This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s claims filed on 10/29/2024. Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for domestic priority from Application No. 63594207 filed 10/30/2023 has been acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah et al. (U.S. PG Pub 20220092212; hereinafter referred to as Shah), in view of Lin et al. (CN 114297283; Published April 8, 2022; Translation Provided by IP.com; hereinafter referred to as Lin), and in further view of Stanley et al. (U.S. PG Pub 20100145921; hereinafter referred to as Stanley).
As per claim 1, Shah teaches:
from a local hosting environment having a native scanning tool: detecting creation of a new data store within the network (e.g. Shah: [0111] discloses the network scanning utility 212 may be triggered (at 221), e.g., automatically or by an administrator, to scan a network 102. If a new database is discovered (at 223), the network scanning utility 212 adds information regarding the discovered database DB (e.g., the database type, name, and port number) to the managed databases database 213.);
responsive to detecting creation of the new data store, (e.g. Shah: [0111] discloses if a new database is discovered (at 223), the network scanning utility 212 adds information regarding the discovered database DB (e.g., the database type, name, and port number) to the managed databases database 213. Please note adding the information to a database in response to discovering a new database corresponds to Applicant’s performing some action in response to detecting a new data store.);
(e.g. Shah: [0121] discloses the system 10 next may scan each discovered database DB for sensitive or potentially sensitive data);
and receiving and recording the sensitivity information for the new data store (e.g. Shah: [0074] discloses for data discovered in (1), the system may connect to the discovered data (e.g., database(s) and/or file(s)), add information regarding the data to a system log, and may notify an administrator (database administrator).).
But Shah does not teach:
determining whether the new data store is physically located within a foreign hosting environment that is communicatively coupled to the local hosting environment through a non-private network;
responsive to determining that the new data store is physically located within the foreign hosting environment, creating an agent of the native scanning tool within the foreign hosting environment
and causing the agent to be applied to the new data store within the foreign hosting environment
However, Lin does teach determining whether the new data store is physically located within a foreign hosting environment that is communicatively coupled to the local hosting environment through a non-private network (e.g. Lin: [Page 10 Paragraph 1] discloses the data assets existing in a network environment are automatically found. Please note finding out where the data assets exist corresponds to Applicant's determining whether the new data store is physically located within a foreign hosting environment.);
Shah and Lin are in the same field of endeavor in terms of data processing and therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shah with the teachings of Lin to determining whether the new data store is physically located within a foreign hosting environment that is communicatively coupled to the local hosting environment through a non-private network. This improves security and lowers risks. Knowing the data store is in in a foreign hosting environment lets the system and/or administrators know that if they choose to send data over the non-private network, data in transit is exposed to interception, tampering, and eavesdropping. So they can set up strong end to end encryption if they need to.
But Shah-Lin does not teach:
responsive to determining that the new data store is physically located within the foreign hosting environment, creating an agent of the native scanning tool within the foreign hosting environment;
and causing the agent to be applied to the new data store within the foreign hosting environment
However, Stanley does teach:
responsive to determining that the new data store is physically located within the foreign hosting environment, creating an agent of the native scanning tool within the foreign hosting environment (e.g. Stanely: [0006] discloses loading agent software on a first server and scanning the first server with the agent software to identify data stores located on the first server.);
and causing the agent to be applied to the new data store within the foreign hosting environment (e.g. Stanley: [0031] discloses the data store scanner software is configured to recognize and analyze such diverse data stores as appropriate to the technical hardware platform on which it is deployed.);
Shah-Lin and Stanley are in the same field of endeavor in terms of data processing and therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shah-Lin with the teachings of Stanley to responsive to determining that the new data store is physically located within the foreign hosting environment, creating an agent of the native scanning tool within the foreign hosting environment; and causing the agent to be applied to the new data store within the foreign hosting environment . This improves efficiency and security. Loading an agent to work with the data on-site means that the data is not sent over non-private networks which lowers risk and boosts efficiency because an entire data store does not have to be moved.
As per claim 2, Shah-Lin-Stanley teach claim 1 as applied above. Shah further teaches wherein the local hosting environment is a first cloud hosting environment and wherein the foreign hosting environment is one of: a second cloud hosting environment; and an on-premise hosting environment
(e.g. Shah: [0071] discloses the network may include a corporate network that may be deployed on-premises, and/or in the cloud. [0081] discloses the system 10 may interface via one or more computers (not shown) with one or more databases. [0082] discloses the databases DB may be cloud-based, on-premises, centralized, distributed. Please note a network is made up of multiple servers/environments. As such the local hosting environment could be in the cloud and the foreign environment for a database could be another cloud or on-premise.).
As per claim 3, Shah-Lin-Stanley teach claim 1 as applied above. Shah further teaches wherein the local hosting environment having the native scanning tool is an on-premise hosting environment and wherein the foreign hosting environment is a cloud hosting environment (e.g. Shah: [0071] discloses the network may include a corporate network that may be deployed on-premises, and/or in the cloud. The databases DB may be cloud-based, on-premises, centralized, distributed. [0081] discloses the system 10 may interface via one or more computers (not shown) with one or more databases. [0082] discloses the databases DB may be cloud-based, on-premises, centralized, distributed. Please note a network is made up of multiple servers/environments. As such the local hosting environment could be on-premise and the foreign environment for a database could be in the cloud.).
