Response to Amendment
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-13, 15-16, 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benko (U.S. Patent App Pub 20180070285) in view of Lau (U.S. Patent 9325856).
Regarding claim 1,
Benko teaches a device, comprising: a processor; and a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises a session control logic that is configured to: receive one or more attributes of a plurality of network devices; (See paragraphs 28, 29, 30, 39, fig 2-3, Benko receiving path metrics from nodes)
determine a set of sustainability scores for the plurality of network devices based on the one or more attributes; (See paragraphs 30-32, fig 2-3, Benko teaches determining power metric of paths)
select, from the plurality of network devices, a target network device based on the set of sustainability scores; and (See paragraphs 32-33, fig 2-3, Benko teaches selecting path based on a power metric)
direct a collaboration session activity to the target network device. (See paragraphs 40-41, fig 3-4, Benko teaches collaborating with another device)
Benko does not explicitly teach but Lau teaches upon termination of an incoming collaboration session routed to the target network device, transmit a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) BYE message to the target network device; and (See figures 8-9, column 8 lines 3-60, Lau teaches SIP BYE message in case of call determination)
determine a new sustainability score for the target network device based on one or more values contained in an extension field. See figures 8-9, column 10 lines 30 to column 11 line 15, Lau teaches accounting score based on the extension.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of Lau with Benko because both deal with networking communications. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of Lau into Benko is that Lau teaches the voice quality data can be piggybacked on SIP signaling messages sent from user equipment during call termination or mid-call modification. By using SIP signaling messages already being sent for purposes of call termination or call modification, any additional SIP signaling traffic cannot be generated, therefore making the overall system more robust and efficient. (See column 1, Lau)
Regarding claim 2,
Benko and Lau teach the device of claim 1, wherein the one or more attributes comprise at least one of: an operational status, a utilization status, an energy consumed status, an energy source status, a grid risk status, a carbon footprint status, a water usage effectiveness status, or a carbon usage effectiveness status. (See paragraphs 5, 17, 31, Benko teaches energy status)
Regarding claim 3,
Benko and Lau teach the device of claim 1, wherein the one or more attributes comprise at least one of a geographic carbon intensity status or a power usage effectiveness status. (See paragraphs 5, 17, 31, Benko teaches power usage status)
Regarding claim 4,
Benko and Lau teach the device of claim 1, wherein the one or more attributes comprise one of a set of sustainability attributes or a combination of the set of sustainability attributes and a set of non-sustainability attributes. (See paragraphs 5, 25, 31, Benko teaches power attributes)
Regarding claim 5,
Benko and Lau teach the device of claim 1, wherein the one or more attributes are received from the plurality of network devices.(See paragraphs 28, 18, Benko)
Regarding claim 6,
Benko and Lau teach the device of claim 5, wherein the one or more attributes are received from the plurality of network devices in at least one of respective collaboration session messages or respective keep alive pings. (See paragraphs 41, 25, fig 4-5, Benko)
Regarding claim 7,
Benko and Lau teach the device of claim 1, wherein the one or more attributes are received from a sustainability controller in communication with the plurality of network devices. (See paragraphs 17, 23-24, Benko)
Regarding claim 8,
Benko and Lau teach the device of claim 1, wherein the session control logic is further configured to receive an incoming collaboration session from an endpoint device. (See paragraphs 41, 25, fig 4-5, Benko)
Regarding claim 9,
Benko and Lau teach the device of claim 8, wherein directing the collaboration session activity to the target network device comprises routing the incoming collaboration session to the target network device. (See paragraphs 26-27, fig. 2, Benko)
Regarding claim 10,
Benko and Lau teach the device of claim 9, wherein the session control logic is further configured to: receive one or more updated attributes from the target network device at termination of the incoming collaboration session; and determine a new sustainability score for the target network device based on the one or more updated attributes. (See paragraphs 41, 42, fig 4-5, Benko)
Regarding claim 12,
Benko and Lau teach the device of claim 8, wherein to select the target network device, the session control logic is further configured to: identify one or more rules associated with the incoming collaboration session; and (See paragraphs 40, 41, fig 4-5, Benko)
determine a set of network devices of the plurality of network devices that satisfies the one or more rules, wherein the target network device corresponds to one of the set of network devices selected based on the set of sustainability scores. (See paragraphs 41, 42, fig 4-5, Benko)
