DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: REPLACE “said safety protrusion” WITH –said protrusion--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Pub No.: 20220047075 (“WU et al.”).
Regarding Claims 1-2 and 4. Wu et al. discloses Claim 1- a safety slide rail device (100, as seen in Figs. 1-11) comprising: an outer rail (30) unit including an outer rail (30) that has a sliding surface (31), and a safety blocking member (32) that is directly disposed on said sliding surface (31); and an intermediate rail (20) slidably and directly disposed on said sliding surface (31) and having a first surface ( rear surface of 21) that faces said sliding surface (31) of said outer rail (30); wherein said safety blocking member (32) is frictionally engaged in frictional contact with said first surface (rear surface of 21) of said intermediate rail (20) so as to impede sliding movement of said intermediate rail (20) relative to said outer rail (30); Claim 2-wherein said safety blocking member (32) has a protrusion (323, best seen in Fig.6) in frictional contact with said intermediate rail (20); Claim 4- wherein said safety blocking member (32) is made of one of a metal material and a plastic material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over WU et al. as applied to Claim 2 above, in view of US Patent No.: 6883885 (“Judge et al.”).
Wu et al. discloses wherein: said safety blocking member (32) further has a resilient arm portion (322), said protrusion (323, best seen in Fig.6) is formed on said resilient arm portion (322).
Judge et al. discloses a similar invention that has a blocking member (120, 120a) with a main body portion that is formed with an opening, and a cantilevered resilient arm portion (126, 126a) that extends from said main body portion into said opening.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the protrusion could extend from the resilient cantilevered within an opening of the main body to maintain a stable connection with the main body and the sliding surface. Furthermore, utilizing an alternative design choice while performing the same function involves only routine skill in the art.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over WU et al. as applied to Claim 2 above, alone.
Regarding Claims 5-6, Wu et al. discloses wherein said safety protrusion (323, best seen in Fig.6) has a protruding surface; Claim 6- wherein said intermediate rail (20) further has an engaging recess; and said protrusion (323, best seen in Fig.6) of said safety blocking member (32) is resiliently and removably engaged with said engaging recess.
Wu et al. discloses the claimed invention but does not disclose the protrusion (323, best seen in Fig.6) has a dome surface.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the protrusion (323, best seen in Fig.6) to have a dome surface, as a simple round shape is easier to manufacturer. It has been held that a change of shape is obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant. In re Dailey 357 F.2d 669, 672-73 (CCPA 1966) (referred to in MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B))
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KIMBERLEY S WRIGHT whose telephone number is (571)270-3328. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 11:30-5:30.
/KIMBERLEY S WRIGHT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637