DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show the molding material M is injected by the injection device 300, and then flows into the cavity space 801 formed between the fixed mold 810 and the movable mold 820 through a sprue (not illustrated) of the fixed mold 810, and a runner (not illustrated) may be provided between the cavity space 801 and the sprue 802, as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered, and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of
ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also
commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification
when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
“means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term
having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function;
language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”)
or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and
structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a
rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C.
112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is
interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when
the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited
function.
that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35
U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under
35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation
recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the
recited function.
interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as
otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do
not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-
AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with
functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the
generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
A mold clamping device configured to open and close the fixed mold and the movable mold, as recited in claim 1
An injection device configured to inject a molding material into the mold device, as recited in claim 1
Circuitry configured to acquire an allowable amount as a size of a gap allowable between the fixed mold and the movable mold for preventing discharge of the molding material from the mold device when the molding material is injected into the mold device, and acquire a gap size indicating a size of a gap provided for discharging a gas between the fixed mold and the movable mold, and adjust a mold clamping force of the mold clamping device such that a value obtained based on an opening size and the gap size satisfies a condition according to the allowable amount when the molding material is injected into the mold device closed by the mold clamping device, as recited in claim 1. Additionally, the circuitry further configured to output, to a display device, one or more of the allowable amount, the opening size, and the value based on the opening size and the gap size, as recited in Claim 6. Furthermore, he circuitry further configured to monitor whether or not the value based on the opening size and the gap size satisfies the condition according to the allowable amount every time the molding material is injected into the mold device closed by the mold clamping device, as recited in Claim 7.
pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the
corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and
equivalents thereof.
(Pgs. 1 – 2, 4 – 7, 9, 13 – 16, 24, 29 – 30, 41 – 42 & 45) of the instant application’s specifications teaches more details regarding the mold clamping device.
(Pgs. 1 – 2, 5 – 6 & 10)) of the instant application’s specifications teaches more details regarding the injection device.
(Pgs. 2 & 26) of the instant application’s specifications teaches more details regarding the circuitry.
112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim
limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112,
sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2)
present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform
the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA
35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
A.) Claim(s) 1 – 7, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Tokuno et al. (US 20130251836 A1, hereinafter Tokuno)
Regarding claim 1,
A control device for controlling an injection molding machine, the control device comprising:
a mold device having a fixed mold and
a movable mold;
a mold clamping device configured to open and close the fixed mold and the movable mold;
an injection device configured to inject a molding material into the mold device; and
circuitry configured to acquire an allowable amount as a size of a gap allowable between the fixed mold and the movable mold for preventing discharge of the molding material from the mold device when the molding material is injected into the mold device, and
acquire a gap size indicating a size of a gap provided for discharging a gas between the fixed mold and the movable mold, and
adjust a mold clamping force of the mold clamping device such that a value obtained based on an opening size and
the gap size satisfies a condition according to the allowable amount when the molding material is injected into the mold device closed by the mold clamping device,
the opening size indicating a size of a gap between the fixed mold and the movable mold generated by injection of the molding material.
Tokuno teaches the following:
([0016]) teaches the injection molding machine 10 includes a movable mold 33 is attached to the face of the movable platen 13 facing the stationary platen 12, and a stationary mold 32 is attached to a face of the stationary platen 12 facing the movable platen 13. The stationary mold 32 and the movable mold 33 form the mold device 30. As such, the stationary mold 32 acts as applicant’s fixed mold.
([0016]) teaches the injection molding machine 10 includes a movable mold 33 is attached to the face of the movable platen 13 facing the stationary platen 12, and a stationary mold 32 is attached to a face of the stationary platen 12 facing the movable platen 13. As such, the movable mold 33 acts as applicant’s movable mold.
