DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This office action is in response to an application filed on 10/30/2024. The applicant submits an Information Disclosure Statement dated10/30/2024. The applicant makes a claim for Domestic priority to application with filing dates of 03/04/2022, 02/21/2018, and 02/12/2018. The applicant does not make a claim for Foreign priority. Claims 1 – 20 are cancelled and claims 21 – 40 are examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21 - 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sweeney US 2017/0147959 in view of Colson US 2015/0356665.
As per claim 21, A computing system for enabling interaction between a human passenger and an autonomous vehicle, the computing system comprising:
a first vehicle interface computing device located within the autonomous vehicle and physically coupled to the autonomous vehicle, (Sweeney paragraph 0063 discloses, “the AV system 151 controls the AV 150 to move to the pickup location of the user using at least a set of external sensors (e.g., a set of cameras 180a, and/or one or more radars/lidars 180b). When the AV system 151 determines that the AV 150 is at or within a predetermined distance of the pickup location, the AV system 151 can operate in a state in which a user interface (UI) component presents, on a display device 187 (such as a touch-sensitive display device), a UI 168 to enable the user/rider to input or select a set of characters.” And paragraph 0064 discloses, “the AV system control 160 can give the user access to the rider control software or application (RCA) of the AV system 151, in which the user can have at least some access to the AV system 151 and can control, in part, the AV 150. The UI component can provide UIs 168 of the RCA to allow the user to view information about the AV, change destinations”)
wherein the first vehicle interface computing device is configured to provide a first plurality of selectable vehicle commands to the human passenger, (Sweeney paragraph 0080 discloses, “As illustrated in FIG. 4D, the AV system 151 can present a UI 440 on the display device to enable the user to input a set of characters in the input field 442. As an example, if the user touches the region of the input field 442, a virtual keyboard can be displayed on the display device to enable the user to select alphanumeric characters to input an unlock code. The UI 440 can also include a help feature 444 that is available on most (if not all) UIs of the rider control software or application (RCA) of the AV system 151. In one example, if the user selects the help feature 444, the AV system 151 can provide additional options, such as a feature to call emergency services, a feature to connect with another device or system operated by a customer service representative, or a feature to request the AV 150 to make an emergency stop.”)
wherein at least some of the first plurality of selectable vehicle commands comprise a second plurality of selectable vehicle commands, wherein a second vehicle interface computing device that is portable is configured to provide the second plurality of selectable vehicle commands. (Sweeney paragraph 0085 discloses, “the AV system 151 can display additional user interfaces for the user while the AV 150 travels to the destination location. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 4J, the UI 440 can include a region (e.g., on the left hand side) where selectable features are provided to enable the user to at least partially control or operate the AV system 151.”) and (Colson paragraphs 0032 teaches, “At block 206, the onboard computing device retrieves metadata such as type of location (e.g., coffee shop, grocery store, restaurant, gym, etc.), hours, contact information, menus, catalog of items available for purchase, or the like.” And paragraph 0053 teaches, “The user may input the desired destination via an interface of the autonomous vehicle 402, via a mobile device of the user 404, or via an interface of any other computing device onboard the vehicle. For instance, the user may select a desired destination from an address book, calendar application, mapping application, or other program stored in memory of the user's mobile device 404. This input may be transmitted from the mobile device 404 to the autonomous vehicle 402 via a wired (e.g., USB) or wireless (e.g., Bluetooth, Zigbee, WiFi, near field, cellular, etc.) connection. In this way, the user's mobile device (or any computing device in communication with the autonomous vehicle) may serve as an extension of a user interface of the autonomous vehicle 402 by communicating information to and/or from the autonomous vehicle 402.”)
Sweeney discloses controlling the operation of an autonomous vehicle via an in vehicle input device. Sweeney does not disclose a second input device for controlling the vehicle. Colson teaches of using a second input device to control an autonomous vehicle. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Colson et.al. into the invention of Sweeney. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure positive control of the vehicle so that an occupant is not trapped or is able to change destinations as needed.