As per claim 6, Shah teaches:
tangible, non-transitory computer-readable medium embodying instructions which, when executed by at least one processor of a data processing system, cause the data processing system to carry out a method for monitoring a file system within a distributed network, the method comprising (e.g. Shah: [0022] discloses non-transitory computer-readable medium with one or more computer programs stored therein that, when executed by one or more processors of a device, cause the one or more processors to perform the method(s).):
from a local hosting environment having a native scanning tool: detecting creation of a new data store within the network (e.g. Shah: [0111] discloses the network scanning utility 212 may be triggered (at 221), e.g., automatically or by an administrator, to scan a network 102. If a new database is discovered (at 223), the network scanning utility 212 adds information regarding the discovered database DB (e.g., the database type, name, and port number) to the managed databases database 213.);
responsive to detecting creation of the new data store, (e.g. Shah: [0111] discloses if a new database is discovered (at 223), the network scanning utility 212 adds information regarding the discovered database DB (e.g., the database type, name, and port number) to the managed databases database 213. Please note adding the information to a database in response to discovering a new database corresponds to Applicant’s performing some action in response to detecting a new data store.);
(e.g. Shah: [0121] discloses the system 10 next may scan each discovered database DB for sensitive or potentially sensitive data);
and receiving and recording the sensitivity information for the new data store (e.g. Shah: [0074] discloses for data discovered in (1), the system may connect to the discovered data (e.g., database(s) and/or file(s)), add information regarding the data to a system log, and may notify an administrator (database administrator).).
But Shah does not teach:
determining whether the new data store is physically located within a foreign hosting environment that is communicatively coupled to the local hosting environment through a non-private network;
responsive to determining that the new data store is physically located within the foreign hosting environment, creating an agent of the native scanning tool within the foreign hosting environment
and causing the agent to be applied to the new data store within the foreign hosting environment
However, Lin does teach determining whether the new data store is physically located within a foreign hosting environment that is communicatively coupled to the local hosting environment through a non-private network (e.g. Lin: [Page 10 Paragraph 1] discloses the data assets existing in a network environment are automatically found. Please note finding out where the data assets exist corresponds to Applicant's determining whether the new data store is physically located within a foreign hosting environment.);
Shah and Lin are in the same field of endeavor in terms of data processing and therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shah with the teachings of Lin to determining whether the new data store is physically located within a foreign hosting environment that is communicatively coupled to the local hosting environment through a non-private network. This improves security and lowers risks. Knowing the data store is in in a foreign hosting environment lets the system and/or administrators know that if they choose to send data over the non-private network, data in transit is exposed to interception, tampering, and eavesdropping. So they can set up strong end to end encryption if they need to.
But Shah-Lin does not teach:
responsive to determining that the new data store is physically located within the foreign hosting environment, creating an agent of the native scanning tool within the foreign hosting environment;
and causing the agent to be applied to the new data store within the foreign hosting environment
However, Stanley does teach:
responsive to determining that the new data store is physically located within the foreign hosting environment, creating an agent of the native scanning tool within the foreign hosting environment (e.g. Stanely: [0006] discloses loading agent software on a first server and scanning the first server with the agent software to identify data stores located on the first server.);
and causing the agent to be applied to the new data store within the foreign hosting environment (e.g. Stanley: [0031] discloses the data store scanner software is configured to recognize and analyze such diverse data stores as appropriate to the technical hardware platform on which it is deployed.);
Shah-Lin and Stanley are in the same field of endeavor in terms of data processing and therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shah-Lin with the teachings of Stanley to responsive to determining that the new data store is physically located within the foreign hosting environment, creating an agent of the native scanning tool within the foreign hosting environment; and causing the agent to be applied to the new data store within the foreign hosting environment . This improves efficiency and security. Loading an agent to work with the data on-site means that the data is not sent over non-private networks which lowers risk and boosts efficiency because an entire data store does not have to be moved.
As per claim 7, Shah-Lin-Stanley teach claim 6 as applied above. Shah further teaches wherein the local hosting environment is a first cloud hosting environment and wherein the foreign hosting environment is one of: a second cloud hosting environment; and an on-premise hosting environment
(e.g. Shah: [0071] discloses the network may include a corporate network that may be deployed on-premises, and/or in the cloud. [0081] discloses the system 10 may interface via one or more computers (not shown) with one or more databases. [0082] discloses the databases DB may be cloud-based, on-premises, centralized, distributed. Please note a network is made up of multiple servers/environments. As such the local hosting environment could be in the cloud and the foreign environment for a database could be another cloud or on-premise.).
As per claim 8, Shah-Lin-Stanley teach claim 6 as applied above. Shah further teaches wherein the local hosting environment having the native scanning tool is an on-premise hosting environment and wherein the foreign hosting environment is a cloud hosting environment (e.g. Shah: [0071] discloses the network may include a corporate network that may be deployed on-premises, and/or in the cloud. The databases DB may be cloud-based, on-premises, centralized, distributed. [0081] discloses the system 10 may interface via one or more computers (not shown) with one or more databases. [0082] discloses the databases DB may be cloud-based, on-premises, centralized, distributed. Please note a network is made up of multiple servers/environments. As such the local hosting environment could be on-premise and the foreign environment for a database could be in the cloud.).
As per claim 11, Shah teaches:
one processor and a memory storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the data processing system to carry out a method for monitoring a file system within a distributed network, the method comprising (e.g. Shah: [Fig. 12] discloses a processor 304 and a memory 306 connected by a bus 302.):
from a local hosting environment having a native scanning tool: detecting creation of a new data store within the network (e.g. Shah: [0111] discloses the network scanning utility 212 may be triggered (at 221), e.g., automatically or by an administrator, to scan a network 102. If a new database is discovered (at 223), the network scanning utility 212 adds information regarding the discovered database DB (e.g., the database type, name, and port number) to the managed databases database 213.);
responsive to detecting creation of the new data store, (e.g. Shah: [0111] discloses if a new database is discovered (at 223), the network scanning utility 212 adds information regarding the discovered database DB (e.g., the database type, name, and port number) to the managed databases database 213. Please note adding the information to a database in response to discovering a new database corresponds to Applicant’s performing some action in response to detecting a new data store.);
(e.g. Shah: [0121] discloses the system 10 next may scan each discovered database DB for sensitive or potentially sensitive data);
and receiving and recording the sensitivity information for the new data store (e.g. Shah: [0074] discloses for data discovered in (1), the system may connect to the discovered data (e.g., database(s) and/or file(s)), add information regarding the data to a system log, and may notify an administrator (database administrator).).
