DETAILED ACTION
Status
Acknowledgment is made of the amendment filed on 7/29/2026, which amended claims 1, 11, 18, 19, 21-22, 26, 27 and cancelled claims 8 and 20. Claims 1-7, 9-19, 21-28are currently pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 19, line 2, “a calculation apparatus” should be changed to –the calculation apparatus-- to correct antecedence.
Appropriate correction is required to place claims in better form.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a position changing apparatus” in lines 9-14 in claim 18; “a detection apparatus” in lines 16-17 in claim 18. See MPEP 2181, subsection I.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding claim 19, the claim recites the limitation “further comprising a calculation apparatus configured to calculate a flare from the SLM based on the first output from the detection apparatus in the first positional relationship and the second output from the detection apparatus in the second positional relationship” and depends from claim 18. However, claim 18 recites “a calculation apparatus comprising a processor programmed to determine a third flare pattern associated with errors of the SLM based on a difference between a first output from the detection apparatus in the first positional relationship and a second output from the detection apparatus in the second positional relationship” in lines 18-21. Claim 18 already introduces a calculation apparatus that calculates a flare from the SLM based on a difference between first output from the detection apparatus in the first positional relationship and second output from the detection apparatus in the second positional relationship, and claim 19 does not further limit the subject matter of claim 18 and is therefore of improper dependent form. See MPEP 608.01(n), subsection III. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. Claim 19 is rejected as being of improper dependent form. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 27, the claim recites the limitation “further comprising obtaining a flare from the SLM based on the first and second output” and depends from claim 26. However, claim 26 recites “determining a third flare pattern associated with errors of the SLM based on a difference between the first output and the second output” in lines 18-19. Claim 26 already introduces determining a flare from the SLM based on a difference between the first output and the second output, and claim 27 does not further limit the subject matter of claim 26 and is therefore of improper dependent form. See MPEP 608.01(n), subsection III. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements. Claim 27 is rejected as being of improper dependent form. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-14, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fujiwara (US PGPub 2014/0320835).
Regarding claim 11, Fujiwara discloses a method for monitoring spatial light modulator (SLM) flare in a maskless photolithography system (Figs. 1-7, 9-12, 15, paras. [0090], [0094]-[0097], the flare is inspected in an exposure apparatus EX using a spatial light modulator 28), comprising:
(a) projecting source light to an SLM, thereby imparting an SLM pattern thereon and projecting spatially modulated light based on the SLM pattern, the spatially modulated light comprising a first flare pattern associated with the SLM (Figs. 1-7, 9-12, 15, paras. [0032], [0039]-[0044], [0047]-[0053], [0061]-[0065], [0090], [0094]-[0097], [0140], [0167], the illumination light from light source 2 illuminates the spatial light modulator 28 to pattern the illumination with a first pattern projected through the projection optical system PL. The light patterned by the SLM 28 with a first patterned arrangement of control mirror elements 30 has an associated flare);
(b) using a projection lens to receive the spatially modulated light and to project a first image corresponding to the spatially modulated light (Figs. 1-7, 9-12, 15, paras. [0032], [0047]-[0053], [0056], [0061]-[0065], [0090]-[0097], [0140], [0167], the illumination patterned by SLM 28 with a first pattern is reflected to projection optical system PL, which projects the image of the first pattern);
(c) using an aerial imaging system to receive the first image and to output a first signal corresponding thereto (Figs. 1-7, 9-12, 15, paras. [0032], [0056], [0090]-[0097], [0140], [0167], spatial image measuring apparatus 54 receives a first image and outputs a signal to arithmetic apparatus 55);