As per claim 22, The computing system of claim 21, wherein the first plurality of selectable vehicle commands or the second plurality of selectable vehicle commands comprise a contact support command, the contact support command configured to transmit a communication to a remote computing system. (Sweeney paragraph 0080 discloses, “In one example, if the user selects the help feature 444, the AV system 151 can provide additional options, such as a feature to call emergency services, a feature to connect with another device or system operated by a customer service representative, or a feature to request the AV 150 to make an emergency stop.”)
As per claim 23, The computing system of claim 21, wherein the first plurality of selectable vehicle commands or the second plurality of selectable vehicle commands comprise a route selection vehicle command, the route selection vehicle command configured to control a route of the autonomous vehicle. (Sweeney paragraph 0084 discloses, “in one example, the AV system 151 can present in the UI 440, a map 454 showing the current location of the AV 150 as a graphic 456, the proposed route (in darker lines), and showing the destination location of the user (illustrated by the circle dot). When the AV system 151 operates in the third state to begin the transport service, a panel 458 can be displayed on the UI 440 to notify the user. As an addition or an alternative, the AV system 151 can provide a selectable feature “Begin Trip” that the user can input to start the transport service once the transport service preparation procedure is completed.”)
As per claim 24, The computing system of claim 21, wherein the second vehicle interface computing device comprises a user computing device associated with the human passenger. (Sweeney paragraph 0039 discloses, “the system 100 can use the authentication component 130 to ensure that the appropriate person has the ability to unlock and enter the AV 150.” And paragraph 0064 discloses, “The AV 150 can include one or more display devices 187 that a rider can view content on and interact with via user input mechanisms 188 (e.g., a touch-sensitive display device). Depending on implementation, a display device 187 can correspond to (i) a tablet device that communicates with the AV system control 160 wirelessly and/or using a cable, (ii) a touchscreen device that is incorporated into or built into one or more surfaces of the interior cab of the AV 150, such as on a moveable table inside the cab, on a dashboard region near the front of the vehicle, on the rear surface of a seat or headrest, etc., and/or (iii) a touchscreen that is incorporated into a window of the AV 150.”)
As per claim 25, The computing system of claim 21, wherein the second vehicle interface computing device is configured to receive user input from the human passenger; (Sweeney paragraph 0085 discloses, “the AV system 151 can display additional user interfaces for the
while the AV 150 travels to the destination location. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 4J, the UI 440 can include a region (e.g., on the left hand side) where selectable features are provided to enable the user to at least partially control or operate the AV system 151. The selectable features can include a map feature 460 that, when selected, provides options for the user to view map details, change destination, view point of interest information, and have control over map functionality.” and paragraph 0089 discloses, “FIG. 5 is a block diagram that illustrates a computing device upon which embodiments described herein may be implemented. In one example, a computing device 500 may correspond to a mobile computing device, such as a cellular device that is capable of telephony, messaging, and data services. The computing device 500 can correspond to a user device or a driver device. Examples of such devices include smartphones, handsets or tablet devices for cellular carriers. The computing device 500 includes a processor 510, memory resources 520, a display device 530 (e.g., such as a touch-sensitive display device), one or more communication sub-systems 540 (including wireless communication sub-systems),”) and
the first vehicle interface computing device is configured to adjust the first plurality of selectable vehicle commands in response to the user input. (Colson paragraphs 0032 teaches, “At block 206, the onboard computing device retrieves metadata such as type of location (e.g., coffee shop, grocery store, restaurant, gym, etc.), hours, contact information, menus, catalog of items available for purchase, or the like.” And paragraph 0053 teaches, “The user may input the desired destination via an interface of the autonomous vehicle 402, via a mobile device of the user 404, or via an interface of any other computing device onboard the vehicle. For instance, the user may select a desired destination from an address book, calendar application, mapping application, or other program stored in memory of the user's mobile device 404. This input may be transmitted from the mobile device 404 to the autonomous vehicle 402 via a wired (e.g., USB) or wireless (e.g., Bluetooth, Zigbee, WiFi, near field, cellular, etc.) connection. In this way, the user's mobile device (or any computing device in communication with the autonomous vehicle) may serve as an extension of a user interface of the autonomous vehicle 402 by communicating information to and/or from the autonomous vehicle 402.”)