Regarding claim 13,
Benko and Lau teach the device of claim 8, wherein directing the collaboration session activity to the target network device comprises routing collaboration session control for the incoming collaboration session to the target network device. (See paragraphs 41, 42, fig 4-5, Benko)
Regarding claim 15,
Benko and Lau teach the device of claim 1, wherein the set of sustainability scores is determined based on a sustainability policy defining respective weights for the one or more attributes. (See paragraphs 25, 32, Benko teaches attributes going into a metric)
Regarding claim 16,
Benko and Lau teach the device of claim 1, wherein the session control logic is further configured to sort the plurality of network devices in an order based on the set of sustainability scores. (See paragraphs 32-33, fig. 3, Benko teaches ordering scores)
Regarding claim 19,
Benko and Lau teach a network device, comprising: a processor; and a memory communicatively coupled to the processor, wherein the memory comprises a session control logic that is configured to: monitor a set of sustainability attributes associated with the network device; (See paragraphs 30-32, fig 2-3, Benko teaches determining power metric of paths)
transmit the set of sustainability attributes; and(See paragraphs 30-32, fig 2-3, Benko teaches sending and determining power metric of paths)
receive at least one of an incoming collaboration session, a session control request, or a device registration request in response to a sustainability score, derived from the transmitted set of sustainability attributes, being optimal in comparison to respective sustainability scores of one or more peer network devices. (See paragraphs 28, 29, 30, 39, fig 2-3, Benko receiving path metrics from nodes)
Benko does not explicitly teach but Lau teaches upon termination of an incoming collaboration session routed to the network device, transmit a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) BYE message to the network device; and (See figures 8-9, column 8 lines 3-60, Lau teaches SIP BYE message in case of call determination)
determine a new sustainability score for the network device based on values contained in an extension field. See figures 8-9, column 10 lines 30 to column 11 line 15, Lau teaches accounting score based on the extension.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of Lau with Benko because both deal with networking communications. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of Lau into Benko is that Lau teaches the voice quality data can be piggybacked on SIP signaling messages sent from user equipment during call termination or mid-call modification. By using SIP signaling messages already being sent for purposes of call termination or call modification, any additional SIP signaling traffic cannot be generated, therefore making the overall system more robust and efficient. (See column 1, Lau)
Regarding claim 20,
Benko and Lau teach a method, comprising: receiving one or more attributes of a plurality of network devices; (See paragraphs 28, 29, 30, 39, fig 2-3, Benko receiving path metrics from nodes)
determining a set of sustainability scores for the plurality of network devices based on the one or more attributes; (See paragraphs 30-32, fig 2-3, Benko teaches determining power metric of paths)
selecting, from the plurality of network devices, a target network device based on the set of sustainability scores; and (See paragraphs 32-33, fig 2-3, Benko teaches selecting path based on a power metric)
directing a collaboration session activity to the target network device. (See paragraphs 5, 17, 31, Benko teaches energy status)
Benko does not explicitly teach but Lau teaches upon termination of an incoming collaboration session routed to the target network device, transmitting a Session Initiation Protocol (SIP) BYE message to the target network device; and (See figures 8-9, column 8 lines 3-60, Lau teaches SIP BYE message in case of call determination)
determining a new sustainability score for the target network device based on one or more values contained in an extension field. See figures 8-9, column 10 lines 30 to column 11 line 15, Lau teaches accounting score based on the extension.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of Lau with Benko because both deal with networking communications. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of Lau into Benko is that Lau teaches the voice quality data can be piggybacked on SIP signaling messages sent from user equipment during call termination or mid-call modification. By using SIP signaling messages already being sent for purposes of call termination or call modification, any additional SIP signaling traffic cannot be generated, therefore making the overall system more robust and efficient. (See column 1, Lau)
Claim(s) 11, 14, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Benko (U.S. Patent App Pub 20180070285) in view of Lau (U.S. Patent 9325856) in view of Karapatelakis (U.S. Patent App Pub 20240406835).
Regarding claim 11,
Benko and Lau teach the device of claim 9.