But Shah does not teach:
determining whether the new data store is physically located within a foreign hosting environment that is communicatively coupled to the local hosting environment through a non-private network;
responsive to determining that the new data store is physically located within the foreign hosting environment, creating an agent of the native scanning tool within the foreign hosting environment
and causing the agent to be applied to the new data store within the foreign hosting environment
However, Lin does teach determining whether the new data store is physically located within a foreign hosting environment that is communicatively coupled to the local hosting environment through a non-private network (e.g. Lin: [Page 10 Paragraph 1] discloses the data assets existing in a network environment are automatically found. Please note finding out where the data assets exist corresponds to Applicant's determining whether the new data store is physically located within a foreign hosting environment.);
Shah and Lin are in the same field of endeavor in terms of data processing and therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shah with the teachings of Lin to determining whether the new data store is physically located within a foreign hosting environment that is communicatively coupled to the local hosting environment through a non-private network. This improves security and lowers risks. Knowing the data store is in in a foreign hosting environment lets the system and/or administrators know that if they choose to send data over the non-private network, data in transit is exposed to interception, tampering, and eavesdropping. So they can set up strong end to end encryption if they need to.
But Shah-Lin does not teach:
responsive to determining that the new data store is physically located within the foreign hosting environment, creating an agent of the native scanning tool within the foreign hosting environment;
and causing the agent to be applied to the new data store within the foreign hosting environment
However, Stanley does teach:
responsive to determining that the new data store is physically located within the foreign hosting environment, creating an agent of the native scanning tool within the foreign hosting environment (e.g. Stanely: [0006] discloses loading agent software on a first server and scanning the first server with the agent software to identify data stores located on the first server.);
and causing the agent to be applied to the new data store within the foreign hosting environment (e.g. Stanley: [0031] discloses the data store scanner software is configured to recognize and analyze such diverse data stores as appropriate to the technical hardware platform on which it is deployed.);
Shah-Lin and Stanley are in the same field of endeavor in terms of data processing and therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shah-Lin with the teachings of Stanley to responsive to determining that the new data store is physically located within the foreign hosting environment, creating an agent of the native scanning tool within the foreign hosting environment; and causing the agent to be applied to the new data store within the foreign hosting environment . This improves efficiency and security. Loading an agent to work with the data on-site means that the data is not sent over non-private networks which lowers risk and boosts efficiency because an entire data store does not have to be moved.
As per claim 12, Shah-Lin-Stanley teach claim 11 as applied above. Shah further teaches wherein the local hosting environment is a first cloud hosting environment and wherein the foreign hosting environment is one of: a second cloud hosting environment; and an on-premise hosting environment
(e.g. Shah: [0071] discloses the network may include a corporate network that may be deployed on-premises, and/or in the cloud. [0081] discloses the system 10 may interface via one or more computers (not shown) with one or more databases. [0082] discloses the databases DB may be cloud-based, on-premises, centralized, distributed. Please note a network is made up of multiple servers/environments. As such the local hosting environment could be in the cloud and the foreign environment for a database could be another cloud or on-premise.).
As per claim 13, Shah-Lin-Stanley teach claim 11 as applied above. Shah further teaches wherein the local hosting environment having the native scanning tool is an on-premise hosting environment and wherein the foreign hosting environment is a cloud hosting environment (e.g. Shah: [0071] discloses the network may include a corporate network that may be deployed on-premises, and/or in the cloud. The databases DB may be cloud-based, on-premises, centralized, distributed. [0081] discloses the system 10 may interface via one or more computers (not shown) with one or more databases. [0082] discloses the databases DB may be cloud-based, on-premises, centralized, distributed. Please note a network is made up of multiple servers/environments. As such the local hosting environment could be on-premise and the foreign environment for a database could be in the cloud.).
Claim(s) 4, 9, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah-Lin-Stanley in view of Krajewski et al. (U.S. PG Pub 20220058602; hereinafter referred to as Krajewski), in further view of Anand et al. (U.S. PG Pub 20200356462; hereinafter referred to as Anand), and in further view of Sabiun et al. (U.S. Patent 12748605; hereinafter referred to as Sabiun).
As per claim 4, Shah-Lin-Stanley teach claim 1 as applied above. Shah further teaches receiving the lists of current data stores; and comparing the received lists of current data stores to a master list of recognized data stores to identify any data stores that are included in the lists of current data stores but absent from the master list of recognized master stores (e.g. Shah: [0112] discloses the network scanning utility 212 compares the discovered database DB with a managed databases database 213 of existing databases DB on the backend system 100. [0112] further discloses if there are additional discovered databases DB to be checked against the log (at 228), the network scanning utility 212 checks the next discovered database DB (at 232) and repeats the process.).