Sweeney discloses controlling the operation of an autonomous vehicle via an in vehicle input device. Sweeney does not disclose a second input device for controlling the vehicle. Colson teaches of using a second input device to control an autonomous vehicle. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Colson et.al. into the invention of Sweeney. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure positive control of the vehicle so that an occupant is not trapped or is able to change destinations as needed.
As per claim 26, The computing system of claim 21, wherein the first vehicle interface computing device is configured to receive user input from the human passenger; (Sweeney paragraph 0039 discloses, “the system 100 can use the authentication component 130 to ensure that the appropriate person has the ability to unlock and enter the AV 150.” And paragraph 0064 discloses, “The AV 150 can include one or more display devices 187 that a rider can view content on and interact with via user input mechanisms 188 (e.g., a touch-sensitive display device). Depending on implementation, a display device 187 can correspond to (i) a tablet device that communicates with the AV system control 160 wirelessly and/or using a cable, (ii) a touchscreen device that is incorporated into or built into one or more surfaces of the interior cab of the AV 150, such as on a moveable table inside the cab, on a dashboard region near the front of the vehicle, on the rear surface of a seat or headrest, etc., and/or (iii) a touchscreen that is incorporated into a window of the AV 150.”) and
the second vehicle interface computing device is configured to adjust the second plurality of selectable vehicle commands in response to the user input. (Colson paragraphs 0032 teaches, “At block 206, the onboard computing device retrieves metadata such as type of location (e.g., coffee shop, grocery store, restaurant, gym, etc.), hours, contact information, menus, catalog of items available for purchase, or the like.” And paragraph 0053 teaches, “The user may input the desired destination via an interface of the autonomous vehicle 402, via a mobile device of the user 404, or via an interface of any other computing device onboard the vehicle. For instance, the user may select a desired destination from an address book, calendar application, mapping application, or other program stored in memory of the user's mobile device 404. This input may be transmitted from the mobile device 404 to the autonomous vehicle 402 via a wired (e.g., USB) or wireless (e.g., Bluetooth, Zigbee, WiFi, near field, cellular, etc.) connection. In this way, the user's mobile device (or any computing device in communication with the autonomous vehicle) may serve as an extension of a user interface of the autonomous vehicle 402 by communicating information to and/or from the autonomous vehicle 402.”)
Sweeney discloses controlling the operation of an autonomous vehicle via an in vehicle input device. Sweeney does not disclose a second input device for controlling the vehicle. Colson teaches of using a second input device to control an autonomous vehicle. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Colson et.al. into the invention of Sweeney. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure positive control of the vehicle so that an occupant is not trapped or is able to change destinations as needed.
As per claim 27, The computing system of claim 21, wherein the first vehicle interface computing device is physically coupled to a rear or passenger seat of the autonomous vehicle. (Sweeney paragraph 0064 discloses, “(ii) a touchscreen device that is incorporated into or built into one or more surfaces of the interior cab of the AV 150, such as on a moveable table inside the cab, on a dashboard region near the front of the vehicle, on the rear surface of a seat or headrest, etc.,”)
As per claim 28, A computer-implemented method comprising:
providing to a first vehicle interface a first plurality of selectable vehicle commands to a human passenger using a computing device located within an autonomous vehicle, (Sweeney paragraph 0064 discloses, “The AV 150 can include one or more display devices 187 that a rider can view content on and interact with via user input mechanisms 188 (e.g., a touch-sensitive display device). Depending on implementation, a display device 187 can correspond to (i) a tablet device that communicates with the AV system control 160 wirelessly and/or using a cable, (ii) a touchscreen device that is incorporated into or built into one or more surfaces of the interior cab of the AV 150, such as on a moveable table inside the cab, on a dashboard region near the front of the vehicle, on the rear surface of a seat or headrest, etc., and/or (iii) a touchscreen that is incorporated into a window of the AV 150.”)
