DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The examiner acknowledges that the amended claim set, and drawings corrects issues noted by the previous office action of (2 – 19 – 2026). All of the previous drawing objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments and remarks filed (5 – 15 – 2026) have been fully considered but they are not persuasiveApplicant argues…
Tokuno allows molten resin to overflow from the cavity C formed between the stationary mold 32 and the movable mold 33 when the mold device 30 is clamped in order to evaluate the quality of a molding product and does not prevent discharge of molten resin from the cavity C of the mold device 30. That is, Tokuno does not teach or suggest "acquir[ing] an allowable amount as a size of a gap allowable between the fixed mold and the movable mold for preventing discharge of the molding material from the mold device when the molding material is injected into the mold device"
Applicant further argues that none of the other applied references make up for the deficiency of Tokuno / Tokuno as modified.
This is not found to be persuasive because…
Tokuno teaches on ([0051]), in a case where the first mold open distance ΔX1 is greater than or equal to a first reference value, the clamping force monitoring unit 82 may determine that a flash is possibly formed at the corresponding molding product and evaluate the corresponding molding product as defective. It is noted that the first reference value may be designated by the user based on past performance results, for example. As such, Tokuno teaches that flash forming is not a desired outcome, which corresponds to the molding product as being defective. Accordingly, Tokuno is concerned with optimizing the first mold open distance ΔX1 and the second mold open distance ΔX2. ([0053]) notes that when the first mold open distance ΔX1 is less than the first reference value and the second mold open distance ΔX2 is less than the second reference value, the clamping force monitoring unit 82 may determine that the corresponding molding product has no flash formed thereon and is therefore of good quality. Accordingly, Tokuno is concerned with preventing the discharge of molten resin from the cavity C of the mold device 30. Highlighting, while no discrepancies are perceived to exist regarding optimizing the first mold open distance ΔX1 and the second mold open distance ΔX such that to prevent discharge of molten resin from the cavity C of the mold device 30 the case law for result effective variables may be recited. Where, it is well settled that determination of optimum values of cause effective variables such as these process parameters is within the skill of one practicing in the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), MPEP 2143 II (B).
This is unpersuasive because as explained above there was not found to be deficiency in Tokuno / Tokuno as modified.
Tokuno does not teach the newly amended feature of "acquir[ing] a gap size indicating a depth of a groove provided in advance in a parting surface between the fixed mold and the movable mold to discharge a gas", apart from the mold open distances. Hence, the above-noted feature of claim 1 is a distinction over Tokuno.
Applicant' s arguments and remarks, see (Pgs. 9 – 10), filed on (5 – 15 – 2026), with respect to the amended feature(s) of claim(s) 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Tokuno et al. (US 20130251836 A1) in view of Hisashi Kojima (US 4797236 A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A.) Claim(s) Claim(s) 1 – 7, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tokuno et al. (US 20130251836 A1, hereinafter Tokuno) in view of Hisashi Kojima (US 4797236 A, hereinafter Kojima)Regarding claim 1,
A control device for controlling an injection molding machine, the injection molding machine including
a mold device having a fixed mold and
a movable mold;
a mold clamping device including a stationary platen to which the fixed mold is attached and a movable platen to which the movable mold is attached and configured to move the movable platen relative to the fixed platen to open and close the fixed mold and the movable mold; and
an injection device including a cylinder,
an injection member provided inside the cylinder, and
a drive source configured to move the injection member to inject a molding material from the cylinder into the mold device
the control device comprising:
circuitry configured to acquire an allowable amount as a size of a gap allowable between the fixed mold and the movable mold for preventing discharge of the molding material from the mold device when the molding material is injected into the mold device,
acquire a gap size indicating a depth of a groove provided in advance in a parting surface between the fixed mold and the movable mold to discharge a gas, and
adjust a mold clamping force of the mold clamping device such that a value obtained based on an opening size and
the gap size satisfies a condition according to the allowable amount when the molding material is injected into the mold device closed by the mold clamping device,
the opening size indicating a size of a gap between the fixed mold and the movable mold generated by injection of the molding material.