(d) projecting the source light to a spatial light modulator which is used as a reference, thereby imparting a reference modulation pattern thereon and projecting reference modulated light based on the reference modulation pattern, the reference modulated light comprises a second flare pattern associated with the spatial light modulator which is used as the reference (Figs. 1-7, 9-12, 15, paras. [0032], [0047]-[0053], [0056], [0061]-[0065], [0090]-[0097], [0140], [0167], the light source illuminates the SLM 28 arranged with mirror elements 30 to produce a second pattern, and the second pattern is projected through projection system PL and has a second associated flare);
(e) using the projection lens to receive the reference modulated light and to project a second image corresponding to the reference modulated light (Figs. 1-7, 9-12, 15, paras. [0032], [0047]-[0053], [0056], [0061]-[0065], [0090]-[0097], [0140], [0167], the projection optical system PL projects the second pattern of the SLM 28 to project the image to spatial image measuring apparatus 55);
(f) using the aerial imaging system to receive the second image and to output a second signal corresponding thereto (Figs. 1-7, 9-12, 15, paras. [0032], [0056], [0061]-[0065], [0090]-[0097], [0140], [0167], spatial image measuring apparatus 54 receives the second image and outputs a signal to arithmetic apparatus 55); and
(g) determining a third flare pattern associated with SLM errors based on a difference between the first signal and the second signal (Figs. 1-7, 9-12, 15, paras. [0032], [0056], [0061]-[0065], [0090]-[0097], [0140], [0167], a difference between the first and second detected images associated with the stray light from the SLM 28 is determined).
Regarding claim 12, Fujiwara discloses further comprising using a light source to project the source light (Figs. 1-7, 9-12, 15, paras. [0032], [0039]-[0044], [0047]-[0053], [0061]-[0065], [0090], [0094]-[0097], [0140], [0167], the illumination light from light source 2).
Regarding claim 13, Fujiwara discloses further comprising altering one or more parameters associated with the SLM in response to the third flare pattern (Figs. 1-7, 9-12, 15, paras. [0032], [0056], [0061]-[0065], [0090]-[0097], [0140], [0167], if the different in stray light determined exceeds a tolerance and is correctable, the main control system 40 changes the exposure amount to the SLM 28 or pupil luminance distribution to the SLM 28, and if the amount of stray light of the SLM 28 determined exceeds a tolerance, the SLM 28 is replaced).
Regarding claim 14, Fujiwara discloses wherein the one or more parameters comprise one or more members selected from the group consisting of: an exposure time of the spatially modulated light on a photoresist, an exposure intensity of the spatially modulated light on a photoresist, and a phase of one or more pixels associated with the SLM (Figs. 1-7, 9-12, 15, paras. [0032], [0052]-[0053], [0056], [0061]-[0065], [0090]-[0097], [0140], [0167], if the different in stray light determined exceeds a tolerance and is correctable, the main control system 40 changes the exposure amount to the SLM 20 or pupil luminance distribution to the SLM 28 of the illumination that illuminates the photoresist formed on the wafer).
Regarding claim 16, Fujiwara discloses wherein the aerial imaging system comprises at least one deep ultraviolet (DUV) camera (Figs. 1-7, 9-12, 15, paras. [0032], [0034], [0056], [0090]-[0097], [0140], [0167], the light source 2 is an ArF excimer light source, and spatial image measuring apparatus 54 receives the light).
Regarding claim 17, Fujiwara discloses wherein the SLM pattern or the reference modulation pattern is selected from the group consisting of: a checkerboard pattern, a flat line pattern, a parallelogram pattern, a diamond pattern, and a pattern comprising at least one alignment mark (Figs. 1, 4, 5, 9, paras. [0061]-[0062], [0090]-[0097], the SLM 28 includes mirror elements 30 arranged to produce a checkerboard pattern).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujiwara (US PGPub 2014/0320835) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Tokurakawa et al. (US PGPub 2008/0213704, Tokurakawa hereinafter).
Regarding claim 15, Fujiwara does not appear to explicitly describe wherein the reference modulation pattern comprises a static modulation pattern.