wherein:
the computing device is physically coupled to the autonomous vehicle, (Sweeney paragraph 0063 discloses, “the AV system 151 controls the AV 150 to move to the pickup location of the user using at least a set of external sensors (e.g., a set of cameras 180a, and/or one or more radars/lidars 180b). When the AV system 151 determines that the AV 150 is at or within a predetermined distance of the pickup location, the AV system 151 can operate in a state in which a user interface (UI) component presents, on a display device 187 (such as a touch-sensitive display device), a UI 168 to enable the user/rider to input or select a set of characters.”) and
at least some of the first plurality of selectable vehicle commands are comprised in a second plurality of selectable vehicle commands that are provided by a second vehicle interface computing device that is portable. (Sweeney paragraph 0085 discloses, “the AV system 151 can display additional user interfaces for the user while the AV 150 travels to the destination location. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 4J, the UI 440 can include a region (e.g., on the left hand side) where selectable features are provided to enable the user to at least partially control or operate the AV system 151.”) and (Colson paragraphs 0032 teaches, “At block 206, the onboard computing device retrieves metadata such as type of location (e.g., coffee shop, grocery store, restaurant, gym, etc.), hours, contact information, menus, catalog of items available for purchase, or the like.” And paragraph 0053 teaches, “The user may input the desired destination via an interface of the autonomous vehicle 402, via a mobile device of the user 404, or via an interface of any other computing device onboard the vehicle. For instance, the user may select a desired destination from an address book, calendar application, mapping application, or other program stored in memory of the user's mobile device 404. This input may be transmitted from the mobile device 404 to the autonomous vehicle 402 via a wired (e.g., USB) or wireless (e.g., Bluetooth, Zigbee, WiFi, near field, cellular, etc.) connection. In this way, the user's mobile device (or any computing device in communication with the autonomous vehicle) may serve as an extension of a user interface of the autonomous vehicle 402 by communicating information to and/or from the autonomous vehicle 402.”)
Sweeney discloses controlling the operation of an autonomous vehicle via an in vehicle input device. Sweeney does not disclose a second input device for controlling the vehicle. Colson teaches of using a second input device to control an autonomous vehicle. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Colson et.al. into the invention of Sweeney. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure positive control of the vehicle so that an occupant is not trapped or is able to change destinations as needed.
As per claim 29, The computer-implemented method of claim 28, wherein the first plurality of selectable vehicle commands or the second plurality of selectable vehicle commands comprise a contact support command, the contact support command configured to transmit a communication to a remote computing system. (Sweeney paragraph 0080 discloses, “In one example, if the user selects the help feature 444, the AV system 151 can provide additional options, such as a feature to call emergency services, a feature to connect with another device or system operated by a customer service representative, or a feature to request the AV 150 to make an emergency stop.”)
As per claim 30, The computer-implemented method of claim 28, wherein the first plurality of selectable vehicle commands or the second plurality of selectable vehicle commands comprise a route selection vehicle command, the route selection vehicle command configured to control a route of the autonomous vehicle. (Sweeney paragraph 0084 discloses, “in one example, the AV system 151 can present in the UI 440, a map 454 showing the current location of the AV 150 as a graphic 456, the proposed route (in darker lines), and showing the destination location of the user (illustrated by the circle dot). When the AV system 151 operates in the third state to begin the transport service, a panel 458 can be displayed on the UI 440 to notify the user. As an addition or an alternative, the AV system 151 can provide a selectable feature “Begin Trip” that the user can input to start the transport service once the transport service preparation procedure is completed.”)
