DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-14, 17-19 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEDLMAIR et al (English Translated DE Publication No.: 102019115263 A1), hereinafter referred to as SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263, in view of MATSUZAKI et al (English Translated WO No.: 2022064785 A1), hereinafter referred to as MATSUZAKI et al ‘837; further in view of MA et al (English Translated WO No.: 2016141878 A1), hereinafter referred to as MA et al ‘878.
Regarding claim 11, SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263 disclose a heat pump module for an electric vehicle or a hybrid vehicle, the heat pump module comprising: a drivable component (2) configured to generate vibrations during operation {as shown in Figs. 1-8: Abstract and Page 8, ¶5 and Page 9 through 10}; and a decoupling element (6a-d/8a-d) configured to decouple the drivable component such that generated vibrations are not transmitted or are at least damped to decouple the drivable component from a vehicle structure (3) of a vehicle when the heat pump module is installed in the vehicle {see Abstract; Page 3, ¶1 through Page 4, ¶2; Page 6, ¶1; Page 8, ¶5 and Page 10, ¶¶1-3}.
However, SEDLMAIR et al. 263 fail to disclose the limitations of wherein the decoupling element comprising at least two elastic connectors, each of the at least two elastic connectors of the decoupling element having a different spring stiffness.
MATSUZAKI et al ‘837 teach: the concept of the decoupling element (12) comprising at least two elastic connectors (14) {as shown in Figs. 2-3: Page 3, ¶ 7}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263 decoupling element by the decoupling element of MATSUZAKI et al ‘837 so as to include the use of least two elastic connectors, in order to absorbs vibration {MATSUZAKI et al ‘837 – Page 3, ¶ 7}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263 in view of MATSUZAKI et al ‘837 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
However, the combination of SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263 and MATSUZAKI et al ‘837 fail to disclose the limitation of the at least two elastic connectors of the decoupling element having a different spring stiffness.
MA et al ‘878 teach: the concept of each of the at least two elastic connectors of the decoupling element having a different spring stiffness {see Abstract; Page 2, ¶ 2, Page 2, ¶3, Page 4, ¶3 and Page 7, ¶ 3}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263 as modified by MATSUZAKI et al ‘837 at least two elastic connectors by the at least two elastic connectors of MA et al ‘878 so as to include the use of at least two elastic connectors of the decoupling element having a different spring stiffness, in order to provide a way to meet the steady working conditions { MA et al ‘878 – Page 3, Summary}.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263 as modified by MATSUZAKI et al ‘837 in view of MA et al ‘878 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 11.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263, MATSUZAKI et al ‘837 and MA et al ‘878 disclose and teach the heat pump module of claim 11, SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263 wherein the heat pump module comprises a support element (SE) configured to support the drivable component (2) and to attach the heat pump module to the vehicle (3) {as shown in annotated Fig 5: wherein the (SE) is attachable to (3) {see Annotated Fig. 1, 5 and 8: Abstract; Page 3, ¶1 through Page 4, ¶2; Page 6, ¶1; Page 8, ¶5 and Page 10, ¶¶1-3}.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263, MATSUZAKI et al ‘837 and MA et al ‘878 disclose and teach the heat pump module of claim 12, SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263 wherein the decoupling element (6a-b/8a-d) is arranged on the support element and is configured to connect the heat pump module to a structural element (3) of a vehicle {see Annotated Figs. 1, Fig. 4 and annotated Fig. 8: Abstract; Page 3, ¶1 through Page 4, ¶1}.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263, MATSUZAKI et al ‘837 and MA et al ‘878 disclose and teach the heat pump module of claim 13, SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263 wherein at least some parts of the support element have an irregular geometry {as shown in Figs. 3, 4 and 7}.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263, MATSUZAKI et al ‘837 and MA et al ‘878 disclose and teach the heat pump module of claim 15, SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263 wherein the elastic connectors are asymmetrically arranged in space {as shown in Figs. 3 and 7}.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263, MATSUZAKI et al ‘837 and MA et al ‘878 disclose and teach the heat pump module of claim 15, SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263 as modified by MATSUZAKI et al ‘837 further teach the limitations of wherein at least some parts of the decoupling element have an irregular geometry, the irregular geometry being at least one of asymmetrical or stochastic {as shown in Fig. 4}.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263, MATSUZAKI et al ‘837 and MA et al ‘878 disclose and teach the heat pump module of claim 11, SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263 wherein: the heat pump module comprises a support element (SE) configured to support the drivable component (2) and to attach the heat pump module to the vehicle (3) {as shown in annotated Fig 5: wherein the (SE) is attachable to (3) {see Annotated Fig. 1, 5 and 8: Abstract; Page 3, ¶1 through Page 4, ¶2; Page 6, ¶1; Page 8, ¶5 and Page 10, ¶¶1-3}; and at least some parts of the support element (SE) include cutouts (CO) {as shown in annotated Fig. 5}; the cutouts (CO) have differing, irregular geometries {as shown in annotated Fig. 5}.