Tokuno teaches the following:
([0016]) teaches the injection molding machine 10 includes a movable mold 33 is attached to the face of the movable platen 13 facing the stationary platen 12, and a stationary mold 32 is attached to a face of the stationary platen 12 facing the movable platen 13. The stationary mold 32 and the movable mold 33 form the mold device 30. As such, the stationary mold 32 acts as applicant’s fixed mold.
([0016]) teaches the injection molding machine 10 includes a movable mold 33 is attached to the face of the movable platen 13 facing the stationary platen 12, and a stationary mold 32 is attached to a face of the stationary platen 12 facing the movable platen 13. As such, the movable mold 33 acts as applicant’s movable mold.
([0016]) teaches that The injection molding machine 10 also includes a movable platen 13 that is arranged to face the stationary platen 12 and is capable of moving back and forth (the left and right directions of FIG. 1) along the tie-bars 16. ([0016]) adding that the injection molding machine 10 includes a movable mold 33 is attached to the face of the movable platen 13 facing the stationary platen 12, and a stationary mold 32 is attached to a face of the stationary platen 12 facing the movable platen 13. As such, the movable platen 13 with the movable mold 33 provides for and acts as applicant’s mold clamping device configured to open and close the fixed mold and the movable mold.
([0026]) teaches that the injection molding machine 10 includes the injection device 40 that has a heating cylinder 42 for melting resin and a nozzle 41 for injecting the molten resin into the cavity C of the mold device 30 to fill up the cavity C with the molten resin. As such, the injection molding machine 10 with heating cylinder 42 provides for and acts as applicant’s injection device including a cylinder configured to inject a molding material into the mold device.
& f.) ([0035]) teaches that he injection process is performed after the mold clamping process. In the injection process, the injection motor 43 is driven to cause the screw 52 to move forward. As a result, the screw 52 pushes the molten resin out via the nozzle 41. The molten resin is thus injected into the cavity C via a sprue S, a runner R, and a gate G (see FIG. 1). As illustrated in (Fig. 2) the screw 52 is shown to be within the heating cylinder 42. Where the screw 52 provides for and acts as applicant’s injection member provided inside the cylinder. Additionally, the injection motor 43 driven to cause the screw 52 to move forward provides for and acts as applicant’s drive source configured to move the injection member to inject a molding material from the cylinder into the mold device.
([0043]) teaches it is noted that the open mold distance of the mold device 30 refers to the distance of a gap formed between the parting faces of the stationary mold 32 and the movable mold 33. ([0044]) teaches that the clamping force monitoring unit 82 calculates (1) a first mold open distance ΔX1 that is calculated based on the difference ΔF1 between the maximum value F1 of the detected value of the clamping force sensor 17 during the injection process and the pressure holding process and the detected value F0 at the start of the injection process (ΔF1=F1−F0). ([0047]) adding that the first mold open distance ΔX1 represents the maximum value of the mold open distance during the injection process and the pressure holding process. As such, the clamping force monitoring unit 82 acts as applicant’s circuitry configured to acquire an allowable amount as a size of a gap allowable between the fixed mold and the movable mold. Noting, ([0021]) details that the clamping force monitoring unit 82 is a subsystem of the overall control unit 80. As such, control unit 80 may also be act as applicant’s circuitry configured to acquire an allowable amount as a size of a gap allowable between the fixed mold and the movable mold. Furthermore, ([0051]) adds in a case where the first mold open distance ΔX1 is greater than or equal to a first reference value, the clamping force monitoring unit 82 may determine that a flash is possibly formed at the corresponding molding product and evaluate the corresponding molding product as defective. It is noted that the first reference value may be designated by the user based on past performance results, for example. As such, Tokuno teaches that flash forming is not a desired outcome, which corresponds to the molding product as being defective. Accordingly, Tokuno is concerned with optimizing the first mold open distance ΔX1 and the second mold open distance ΔX2. ([0053]) notes that when the first mold open distance ΔX1 is less than the first reference value and the second mold open distance ΔX2 is less than the second reference value, the clamping force monitoring unit 82 may determine that the corresponding molding product has no flash formed thereon and is therefore of good quality. Accordingly, Tokuno is concerned with preventing the discharge of molten resin from the cavity C of the mold device 30. Highlighting, while no discrepancies are perceived to exist regarding optimizing the first mold open distance ΔX1 and the second mold open distance ΔX such that to prevent discharge of molten resin from the cavity C of the mold device 30 the case law for result effective variables may be recited. Where, it is well settled that determination of optimum values of cause effective variables such as these process parameters is within the skill of one practicing in the art. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980). In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977), MPEP 2143 II (B).
