DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
2. The Amendment filed on January 12th 2026 has been entered. Claims 41 – 46 are newly added. Claims 21 - 46 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. §103
3. Applicant's arguments, see Remarks pp. 9 -13, filed January 12th 2026, with
respect to the rejections of claims 21 - 40 under 35 U.S.C. §103 have been fully
considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues and makes reference to an art, “Lawrence”, that was not cited in the aforementioned office action. Therefore arguments pertaining to the “Lawrence” reference are moot.
Secondly, applicant argues that the Ackerman reference expressly states that, “DTS semantic de-referencing and ETL are designed with different outcomes in mind and produce vastly different results …” Therefore a skilled artisan would not have been motivated to modify Verma to “incorporate” Ackerman.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. DTS as an application is not limited to semantic dereferencing. Indeed, DTS and ETL converge in the sphere of sharing a common ground primarily in their core objective: moving data from a source to a destination while modifying it to fit the target's structure. Thus the functionality of DTS is not so limiting and both references are analogous art thus a skilled artisan will have reason to review both of them and combine them to effect the claimed invention.
Upon further consideration new grounds of rejection have been necessitated due
to the introduction of newly claimed recitations and are made in view of newly introduced art in Bahrami et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 2021/0067337 ), hereinafter referred to as Bahrami and Paya et al., (United States Patent Number 7240192 ) hereinafter Paya and Li et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 2018/0365305) hereinafter Li
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. §103
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
a. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
b. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
c. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art
d. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating
obviousness or nonobviousness
Claims 21 – 26, 29 – 36, 39 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verma et al. (United States Patent Publication Number 20230169085), in view of Ackerman et al. (United States Patent Publication Number 20190205773 ), hereinafter referred to as Ackerman .
Regarding claim 21 Verma teaches a method (method [0039]) for integration (enabling integration [0030]) of optimization objectives (user authentication credentials 130, user code 104, user code permissions [0025] and the user code authentication token [0043) such as “optimization objectives” into an extract transform load (ETL) process(ETL process [0019], [0021], [0030]) on a computing system, (Fig. 1, (134) ETL system [0022]) comprising: receiving optimization objectives(user authentication credentials 130, user code 104, user code permissions [0025] and the user code authentication token [0043) such as “optimization objectives” for an ETL process (ETL process [0019], [0021], [0030]) from a system of record database; (from a database row identified with a hash based [0041]) such as “a system of record database” entering (providing [0027], [0041]) such as “entering” the optimization objectives(The user code; user code permissions and user authentication credentials [0025], [0031]- [0048]) such as “optimization objectives” into a token-based security system; (Fig. 1, (120) Processing Platform with (128) Authorization Component [0022], [0025] [0029]) such as “a token-based security system”
Verma does not fully disclose restructuring the ETL process based on the optimization objectives; and sending for display to a financial application on a user device, the restructured ETL process.
Ackerman teaches restructuring (restructuring [0314]) the ETL process (ETL processes [045200 based on (based on [0461]) the optimization objectives; (optimization strategies [0517]) and sending for display (rendered into graphical visualizations which may then be subject to visual inspection or display [0094]) to a financial application (financial services on a DTS Platform [0602]) such as “financial application” on a user device, (user interface components [0094]) the restructured ETL process (restructured ETL process with transformed data [0452])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Verma to incorporate the teachings of Ackerman whereby restructuring the ETL process based on the optimization objectives; and sending for display to a financial application on a user device, the restructured ETL process. By doing so re-structured admixtures of information elements that are systematically derived from the progenitorial entities and that are recast based upon user-driven (and in variations, system-mandated) points-of view (thereby crystallizing the outcome of applying structured assertions upon the information involved in a given situation). Ackerman [0093]
Claim 31 corresponds to claim 21 and is rejected accordingly
Regarding claim 22 Verma in view of Ackerman the method of claim 21,
Verma as modified further teaches wherein the integration (enabling integration [0030]) is configured to establish a secure connection (Fig. 2, (216) authenticate user code [0029], (220) authenticate user code permission role [0030], (224) generate authentication credentials [0030], (228) provide authentication credentials to ETL system [0030]) with the computing system (Fig. 1, (134) ETL system [0022])
Claim 32 corresponds to claim 22 and is rejected accordingly
Regarding claim 23 Verma in view of Ackerman the method of claim 21,
Verma as modified further teaches wherein the integration(enabling integration [0030]) is an integration instruction (ABS., user code is imported to the ETL environment, and a plugin obtains the user code permissions from the processing platforms and generates a DAG having an operational context that includes the user code and user code permissions,) (includes user code 104, which in some embodiments is imported from code repository 108, and user code permissions 112, provided by a plugin 142, that make up a context 140. [0023]) such as “integration instruction”
Claim 33 corresponds to claim 23 and is rejected accordingly
Regarding claim 24 Verma in view of Ackerman the method of claim 23,
Verma as modified teaches wherein the integration instruction (ABS., user code is imported to the ETL environment, and a plugin obtains the user code permissions from the processing platforms and generates a DAG having an operational context that includes the user code and user code permissions,) (includes user code 104, which in some embodiments is imported from code repository 108, and user code permissions 112, provided by a plugin 142, that make up a context 140. [0023]) such as “integration instruction”
Verma as disclosed does not fully teach includes instructions to restructure datasets to refine data associated with the ETL process.