Tokurakawa discloses wherein the reference modulation pattern comprises a static modulation pattern (Tokurakawa, Figs. 1, 16, paras. [0039], [0042], [0075]-[0086], the illumination apparatus 510 illuminates a measurement mask 20 to impart a reference pattern on the illumination).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the reference modulation pattern comprises a static modulation pattern as taught by Tokurakawa with the reference modulation pattern in the method as taught by Fujiwara since including wherein the reference modulation pattern comprises a static modulation pattern is commonly used to periodically monitor changes in flare over time to determine the necessity of performing intervention to improve throughput and quality (Tokurakawa, paras. [0015], [0057], [0085]-[0086]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7, 9, 10, 18, 21-26, 28 are allowed.
Claims 19 and 27 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), fourth paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
Regarding claim 1, the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, fails to teach or render obvious a stage configured to support an SLM and a spatial light modulator which is used as a reference, a second position in which the spatial light modulator which is used as the reference receives the source light, imparts a reference modulation pattern thereon, and projects reference modulated light based on the reference modulation pattern, the reference modulated light comprising a second flare pattern associated with the spatial light modulator which is used as the reference; a projection lens configured to: when the stage is in the first position, receive the spatially modulated light and project a first image corresponding to the spatially modulated light; when the stage is in the second position, receive the reference modulated light and project a second image corresponding to the reference modulated light; an aerial imaging system configured to: when the stage is in the first position, receive the first image and output a first signal corresponding thereto; and when the stage is in the second position, receive the second image and output a second signal corresponding thereto; and a controller operably coupled to the aerial imaging system, the controller configured to: (a) direct the stage to move to the first position; (b) receive the first signal; (c) direct the stage to move the second position; (d) receive the second signal; and (e) determine a third flare pattern associated with SLM errors based on a difference between the first signal and the second signal. These limitations in combination with the other limitations of claim 1 render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record.
Regarding claim 18, the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, fails to teach or render obvious a spatial light modulator which is used as a reference having a reference modulation pattern; a position changing apparatus configured to change a positional relationship among the SLM, the spatial light modulator which is used as the reference, and the projection optical system to either a first positional relationship in which a light from the illumination optical system enters in the projection optical system via the SLM and a second positional relationship in which a light from the illumination optical system enters in the projection optical system via the spatial light modulator which is used as the reference; a detection apparatus configured to detect a light from the SLM or the spatial light modulator which is used as the reference via the projection optical system; and a calculation apparatus comprising a processor programmed to determine a third flare pattern associated with errors of the SLM based on a difference between a first output from the detection apparatus in the first positional relationship and a second output from the detection apparatus in the second positional relationship. These limitations in combination with the other limitations of claim 18 render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record.
Regarding claim 26, the prior art of record, either alone or in combination, fails to teach or render obvious setting a positional relationship between the SLM and the projection optical system to a first positional relationship in which a light from the SLM enters the projection optical system; outputting a first output by detecting a light from the SLM via the projection optical system in the first positional relationship; setting a positional relationship between a spatial light modulator which is used as a reference having a reference modulation pattern and the projection optical system to a second positional relationship in which a light from the spatial light modulator which is used as the reference enters the projection optical system; outputting a second output by detecting a light from the spatial light modulator which is used as the reference via the projection optical system in the second positional relationship; and determining a third flare pattern associated with errors of the SLM based on a difference between the first output and the second output. These limitations in combination with the other limitations of claim 26 render the claim non-obvious over the prior art of record.
The dependent claims are likewise allowable by virtue of their dependency upon an allowable independent claim as stated above.
