DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 17 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Each of claims 17 and 23 recites a “Boolean follow physical uplink shared channel simultaneous transmission” and the meaning of the phrase “Boolean follow” is unclear. This phrase is not defined in the specification and does not appear to be known in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-4, 16, 18-20, and 24-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bai et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0113844 (hereinafter Bai).
Regarding claim 1, Bai discloses an apparatus (disclosed is a UE, according to [0053], Fig. 3 [element 350]) comprising:
at least one processor (the UE comprises a controller/processor, according to [0055], Fig. 3 [element 359]); and
at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (the UE comprises a memory that stores program codes that are executed by the controller/processor, according to [0056], Fig. 3 [element 360]), cause the apparatus at least to perform:
determining to use a set of transmit antenna arrangements for spatial division multiplexing or single frequency network based simultaneous transmission across multiple antenna arrangement physical uplink shared channel transmission (SDM (spatial division multiplexing) based PUSCH repetitions are configured for two indicated TCI states (whereby indicated TCI states have corresponding multi-panel configurations for UL transmissions, according to [0070]) for the UE, according to [0089]); and
determining to use the set of transmit antenna arrangements for a physical uplink control channel resource transmission, in response to two different transmission configuration indicator states being indicated and the apparatus being configured to apply physical uplink shared channel precoding for simultaneous transmission across multiple antenna arrangement physical uplink shared channel transmission (if two joint/UL TCI states are indicated (whereby the joint UL TCI states necessarily are used for a UE dedicated PUCCH, according to Table 1), and precoding information is provided in relation to the PUSCH repetitions, then the PUSCH repetitions use one of the two indicated TCI states, according to [0091]).
Regarding claim 18, Bai discloses an apparatus (disclosed is a base station, according to [0053], Fig. 3 [element 310]) comprising:
at least one processor (the base station comprises a controller/processor, according to [0053], Fig. 3 [element 375]); and
at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor (the base station comprises a memory that stores program codes that are executed by the controller/processor, according to [0060], Fig. 3 [element 376]), cause the apparatus at least to perform:
configuring a user equipment to use a set of transmit antenna arrangements for spatial division multiplexing or single frequency network based simultaneous transmission across multiple antenna arrangement physical uplink shared channel transmission (SDM based PUSCH repetitions are configured for two indicated TCI states (whereby indicated TCI states have corresponding multi-panel configurations for UL transmissions, according to [0070]) for the UE by the network, according to [0089]); and
configuring the user equipment to use the set of transmit antenna arrangements for a physical uplink control channel resource transmission, in response to two different transmission configuration indicator states being indicated and the user equipment being configured to apply physical uplink shared channel precoding for simultaneous transmission across multiple antenna arrangement physical uplink shared channel transmission (if two joint/UL TCI states are indicated (whereby the joint UL TCI states necessarily are used for a UE dedicated PUCCH, according to Table 1), and precoding information is provided in relation to the PUSCH repetitions, then the PUSCH repetitions use one of the two indicated TCI states, according to [0091]).
Claim 24 recites the method (disclosed is a method according to which a UE operates, according to [0009]) according to which the apparatus recited in claim 1 operates, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 1.
Claim 25 recites the method (disclosed is a method according to which a TRP operates, according to [0009]) according to which the apparatus recited in claim 18 operates, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 18.
Regarding claim 2, Bai discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein at least one or more of the following applies: an antenna arrangement comprises one or more antenna panels, or an antenna arrangement comprises one or more transmission configuration indicator states (the antenna arrangement comprises a plurality of antenna panels, according to [0070]).
Regarding claim 3, Bai discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is further caused to perform: applying indicated physical uplink shared channel precoding for simultaneous transmission across multi-panel single frequency network physical uplink control channel transmission with or without repetition (PUSCH precoding facilitates simultaneous multi-panel PUCCH transmissions by the UE, according to [0070], whereby the UE may be configured for SFN (single frequency network) mode, according to [0119]).
Regarding claim 4, Bai discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is further caused to perform:
receiving, from a network, a configuration to use the physical uplink shared channel precoding for simultaneous transmission across multi-panel physical uplink shared channel transmission (the received configuration facilitates simultaneous multi-panel UL transmission on the PUSCH, according to [0070]); and
receiving, from the network, the indication of the two different transmission configuration indicator states (the UE receives the indication for the two TCI states, according to [0091]).