([0046]) teaches that The first mold open distance ΔX1 (mm) is calculated by multiplying the increase ΔF1 (kN) in the detected value of the clamping force sensor 17 by a proportionality constant C (mm/kN) (ΔX1=C×ΔF1). ([0047]) adding that the first mold open distance ΔX1 represents the maximum value of the mold open distance during the injection process and the pressure holding process. As such, acquire a gap size indicating a size of a gap between the fixed mold and the movable mold is understood to be disclosed. Highlighting, that the gap / distance or depth acquired is that of distance between the two parting surfaces of the mold halves. Highlighting, that while the disclosure of a gap during the injection molding process is disclosed, the discharge of gas from between the molds halves is not explicitly included. However, This limitation is understood to be an intended use of the apparatus. Accordingly, the case law for intended use of apparatus may be recited. Where, it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). The manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself, In re Casey 152 USPQ 235.
([0044]) teaches that the clamping force monitoring unit 82 calculates (1) a first mold open distance ΔX1 that is calculated based on the difference ΔF1 between the maximum value F1 of the detected value of the clamping force senor 17 during the injection process. ([0045]) teaches that the mold open distance is proportional to the increase in the detected value of the clamping force sensor 17. At the start of the injection process, resin does not yet reach the parting surfaces of the stationary mold 32 and the movable mold 33. Thus, at this point, the resin pressure urging the mold device 30 to open is not yet generated and the mold device 30 is closed by the clamping force of the mold clamping device.([0021]) teaches that the toggle mechanism 20 generates a clamping force equal to the thrust force of the mold clamping motor 26 multiplied by the toggle rate. It is noted that a clamping force sensor 17 is attached to the tie-bar 16. The clamping force sensor 17 detects the clamping force at predetermined time intervals by detecting the strain (extension) of the tie-bar 16. The detected clamping force is sequentially input to a control unit 80 and is monitored by a clamping force monitoring unit 82 of the control unit 80. As such, the clamping force monitoring unit 82 with the combination of the clamping force senor 17 and the toggle mechanism 20 is found to generate and adjust a mold clamping force of the mold clamping device such that a value obtained based on an opening size.
([0046]) teaches that The first mold open distance ΔX1 (mm) is calculated by multiplying the increase ΔF1 (kN) in the detected value of the clamping force sensor 17 by a proportionality constant C (mm/kN) (ΔX1=C×ΔF1). ([0047]) adding that the first mold open distance ΔX1 represents the maximum value of the mold open distance during the injection process and the pressure holding process. As such, the gap size satisfies a condition according to the allowable amount when the molding material is injected into the mold device closed by the mold clamping device.