But Shah-Lin-Stanley does not teach:
wherein detecting creation of a new data store within the network comprises: from within a subscription, identifying all other subscriptions to services within the network;
for each remote cloud hosting environment, querying a cloud hosting API for a hosting service hosting that remote cloud hosting environment for a list of current data stores in that remote cloud hosting environment that are associated with the subscriptions;
for each on-premise hosting environment, querying a preconfigured on-premise API for a list of current data stores within the on-premise hosting environment that are associated with the subscriptions;
However, Krajewski does teach
wherein detecting creation of a new data store within the network comprises: from within a subscription, identifying all other subscriptions to services within the network;
for each remote cloud hosting environment,
for each on-premise hosting environment,
(e.g. Krajewski: [0013] discloses systems and methods that provide capabilities for: on-prem sync to the cloud, vice-versa, on-prem to on-prem, and cloud to cloud, and the like; enable ubiquitous access to the cloud from both on-prem and network devices; enable the sharing and access of data across locations, devices, networks, and users, and the like. Please note being able to communicate cloud to cloud, it necessarily follows that the local cloud environment identifies other cloud environments to communicate with which corresponds to Applicant's identifying other subscriptions within the network. Please note further sharing and accessing data across cloud and on-premise devices/networks/environments corresponds to Applicant’s doing something for each on-premise/cloud environment.);
Shah-Lin-Stanley and Krajewski are in the same field of endeavor in terms of computer processes and therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shah-Lin-Stanley with the teachings of Krajewski to wherein detecting creation of a new data store within the network comprises: from within a subscription, identifying all other subscriptions to services within the network; for each remote cloud hosting environment, . This improves security in the system. By making the local environment connect with and identify the other environments, the system ensures no rogue environment or data store is created without the administrator’s knowledge.
But Shah-Lin-Stanley-Krajewski does not teach:
However, Anand does teach (e.g. Anand: [0028] discloses query the virtual private cloud (potentially via an application programming interface, or “API,” 116) at regular intervals (e.g., once per minute, or at other timings as appropriate to the application and the expected rate at which databases may be created or removed) in order to identify any new or removed databases in the virtual private cloud 112.);
Shah-Lin-Stanley-Krajewski and Anand are in the same field of endeavor in terms of data processing and therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shah-Lin-Stanley-Krajewski with the teachings of Anand to . This improves security in the system. By making the local environment connect with and identify the other environments, the system ensures no rogue environment or data store exists without the administrator’s knowledge. This also reduces the cost since unknown data stores won’t exist in the background racking up charges.
But Shah-Lin-Stanley-Krajewski-Ananda does not teach
However, Sabiun does teach (e.g. Sabiun: [0022] discloses the discovery control plane comprises customer facing application programming interfaces (API), deployed in an overlay, backed by one or more databases, responsible for configuring discovery and coordinating discovery plugins. [0141] discloses the user initiates a discovery from the console 408 to discover resources including on-premises database 416 in on-premises network 404.).
Shah-Lin-Stanley-Krajewski-Anand and Sabiun are in the same field of endeavor in terms of agent processes and therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shah-Lin-Stanley-Krajewski-Anand with the teachings of Sabiun to preconfigured on-premise API for a list of current data stores within the on-premise hosting environment that are associated with the subscriptions. This improves efficiency by automatically keeping track of active databases which eliminates the need for someone to do it manually. This also detects unauthorized or forgotten data stores which saves on resources and provides less avenues for attackers.
As per claim 9, Shah-Lin-Stanley teach claim 6 as applied above. Shah further teaches receiving the lists of current data stores; and comparing the received lists of current data stores to a master list of recognized data stores to identify any data stores that are included in the lists of current data stores but absent from the master list of recognized master stores (e.g. Shah: [0112] discloses the network scanning utility 212 compares the discovered database DB with a managed databases database 213 of existing databases DB on the backend system 100. [0112] further discloses if there are additional discovered databases DB to be checked against the log (at 228), the network scanning utility 212 checks the next discovered database DB (at 232) and repeats the process.).
But Shah-Lin-Stanley does not teach:
wherein detecting creation of a new data store within the network comprises: from within a subscription, identifying all other subscriptions to services within the network;
for each remote cloud hosting environment, querying a cloud hosting API for a hosting service hosting that remote cloud hosting environment for a list of current data stores in that remote cloud hosting environment that are associated with the subscriptions;
for each on-premise hosting environment, querying a preconfigured on-premise API for a list of current data stores within the on-premise hosting environment that are associated with the subscriptions;
However, Krajewski does teach
wherein detecting creation of a new data store within the network comprises: from within a subscription, identifying all other subscriptions to services within the network;
for each remote cloud hosting environment,
for each on-premise hosting environment,
(e.g. Krajewski: [0013] discloses systems and methods that provide capabilities for: on-prem sync to the cloud, vice-versa, on-prem to on-prem, and cloud to cloud, and the like; enable ubiquitous access to the cloud from both on-prem and network devices; enable the sharing and access of data across locations, devices, networks, and users, and the like. Please note being able to communicate cloud to cloud, it necessarily follows that the local cloud environment identifies other cloud environments to communicate with which corresponds to Applicant's identifying other subscriptions within the network. Please note further sharing and accessing data across cloud and on-premise devices/networks/environments corresponds to Applicant’s doing something for each on-premise/cloud environment.);
Shah-Lin-Stanley and Krajewski are in the same field of endeavor in terms of computer processes and therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shah-Lin-Stanley with the teachings of Krajewski to wherein detecting creation of a new data store within the network comprises: from within a subscription, identifying all other subscriptions to services within the network; for each remote cloud hosting environment, . This improves security in the system. By making the local environment connect with and identify the other environments, the system ensures no rogue environment or data store is created without the administrator’s knowledge.
But Shah-Lin-Stanley-Krajewski does not teach:
However, Anand does teach (e.g. Anand: [0028] discloses query the virtual private cloud (potentially via an application programming interface, or “API,” 116) at regular intervals (e.g., once per minute, or at other timings as appropriate to the application and the expected rate at which databases may be created or removed) in order to identify any new or removed databases in the virtual private cloud 112.);
Shah-Lin-Stanley-Krajewski and Anand are in the same field of endeavor in terms of data processing and therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shah-Lin-Stanley-Krajewski with the teachings of Anand to data stores in that remote cloud hosting environment that are associated with the subscriptions. This improves security in the system. By making the local environment connect with and identify the other environments, the system ensures no rogue environment or data store exists without the administrator’s knowledge. This also reduces the cost since unknown data stores won’t exist in the background racking up charges.