Watanabe (US PGPub 2024/0027917) discloses moving a single spatial light modulator to multiple measurement positions (Figs. 7-8, paras. [0145], [0165]-[0168], [0175]), but Watanabe fails to describe or render obvious an SLM and a separate spatial light modulator which is used as a reference. Watanabe additionally fails to describe or suggest an aerial imaging system configured to: when the stage is in the first position, receive the first image and output a first signal corresponding thereto; and when the stage is in the second position, receive the second image and output a second signal corresponding thereto; and a controller operably coupled to the aerial imaging system, the controller configured to: (a) direct the stage to move to the first position; (b) receive the first signal; (c) direct the stage to move the second position; (d) receive the second signal; and (e) determine a third flare pattern associated with SLM errors based on a difference between the first signal and the second signal. Watanabe fails to describe or render obvious a detection apparatus configured to detect a light from the SLM or the spatial light modulator which is used as the reference via the projection optical system; and a calculation apparatus comprising a processor programmed to determine a third flare pattern associated with errors of the SLM based on a difference between a first output from the detection apparatus in the first positional relationship and a second output from the detection apparatus in the second positional relationship. Watanabe fails to disclose or suggest outputting a first output by detecting a light from the SLM via the projection optical system in the first positional relationship; setting a positional relationship between a spatial light modulator which is used as a reference having a reference modulation pattern and the projection optical system to a second positional relationship in which a light from the spatial light modulator which is used as the reference enters the projection optical system; outputting a second output by detecting a light from the spatial light modulator which is used as the reference via the projection optical system in the second positional relationship; and determining a third flare pattern associated with errors of the SLM based on a difference between the first output and the second output.
Although Verweij (US PGPub 2008/0070353) discloses using programmable mirror arrays and programmable LCDs as patterning devices (paras. [0030]-[0032]) and discloses a patterning device support that supports two patterning devices (Figs. 2-5 and 7, paras. [0043]-[0044]), Verweij does not describe that the patterning devices supported by the support are spatial light modulators. Additionally, Verweij fails to describe or render obvious an aerial imaging system configured to: when the stage is in the first position, receive the first image and output a first signal corresponding thereto; and when the stage is in the second position, receive the second image and output a second signal corresponding thereto; and a controller operably coupled to the aerial imaging system, the controller configured to: (a) direct the stage to move to the first position; (b) receive the first signal; (c) direct the stage to move the second position; (d) receive the second signal; and (e) determine a third flare pattern associated with SLM errors based on a difference between the first signal and the second signal. Verweij fails to describe or render obvious a detection apparatus configured to detect a light from the SLM or the spatial light modulator which is used as the reference via the projection optical system; and a calculation apparatus comprising a processor programmed to determine a third flare pattern associated with errors of the SLM based on a difference between a first output from the detection apparatus in the first positional relationship and a second output from the detection apparatus in the second positional relationship. Verweij fails to disclose or suggest outputting a first output by detecting a light from the SLM via the projection optical system in the first positional relationship; setting a positional relationship between a spatial light modulator which is used as a reference having a reference modulation pattern and the projection optical system to a second positional relationship in which a light from the spatial light modulator which is used as the reference enters the projection optical system; outputting a second output by detecting a light from the spatial light modulator which is used as the reference via the projection optical system in the second positional relationship; and determining a third flare pattern associated with errors of the SLM based on a difference between the first output and the second output.
Ishikawa (US Patent No. 6,914,665) discloses a controller configured to control the position changing apparatus (Figs. 1 and 3, col. 11, lines 26-44, col. 12, lines 34-65, col. 13, lines 19-65, main controller 50 controls the reticle stage RST and is connected to wavefront measurement instrument 80). Ishikawa fails to describe or render obvious an aerial imaging system configured to: when the stage is in the first position, receive the first image and output a first signal corresponding thereto; and when the stage is in the second position, receive the second image and output a second signal corresponding thereto; and a controller operably coupled to the aerial imaging system, the controller configured to: (a) direct the stage to move to the first position; (b) receive the first signal; (c) direct the stage to move the second position; (d) receive the second signal; and (e) determine a third flare pattern associated with SLM errors based on a difference between the first signal and the second signal. Ishikawa fails to describe or render obvious a detection apparatus configured to detect a light from the SLM or the spatial light modulator which is used as the reference via the projection optical system; and a calculation apparatus comprising a processor programmed to determine a third flare pattern associated with errors of the SLM based on a difference between a first output from the detection apparatus in the first positional relationship and a second output from the detection apparatus in the second positional relationship. Ishikawa fails to disclose or suggest outputting a first output by detecting a light from the SLM via the projection optical system in the first positional relationship; setting a positional relationship between a spatial light modulator which is used as a reference having a reference modulation pattern and the projection optical system to a second positional relationship in which a light from the spatial light modulator which is used as the reference enters the projection optical system; outputting a second output by detecting a light from the spatial light modulator which is used as the reference via the projection optical system in the second positional relationship; and determining a third flare pattern associated with errors of the SLM based on a difference between the first output and the second output.