([0016]) teaches that The injection molding machine 10 also includes a movable platen 13 that is arranged to face the stationary platen 12 and is capable of moving back and forth (the left and right directions of FIG. 1) along the tie-bars 16. ([0016]) adding that the injection molding machine 10 includes a movable mold 33 is attached to the face of the movable platen 13 facing the stationary platen 12, and a stationary mold 32 is attached to a face of the stationary platen 12 facing the movable platen 13. As such, the movable platen 13 with the movable mold 33 acts as applicant’s mold clamping device configured to open and close the fixed mold and the movable mold.
([0026]) teaches that the injection molding machine 10 includes the injection device 40 that has a heating cylinder 42 for melting resin and a nozzle 41 for injecting the molten resin into the cavity C of the mold device 30 to fill up the cavity C with the molten resin. As such, the injection molding machine 10 acts as applicant’s injection device configured to inject a molding material into the mold device.
([0043]) teaches it is noted that the open mold distance of the mold device 30 refers to the distance of a gap formed between the parting faces of the stationary mold 32 and the movable mold 33. ([0044]) teaches that the clamping force monitoring unit 82 calculates (1) a first mold open distance ΔX1 that is calculated based on the difference ΔF1 between the maximum value F1 of the detected value of the clamping force sensor 17 during the injection process and the pressure holding process and the detected value F0 at the start of the injection process (ΔF1=F1−F0). ([0047]) adding that the first mold open distance ΔX1 represents the maximum value of the mold open distance during the injection process and the pressure holding process. As such, the clamping force monitoring unit 82 acts as applicant’s circuitry configured to acquire an allowable amount as a size of a gap allowable between the fixed mold and the movable mold. Noting, ([0021]) details that the clamping force monitoring unit 82 is a subsystem of the overall control unit 80. As such, control unit 80 may also be act as applicant’s circuitry configured to acquire an allowable amount as a size of a gap allowable between the fixed mold and the movable mold.
([0046]) teaches that The first mold open distance ΔX1 (mm) is calculated by multiplying the increase ΔF1 (kN) in the detected value of the clamping force sensor 17 by a proportionality constant C (mm/kN) (ΔX1=C×ΔF1). ([0047]) adding that the first mold open distance ΔX1 represents the maximum value of the mold open distance during the injection process and the pressure holding process. As such, acquire a gap size indicating a size of a gap between the fixed mold and the movable mold is understood to be disclosed. Highlighting, that while the disclosure of a gap during the injection molding process is disclosed, the discharge of gas from between the molds halves is not explicitly included. However, This limitation is understood to be an intended use of the apparatus. Accordingly, the case law for intended use of apparatus may be recited. Where, it is well settled that the intended use of a claimed apparatus is not germane to the issue of the patentability of the claimed structure. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the claimed use then it meets the claim. In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235, 238 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 459 (CCPA 1963). The manner or method in which a machine is to be utilized is not germane to the issue of patentability of the machine itself, In re Casey 152 USPQ 235.
([0044]) teaches that the clamping force monitoring unit 82 calculates (1) a first mold open distance ΔX1 that is calculated based on the difference ΔF1 between the maximum value F1 of the detected value of the clamping force senor 17 during the injection process. ([0045]) teaches that the mold open distance is proportional to the increase in the detected value of the clamping force sensor 17. At the start of the injection process, resin does not yet reach the parting surfaces of the stationary mold 32 and the movable mold 33. Thus, at this point, the resin pressure urging the mold device 30 to open is not yet generated and the mold device 30 is closed by the clamping force of the mold clamping device.([0021]) teaches that the toggle mechanism 20 generates a clamping force equal to the thrust force of the mold clamping motor 26 multiplied by the toggle rate. It is noted that a clamping force sensor 17 is attached to the tie-bar 16. The clamping force sensor 17 detects the clamping force at predetermined time intervals by detecting the strain (extension) of the tie-bar 16. The detected clamping force is sequentially input to a control unit 80 and is monitored by a clamping force monitoring unit 82 of the control unit 80. As such, the clamping force monitoring unit 82 with the combination of the clamping force senor 17 and the toggle mechanism 20 is found to generate and adjust a mold clamping force of the mold clamping device such that a value obtained based on an opening size.