But Shah-Lin-Stanley-Krajewski-Ananda does not teach
However, Sabiun does teach (e.g. Sabiun: [0022] discloses the discovery control plane comprises customer facing application programming interfaces (API), deployed in an overlay, backed by one or more databases, responsible for configuring discovery and coordinating discovery plugins. [0141] discloses the user initiates a discovery from the console 408 to discover resources including on-premises database 416 in on-premises network 404.).
Shah-Lin-Stanley-Krajewski-Anand and Sabiun are in the same field of endeavor in terms of agent processes and therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shah-Lin-Stanley-Krajewski-Anand with the teachings of Sabiun to . This improves efficiency by automatically keeping track of active databases which eliminates the need for someone to do it manually. This also detects unauthorized or forgotten data stores which saves on resources and provides less avenues for attackers.
As per claim 14, Shah-Lin-Stanley teach claim 11 as applied above. Shah further teaches receiving the lists of current data stores; and comparing the received lists of current data stores to a master list of recognized data stores to identify any data stores that are included in the lists of current data stores but absent from the master list of recognized master stores (e.g. Shah: [0112] discloses the network scanning utility 212 compares the discovered database DB with a managed databases database 213 of existing databases DB on the backend system 100. [0112] further discloses if there are additional discovered databases DB to be checked against the log (at 228), the network scanning utility 212 checks the next discovered database DB (at 232) and repeats the process.).
But Shah-Lin-Stanley does not teach:
wherein detecting creation of a new data store within the network comprises: from within a subscription, identifying all other subscriptions to services within the network;
for each remote cloud hosting environment, querying a cloud hosting API for a hosting service hosting that remote cloud hosting environment for a list of current data stores in that remote cloud hosting environment that are associated with the subscriptions;
for each on-premise hosting environment, querying a preconfigured on-premise API for a list of current data stores within the on-premise hosting environment that are associated with the subscriptions;
However, Krajewski does teach
wherein detecting creation of a new data store within the network comprises: from within a subscription, identifying all other subscriptions to services within the network;
for each remote cloud hosting environment,
for each on-premise hosting environment,
(e.g. Krajewski: [0013] discloses systems and methods that provide capabilities for: on-prem sync to the cloud, vice-versa, on-prem to on-prem, and cloud to cloud, and the like; enable ubiquitous access to the cloud from both on-prem and network devices; enable the sharing and access of data across locations, devices, networks, and users, and the like. Please note being able to communicate cloud to cloud, it necessarily follows that the local cloud environment identifies other cloud environments to communicate with which corresponds to Applicant's identifying other subscriptions within the network. Please note further sharing and accessing data across cloud and on-premise devices/networks/environments corresponds to Applicant’s doing something for each on-premise/cloud environment.);
Shah-Lin-Stanley and Krajewski are in the same field of endeavor in terms of computer processes and therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shah-Lin-Stanley with the teachings of Krajewski to wherein detecting creation of a new data store within the network comprises: from within a subscription, identifying all other subscriptions to services within the network; for each remote cloud hosting environment, . This improves security in the system. By making the local environment connect with and identify the other environments, the system ensures no rogue environment or data store is created without the administrator’s knowledge.
But Shah-Lin-Stanley-Krajewski does not teach:
However, Anand does teach (e.g. Anand: [0028] discloses query the virtual private cloud (potentially via an application programming interface, or “API,” 116) at regular intervals (e.g., once per minute, or at other timings as appropriate to the application and the expected rate at which databases may be created or removed) in order to identify any new or removed databases in the virtual private cloud 112.);
Shah-Lin-Stanley-Krajewski and Anand are in the same field of endeavor in terms of data processing and therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shah-Lin-Stanley-Krajewski with the teachings of Anand to . This improves security in the system. By making the local environment connect with and identify the other environments, the system ensures no rogue environment or data store exists without the administrator’s knowledge. This also reduces the cost since unknown data stores won’t exist in the background racking up charges.
But Shah-Lin-Stanley-Krajewski-Ananda does not teach
However, Sabiun does teach (e.g. Sabiun: [0022] discloses the discovery control plane comprises customer facing application programming interfaces (API), deployed in an overlay, backed by one or more databases, responsible for configuring discovery and coordinating discovery plugins. [0141] discloses the user initiates a discovery from the console 408 to discover resources including on-premises database 416 in on-premises network 404.).
Shah-Lin-Stanley-Krajewski-Anand and Sabiun are in the same field of endeavor in terms of agent processes and therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shah-Lin-Stanley-Krajewski-Anand with the teachings of Sabiun to . This improves efficiency by automatically keeping track of active databases which eliminates the need for someone to do it manually. This also detects unauthorized or forgotten data stores which saves on resources and provides less avenues for attackers.
Claim(s) 5, 10, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah-Lin-Stanley in view of Swallow et al. (U.S. PG Pub 20180124174; hereinafter referred to as Swallow).