Regarding claim 16, Bai discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the apparatus is further caused to perform:
storing, into a memory of the apparatus, a first layer of precoder matrices corresponding to spatial division multiplexing or single frequency network based simultaneous physical uplink shared channel transmissions, in response to receiving sounding reference signal resource indicators for the spatial division multiplexing or single frequency network based simultaneous physical uplink shared channel transmissions (the UE receives, via sounding reference signal (SRS) resource indicators (SRIs), transmit precoder matrix indicators for SDM, according to [0090]);
retrieving the first layer of precoder matrices from the memory (the UE applies the received configuration information to the PUSCH, according to [0090]); and
applying the first layer of precoder matrices for a set of single frequency network physical uplink control channel transmissions (MIMO layers are jointly pre-coded across multiple TCIs for SFN mode operation, according to [0119]).
Claim 19 does not differ substantively from claim 2, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 2.
Claim 20 does not differ substantively from claim 3, and is therefore rejected on the same grounds as claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
11. Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai as applied to claim 18 above, in view of Chen et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2025/0039806 (hereinafter Chen).
Regarding claim 21, Bai discloses all the limitations of claim 18.
Bai does not expressly disclose receiving a single physical uplink control channel transmission, wherein a first antenna panel power value and a second antenna power value are applied for the indicated two different transmission configuration indicator states and for the single physical uplink control channel transmission, in response to a total physical uplink control channel transmit power being less than a physical uplink control channel transmit power budget.
Chen discloses receiving a single physical uplink control channel transmission, wherein a first antenna panel power value and a second antenna power value are applied for the indicated two different transmission configuration indicator states and for the single physical uplink control channel transmission, in response to a total physical uplink control channel transmit power being less than a physical uplink control channel transmit power budget (even when the total transmission power of a UE’s first antenna panel and second antenna panel (whereby both the first antenna panel and the second antenna panel are used for a PUCCH, according to [0058]) do not exceed a threshold for restriction, the respective transmission power of the first antenna panel and second antenna panel are adjusted with small back-off values, according to [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bai with Chen by receiving a single physical uplink control channel transmission, wherein a first antenna panel power value and a second antenna power value are applied for the indicated two different transmission configuration indicator states and for the single physical uplink control channel transmission, in response to a total physical uplink control channel transmit power being less than a physical uplink control channel transmit power budget.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to maintain link quality when a UE moves indoors (Chen: [0016]).
Regarding claim 22, Bai discloses all the limitations of claim 18.
Bai does not expressly disclose receiving a single physical uplink control channel transmission, wherein a first antenna panel power value is applied for one transmission configuration indicator state of the indicated two different transmission configuration indicator states, or a second antenna power value is applied for one transmission configuration indicator state of the two indicated different transmission configuration indicator states, in response to a total physical uplink control channel transmit power being greater than or equal to a physical uplink control channel transmit power budget.
Chen discloses receiving a single physical uplink control channel transmission, wherein a first antenna panel power value is applied for one transmission configuration indicator state of the indicated two different transmission configuration indicator states, or a second antenna power value is applied for one transmission configuration indicator state of the two indicated different transmission configuration indicator states, in response to a total physical uplink control channel transmit power being greater than or equal to a physical uplink control channel transmit power budget (if the total transmission power of a first antenna panel and a second antenna panel (whereby both the first antenna panel and the second antenna panel are used for a PUCCH, according to [0058]) belonging to a UE is greater than a threshold, then respective back-off values are applied to the transmit powers for said first antenna panel and said second antenna panel, according to Abstract, [0037], [0042], [0044], Fig. 3 [steps 302, 306, and 310]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bai with Chen by receiving a single physical uplink control channel transmission, wherein a first antenna panel power value is applied for one transmission configuration indicator state of the indicated two different transmission configuration indicator states, or a second antenna power value is applied for one transmission configuration indicator state of the two indicated different transmission configuration indicator states, in response to a total physical uplink control channel transmit power being greater than or equal to a physical uplink control channel transmit power budget.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to prevent interference from a UE to other devices (Chen: [0016]).
Allowable Subject Matter
12. Claims 5-15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW W GENACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645