As per claim 31, The computer-implemented method of claim 28, wherein the second vehicle interface computing device comprises a user computing device associated with the human passenger. (Sweeney paragraph 0039 discloses, “the system 100 can use the authentication component 130 to ensure that the appropriate person has the ability to unlock and enter the AV 150.” And paragraph 0064 discloses, “The AV 150 can include one or more display devices 187 that a rider can view content on and interact with via user input mechanisms 188 (e.g., a touch-sensitive display device). Depending on implementation, a display device 187 can correspond to (i) a tablet device that communicates with the AV system control 160 wirelessly and/or using a cable, (ii) a touchscreen device that is incorporated into or built into one or more surfaces of the interior cab of the AV 150, such as on a moveable table inside the cab, on a dashboard region near the front of the vehicle, on the rear surface of a seat or headrest, etc., and/or (iii) a touchscreen that is incorporated into a window of the AV 150.”)
As per claim 32, The computer-implemented method of claim 28, further comprising:
receiving data indicating the second vehicle interface computing device received user input from the human passenger; (Sweeney paragraph 0039 discloses, “the system 100 can use the authentication component 130 to ensure that the appropriate person has the ability to unlock and enter the AV 150.” And paragraph 0064 discloses, “The AV 150 can include one or more display devices 187 that a rider can view content on and interact with via user input mechanisms 188 (e.g., a touch-sensitive display device). Depending on implementation, a display device 187 can correspond to (i) a tablet device that communicates with the AV system control 160 wirelessly and/or using a cable, (ii) a touchscreen device that is incorporated into or built into one or more surfaces of the interior cab of the AV 150, such as on a moveable table inside the cab, on a dashboard region near the front of the vehicle, on the rear surface of a seat or headrest, etc., and/or (iii) a touchscreen that is incorporated into a window of the AV 150.”) and
adjusting the first plurality of selectable vehicle commands provided by the first vehicle interface computing device in response to the user input. (Colson paragraphs 0032 teaches, “At block 206, the onboard computing device retrieves metadata such as type of location (e.g., coffee shop, grocery store, restaurant, gym, etc.), hours, contact information, menus, catalog of items available for purchase, or the like.” And paragraph 0053 teaches, “The user may input the desired destination via an interface of the autonomous vehicle 402, via a mobile device of the user 404, or via an interface of any other computing device onboard the vehicle. For instance, the user may select a desired destination from an address book, calendar application, mapping application, or other program stored in memory of the user's mobile device 404. This input may be transmitted from the mobile device 404 to the autonomous vehicle 402 via a wired (e.g., USB) or wireless (e.g., Bluetooth, Zigbee, WiFi, near field, cellular, etc.) connection. In this way, the user's mobile device (or any computing device in communication with the autonomous vehicle) may serve as an extension of a user interface of the autonomous vehicle 402 by communicating information to and/or from the autonomous vehicle 402.”)
Sweeney discloses controlling the operation of an autonomous vehicle via an in vehicle input device. Sweeney does not disclose a second input device for controlling the vehicle. Colson teaches of using a second input device to control an autonomous vehicle. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Colson et.al. into the invention of Sweeney. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure positive control of the vehicle so that an occupant is not trapped or is able to change destinations as needed.
