Examiner’s Note
Claim 1, 18, & 20 were evaluated with the understanding that the clause “or if the switch of the positive contactor indicates the positive contactor is closed, comparing a bus voltage of the voltage bus to a first bus voltage threshold, and: if the bus voltage is less than the first bus voltage threshold, commanding the negative contactor to open, or if the bus voltage is greater than or equal to the first bus voltage threshold, commanding the at least one battery module to the OFF state” is optional with the statement of “or” before the clause. Rewritten claims requiring all the steps recited within the clause (the removal of “or”) would overcome the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 11, 16, & 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al., US11130420 (hereinafter referred to as Wang), in view of Kojima et al., US20210278468 (hereinafter referred to as Kojima).
In regards to claim 1, Wang teaches a method (flowchart 300; [Fig. 3]) for distinguishing faults for at least one battery module (traction battery 124; [Fig. 2]) on a voltage bus (DCPOS; [Fig. 2]), the method comprising: commanding a positive contactor (switch S2/DC POS; [Fig. 2 & 3]) of the at least one battery module to open (operation 308 “Open DC POS”; [Fig. 3]); determining whether a switch of the positive contactor indicates the positive contactor is open or closed (operation 308 “Weld Check DC POS”; [Fig. 3]), and: if the switch of the positive contactor indicates the positive contactor is open, commanding a negative contactor of the at least one battery module to open (step 314, “Open DC NEG”; [Fig. 3]), or if the switch of the positive contactor indicates the positive contactor is closed, comparing a bus voltage of the voltage bus to a first bus voltage threshold, and: if the bus voltage is less than the first bus voltage threshold, commanding the negative contactor to open, or if the bus voltage is greater than or equal to the first bus voltage threshold, commanding the at least one battery module to the OFF state.
Wang does not teach the at least one battery module being switchable between an ON state and an OFF state.
Kojima teaches the at least one battery module (battery modules M1-M5; [Fig. 1]) being switchable (implicit because the batteries are able to switch between processing and not processing; [0053]) between an ON state (on state; [0053]) and an OFF state (off state; [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang in order to incorporate the at least one battery module being switchable between an ON state and an OFF state. The motivation for doing so would be because the system uses battery modules instead of batteries.
In regards to claim 2, Wang teaches wherein, if the bus voltage is less than the first bus voltage threshold, the method further comprises: storing a positive contactor no-weld flag (Examiner’s Note: The claim is a dependent of an OR statement from claim 1.).
In regards to claim 3, Wang teaches wherein, if the bus voltage is greater than or equal to the first bus voltage threshold, the method further comprises: storing a positive contactor weld flag (Examiner’s Note: The claim is a dependent of an OR statement from claim 1.).
In regards to claim 4, Wang teaches wherein, before comparing the bus voltage to the first bus voltage threshold, the method further comprises: if the at least one battery module comprises two or more battery modules, commanding the negative contactor to open (step 314, “Open DC NEG”; [Fig. 3]).
Wang does not teach wherein, before comparing the bus voltage to the first bus voltage threshold, the method further comprises: determining whether the at least one battery module comprises two or more battery modules.
Kojima teaches wherein, before comparing the bus voltage to the first bus voltage threshold, the method further comprises: determining whether the at least one battery module comprises two or more battery modules (5 battery modules in series; [Fig. 1]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang in order to incorporate wherein, before comparing the bus voltage to the first bus voltage threshold, the method further comprises: determining whether the at least one battery module comprises two or more battery modules as taught by Kojima. The motivation for doing so would be an engineering design choice in order to handle a high voltage and/or high current.
In regards to claim 5, Wang teaches wherein, if the at least one battery module comprises two or more battery modules, the method further comprises: storing a positive contactor weld flag (processes, methods, or algorithms can be stored as data; [Col. 13, Ln. 5-7]) (Examiner’s Note: The weld check of the DC POS is one of the processes that can be stored as data.).
In regards to claim 6, Wang teaches wherein, if the negative contactor has been commanded to open (step 314, “Open DC NEG”; [Fig. 3]), the method further comprises: determining whether a switch of the negative contactor indicates the negative contactor is closed (step 314, “Weld Check DC NEG”; [Fig. 3]).
In regards to claim 11, Wang teaches wherein, if the switch of the positive contactor indicates the positive contactor is open and if the negative contactor has been commanded to open, the method further comprises: determining whether a switch of the negative contactor indicates the negative contactor is closed (step 316 “DC NEG Welded” follows steps 308 and 314; [Fig. 3]).
In regards to claim 12, Wang teaches wherein, if the switch of the negative contactor indicates the negative contactor is closed, the method further comprises: determining whether a positive contactor weld flag has been stored (processes, methods, or algorithms can be stored as data; [Col. 13, Ln. 5-7]).
In regards to claim 16, Wang teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: sensing a downstream voltage (charger voltage sensor 234 & bus voltage sensor 232 & battery voltage sensor 230; [Fig. 2]) on the voltage bus downstream of the positive contactor (232 is downstream of contactor S2, 234 is downstream of contactor DCPOS; [Fig. 2]) and upstream of the negative contactor (230 is upstream of contactor S3, 232 is upstream of contactor DCNEG; [Fig. 2]), and using the downstream voltage as the bus voltage (high-voltage bus 152; [Col. 8, Ln. 10-13]).