Fujiwara (US PGPub 2014/0320835) discloses a system for monitoring spatial light modulator (SLM) flare in a maskless photolithography system (Figs. 1-7, 9-12, 15, paras. [0090], [0094]-[0097], the flare is inspected in an exposure apparatus EX using a spatial light modulator 28), comprising: a stage configured to support an SLM and a reference pattern, the stage positioned (Fig. 1, paras. [0049], the spatial light modulator (SLM) 28 is arranged on a frame FL) between: a first position in which the SLM receives source light, imparts an SLM pattern thereon, and projects spatially modulated light based on the SLM pattern, the spatially modulated light comprising a first flare pattern associated with the SLM (Figs. 1-7, 9-12, 15, paras. [0032], [0039]-[0044], [0047]-[0053], [0061]-[0065], [0090], [0094]-[0097], [0140], [0167], the illumination light from light source 2 illuminates the spatial light modulator 28 to pattern the illumination with a first pattern projected through the projection optical system PL. The light patterned by the SLM 28 with a first patterned arrangement of control mirror elements 30 has an associated flare); and a second position in which the reference pattern receives the source light, imparts a reference modulation pattern thereon, and projects reference modulated light based on the reference modulation pattern, the reference modulated light comprising a second flare pattern associated with the reference (Figs. 1-7, 9-12, 15, paras. [0032], [0047]-[0053], [0056], [0061]-[0065], [0090]-[0097], [0140], [0167], the light source illuminates the SLM 28 arranged with mirror elements 30 to produce a second pattern, and the second pattern is projected through projection system PL and has a second associated flare); a projection lens (Figs. 1-7, 9-12, 15, paras. [0032], [0047]-[0053], [0056], [0061]-[0065], [0090]-[0097], [0140], [0167], projection optical system PL), configured to: when the stage is in the first position, receive the spatially modulated light and project a first image corresponding to the spatially modulated light (Figs. 1-7, 9-12, 15, paras. [0032], [0047]-[0053], [0056], [0061]-[0065], [0090]-[0097], [0140], [0167], the illumination patterned by SLM 28 with a first pattern is reflected to projection optical system PL, which projects the image of the first pattern); in the second position, receive the reference modulated light and project a second image corresponding to the reference modulated light (Figs. 1-7, 9-12, 15, paras. [0032], [0047]-[0053], [0056], [0061]-[0065], [0090]-[0097], [0140], [0167], the projection optical system PL projects the second pattern of the SLM 28 to project the second image to spatial image measuring apparatus 55); an aerial imaging system (Figs. 1-7, 9-12, 15, paras. [0032], [0056], [0090]-[0097], [0140], [0167], spatial image measuring apparatus 54) configured to: when the stage is in the first position, receive the first image and output a first signal corresponding thereto (Figs. 1-7, 9-12, 15, paras. [0032], [0056], [0090]-[0097], [0140], [0167], spatial image measuring apparatus 54 receives a first image and outputs a signal to arithmetic apparatus 55); and in the second position, receive the second image and output a second signal corresponding thereto (Figs. 1-7, 9-12, 15, paras. [0032], [0056], [0061]-[0065], [0090]-[0097], [0140], [0167], spatial image measuring apparatus 54 receives the second image and outputs a signal to arithmetic apparatus 55); and a controller operably coupled to the aerial imaging system (Fig. 1, paras. [0032], [0043], [0049], [0056], [0090]-[0097], [0140], [0167], main control system 40 is connected spatial image measuring apparatus 54 and to modulation control unit 48 for SLM 28), the controller configured to: (b) receive the first signal (Figs. 1-7, 9-12, 15, paras. [0032], [0056], [0090]-[0097], [0140], [0167], spatial image measuring apparatus 54 receives a first image and outputs a signal to arithmetic apparatus 55 to determine the intensity profile of the first pattern); (d) receive the second signal (Figs. 1-7, 9-12, 15, paras. [0032], [0056], [0090]-[0097], [0140], [0167], spatial image measuring apparatus 54 receives a second image of the second pattern of SLM 28 and outputs a signal to arithmetic apparatus 55 to determine the intensity profile of the second pattern); and (e) determine a third flare pattern associated with SLM errors based on a difference between the first signal and the