([0046]) teaches that The first mold open distance ΔX1 (mm) is calculated by multiplying the increase ΔF1 (kN) in the detected value of the clamping force sensor 17 by a proportionality constant C (mm/kN) (ΔX1=C×ΔF1). ([0047]) adding that the first mold open distance ΔX1 represents the maximum value of the mold open distance during the injection process and the pressure holding process. As such, the gap size satisfies a condition according to the allowable amount when the molding material is injected into the mold device closed by the mold clamping device.
([0044]) The clamping force monitoring unit 82 calculates (1) a first mold open distance ΔX1 that is calculated based on the difference ΔF1 between the maximum value F1 of the detected value of the clamping force sensor 17 during the injection process and the pressure holding process and the detected value F0 at the start of the injection process (ΔF1=F1−F0). ([0045]) teaches that the mold open distance is proportional to the increase in the detected value of the clamping force sensor 17. The increase in the detected value of the clamping force sensor 17 is calculated based on the detected value F0 at the start of the injection process. At the start of the injection process, resin does not yet reach the parting surfaces of the stationary mold 32 and the movable mold 33. Thus, at this point, the resin pressure urging the mold device 30 to open is not yet generated and the mold device 30 is closed by the clamping force of the mold clamping device. As such, the opening size (between the molds) is understood to indicate a size of a gap between the fixed mold and the movable mold generated by injection of the molding material into the cavity of the mold, namely that the pressure supplied by the injection molding material is understood to generate a force, in which if the gap is too large, the molten resin may overflow from the cavity C. When the overflow resin solidifies, it forms a flash around the molding product, ([0047]).
Regarding claim 2 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the circuitry adjusts the mold clamping force applied to the mold device by the mold clamping device such that the value based on the opening size and
the gap size satisfies the condition according to the allowable amount, and
approaches the allowable amount.
Tokuno teaches the following:
([0021]) teaches that by driving the mold clamping motor 26 further in the forward direction, the toggle mechanism 20 generates a clamping force equal to the thrust force of the mold clamping motor 26 multiplied by the toggle rate. It is noted that a clamping force sensor 17 is attached to the tie-bar 16. The clamping force sensor 17 detects the clamping force at predetermined time intervals by detecting the strain (extension) of the tie-bar 16. The detected clamping force is sequentially input to a control unit 80 and is monitored by a clamping force monitoring unit 82 of the control unit 80. It is also noted that a cavity C is formed between the stationary mold 32 and the movable mold 33 when the mold device 30 is clamped. Molten resin is injected into the cavity C and then solidified to become a molding product. As such, the toggle mechanism 20 is understood to adjusts the mold clamping force applied to the mold device by the mold clamping device such that the value based on the opening size,
& c.) ([0046]) teaches that The first mold open distance ΔX1 (mm) is calculated by multiplying the increase ΔF1 (kN) in the detected value of the clamping force sensor 17 by a proportionality constant C (mm/kN) (ΔX1=C×ΔF1). ([0047]) adding that the first mold open distance ΔX1 represents the maximum value of the mold open distance during the injection process and the pressure holding process. As such, the gap size satisfies the condition according to the allowable amount, and approaches the allowable amount during the injection molding process.
Regarding claim 3 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the circuitry acquires the mold clamping force from a detection result of a detection device,
the detection device being provided in a tie bar that extends according to the mold clamping force, and
adjusts the mold clamping force of the mold clamping device based on an amount of change in the mold clamping force when the molding material is injected into the mold device.
Tokuno teaches the following:
([0007]) teaches that an injection molding machine is provided that includes a clamping force sensor that detects a clamping force of a mold, and a clamping force monitoring unit that monitors a detected value of the clamping force sensor and calculates a first mold open distance and/or a second mold open distance.