([0044]) The clamping force monitoring unit 82 calculates (1) a first mold open distance ΔX1 that is calculated based on the difference ΔF1 between the maximum value F1 of the detected value of the clamping force sensor 17 during the injection process and the pressure holding process and the detected value F0 at the start of the injection process (ΔF1=F1−F0). ([0045]) teaches that the mold open distance is proportional to the increase in the detected value of the clamping force sensor 17. The increase in the detected value of the clamping force sensor 17 is calculated based on the detected value F0 at the start of the injection process. At the start of the injection process, resin does not yet reach the parting surfaces of the stationary mold 32 and the movable mold 33. Thus, at this point, the resin pressure urging the mold device 30 to open is not yet generated and the mold device 30 is closed by the clamping force of the mold clamping device. As such, the opening size (between the molds) is understood to indicate a size of a gap between the fixed mold and the movable mold generated by injection of the molding material into the cavity of the mold, namely that the pressure supplied by the injection molding material is understood to generate a force, in which if the gap is too large, the molten resin may overflow from the cavity C. When the overflow resin solidifies, it forms a flash around the molding product, ([0047]).
Regarding Claim 2, Tokuno is silent on a groove provided in advance in a parting surface between the fixed mold and the movable mold to discharge a gas. In analogous art for WHAT IS SIMILAR FOR THESE TWO, Kojima suggests details regarding a groove provided in advance in a parting surface between the fixed mold and the movable mold to discharge a gas, and in this regard, Kojima teaches the following:
(Col. 4, lines 46 – 49) teaches that in the state wherein the sprue ejector pin 4 is in its retracted position, the gas is being discharged from the air vent groove 15 and the minute gap around the sprue ejector pin 4. (Col. 6, lines 53 – 63) adds that in a parting surface 14 of the injection mold is bored an air vent groove 15 small enough not to admit molten resin, which air vent groove 15 communicates with a suction port 16. The suction ports 7 and 16 communicate with a vacuum device through a tube 17 and a vacuum valve 18. The vacuum device comprises a vacuum tank 19, a mechanical booster 20 and a vacuum pump 21 and these component parts operate to achieve a predetermined degree of vacuum so as to immediately bring the cavity 3 and the sprue 5 under a high vacuum.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the production method and apparatus for manufacturing an injection molding machine is provided that includes a clamping force sensor that detects a clamping force of a mold, and a clamping force monitoring unit that monitors a detected value of the clamping force sensor and calculates a first mold open distance and/or a second mold open distance of Tokuno. By modifying the parting surfaces of the mold to comprise an air vent groove, as taught by Kojima. Highlighting, one would be motivated to implement an air vent groove in the parting surface as it provides for gas is to be discharged from the air vent groove 15 during the molding process, (Col. 7, lines 46 – 49).
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the circuitry is further configured to adjust the mold clamping force applied to the mold device by the mold clamping device such that the value obtained based on the opening size and
the gap size satisfies the condition according to the allowable amount and
approaches the allowable amount.
Tokuno teaches the following:
([0021]) teaches that by driving the mold clamping motor 26 further in the forward direction, the toggle mechanism 20 generates a clamping force equal to the thrust force of the mold clamping motor 26 multiplied by the toggle rate. It is noted that a clamping force sensor 17 is attached to the tie-bar 16. The clamping force sensor 17 detects the clamping force at predetermined time intervals by detecting the strain (extension) of the tie-bar 16. The detected clamping force is sequentially input to a control unit 80 and is monitored by a clamping force monitoring unit 82 of the control unit 80. It is also noted that a cavity C is formed between the stationary mold 32 and the movable mold 33 when the mold device 30 is clamped. Molten resin is injected into the cavity C and then solidified to become a molding product. As such, the toggle mechanism 20 is understood to adjusts the mold clamping force applied to the mold device by the mold clamping device such that the value based on the opening size,
& c.) ([0046]) teaches that The first mold open distance ΔX1 (mm) is calculated by multiplying the increase ΔF1 (kN) in the detected value of the clamping force sensor 17 by a proportionality constant C (mm/kN) (ΔX1=C×ΔF1). ([0047]) adding that the first mold open distance ΔX1 represents the maximum value of the mold open distance during the injection process and the pressure holding process. As such, the gap size satisfies the condition according to the allowable amount, and approaches the allowable amount during the injection molding process.
