DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 1-5, 8-12 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonner et al. (US 20110201321) in view of BEN et al. (US 20200367027).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, Bonner discloses a method for dynamic generation and use of a calling line identifier (Paragraph: 0033: Bonner discusses how the analysis component can make a dynamic and intelligent decision regarding which CLI to provide to the called party), the method comprising: receiving, by a server system operating on a server machine at a first location in a distributed computing environment, a message destinating a second location (Paragraphs: 0030 and 0081-0082: Bonner discusses how a network can include the receiver component 102, such that a call request from a mobile device is received, such as, at a network server; and how the system forwards session initiation protocol (SIP) messages received from the MS to an SIP server in a home network (and vice versa) of the MS); determining, by the server system, whether a calling line identifier (CLI) is provided with the message (Paragraphs: 0038, 0047 and 0051: Bonner discusses how a determination is made regarding whether the desirably called party is associated with a calling line identifier (CLI); and how the analysis component includes a tagging component that tags the number of the incoming call (CLI) with metadata that indicates to categorize such caller); responsive to the CLI not being provided with the message, determining, by the server system, a customer number associated with the first location (Paragraphs: 0047 and 0052-0055: Bonner discusses how a default CLI can be provided to the specific party by a network provider, if it is determined that there currently is no association between the specific party and a CLI; and how the system determine that the caller is contacting the personal number, and associate such caller with metadata such that when the dual-mode handset is utilized to call the caller, a CLI relating to the personal number); responsive to no customer number being associated with the first location, determining, by the server system, a default CLI for the first location (Paragraphs: 0052-0053 and fig.11: Bonner discusses how a default CLI can be provided to the specific party by a network provider, if it is determined that there currently is no association between the specific party and a CLI);
Bonner discloses the limitations set forth above but does not specifically point out “the determining comprising randomly selecting the default CLI for the first location from a plurality of CLIs for the first location; and using the default CLI thus randomly selected to make a call to deliver the message to the second location”
Ben however discloses the determining comprising randomly selecting the default CLI for the first location from a plurality of CLIs for the first location; and using the default CLI thus randomly selected to make a call to deliver the message to the second location (Paragraphs: 0077, 0099, 0126 and fig.5: Ben discusses how the user may use an application software program performing as a local CLI configuring device select the identification code and embed it in the message; and how the CLI selections is arbitrary (i.e. randomly selecting the CLI). Ben also discusses how the calling user can also set different default CLIs to different called parties or uses a CLI allocation table that looks like CLI allocation table 38, i.e. allowing to randomly selecting the default CLI for the first location from a plurality of CLIs for the first location).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Bonner, and modify a system wherein the determining comprising randomly selecting the default CLI for the first location from a plurality of CLIs for the first location; and using the default CLI thus randomly selected to make a call to deliver the message to the second location, as taught by Ben, thus allows the characteristic of the calling party to be determined automatically by the CLI device according to the calling history of user, as discussed by Ben.
Considering claims 2, 9 and 16, Ben further discloses the method according to claims 1, 8 and 15, wherein randomly selecting the default CLI for the first location from a plurality of CLIs for the first location is based on a destination country code for the second location (Paragraphs: 0101, 0126 and fig.5: Ben discusses how a CLI configuring device includes a rule by which the CLI should be configured according to a characteristic of the called number such as a geographical location, a country code, an area code).
Considering claims 3, 10 and 17, Ben further discloses the method according to claims 1, 8 and 15, wherein the message is received via a service or from an application on a network appliance or a gateway device that is communicatively connected to a user device associated with an enterprise network and wherein the application is configured for receiving content from the user device, converting the content into the message, and injecting the message to the server system (Paragraphs: 0075-0080 and fig.5: Ben discusses how the user may use an application software program performing as a local CLI configuring device select the identification code and embed it in the message; and how a CLI configuring device reconfigure the identification code of a message or a similar content delivered from a calling (caller) device to a called device; and the communication network forwards the SMS message (with the preferred caller identification code in its message header) to the called device).
Considering claims 4, 11 and 18, Ben further discloses the method according to claims 1, 8 and 15, wherein randomly selecting the default CLI for the first location comprises cycling through the plurality of CLIs for the first location (Paragraphs: 0099, 0119 and 0137: CLI lookup table with the current (or default) CLI).
Considering claims 5, 12 and 19, Ben further discloses the method according to claims 1, 8 and 15, wherein determining the customer number associated with the first location comprises accessing a CLI numbers database storing CLIs assigned specifically to the customer number (Paragraphs: 0099, 0119 and 0073).
3. Claim(s) 6-7, 13-14 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bonner et al. (US 20110201321) in view of BEN et al. (US 20200367027) and further in view of Gibson et al. (US 6775249).
Considering claims 6 and 13, Bonner in view of Ben not specifically mentioning the limitations of claims 6 and 13. Gibson however discloses the method according to claims 6 and 13, wherein the first location and the second location are in different countries (Col.4 lines 19-39 and fig.2, 170: Gibson discusses receiving international call or traffic, i.e. between different countries).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Bonner and Ben, and modify a system wherein the first location and the second location are in different countries, as taught by Gibson, thus transmitting information, by means of a communication network, to any one of a plurality of communications terminals connected to said network, as discussed by Gibson.
Considering claims 7, 14 and 20, Gibson further discloses the computer program product of claims 1, 8 and 15, wherein the first location and the second location are in different countries (Col.4 lines 19-39 and fig.2, 170) and wherein the second location comprises a physical or virtual fax machine (Col.5 lines 18-26 and fig.3, 325: Gibson discusses how the message selector selects a fax message from a message database and downloads it to a fax transmission facility; and how the fax transmission facility then transmits this fax message to the terminal using the new connection set up).
Conclusion
YOSEF K. LAEKEMARIAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2651
/YOSEF K LAEKEMARIAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2691