([0021]) teaches that by driving the mold clamping motor 26 further in the forward direction, the toggle mechanism 20 generates a clamping force equal to the thrust force of the mold clamping motor 26 multiplied by the toggle rate. It is noted that a clamping force sensor 17 is attached to the tie-bar 16. The clamping force sensor 17 detects the clamping force at predetermined time intervals by detecting the strain (extension) of the tie-bar 16. As such, clamping force sensor 17 is attached to the tie-bar 1 that extends according to the mold clamping force.
([0045]) teaches that the mold open distance is proportional to the increase in the detected value of the clamping force sensor 17. The increase in the detected value of the clamping force sensor 17 is calculated based on the detected value F0 at the start of the injection process. At the start of the injection process, resin does not yet reach the parting surfaces of the stationary mold 32 and the movable mold 33. Thus, at this point, the resin pressure urging the mold device 30 to open is not yet generated and the mold device 30 is closed by the clamping force of the mold clamping device. As such, the adjustment of the mold clamping force of the mold clamping device is understood to be based on an amount of change in the mold clamping force when the molding material is being injected into the mold cavity.
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the circuitry acquires the gap size, an input of the gap size being received from an operation device.
Tokuno teaches the following:
([0051]) teaches that For example, in a case where the first mold open distance ΔX1 is greater than or equal to a first reference value, the clamping force monitoring unit 82 may determine that a flash is possibly formed at the corresponding molding product and evaluate the corresponding molding product as defective. It is noted that the first reference value may be designated by the user based on past performance results, for example. ([0097]) teaches that a display unit 92 for displaying the information obtained by the clamping force monitoring unit 82 (see FIG. 2). The display unit 92 may be a display device such as a liquid crystal display that is controlled by the control unit 80 to display information in response to a request by a user. The request from the user may be input via an input unit 94, which may be a keyboard or a mouse, for example, that is connected to control unit 80. The display unit 92 may be configured to display the information obtained from the clamping force monitoring unit 82 in association with the ID information of the corresponding molding product. As such, the input of a first reference value by a user via an input unit 94 connected to control unit 80 is understood to provide for a the circuitry acquiring the gap size with an input of the gap size being received from an operation deviceAlternatively, ([0027]) teaches that That is, the resin pressure (injection pressure of resin) applied to the screw 52 is detected by the resin pressure detector 50. The detected resin pressure is then input to the control unit 80. As such, the control unit 80 is understood to acquire the gap size with an input of the gap provided by the resin pressure detector 50 acting as applicant’s an operation device.
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the circuitry acquires the allowable amount corresponding to a type of the molding material,
an input of the type of the molding material being received from an operation device.
Tokuno teaches the following:
([0049]) teaches that it is noted that a determination as to whether the first mold open distance ΔX1, the second mold open distance ΔX2, or both of the above are to be used as the indicators of the quality of the molding product may be made based on the type of resin material used, for example.
([0050]) teaches that the clamping force monitoring unit 82 may evaluate the quality of the molding product based on the calculated first mold open distance ΔX1 and/or second mold open distance ΔX2. Namely, the gap value of ΔX1 and ΔX2 is not a fixed value but is a calculated value. Which is understood to be an adaptive choice based on the resin's flow behavior and the requirement to avoid defects like flashing, with the material type entered into the operation device.Additionally, ([0092]) teaches that the display unit 92 may be a display device such as a liquid crystal display that is controlled by the control unit 80 to display information in response to a request by a user. The request from the user may be input via an input unit 94, which may be a keyboard or a mouse, for example, that is connected to control unit. As such, the input unit 94 / operation device provides for a point in which material data to be provided, allowing for the control system to adjust, for example, the V/P (Velocity/Pressure) switchover point ([0037]), based on the measured ΔX value to maintain consistent part quality fabrication, ([0049]).
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the circuitry further configured to output, to a display device, one or more of the allowable amount, the opening size, and the value based on the opening size and the gap size.