As per claim 5, Shah-Lin-Stanley teach claim 1 as applied above. Stanley further teaches:
wherein creating an agent of the native scanning tool and applying the agent to the new data store to obtain sensitivity information for the new data store comprises: running a scanning application (e.g. Stanley: [0031] discloses once loaded, the data store scanner software is instructed to periodically gather information relating to the configuration of data resources resident on that server. Please note gathering the info on the configuration of data resources corresponds to Applicant’s obtaining information for the data store. Please note Shah taught scanning for sensitivity information above.);
generating access credentials for the scanning application to access the new data store;
providing the network location of the new data store to the native scanning tool; (e.g. Stanely: [0023] discloses In order to get a description of a data resource with existing tools, in general the user of the tool needs to first know that the database exists and set up permissions with that instance, and then point the tool at that database and activate the tool's scanning capabilities.);
and report results of running the scanning application against the new data store to the native scanning tool (e.g. Stanley: [0031] discloses the data store scanner software is instructed to periodically gather information relating to the configuration of data resources resident on that server represented by block 204. Such information may be collected, organized, and reported as specified by the user).
But Shah-Lin-Stanley does not teach running a scanning application on a virtual machine (VM)
However, Swallow does teach running a scanning application on a virtual machine (VM) (e.g. Swallow: [0006] discloses data agent may perform the scanning process or may assist with the scanning process by monitoring the reads and writes to the primary storage device. [0065] discloses a “client” is a logical component of information management system 100, which may represent a logical grouping of one or more data agents installed on a client computing device 102… a client computing device 102 can be and/or include mail servers, file servers, database servers, virtual machine servers. Please note Swallow teaches that a data agent can reside on a virtual machine and perform scanning which corresponds to Applicant’s running a scanning application on a VM.).
Shah-Lin-Stanley and Swallow are in the same field of endeavor in terms of data processing and therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shah-Lin-Stanley with the teachings of Swallow to running a scanning application on a virtual machine (VM) . Having an agent run the scanning improves efficiency and lowers cost. Doing the scanning straight on the virtual machine avoids the network latency associated with pulling large datasets across the internet, leading to much faster data processing and discovery times. This also avoids incurring the cost of moving all that data across cloud providers.
As per claim 10, Shah-Lin-Stanley teach claim 6 as applied above. Stanley further teaches:
wherein creating an agent of the native scanning tool and applying the agent to the new data store to obtain sensitivity information for the new data store comprises: running a scanning application (e.g. Stanley: [0031] discloses once loaded, the data store scanner software is instructed to periodically gather information relating to the configuration of data resources resident on that server. Please note gathering the info on the configuration of data resources corresponds to Applicant’s obtaining information for the data store. Please note Shah taught scanning for sensitivity information above.);
generating access credentials for the scanning application to access the new data store;
providing the network location of the new data store to the native scanning tool; (e.g. Stanely: [0023] discloses In order to get a description of a data resource with existing tools, in general the user of the tool needs to first know that the database exists and set up permissions with that instance, and then point the tool at that database and activate the tool's scanning capabilities.);
and report results of running the scanning application against the new data store to the native scanning tool (e.g. Stanley: [0031] discloses the data store scanner software is instructed to periodically gather information relating to the configuration of data resources resident on that server represented by block 204. Such information may be collected, organized, and reported as specified by the user).
But Shah-Lin-Stanley does not teach running a scanning application on a virtual machine (VM)
However, Swallow does teach running a scanning application on a virtual machine (VM) (e.g. Swallow: [0006] discloses data agent may perform the scanning process or may assist with the scanning process by monitoring the reads and writes to the primary storage device. [0065] discloses a “client” is a logical component of information management system 100, which may represent a logical grouping of one or more data agents installed on a client computing device 102… a client computing device 102 can be and/or include mail servers, file servers, database servers, virtual machine servers. Please note Swallow teaches that a data agent can reside on a virtual machine and perform scanning which corresponds to Applicant’s running a scanning application on a VM.).
Shah-Lin-Stanley and Swallow are in the same field of endeavor in terms of data processing and therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shah-Lin-Stanley with the teachings of Swallow to running a scanning application on a virtual machine (VM) . Having an agent run the scanning improves efficiency and lowers cost. Doing the scanning straight on the virtual machine avoids the network latency associated with pulling large datasets across the internet, leading to much faster data processing and discovery times. This also avoids incurring the cost of moving all that data across cloud providers.
As per claim 15, Shah-Lin-Stanley teach claim 11 as applied above. Stanley further teaches:
wherein creating an agent of the native scanning tool and applying the agent to the new data store to obtain sensitivity information for the new data store comprises: running a scanning application (e.g. Stanley: [0031] discloses once loaded, the data store scanner software is instructed to periodically gather information relating to the configuration of data resources resident on that server. Please note gathering the info on the configuration of data resources corresponds to Applicant’s obtaining information for the data store. Please note Shah taught scanning for sensitivity information above.);
generating access credentials for the scanning application to access the new data store;
providing the network location of the new data store to the native scanning tool; (e.g. Stanely: [0023] discloses In order to get a description of a data resource with existing tools, in general the user of the tool needs to first know that the database exists and set up permissions with that instance, and then point the tool at that database and activate the tool's scanning capabilities.);
and report results of running the scanning application against the new data store to the native scanning tool (e.g. Stanley: [0031] discloses the data store scanner software is instructed to periodically gather information relating to the configuration of data resources resident on that server represented by block 204. Such information may be collected, organized, and reported as specified by the user).
But Shah-Lin-Stanley does not teach running a scanning application on a virtual machine (VM)
However, Swallow does teach running a scanning application on a virtual machine (VM) (e.g. Swallow: [0006] discloses data agent may perform the scanning process or may assist with the scanning process by monitoring the reads and writes to the primary storage device. [0065] discloses a “client” is a logical component of information management system 100, which may represent a logical grouping of one or more data agents installed on a client computing device 102… a client computing device 102 can be and/or include mail servers, file servers, database servers, virtual machine servers. Please note Swallow teaches that a data agent can reside on a virtual machine and perform scanning which corresponds to Applicant’s running a scanning application on a VM.).
