Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3 and 7-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Wilberding et al., US 12,210,797 in view of Bangma et al., US 2016/0269771.
Regarding claim 1, Wilberding discloses an audio playback method, comprising:
a broadcast device obtaining audio-to-be-played from a source device via a unicast link (figure 130 1a-1b and 860 16a, col. 8, line 63 to col. 11, line 24); and
when indicated by the source device to apply a party mode to play the audio-to-be-played, the broadcast device serving as a broadcast media sender and broadcasting the audio-to-be-played to at least one playback device, so as to play the audio-to-be-played through the at least one playback device (col. 8, line 63 to col. 11, line 24, col. 59, line 5-67, col. 64, lines 14-21).
Wilberding is silent about the broadcast device comprises a unicast communication module and an audio dispatcher, the unicast communication module transmits the audio-to-be-played, to the audio dispatcher, and the audio dispatcher caches the audio-to-be-played.
In an analogous art, Bangma discloses the broadcast device comprises a unicast communication module (328 figure 3) and an audio dispatcher (334 figure 3), the unicast communication module transmits the audio-to-be-played, to the audio dispatcher, and the audio dispatcher caches the audio-to-be-played (figure 3, paragraph 93-95).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wilberding’s method with the teachings of Bangma. The motivation would have been to synchronize the media for the benefit of providing the best possible experience.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, Wilberding and Bangma disclose the audio playback method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the broadcast device serving as the broadcast media sender and broadcasting the audio-to-be-played to the at least one playback device, so as to play the audio-to-be-played through the at least one playback device, comprises: the broadcast device serving as the broadcast media sender and broadcasting the audio-to-be-played to the at least one playback device, so as to play the audio-to-be-played synchronously through the broadcast device and the at least one playback device (Wilberding col. 8, line 63 to col. 11, line 24, col. 59, line 5-67, col. 64, lines 14-21).
Regarding claim 7, Wilberding and Bangma disclose the audio playback method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the broadcast device comprises a Bluetooth communication module, wherein the Bluetooth communication module comprises a broadcast communication module and a unicast communication module;
wherein the broadcast device obtaining the audio-to-be-played from the source device via the unicast link comprises the unicast communication module obtaining the audio-to-be-played via the unicast link (Wilberding col. 8, line 63 to col. 11, line 24, col. 59, line 5-67, col. 64, lines 14-21);
wherein when indicated by the source device to apply the party mode to play the audio-to-be-played, the broadcast device serving as the broadcast media sender and broadcasting the audio-to-be-played to the at least one playback device, so as to play the audio-to-be-played through the at least one playback device, comprises:
in the Bluetooth communication module, the unicast communication module sending the audio-to-be-played to the broadcast communication module, so as to make the broadcast media module broadcast the audio-to-be-played to the at least one playback device using a broadcast media sender function (Wilberding col. 8, line 63 to col. 11, line 24, col. 59, line 5-67, col. 64, lines 14-21).
Regarding claim 9, Wilberding and Bangma disclose the audio playback method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the broadcast device serving as the broadcast media sender and broadcasting the audio-to-be-played to the at least one playback device, so as to play the audio-to-be-played through the at least one playback device, comprises: the broadcast device serving as the broadcast media sender and broadcasting the audio-to-be-played to at least two playback devices, so as to play the audio-to-be-played synchronously through the at least two playback devices (Wilberding col. 8, line 63 to col. 11, line 24, col. 59, line 5-67, col. 64, lines 14-21).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Wilberding in view of Bangma in view of Huang et al., US 2024/0224115.
Regarding claim 3, Wilberding and Bangma disclose the audio playback method as claimed in claim 1.
Wilberding and Bangma are silent about the broadcast device and the at least one playback device playing the audio-to-be-played after a preset period from a time when the broadcast device starts broadcasting the audio-to-be-played; wherein the preset time is a playback delay which the broadcast device and the at least one playback device have previously agreed on.
In an analogous art, Huang discloses the broadcast device and the at least one playback device playing the audio-to-be-played after a preset period from a time when the broadcast device starts broadcasting the audio-to-be-played; wherein the preset time is a playback delay which the broadcast device and the at least one playback device have previously agreed on (figure 3-4, paragraph 16-35).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wilberding and Bangma’s method with the teachings of Huang. The motivation would have been to synchronize the audio for the benefit of providing the best possible experience.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the Wilberding in view of Bangma in view of Vautrin et al., US 11,870,475.
Regarding claim 8, Wilberding and Bangma disclose the audio playback method as claimed in claim 7.
Wilberding and Bangma are silent about the unicast link is an A2DP link.
In an analogous art, Vautrin discloses the unicast link is an A2DP link (col. 37, lines 20-40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wilberding and Bangma’s method with the teachings of Vautrin. The motivation would have been to provide a high quality audio for the benefit of providing quality of service.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
OM
Oschta Montoya
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2421
/OSCHTA I MONTOYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421