Tokuno teaches the following:
([0057]) teaches that It is noted that the injection molding machine 10 may also include a display unit 92 for displaying the information obtained by the clamping force monitoring unit 82 (see FIG. 2). The display unit 92 may be a display device such as a liquid crystal display that is controlled by the control unit 80 to display information in response to a request by a user. The request from the user may be input via an input unit 94, which may be a keyboard or a mouse, for example, that is connected to control unit 80. The display unit 92 may be configured to display the information obtained from the clamping force monitoring unit 82 in association with the ID information of the corresponding molding product.
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1,
Wherein the circuitry further configured to monitor whether or not the value based on the opening size and the gap size satisfies the condition according to the allowable amount every time the molding material is injected into the mold device closed by the mold clamping device.
Tokuno teaches the following:
([0021]) teaches that the clamping force sensor 17 detects the clamping force at predetermined time intervals by detecting the strain (extension) of the tie-bar 16. The detected clamping force is sequentially input to a control unit 80 and is monitored by a clamping force monitoring unit 82 of the control unit 80. It is also noted that a cavity C is formed between the stationary mold 32 and the movable mold 33 when the mold device 30 is clamped. Molten resin is injected into the cavity C and then solidified to become a molding product. ([0044]) adding that The clamping force monitoring unit 82 calculates (1) a first mold open distance ΔX1 that is calculated based on the difference ΔF1 between the maximum value F1 of the detected value of the clamping force sensor 17 during the injection process and the pressure holding process and the detected value F0 at the start of the injection process (ΔF1=F1−F0). As such, clamping force monitoring unit 82 of the control unit 80 / the circuitry further configured to monitor whether or not the value based on the opening size and the gap size satisfies the condition according to the allowable amount every time the molding material is injected into the mold device closed by the mold clamping device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tsutsumi et al. (US 20230173727 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) A technique for providing assistance in setting the time to increase the clamping force is provided. A control device of an injection molding machine includes a clamping control part and a monitoring part. The clamping control part is configured to change, in a filling step of filling the inside of a mold device with a molding material during clamping, a set value of clamping force from a first set value to a second set value that is larger than the first set value, at a predetermined pressurizing timing in the middle of the filling step.
Tomosuke Kadoono (US 20240416567 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) a production management device includes circuitry configured to display, on a display unit, detection results detected by a detection unit in a process of producing a product upon a plurality of products being produced by a production device; and display, upon receiving selection of a detection result or information for identifying the product, a detection result of a first product together with a detection result of a second product and a detection result of a third product on the display unit, the first product being identified by the detection result or the information for identifying the product, the second product being produced by the production device immediately before the first product, and the third product being produced by the production device immediately after the first product.
Atsuta et al. (US 20250135698 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) a molding management system including a server and managing production of a product in a production process including an injection molding process of the product by an injection molding device, wherein the server is communicably connected to a terminal device and configured to cause the terminal device to display production plan information indicating a production plan for a designated first product in response to an operation received from the terminal device and the production plan information includes first operating time period information indicating a first operating time period in which the injection molding device is operated to produce the first product and inoperable time period information indicating at least an inoperable time period during which the injection molding device cannot be operated to produce the first product.
Hiroshi Watanabe (US 20040067276 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) a peak current value of a mold clamping servomotor driving a toggle type mold clamping apparatus during mold clamping is proportioned to a mold clamping force. A peak current value is obtained every predetermined number of molding cycles during automatic operation and a difference between the obtained peak current value and a reference peak.
Nagami et al. (US 20170348888 A1) – teaches in the (Abstract) that ac lamping device (14) comprises a pressure receiving platen (24), a stationary platen (20), a movable platen (22), a toggle mechanism (28), and a drive device (37). A first position detector (38 a) detects the operation amount of the movable platen (22) based on the position of a crosshead (26).
/Andrés E. Behrens Jr./Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/JaMel M Nelson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743