In regards to claim 17, INVENTOR teaches wherein, if the negative contactor has been commanded to open, the method further comprises: determining whether a switch of the negative contactor indicates the negative contactor is open or closed (step 314, “Weld Check DC NEG”; [Fig. 3]), and if the switch of the negative contactor indicates the negative contactor is closed, sensing an upstream voltage on the voltage bus upstream of the positive contactor and downstream of the negative contactor, comparing the upstream voltage to a second bus voltage threshold, and, if the upstream voltage is greater than or equal to the second bus voltage threshold, commanding the at least one battery module to the OFF state.
In regards to claim 18, Wang teaches a battery architecture, comprising: at least one battery module (traction battery 124; [Fig. 2]) having a voltage bus (DCPOS; [Fig. 2]); a positive contactor (switch S2/DC POS; [Fig. 2 & 3]) associated with at least one battery module; a negative contactor associated with at least one battery module (switch S3/DC NEG; [Fig. 2 & 3]); a controller configured to: command the positive contactor to open (operation 308 “Open DC POS”; [Fig. 3]); determine whether a switch of the positive contactor indicates the positive contactor is open or closed (operation 308 “Weld Check DC POS”; [Fig. 3]), and: if the switch of the positive contactor indicates the positive contactor is open, command the negative contactor to open (step 314, “Open DC NEG”; [Fig. 3]), or if the switch of the positive contactor indicates the positive contactor is closed, compare a bus voltage of the voltage bus to a first bus voltage threshold, and: if the bus voltage is less than the first bus voltage threshold, command the negative contactor to open, or if the bus voltage is greater than or equal to the first bus voltage threshold, command the at least one battery module to the OFF state or if the switch of the positive contactor indicates the positive contactor is closed, compare a bus voltage of the voltage bus to a first bus voltage threshold, and: if the bus voltage is less than the first bus voltage threshold, command the negative contactor to open, or if the bus voltage is greater than or equal to the first bus voltage threshold, command the at least one battery module to the OFF state.
Wang does not teach the at least one battery module being switchable between an ON state and an OFF state.
Kojima teaches the at least one battery module (battery modules M1-M5; [Fig. 1]) being switchable (implicit because the batteries are able to switch between processing and not processing; [0053]) between an ON state (on state; [0053]) and an OFF state (off state; [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang in order to incorporate the at least one battery module being switchable between an ON state and an OFF state. The motivation for doing so would be because the system uses battery modules instead of batteries.
In regards to claim 19, Wang teaches the battery architecture of claim 18, further comprising: a voltage sensor (charger voltage sensor 234 & bus voltage sensor 232 & battery voltage sensor 230; [Fig. 2]) configured to sense a downstream voltage on the voltage bus downstream of the positive contactor (232 is downstream of contactor S2, 234 is downstream of contactor DCPOS; [Fig. 2]) and upstream of the negative contactor (230 is upstream of contactor S3, 232 is upstream of contactor DCNEG; [Fig. 2]), wherein the controller (controller 250; [Fig. 2]) is configured to use the downstream voltage as the bus voltage (high-voltage bus 152; [Col. 8, Ln. 10-13]).
In regards to claim 20, Wang teaches a controller (controller 250; [Fig. 2]) for at least one battery module (traction battery 124; [Fig. 2]), the controller being configured to: command a positive contactor (switch S2/DC POS; [Fig. 2 & 3]) of the at least one battery module to open (operation 308 “Open DC POS”; [Fig. 3]); determine whether a switch of the positive contactor indicates the positive contactor is open or closed (operation 308 “Weld Check DC POS”; [Fig. 3]), and: if the switch of the positive contactor indicates the positive contactor is open, command a negative contactor of the at least one battery module to open (step 314, “Open DC NEG”; [Fig. 3]), or if the switch of the positive contactor indicates the positive contactor is closed, compare a bus voltage of the voltage bus to a first bus voltage threshold, and: if the bus voltage is less than the first bus voltage threshold, command the negative contactor to open, or if the bus voltage is greater than or equal to the first bus voltage threshold, command the at least one battery module to the OFF state.
Wang does not teach the at least one battery module being switchable between an ON state and an OFF state.
Kojima teaches the at least one battery module (battery modules M1-M5; [Fig. 1]) being switchable (implicit because the batteries are able to switch between processing and not processing; [0053]) between an ON state (on state; [0053]) and an OFF state (off state; [0053]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang in order to incorporate the at least one battery module being switchable between an ON state and an OFF state. The motivation for doing so would be because the system uses battery modules instead of batteries.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 7 is indicated containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claims 6, 5, 4, & 1, especially "wherein, if the switch of the negative contactor indicates the negative contactor is closed, the method further comprises: determining whether the positive contactor weld flag has been stored".
Claims 8-10 would be allowed due to dependence on claim 7.
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 12 is indicated containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claims 11 & 1, especially “wherein, if the switch of the negative contactor indicates the negative contactor is closed, the method further comprises: determining whether a positive contactor weld flag has been stored.”
Claim 13-15 would be allowed due to dependence on claim 12.
Claim 17 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 17 is indicated containing allowable subject matter because prior art fails to teach or suggest, either alone or in combination all of the limitations of claims 16 & 1, especially “sensing an upstream voltage on the voltage bus upstream of the positive contactor and downstream of the negative contactor, comparing the upstream voltage to a second bus voltage threshold, and, if the upstream voltage is greater than or equal to the second bus voltage threshold, commanding the at least one battery module to the OFF state”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Dukaric et al., US20220006285, teaches of a battery system with two batteries and a pre-charge circuitry. Tezuka et al., US20060021098, teaches of utilizing the voltage drop of the bus to determine whether a contactor is welded.
SAMANTHA LYNETTE FAUBERT
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/CRYSTAL L HAMMOND/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838