As per claim 33, The computer-implemented method of claim 28, further comprising:
receiving data indicating the first vehicle interface computing device received user input from the human passenger; (Sweeney paragraph 0039 discloses, “the system 100 can use the authentication component 130 to ensure that the appropriate person has the ability to unlock and enter the AV 150.” And paragraph 0064 discloses, “The AV 150 can include one or more display devices 187 that a rider can view content on and interact with via user input mechanisms 188 (e.g., a touch-sensitive display device). Depending on implementation, a display device 187 can correspond to (i) a tablet device that communicates with the AV system control 160 wirelessly and/or using a cable, (ii) a touchscreen device that is incorporated into or built into one or more surfaces of the interior cab of the AV 150, such as on a moveable table inside the cab, on a dashboard region near the front of the vehicle, on the rear surface of a seat or headrest, etc., and/or (iii) a touchscreen that is incorporated into a window of the AV 150.”) and
adjusting the second plurality of selectable vehicle commands provided by the second vehicle interface computing device in response to the user input. (Colson paragraphs 0032 teaches, “At block 206, the onboard computing device retrieves metadata such as type of location (e.g., coffee shop, grocery store, restaurant, gym, etc.), hours, contact information, menus, catalog of items available for purchase, or the like.” And paragraph 0053 teaches, “The user may input the desired destination via an interface of the autonomous vehicle 402, via a mobile device of the user 404, or via an interface of any other computing device onboard the vehicle. For instance, the user may select a desired destination from an address book, calendar application, mapping application, or other program stored in memory of the user's mobile device 404. This input may be transmitted from the mobile device 404 to the autonomous vehicle 402 via a wired (e.g., USB) or wireless (e.g., Bluetooth, Zigbee, WiFi, near field, cellular, etc.) connection. In this way, the user's mobile device (or any computing device in communication with the autonomous vehicle) may serve as an extension of a user interface of the autonomous vehicle 402 by communicating information to and/or from the autonomous vehicle 402.”)
Sweeney discloses controlling the operation of an autonomous vehicle via an in vehicle input device. Sweeney does not disclose a second input device for controlling the vehicle. Colson teaches of using a second input device to control an autonomous vehicle. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Colson et.al. into the invention of Sweeney. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure positive control of the vehicle so that an occupant is not trapped or is able to change destinations as needed.
As per claim 34, The computer-implemented method of claim 28, wherein the first vehicle interface computing device is physically coupled to a rear or passenger seat of the autonomous vehicle. (Sweeney paragraph 0064 discloses, “(ii) a touchscreen device that is incorporated into or built into one or more surfaces of the interior cab of the AV 150, such as on a moveable table inside the cab, on a dashboard region near the front of the vehicle, on the rear surface of a seat or headrest, etc.,”)
As per claim 35, A server computing system connected to an autonomous vehicle comprising:
a first vehicle interface computing device located within the autonomous vehicle and physically coupled to the autonomous vehicle, (Sweeney paragraph 0063 discloses, “the AV system 151 controls the AV 150 to move to the pickup location of the user using at least a set of external sensors (e.g., a set of cameras 180a, and/or one or more radars/lidars 180b). When the AV system 151 determines that the AV 150 is at or within a predetermined distance of the pickup location, the AV system 151 can operate in a state in which a user interface (UI) component presents, on a display device 187 (such as a touch-sensitive display device), a UI 168 to enable the user/rider to input or select a set of characters.”)
wherein the first vehicle interface computing device is configured to provide a first plurality of selectable vehicle commands to a human passenger, (Sweeney paragraph 0080 discloses, “As illustrated in FIG. 4D, the AV system 151 can present a UI 440 on the display device to enable the user to input a set of characters in the input field 442. As an example, if the user touches the region of the input field 442, a virtual keyboard can be displayed on the display device to enable the user to select alphanumeric characters to input an unlock code. The UI 440 can also include a help feature 444 that is available on most (if not all) UIs of the rider control software or application (RCA) of the AV system 151. In one example, if the user selects the help feature 444, the AV system 151 can provide additional options, such as a feature to call emergency services, a feature to connect with another device or system operated by a customer service representative, or a feature to request the AV 150 to make an emergency stop.”)