second signal (Figs. 1-7, 9-12, 15, paras. [0032], [0056], [0061]-[0065], [0090]-[0097], [0140], [0167], a difference between the first and second detected images associated with the stray light from the SLM 28 is determined). Fujiwara does not describe or render obvious the stage supports the SLM and a spatial light modulator which is used as a reference, the stage movable between the first position and the second position in which the spatial light modulator which is used as the reference receives the source light, when the stage is in the second position, the controller operably coupled to the stage and configured to: (a) direct the stage to move to the first position; (c) direct the stage to move to the second position. Fujiwara fails to describe or suggest a position changing apparatus configured to change a positional relationship among the SLM, the spatial light modulator which is used as the reference, and the projection optical system to either a first positional relationship in which a light from the illumination optical system enters in the projection optical system via the SLM and a second positional relationship in which a light from the illumination optical system enters in the projection optical system via the spatial light modulator which is used as the reference. Fujiwara does not describe or render obvious setting a positional relationship between the SLM and the projection optical system to a first positional relationship in which a light from the SLM enters the projection optical system; outputting a first output by detecting a light from the SLM via the projection optical system in the first positional relationship; setting a positional relationship between a spatial light modulator which is used as a reference having a reference modulation pattern and the projection optical system to a second positional relationship in which a light from the spatial light modulator which is used as the reference enters the projection optical system; outputting a second output by detecting a light from the spatial light modulator which is used as the reference via the projection optical system in the second positional relationship.
Tokurakawa et al. (US PGPub 2008/0213704, Tokurakawa hereinafter) discloses a stage configured to support a mask and a reference plate, the stage movable (Figs. 1, 16, paras. [0039], [0042], [0075]-[0086], a reticle stage 525 supports the reticle 520 and the measurement mask 20 and is moved to drive the reticle 520 and the measurement mask 20 in the X-axis direction) between: a first position in which the mask receives source light, imparts a mask pattern thereon, and projects spatially modulated light based on the mask pattern, the spatially modulated light comprising a first flare pattern associated with the mask (Figs. 1, 16, paras. [0039], [0042], [0075]-[0086], a reticle stage 525 supports the reticle 520 in a first position in which the reticle 520 is illuminated by illumination apparatus 510 to pattern the illumination and necessarily producing an associated flare); a second position in which the reference plate receives the source light, imparts a reference modulation pattern thereon, and projects reference modulated light based on the reference modulation pattern, the reference modulated light comprising a second flare pattern associated with the reference plate (Figs. 1, 16, paras. [0039], [0042], [0075]-[0086], a reticle stage 525 supports the measurement mask 20 in the second position in which the measurement mask 20 is illuminated by illumination apparatus 510 to pattern the illumination and producing an associated flare); a projection lens (Figs. 1 and 16, paras. [0075]-[0086], projection optical system 530) configured to: when the stage is in the first position, receive the spatially modulated light and project a first image corresponding to the spatially modulated light (Figs. 1, 16, paras. [0039], [0042], [0075]-[0086], a reticle stage 525 supports the reticle 520 in a first position in which the reticle 520 is illuminated by illumination apparatus 510 to pattern the illumination, and the projection optical system 530 projects the image of the reticle 520); when the stage is in the second position, receive the reference modulated light and project a second image corresponding to the reference modulated light (Figs. 1, 16, paras. [0039], [0042], [0075]-[0086], a reticle stage 525 supports the measurement mask 20 in the second position in which the