Regarding claim 21, SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263 disclose A vehicle {see abstract}, comprising the heat pump module of claim 11, wherein the heat pump module is arranged by the decoupling element such that vibrations generated by the component are mechanically decoupled from a passenger compartment of the vehicle {see Page 2, ¶6, Page 3, ¶1 through Page 6, ¶1, and Page 8, ¶5}.
Regarding claim 22, SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263 disclose A vehicle {see abstract}, comprising the heat pump module (10) of claim 19, SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263 disclose wherein the differing, irregular geometries of directly adjacent ones of the cutouts (CO) differ from one another {as shown in annotated Fig. 5}.
Regarding claim 23, the combination of SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263, MATSUZAKI et al ‘837 and MA et al ‘878 disclose and teach the heat pump module of claim 19, SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263 as modified by MATSUZAKI et al ‘837 further teach the limitations of wherein the differing, irregular geometries are at least one of asymmetrical or stochastic {as shown in Fig. 4}.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263, MATSUZAKI et al ‘837 and MA et al ‘878 disclose and teach the heat pump module of claim 19, SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263 as modified by MATSUZAKI et al ‘837 further teach the limitations of wherein the drivable component (7) is connected to the support element (12) by ones of the at least two elastic connectors (14) spaced apart from one or more of the cutouts (12C) {as shown in annotated Fig. 2}.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263, MATSUZAKI et al ‘837 and MA et al ‘878 as applied to claim 11 above, in view of HASSLER et al (English Translated DE Publication No.: 102019115752 A1), hereinafter referred to as HASSLER et al. ‘752.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263, MATSUZAKI et al ‘837 and MA et al ‘878 disclose and teach the heat pump module of claim 11; EXCEPT for the limitations of an axle assembly, comprising: two wheel heads spaced apart in an axial direction of the axle assembly, wherein the heat pump module is arranged on the axle assembly by the decoupling element such that the vibrations generatable by the drivable component are emitted in an emission direction, and wherein the emission direction runs at least partially along the axial direction and/or orthogonally thereto.
HASSLER et al. ‘752 teach: the concept of an axle assembly (32), comprising: two wheel heads (41, 42) spaced apart in an axial direction (2) of the axle assembly, wherein the heat pump module (38) is arranged on the axle assembly by the decoupling element (5) such that the vibrations generatable by the drivable component are emitted in an emission direction, and wherein the emission direction runs at least partially along the axial direction and/or orthogonally thereto {as shown in Figs. 11 and 12: Page 1, ¶1, Page 21, ¶¶5-6 and Page 22, ¶¶ 1-2}.
Since all claimed elements were known in the art at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263 in view of HASSLER et al. ‘752 to include the use of an axle assembly, comprising: two wheel heads spaced apart in an axial direction of the axle assembly, wherein the heat pump module is arranged on the axle assembly by the decoupling element such that the vibrations generatable by the drivable component are emitted in an emission direction, and wherein the emission direction runs at least partially along the axial direction and/or orthogonally thereto, in order to achieve a desired (system) resonance frequency reduction (HASSLER et al. ‘752 – Page 22, ¶1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the SEDLMAIR et al. ‘263 in view of HASSLER et al. ‘752 to obtain the invention as specified in claim 20.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant's arguments, see pages 8-12, filed 09/14/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 11-19 and 21 under 35 USC § 102(a)(1) and claim(s) 20 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as detailed above.
Conclusion
3. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicants are reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EMMANUEL E DUKE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
09/30/2026