wherein at least some of the first plurality of selectable vehicle commands comprise a second plurality of selectable vehicle commands, wherein a second vehicle interface computing device that is portable is configured to provide the second plurality of selectable vehicle commands. (Sweeney paragraph 0085 discloses, “the AV system 151 can display additional user interfaces for the user while the AV 150 travels to the destination location. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 4J, the UI 440 can include a region (e.g., on the left hand side) where selectable features are provided to enable the user to at least partially control or operate the AV system 151.”) and (Colson paragraphs 0032 teaches, “At block 206, the onboard computing device retrieves metadata such as type of location (e.g., coffee shop, grocery store, restaurant, gym, etc.), hours, contact information, menus, catalog of items available for purchase, or the like.” And paragraph 0053 teaches, “The user may input the desired destination via an interface of the autonomous vehicle 402, via a mobile device of the user 404, or via an interface of any other computing device onboard the vehicle. For instance, the user may select a desired destination from an address book, calendar application, mapping application, or other program stored in memory of the user's mobile device 404. This input may be transmitted from the mobile device 404 to the autonomous vehicle 402 via a wired (e.g., USB) or wireless (e.g., Bluetooth, Zigbee, WiFi, near field, cellular, etc.) connection. In this way, the user's mobile device (or any computing device in communication with the autonomous vehicle) may serve as an extension of a user interface of the autonomous vehicle 402 by communicating information to and/or from the autonomous vehicle 402.”)
Sweeney discloses controlling the operation of an autonomous vehicle via an in vehicle input device. Sweeney does not disclose a second input device for controlling the vehicle. Colson teaches of using a second input device to control an autonomous vehicle. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Colson et.al. into the invention of Sweeney. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure positive control of the vehicle so that an occupant is not trapped or is able to change destinations as needed.
As per claim 36, The server computing system of claim 35, wherein the first plurality of selectable vehicle commands or the second plurality of selectable vehicle commands comprise a contact support command, the contact support command configured to transmit a communication to a remote computing system. (Sweeney paragraph 0080 discloses, “In one example, if the user selects the help feature 444, the AV system 151 can provide additional options, such as a feature to call emergency services, a feature to connect with another device or system operated by a customer service representative, or a feature to request the AV 150 to make an emergency stop.”)
As per claim 37, The server computing system of claim 35, wherein the first plurality of selectable vehicle commands or the second plurality of selectable vehicle commands comprise a route selection vehicle command, the route selection vehicle command configured to control a route of the autonomous vehicle. (Sweeney paragraph 0084 discloses, “in one example, the AV system 151 can present in the UI 440, a map 454 showing the current location of the AV 150 as a graphic 456, the proposed route (in darker lines), and showing the destination location of the user (illustrated by the circle dot). When the AV system 151 operates in the third state to begin the transport service, a panel 458 can be displayed on the UI 440 to notify the user. As an addition or an alternative, the AV system 151 can provide a selectable feature “Begin Trip” that the user can input to start the transport service once the transport service preparation procedure is completed.”)
As per claim 38, The server computing system of claim 35, wherein the second vehicle interface computing device comprises user computing device associated with the human passenger. (Sweeney paragraph 0039 discloses, “the system 100 can use the authentication component 130 to ensure that the appropriate person has the ability to unlock and enter the AV 150.” And paragraph 0064 discloses, “The AV 150 can include one or more display devices 187 that a rider can view content on and interact with via user input mechanisms 188 (e.g., a touch-sensitive display device). Depending on implementation, a display device 187 can correspond to (i) a tablet device that communicates with the AV system control 160 wirelessly and/or using a cable, (ii) a touchscreen device that is incorporated into or built into one or more surfaces of the interior cab of the AV 150, such as on a moveable table inside the cab, on a dashboard region near the front of the vehicle, on the rear surface of a seat or headrest, etc., and/or (iii) a touchscreen that is incorporated into a window of the AV 150.”)