measurement mask 20 is illuminated by illumination apparatus 510 to pattern the illumination and the projection optical system 530 projects the image of the measurement mask 20); an aerial imaging system (Figs. 1, 16, paras. [0039], [0042], [0075]-[0086], measurement unit 30) configured to: when the stage is in the second position, receive the second image and output a second signal corresponding thereto (Figs. 1, 16, paras. [0039], [0042], [0075]-[0086], the illumination patterned by the measurement mask 20 is projected through projection optical system 530 to measurement unit 30 to determine flare associated with the measurement mask 20); (a) directing the stage to move to the first position (Figs. 1, 16, paras. [0039], [0042], [0075]-[0086], the reticle stage 525 is driven to support the reticle 520 in the first position in which the reticle 520 is illuminated by illumination apparatus 510); (c) directing the stage to move to the second position (Figs. 1, 16, paras. [0039], [0042], [0075]-[0086], the reticle stage 525 is driven to support the measurement mask 20 in the second position in which the measurement mask 20 is illuminated by illumination apparatus 510); (d) receiving the second signal (Figs. 1-7, 9-12, 15, paras. [0032], [0056], [0090]-[0097], [0140], [0167], spatial image measuring apparatus 54 receives a first image and outputs a signal to arithmetic apparatus 55 to determine the intensity profile of the second pattern). Tokurakawa does not describe or render obvious a stage configured to support an SLM and a spatial light modulator which is used as a reference as would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. Additionally, Tokurakawa fails to describe or suggest a position changing apparatus configured to change a positional relationship among the SLM, the spatial light modulator which is used as the reference, and the projection optical system to either a first positional relationship in which a light from the illumination optical system enters in the projection optical system via the SLM and a second positional relationship in which a light from the illumination optical system enters in the projection optical system via the spatial light modulator which is used as the reference. Tokurakawa does not describe or render obvious setting a positional relationship between the SLM and the projection optical system to a first positional relationship in which a light from the SLM enters the projection optical system; outputting a first output by detecting a light from the SLM via the projection optical system in the first positional relationship; setting a positional relationship between a spatial light modulator which is used as a reference having a reference modulation pattern and the projection optical system to a second positional relationship in which a light from the spatial light modulator which is used as the reference enters the projection optical system; outputting a second output by detecting a light from the spatial light modulator which is used as the reference via the projection optical system in the second positional relationship.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 7/29/2026, with respect to the objections to claims 11 and 26 have been fully considered and are persuasive owing to the amendments to the claims. The objections to claims 11 and 26 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 7/29/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 8 have been fully considered and are persuasive owing to the cancellation of the claim. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 8 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-13, filed 7/29/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1, 18, and 26 as being obvious over Fujiwara in view of Tokurakawa have been fully considered and are persuasive owing to the amendments to the claims. The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1, 18, and 26 have been withdrawn. However, amended claim 11 has a different scope than amended claim 1 and does not require limitations such as “a stage configured to support an SLM and a spatial light modulator which is used as a reference” and the stage movable between a first position and a second position. The Applicant did not present specific arguments with respect to claim 11, and claim 11 is rejected as set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTINA A RIDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882