Benko and Lau does not explicitly teach but Karapatelakis teaches wherein the session control logic is further configured to: determine whether the incoming collaboration session routed to the target network device is connected successfully; select, from the plurality of network devices, a new target device in response to determining that the incoming collaboration session routed to the target network device has failed, wherein the new target device is selected based on the set of sustainability scores; and (See paragraphs 31-33, Karapantkelis)
re-route the incoming collaboration session to the new target network device. (See paragraphs 31-33, Karapantkelis)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of Karapatelakis with Benko and Lau because both deal with energy based routing. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of Karapatelakis into Benko and Lau is that Karapatelakis teaches a method enables training the reinforcement learning system to maximize reward with respect to an optimization objective using the stored experience sets in a buffer, therefore making the overall system more robust and efficient. (See paragraphs [0004] - [0006], Karapatelakis)
Regarding claim 14,
Beko teaches the device of claim 1.
Benko and Lau does not explicitly teach but Karapatelakis teaches wherein directing the collaboration session activity to the target network device comprises directing a device registration request to the target network device. (See abstract, 23, 33, 119, Karapantkelis)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of Karapatelakis with Benko and Lau because both deal with energy based routing. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of Karapatelakis into Benko and Lau is that Karapatelakis teaches a method enables training the reinforcement learning system to maximize reward with respect to an optimization objective using the stored experience sets in a buffer, therefore making the overall system more robust and efficient. (See paragraphs [0004] - [0006], Karapatelakis)
Regarding claim 17,
Benko and Lau teaches the device of claim 1
Benko and Lau does not explicitly teach but Karapatelakis teaches wherein the session control logic is further configured to: receive one or more new attributes of one or more network devices of the plurality of network devices; and update one or more sustainability scores of the set of sustainability scores based on the one or more new attributes. (See abstract, 30-31,96, Karapantkelis)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of Karapatelakis with Benko and Lau because both deal with energy based routing. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of Karapatelakis into Benko and Lau is that Karapatelakis teaches a method enables training the reinforcement learning system to maximize reward with respect to an optimization objective using the stored experience sets in a buffer, therefore making the overall system more robust and efficient. (See paragraphs [0004] - [0006], Karapatelakis)
Regarding claim 18,
Benko and Lau teaches the device of claim 1.
Benko and Lau does not explicitly teach but Karapatelakis teaches wherein the determination of the set of sustainability scores is further based on a machine learning model.(See abstract, 109-110, Karapantkelis)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have known to combine the teachings of Karapatelakis with Benko and Lau because both deal with energy based routing. The advantage of incorporating the above limitation(s) of Karapatelakis into Benko and Lau is that Karapatelakis teaches a method enables training the reinforcement learning system to maximize reward with respect to an optimization objective using the stored experience sets in a buffer, therefore making the overall system more robust and efficient. (See paragraphs [0004] - [0006], Karapatelakis)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and located in the PTO-892 form.
1.Karapantekalkis, U.S. Patent Pub 20240406835, teaches there is provided a method for training a reinforcement learning system for optimising routing for a network including a plurality of Integrated Access and Backhaul (IAB) nodes connected to an IAB donor. The method includes acquiring observations characterising a current state of the plurality of IAB nodes, determining an action to be performed based on latest acquired observations, executing the action by initiating update of the routing information based on the determined action, acquiring observations characterising an updated state of the plurality of IAB nodes, determining a reward for the determined action, based on the updated state of the plurality of IAB nodes, storing an experience set, and training the reinforcement learning system to maximise reward with respect to an optimisation objective, using the one or more stored experience sets in the buffer.
2. Levy, U.S. Patent 10412673, teaches a network element includes circuitry and multiple ports. The ports are configured to transmit packets to a common destination via multiple paths of a communication network. Each port includes multiple serializers that serially transmit the packets over respective physical lanes. The power consumed by each port is a nonlinear function of the number of serializers activated in the port. The circuitry is configured to select one or more serializers among the ports to (i) meet a throughput demand via the ports and (ii) minimize an overall power consumed by the ports under a constraint of the nonlinear function, and to activate only the selected serializers. The circuitry is configured to choose for a packet received in the network element and destined to the common destination a port in which at least one of the serializers is activated, and to transmit the packet to the common destination via the chosen port.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NINOS DONABED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444