DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
3. Claims 1-6, 9-11, 20-28 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-32 of U.S. Patent No. 12,074,020 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims of current application are broader than claims 1-21 of US Patent No. 12,074,020 B2 .
As to claim 1, US Patent No. 12,074,020 B2 claim 1 discloses an etching composition comprising:
at least one fluorine-containing acid, the at least one fluorine-containing acid comprising hydrofluoric acid or hexafluorosilicic acid;
at least one oxidizing agent;
at least one organic acid or an anhydride thereof, or a combination thereof;
at least one silicon-containing compound (i.e. hexafluorosilicate) and
water.
The following table will match claims in current application (18/931,148) vs. claims in US 12,074,020 B2
18/931,148 Claims US 12,074,020 B2 Claims
1 1
2 6
3 7
4 8
5 1 or 9
6 9
9 10
10 10
11 13
20 1
21 2
22 3
23 1
24 4
25 5
26 18
27 19
28 21
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claim 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 depends on claim 15. In claim 15, the applicants recite “wherein the silane-modified polymer comprises a silane-modified olefin polymer” (emphasis added). The examiner interprets the limitation “silane-modified olefin polymer” means an olefin polymer having silane groups attached to olefin polymer. However, in claim 16 the applicants recited a contradicted limitation “wherein the silane-modified olefin polymer is polyethylene, polypropylene, polybutadiene, polyisoprene, polystyrene, or copolymers thereof.” It is noted that polyethylene, polypropylene, polybutadiene, polyisoprene, polystyrene polymer does NOT comprise silane group. It is unclear whether “silane-modified olefin polymer” requires a silane group or not.
In claim 17, the limitation “the silane-modified olefine polymer comprises polybutadiene” is indefinite for the same reason as discussed above in claim 16. Specifically, polybutadiene does not comprise a silane group which is contradicted to the previous limitation “the silane-modified olefine polymer” which requires a silane group.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claims 1-12, 18-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bjelopavlic et al. (US 2022/0081616 A1), herein after refers as Bjelopavlic (‘616).
As to claim 1, Bjelopavlic (‘616) discloses an etching composition, comprising:
at least one fluorine-containing acid, the at least one fluorine-containing acid comprising hydrofluoric acid or hexafluorosilicic acid (paragraph 0008, 0013-0014);
at least one oxidizing agent (paragraph 0008, 0013; 0015);
at least one organic acid or an anhydride thereof, or a combination thereof (paragraph 0008, 0013, 0022);
at least one silicon-containing compound (paragraph 0034); and
water.
As to claim 2, Bjelopavlic (‘616) discloses the at least one fluorine-containing acid is in an amount of from about 0.01 wt% to about 2 wt% of the composition (paragraph 0014).
As to claim 3, Bjelopavlic (‘616) discloses the at least one oxidizing agent comprises hydrogen peroxide or peracetic acid (paragraph 0015).
As to claim 4, Bjelopavlic (‘616) discloses wherein the at least one oxidizing agent is in an amount of from about 5 wt% to about 10 wt% of the composition. (paragraph 0016).
As to claim 5, Bjelopavlic (‘616) discloses the at least one organic acid comprises formic acid, acetic acid, propionic acid, or butyric acid (paragraph 0022).
As to claim 6, Bjelopavlic (‘616) discloses the at least one anhydride thereof comprises formic anhydride, acetic anhydride, propionic anhydride, or butyric anhydride (paragraph 0022).
As to claim 7, Bjelopavlic (‘616) discloses the composition comprises an organic acid and an anhydride thereof (paragraph 0022).
As to claim 8, Bjelopavlic (‘616) discloses wherein the organic acid is acetic acid and the anhydride is acetic anhydride (paragraph 0022).
As to claim 9, Bjelopavlic (‘616) discloses the at least one organic acid is in an amount of from about 30 wt.% of the composition (paragraph 0023).
As to claim 10, Bjelopavlic (‘616) discloses the at least one anhydride thereof is in an amount of from about 40 wt.% to about 70 wt.% of the composition (paragraph 0023).
As to claim 11, Bjelopavlic (‘616) discloses the water is in an amount of 10 wt.% to 30 wt.% of the composition (paragraph 0030).
As to claim 12, Bjelopavlic (‘616) discloses the silicon-containing compound comprises siloxane (i.e. polydimethylsiloxane; paragraph 0040).
As to claim 18, Bjelopavlic (‘616) discloses the silane-modified polymer comprises at least one trialkoxysilyl moiety (i.e. bis(trimethoxysilyl) methane; See paragraph 0034, 0040).
As to claim 19, Bjelopavlic (‘616) discloses each alkoxy moiety is independently C1 alkoxy (i.e. trimethoxy in bis(trimethoxysilyl) methane; See paragraph 0034
As to claim 20, Bjelopavlic (‘616) discloses the composition further includes at least one polymerized naphthalene sulfonic acid (paragraph 0024).
