ 0086; ¶ 0090; ¶ 0104; ¶ 0132; ¶ 0137; ¶ 0151; ¶ 0155] and wherein the coding unit is an inter coding unit, an affine coding unit, or an intra block copy coding unit. [¶ 0056; ¶ 0071; ¶ 0121; ¶ 0183; ¶ 0191]
As to claim 20, Kim teaches a method comprising: analyzing an analysis area associated with a prediction block of a coding unit that does not have a directionality from its coding mode; [¶ 0046; ¶ 0055-0056; ¶ 0093-0094; ¶ 0131-0132] and deriving at least one intra prediction mode, based on the analyzing of the analysis area associated with the prediction block of the coding unit. [¶ 0055-0056; ¶ 0086; ¶ 0093-0094; ¶ 0131-0132]
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNER HOLDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483