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the circuitry is further configured to acquire the mold clamping force from a detection result of a detection device,
the detection device being provided in a tie bar that extends according to the mold clamping force, and
adjust the mold clamping force of the mold clamping device based on an amount of change in the mold clamping force when the molding material is injected into the mold device.
Tokuno teaches the following:
([0007]) teaches that an injection molding machine is provided that includes a clamping force sensor that detects a clamping force of a mold, and a clamping force monitoring unit that monitors a detected value of the clamping force sensor and calculates a first mold open distance and/or a second mold open distance.
([0021]) teaches that by driving the mold clamping motor 26 further in the forward direction, the toggle mechanism 20 generates a clamping force equal to the thrust force of the mold clamping motor 26 multiplied by the toggle rate. It is noted that a clamping force sensor 17 is attached to the tie-bar 16. The clamping force sensor 17 detects the clamping force at predetermined time intervals by detecting the strain (extension) of the tie-bar 16. As such, clamping force sensor 17 is attached to the tie-bar 1 that extends according to the mold clamping force.
([0045]) teaches that the mold open distance is proportional to the increase in the detected value of the clamping force sensor 17. The increase in the detected value of the clamping force sensor 17 is calculated based on the detected value F0 at the start of the injection process. At the start of the injection process, resin does not yet reach the parting surfaces of the stationary mold 32 and the movable mold 33. Thus, at this point, the resin pressure urging the mold device 30 to open is not yet generated and the mold device 30 is closed by the clamping force of the mold clamping device. As such, the adjustment of the mold clamping force of the mold clamping device is understood to be based on an amount of change in the mold clamping force when the molding material is being injected into the mold cavity.
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the circuitry is further configured to acquire the gap size by receiving an input of the gap size being-received from an operation device.
Tokuno teaches the following:
([0051]) teaches that For example, in a case where the first mold open distance ΔX1 is greater than or equal to a first reference value, the clamping force monitoring unit 82 may determine that a flash is possibly formed at the corresponding molding product and evaluate the corresponding molding product as defective. It is noted that the first reference value may be designated by the user based on past performance results, for example. ([0097]) teaches that a display unit 92 for displaying the information obtained by the clamping force monitoring unit 82 (see Fig. 2). The display unit 92 may be a display device such as a liquid crystal display that is controlled by the control unit 80 to display information in response to a request by a user. The request from the user may be input via an input unit 94, which may be a keyboard or a mouse, for example, that is connected to control unit 80. The display unit 92 may be configured to display the information obtained from the clamping force monitoring unit 82 in association with the ID information of the corresponding molding product. As such, the input of a first reference value by a user via an input unit 94 connected to control unit 80 is understood to provide for a the circuitry acquiring the gap size with an input of the gap size being received from an operation deviceAlternatively, ([0027]) teaches that That is, the resin pressure (injection pressure of resin) applied to the screw 52 is detected by the resin pressure detector 50. The detected resin pressure is then input to the control unit 80. As such, the control unit 80 is understood to acquire the gap size with an input of the gap provided by the resin pressure detector 50 acting as applicant’s an operation device.
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the circuitry is further configured to receive a type of the molding material input from an operation device, and
acquire the allowable amount corresponding to the received type of the molding material.
Tokuno teaches the following:
([0049]) teaches that it is noted that a determination as to whether the first mold open distance ΔX1, the second mold open distance ΔX2, or both of the above are to be used as the indicators of the quality of the molding product may be made based on the type of resin material used, for example.
([0050]) teaches that the clamping force monitoring unit 82 may evaluate the quality of the molding product based on the calculated first mold open distance ΔX1 and/or second mold open distance ΔX2. Namely, the gap value of ΔX1 and ΔX2 is not a fixed value but is a calculated value. Which is understood to be an adaptive choice based on the resin's flow behavior and the requirement to avoid defects like flashing, with the material type entered into the operation device.Additionally, ([0092]) teaches that the display unit 92 may be a display device such as a liquid crystal display that is controlled by the control unit 80 to display information in response to a request by a user. The request from the user may be input via an input unit 94, which may be a keyboard or a mouse, for example, that is connected to control unit. As such, the input unit 94 / operation device provides for a point in which material data to be provided, allowing for the control system to adjust, for example, the V/P (Velocity/Pressure) switchover point ([0037]), based on the measured ΔX value to maintain consistent part quality fabrication, ([0049]).