As per claim 39, The server computing system of claim 35, wherein the second vehicle interface computing device is configured to receive user input from the human passenger; (Sweeney paragraph 0039 discloses, “the system 100 can use the authentication component 130 to ensure that the appropriate person has the ability to unlock and enter the AV 150.” And paragraph 0064 discloses, “The AV 150 can include one or more display devices 187 that a rider can view content on and interact with via user input mechanisms 188 (e.g., a touch-sensitive display device). Depending on implementation, a display device 187 can correspond to (i) a tablet device that communicates with the AV system control 160 wirelessly and/or using a cable, (ii) a touchscreen device that is incorporated into or built into one or more surfaces of the interior cab of the AV 150, such as on a moveable table inside the cab, on a dashboard region near the front of the vehicle, on the rear surface of a seat or headrest, etc., and/or (iii) a touchscreen that is incorporated into a window of the AV 150.”) and
the first vehicle interface computing device is configured to adjust the first plurality of selectable vehicle commands in response to the user input. (Colson paragraphs 0032 teaches, “At block 206, the onboard computing device retrieves metadata such as type of location (e.g., coffee shop, grocery store, restaurant, gym, etc.), hours, contact information, menus, catalog of items available for purchase, or the like.” And paragraph 0053 teaches, “The user may input the desired destination via an interface of the autonomous vehicle 402, via a mobile device of the user 404, or via an interface of any other computing device onboard the vehicle. For instance, the user may select a desired destination from an address book, calendar application, mapping application, or other program stored in memory of the user's mobile device 404. This input may be transmitted from the mobile device 404 to the autonomous vehicle 402 via a wired (e.g., USB) or wireless (e.g., Bluetooth, Zigbee, WiFi, near field, cellular, etc.) connection. In this way, the user's mobile device (or any computing device in communication with the autonomous vehicle) may serve as an extension of a user interface of the autonomous vehicle 402 by communicating information to and/or from the autonomous vehicle 402.”)
Sweeney discloses controlling the operation of an autonomous vehicle via an in vehicle input device. Sweeney does not disclose a second input device for controlling the vehicle. Colson teaches of using a second input device to control an autonomous vehicle. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Colson et.al. into the invention of Sweeney. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure positive control of the vehicle so that an occupant is not trapped or is able to change destinations as needed.
As per claim 40, The server computing system of claim 35, wherein the first vehicle interface computing device is configured to receive user input from the human passenger; (Sweeney paragraph 0039 discloses, “the system 100 can use the authentication component 130 to ensure that the appropriate person has the ability to unlock and enter the AV 150.” And paragraph 0064 discloses, “The AV 150 can include one or more display devices 187 that a rider can view content on and interact with via user input mechanisms 188 (e.g., a touch-sensitive display device). Depending on implementation, a display device 187 can correspond to (i) a tablet device that communicates with the AV system control 160 wirelessly and/or using a cable, (ii) a touchscreen device that is incorporated into or built into one or more surfaces of the interior cab of the AV 150, such as on a moveable table inside the cab, on a dashboard region near the front of the vehicle, on the rear surface of a seat or headrest, etc., and/or (iii) a touchscreen that is incorporated into a window of the AV 150.”) and
the second vehicle interface computing device is configured to adjust the second plurality of selectable vehicle commands in response to the user input. (Colson paragraphs 0032 teaches, “At block 206, the onboard computing device retrieves metadata such as type of location (e.g., coffee shop, grocery store, restaurant, gym, etc.), hours, contact information, menus, catalog of items available for purchase, or the like.” And paragraph 0053 teaches, “The user may input the desired destination via an interface of the autonomous vehicle 402, via a mobile device of the user 404, or via an interface of any other computing device onboard the vehicle. For instance, the user may select a desired destination from an address book, calendar application, mapping application, or other program stored in memory of the user's mobile device 404. This input may be transmitted from the mobile device 404 to the autonomous vehicle 402 via a wired (e.g., USB) or wireless (e.g., Bluetooth, Zigbee, WiFi, near field, cellular, etc.) connection. In this way, the user's mobile device (or any computing device in communication with the autonomous vehicle) may serve as an extension of a user interface of the autonomous vehicle 402 by communicating information to and/or from the autonomous vehicle 402.”)
Sweeney discloses controlling the operation of an autonomous vehicle via an in vehicle input device. Sweeney does not disclose a second input device for controlling the vehicle. Colson teaches of using a second input device to control an autonomous vehicle. Therefore, at the time of filing it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the teachings of Colson et.al. into the invention of Sweeney. Such incorporation is motivated by the need to ensure positive control of the vehicle so that an occupant is not trapped or is able to change destinations as needed.
Conclusion
/TYLER D PAIGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664