Shah-Lin-Stanley and Swallow are in the same field of endeavor in terms of data processing and therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shah-Lin-Stanley with the teachings of Swallow to running a scanning application on a virtual machine (VM) . Having an agent run the scanning improves efficiency and lowers cost. Doing the scanning straight on the virtual machine avoids the network latency associated with pulling large datasets across the internet, leading to much faster data processing and discovery times. This also avoids incurring the cost of moving all that data across cloud providers.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah, in view of Ferlitsch et al. (U.S. PG Pub 20080158581; hereinafter referred to as Ferlitsch), in further view of Zheng et al. (CN 114385863; English Translation Provided by IP.com; hereinafter referred to as Zheng), and in further view of Chen et al. (U.S. PG Pub 20240256488; hereinafter referred to as Chen).
As per claim 16, Shah teaches:
detecting creation of a new data store within the network; responsive to detecting creation of the new data store, (e.g. Shah: [0111] discloses the network scanning utility 212 may be triggered (at 221), e.g., automatically or by an administrator, to scan a network 102. If a new database is discovered (at 223), the network scanning utility 212 adds information regarding the discovered database DB. Please note discovering a new database and adding it to a DB corresponds to Applicant’s detecting a new data store and performing some action in response);
(e.g. Shah: [0075] discloses the system may then evaluate (e.g., by scanning) discovered data to discover potentially sensitive data. Please note if the system evaluates the data by scanning the nit necessarily follows it deployed a scanning tool which corresponds to Applicant’s deploying the scanning tool upon the data store);
then deploying the native scanning tool (e.g. Shah: [0075] discloses the system may then evaluate (e.g., by scanning) discovered data to discover potentially sensitive data.).
But Shah does not teach:
responsive to determining that the new data store is familiar to the native scanning tool,
and responsive to determining that the new data store is unfamiliar to the native scanning tool: sampling the new data store to obtain a sample file;
then converting the sample file to obtain a converted sample file that is familiar to the native scanning tool;
However, Ferlitsch does teach:
(e.g. Ferlitsch: [0006] discloses determine if the input data is native to the imaging device. Please note determining whether the data store is familiar means determining whether the data in the data store is familiar. So, determining if the input data is native corresponds to Applicant’s determining whether the data store is familiar. Also Shah has taught the new data store above.);
responsive to determining that the new data store is familiar to the native scanning tool, (e.g. Ferlitsch: [0006] discloses determine if the input data is native to the imaging device… and if the input data is native to the imaging device. Please note the imaging device is a computing system of sort and any data that is native to it is also native to its scanning system which corresponds to Applicant’s data store is familiar to the native scanning tool.);
and responsive to determining that the new data store is unfamiliar to the native scanning tool (e.g. Ferlitsch: [0006] discloses determine if the input data is native to the imaging device; if the input data is non-native to the imaging device.):
Shah and Ferlitsch are in the same field of endeavor in terms of data processing and therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shah with the teachings of Ferlitsch to . This improves resource efficiency by making sure that the scanning process is not ran on data of an unfamiliar format which would waste time and resources. Also if the data is unfamiliar, sampling allows the system to get an understanding of the contents without incurring the heavy overhead of converting an entire data store.
But Shah-Ferlitsch does not teach:
sampling the new data store to obtain a sample file;
then converting the sample file to obtain a converted sample file that is familiar to the native scanning tool;
However, Zheng does teach sampling the new data store to obtain a sample file (e.g. Zheng: [Page 3 Paragraph 11] discloses after obtaining sample data to be managed, dividing the sample data to be managed into a first sample, a second sample and a third sample according to the data property. [Page 3 Paragraph 12] discloses storing the third sample in a file mode.).
Shah-Ferlitsch and Zheng are in the same field of endeavor in terms of data processing and therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shah-Ferlitsch with the teachings of Zheng to sampling the new data store to obtain a sample file. By sampling it allows for a more resource efficient way to look at the data store. Converting a potentially massive data store would take long processing times, high bandwidth consumption, and cause significant latency within the system.
But Shah-Ferlitsch-Zheng does not teach
then converting the sample file to obtain a converted sample file that is familiar to the native scanning tool;
However, Chen does teach:
then converting the (e.g. Chen: [0010] discloses a data file of the data files in an existing data format is preemptively converted to a new data format based on the reconfigured application settings. Please note the sample file is taught by Zheng above and deploying the native scanning tool is taught by Shah above).
Shah-Ferlitsch-Zheng and Chen are in the same field of endeavor in terms of computing processes and therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shah-Ferlitsch-Zheng with the teachings of Chen to then converting the sample file to obtain a converted sample file that is familiar . Converting the sample file so that it is in a familiar format increases resource efficiency and allows for tool reusability. Converting a sample avoids the high computation cost of converting a whole unfamiliar data store and lets the system use trusted, already deployed scanning tools instead of having to develop new tools for the unfamiliar format. Combining the scanning taught by Shah with the converted sample file taught by Zheng and Chen results in a predictable result corresponding to Applicant's scanning the converted sample file.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah-Ferlitsch-Zheng-Chen in view of Ivanov et al. (U.S. PG Pub 20180129663; hereinafter referred to as Ivanov).
As per claim 17, Shah-Ferlitsch-Zheng-Chen teach claim 16 as applied above. But Shah-Ferlitsch-Zheng-Chen does not teach wherein sampling the new data store to obtain the sample file comprises randomly selecting data elements from the data store.
However, Ivanov does teach wherein sampling the new data store to obtain the sample file comprises randomly selecting data elements from the data store (e.g. Ivanov: [0004] discloses to select a first sample set comprising one or more data elements from a dataset based on a first priority score ranking. [0008] discloses each data element of the dataset is associated with a priority score determined based on the weight and the random number. Please note sampling based on a priority score corresponds to Applicant's random sampling because the priority score is determined partly by a random number.).