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the circuitry is further configured to output, to a display, one or more of the allowable amount, the opening size, and the value obtained based on the opening size and the gap size.
Tokuno teaches the following:
([0057]) teaches that It is noted that the injection molding machine 10 may also include a display unit 92 for displaying the information obtained by the clamping force monitoring unit 82 (see Fig.. 2). The display unit 92 may be a display device such as a liquid crystal display that is controlled by the control unit 80 to display information in response to a request by a user. The request from the user may be input via an input unit 94, which may be a keyboard or a mouse, for example, that is connected to control unit 80. The display unit 92 may be configured to display the information obtained from the clamping force monitoring unit 82 in association with the ID information of the corresponding molding product.
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the circuitry is further configured to monitor whether or not the value obtained based on the opening size and the gap size satisfies the condition according to the allowable amount every time the molding material is injected into the mold device closed by the mold clamping device.
Tokuno teaches the following:
([0021]) teaches that the clamping force sensor 17 detects the clamping force at predetermined time intervals by detecting the strain (extension) of the tie-bar 16. The detected clamping force is sequentially input to a control unit 80 and is monitored by a clamping force monitoring unit 82 of the control unit 80. It is also noted that a cavity C is formed between the stationary mold 32 and the movable mold 33 when the mold device 30 is clamped. Molten resin is injected into the cavity C and then solidified to become a molding product. ([0044]) adding that The clamping force monitoring unit 82 calculates (1) a first mold open distance ΔX1 that is calculated based on the difference ΔF1 between the maximum value F1 of the detected value of the clamping force sensor 17 during the injection process and the pressure holding process and the detected value F0 at the start of the injection process (ΔF1=F1−F0). As such, clamping force monitoring unit 82 of the control unit 80 / the circuitry further configured to monitor whether or not the value based on the opening size and the gap size satisfies the condition according to the allowable amount every time the molding material is injected into the mold device closed by the mold clamping device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tsutsumi et al. (US 20230173722 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) The present invention offers a technique for providing assistance in setting at least one of the temperature of a nozzle and the temperature of a cylinder. A control device for an injection molding machine includes a monitoring part configured to monitor, during a filling step of filling the inside of a mold device with a molding material, a change in the filling pressure acting on the molding material.
Masatoshi Senga (US 20230405900 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) This mold-clamping device, which is for an injection molding machine in which resin in injected into a cavity of an open mold, after which the mold is closed to carry out molding, is provided with a movable platen capable of moving along an axial direction of tie bars, and a parallelism maintenance mechanism for maintaining parallelism between a fixed mold and a movable mold when the resin is injected.
Klaus Wieder (US 20020100860 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) A mold vent and method. The vent has expanding passages. A preferred vent comprises an insert that has a plurality of passages. One insert comprises a grate formed of a plurality of portions that interleave fingers forming vent passages therebetween that preferably are vent slots.
Shrestha et al. (US 20190067014 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) methods for filling a gap feature on a substrate surface are disclosure. The methods may include: providing a substrate comprising one or more gap features into a reaction chamber; and partially filling the one or more gap features with a molybdenum metal film by a cyclical deposition-etch process, wherein a unit cycle of the cyclical deposition-etch process comprises.
Luke et al. (US 6789301 B1) an apparatus and method for allowing the spotting of one or more movable cores to mating portions of a mold. The present invention provides for the placement of a mold on a support structure and the releasable connection of each movable core to a force exerting device. The force exerting device allows for controlled and repeatable movement of the movable core or cores to which the force exerting device is attached.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Andrés E. Behrens Jr./Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/JaMel M Nelson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743