As to claim 21, Bjelopavlic (‘616) discloses the at least one polymerized naphthalene sulfonic acid comprises a sulfonic acid having a structure of
in which n is 3 to 6 (paragraph 0024).
As to claim 22, Bjelopavlic (‘616) discloses wherein the at least one polymerized naphthalene sulfonic acid is in an amount of from about 0.005 wt% to about 0.15 wt% of the composition (paragraph 0025).
As to claim 23, Bjelopavlic (‘616) discloses the composition further comprising at least one amine, the at least one amine comprising an amine of formula (I): N-R1R2R3, wherein R1 is C1-C8 alkyl optionally substituted by OH or NH2, R2 is H or C1-C8 alkyl optionally substituted by OH, and R3 is C1-C8 alkyl optionally substituted by OH (paragraph 0028).
As to claim 24, Bjelopavlic (‘616) discloses wherein the amine of formula (I) is diisopropylamine, N-butyldiethanolamine, N-(3-aminopropyl)-diethanolamine, N-octylglucamine, N-ethylglucamine, N-methylglucamine, or 1-[bis(2-hydroxyethyl)amino]-2-propanol (paragraph 0028).
As to claim 25, Bjelopavlic (‘616) discloses the at least one amine is in an amount of from about 0.001 wt% to about 0.15 wt% of the composition (paragraph 0029).
As to claim 26, Bjelopavlic (‘616) discloses the composition further comprising an inorganic acid (paragraph 0008, 0015, 0017).
As to claim 27, Bjelopavlic (‘616) discloses the inorganic acid is sulfuric acid, nitric acid or phosphoric acid (paragraph 0015, 0017, Bjelopavlic’s claim 5, Table 3, Table 5).
As to claim 28, Bjelopavlic (‘616) discloses the composition has a pH less than 1 (paragraph 0039).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bjelopavlic (US 2022/0081616 A1) as applied to claims 1-12, 18-28 above, and further in view of Mizutani (JP 2014099480 A).
As to claim 13, Bjelopavlic (‘616) fails to disclose the silicon-containing compound is tetraethoxysilane, triethoxymethylsilane, hexamethyldisilazane, or tetramethyldisilazane. However, Bjelopavlic (‘616) clearly disclose to use silicon-containing compound comprises silane group (See paragraph 0034). Mizutani teaches silicon-containing compounds including tetraethoxysilane, triethoxymethylsilane (also known as methyltriethoxysilane) (See paragraph 0021-0024). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bjelopavlic (‘616) in view of Mizutani by using silicon-containing compounds including tetraethoxysilane, triethoxymethylsilane because it enhances the etching selectivity between the first layer and the second layer (See paragraph 0025)
12. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bjelopavlic (US 2022/0081616 A1) as applied to claims 1-12, 20-28 above, and further in view of Oh et al. (US 2023/0212457 A1).
As to claim 14, Bjelopavlic (‘616) fails to disclose the silicon-containing compound is a silane-modified polymer. However, Bjelopavlic (‘616) clearly teaches the composition comprises silane-containing organic material (See paragraph 0034). Oh teaches am etching composition comprises a silane-modified polymer (paragraph 0014, 0043). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bjelopavlic (‘616) in view of Oh by using a silane-modified polymer because it improves etch selectivity (See paragraph 0043).
13. Claim 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bjelopavlic (US 2022/0081616 A1) as applied to claims 1-12, 20-28 above, and further in view of Hayashi et al. (US 2024/0279549 A1).
As to claim 14, Bjelopavlic (‘616) fails to disclose the silicon-containing compound is a silane-modified polymer. However, Bjelopavlic (‘616) clearly teaches the composition comprises silane-containing organic material (See paragraph 0034). Hayashi teaches am etching composition comprises a silane-modified polymer (paragraph 0017-0018). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bjelopavlic (‘616) in view of Hayashi by using a is a silane-modified polymer because it improves etch selectivity (See paragraph 0017-0018).
As to claim 15, Bjelopavlic (‘616) fails to disclose the silane-modified polymer comprises a silane-modified olefin polymer. As to claim 16, Bjelopavlic (‘616) fails to disclose the silane-modified olefin polymer is polyethylene, polypropylene, polybutadiene, polyisoprene, polystyrene, or copolymers thereof. Hayashi discloses the silane-modified olefin polymer is polyethylene (paragraph 0017-0018). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Bjelopavlic (‘616) in view of Hayashi by having the silane-modified olefin polymer is polyethylene because it improves etch selectivity (See paragraph 0017-0018).
Conclusion
BINH X. TRAN
Examiner
Art Unit 1713
/BINH X TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713