Shah-Ferlitsch-Zheng-Chen and Ivanov are in the same field of endeavor in terms of data processing and therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shah-Ferlitsch-Zheng-Chen with the teachings of Ivanov to wherein sampling the new data store to obtain the sample file comprises randomly selecting data elements from the data store. Having the sampling done randomly eliminates selection bias and makes sure that the sample holistically represents the data store.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah-Ferlitsch-Zheng-Chen-Ivanov in view of Al-Kateb et al. (U.S. PG Pub 20180181621; hereinafter referred to as Kateb).
As per claim 18, Shah-Ferlitsch-Zheng-Chen-Ivanov teach claim 17 as applied above. But Shah-Ferlitsch-Zheng-Chen-Ivanov does not teach wherein sampling the new data store to obtain the sample file comprises randomly selecting data elements from the data store.
However, Kateb does teach wherein the data store is one of a static data store and a data stream (e.g. Kateb: [0010] discloses the data sampling techniques described herein can be used to sample table data and data streams. Please note the table data and data streams corresponds to Applicant's static data store and data stream respectively.).
Shah-Ferlitsch-Zheng-Chen-Ivanov and Kateb are in the same field of endeavor in terms of data processing and therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shah-Ferlitsch-Zheng-Chen-Ivanov with the teachings of Kateb to wherein the data store is one of a static data store and a data stream. This improves flexibility and allows dual compatibility. The data that is processed doesn’t necessarily have to be from just a regular existing database but could also be from a live data stream.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah-Ferlitsch-Zheng-Chen-Ivanov in view of Keagy et al. (U.S. PG Pub 20210294848; hereinafter referred to as Keagy).
As per claim 19, Shah-Ferlitsch-Zheng-Chen-Ivanov teach claim 17 as applied above. But Shah-Ferlitsch-Zheng-Chen-Ivanov does not teach wherein converting the sample file to obtain the converted sample file that is familiar to the native scanning tool comprises converting the sample file from an original format to JavaScript Object Notation (JSON).
However, Keagy does teach wherein converting the sample file to obtain the converted sample file that is familiar to the native scanning tool comprises converting the sample file from an original format to JavaScript Object Notation (JSON) (e.g. Keagy: [0024] discloses operation information for a well and/or other information may be obtained by the processor 11 from a data store. [0023] discloses well operation information arranged in the extensible markup language format may be converted into a cloud-native format. [0010] discloses the cloud-native format may include JavaScript Object Notation format. Please note the well operation information corresponds to Applicant's sample file because the well operation information is data from a data store.).
Shah-Ferlitsch-Zheng-Chen-Ivanov and Keagy are in the same field of endeavor in terms of data processing and therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shah-Ferlitsch-Zheng-Chen-Ivanov with the teachings of Keagy to wherein converting the sample file to obtain the converted sample file that is familiar to the native scanning tool comprises converting the sample file from an original format to JavaScript Object Notation (JSON). This improves flexibility and allows dual compatibility. The data that is processed doesn’t necessarily have to be from just a regular existing database but could also be from a live data stream.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah-Ferlitsch-Zheng-Chen-Ivanov-Keagy in view of McClure et al. (U.S. Patent 6850928; hereinafter referred to as McClure), and in further view of Jones et al. (U.S. PG Pub 20080114797; hereinafter referred to as Jones).
As per claim 20, Shah-Ferlitsch-Zheng-Chen-Ivanov-Keagy teaches claim 19 as applied above. But Shah-Ferlitsch-Zheng-Chen-Ivanov-Keagy does not teach wherein the original format is one of a proprietary format and a standard format that remains unfamiliar to the particular native scanning tool.
However, McClure does teach wherein the original format is one of a proprietary format (e.g. McClure: [0008] discloses the request fulfillment module retrieves the attribute expressed in the proprietary format from the database.).
Shah-Ferlitsch-Zheng-Chen-Ivanov-Keagy and McClure are in the same field of endeavor in terms of data processing and therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shah-Ferlitsch-Zheng-Chen-Ivanov-Keagy with the teachings of McClure to wherein the original format is one of a proprietary format . This improves the system by broadening the scope of the format. It makes it so that any proprietary format from a company can be dealt with and converted.
But Shah-Ferlitsch-Zheng-Chen-Ivanov-Keagy-McClure does not teach wherein the original format is one of a
However, Jones does teach wherein the original format is one of a (e.g. Jones: [0015] discloses the terms “non-native content” and “non-native formatted content” includes content that is formatted using a different formatting standard as compared to the native open file format used by application program 10. This could include, but is not limited to: HTML content, RTF content, binary content, and the like. Please note non-native format corresponds to Applicant's original format is an unfamiliar standard format. This is because the non-native format content uses different standards compared to the current application which makes it an unfamiliar format.).
Shah-Ferlitsch-Zheng-Chen-Ivanov-Keagy-McClure and Jones are in the same field of endeavor in terms of data processing and therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Shah-Ferlitsch-Zheng-Chen-Ivanov-Keagy-McClure with the teachings of Jones to wherein the original format is one of a . This improves the system by broadening the scope of the format, so that any format unknown to the scanning tool can be dealt with and converted.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. PG Pub 20110295727 spoke of connecting to multiple software vendors, databases, or repositories to monitor all subscriptions. This could have been pertinent to claim 4.
US10789387 spoke of scanning for personal/sensitive information and using agents.
/DANIEL NHU TRUONG/Examiner, Art Unit 2196
/APRIL Y BLAIR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2196