Ackerman teaches instructions to restructure (restructure [0066], [0092], [0120], [0147], [0156] and [0452]) datasets to refine data (That is, for example, if a system executes a correlative analysis between data set A and data set B (where A and B are from different domains, such as, for example, an inventory system and an accounting system, respectively), while the specific data points might from A and B be translated (transformed) into a common mathematical format, the correlation operation still communicates to the user ( or the system) the manner in which A correlates to B, a result that is only meaningful ( and accurate) if and only if A and B retain their respective semantical relation to their disparate ontological frames-of references. [0251]) associated with (associated with [0257]) the ETL process. (restructured ETL process with transformed data [0452])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Verma to incorporate the teachings of Ackerman instructions to restructure datasets to refine data associated with the ETL process. By doing so the restructured data will ensure the post-transformed data needs to have at least some access restriction. Ackerman [0452]
Claim 34 corresponds to claim 24 and is rejected accordingly
Regarding claim 25 Verma in view of Ackerman the method of claim 21,
Verma does not fully disclose wherein one of the optimization objectives includes an objective to make the ETL process faster.
Ackerman teaches wherein one of the optimization objectives (optimization strategies [0517]) includes an objective to make the ETL process faster (implement optimization strategies suitable for parallel and/or simultaneous deployment in diverse operating conditions and environments as well as within heterogeneous hardware [0517]) such as “faster”
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Verma to incorporate the teachings of Ackerman wherein one of the optimization objectives includes an objective to make the ETL process faster. By doing so the respective resource costs and to assess efficiency under different deployment scenarios may be determined. Ackerman [0107]
Claim 35 corresponds to claim 25 and is rejected accordingly
Regarding claim 26 Verma in view of Ackerman the method of claim 21,
Verma as modified teaches wherein the optimization objective performs a token-based authentication process (the method further comprises generating a user code authentication token based on the user authentication credentials, the user code authentication token comprising an expiration time [0043])
Claim 36 corresponds to claim 26 and is rejected accordingly
Regarding claim 29 Verma in view of Ackerman the method of claim 21,
Verma as modified teaches includes sending a token request for authentication (According to certain embodiments, receiving the user credentials comprises receiving the user authentication credentials from a database row identified with a hash based on the user authentication credentials and the code file name [0041]), (generating a user code authentication token based on the user authentication credentials, the user code authentication token comprising an expiration time [0043])
Ackerman teaches wherein the restructuring (restructuring [0314])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Verma to incorporate the teachings of Ackerman wherein restructuring. By doing so extended capabilities
by means of which to create, organize, parameterize, duplicate, restructure, transform and otherwise manipulate the aforementioned organizational and relational and geometric schemata and/or the composition and semantical framework(s) (as well as other transformative and supplemental affiliates) that define the elements subsumed and composed within an assertional structure. Ackerman [00066]
Claim 39 corresponds to claim 29 and is rejected accordingly
Regarding claim 30 Verma in view of Ackerman the method of claim 21,
Verma does not fully disclose wherein the financial application is a program to facilitate management of the ETL process.
Ackerman teaches wherein the financial application (financial services on a DTS Platform [0599], [0602]) such as “financial application” is a program to facilitate management (managed by platform operators and/or by system processes and/or by users [0599]) of the ETL process (ETL processes [0452])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Verma to incorporate the teachings of Ackerman wherein the financial application is a program to facilitate management of the ETL process. By doing so the DTS platform may be applied to a transaction management environment that may be embodied using, among other
things marketplace concepts and the like. Ackerman [0612]
Claim 40 corresponds to claim 30 and is rejected accordingly
Claims 27, 28, 37 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verma et al. (United States Patent Publication Number 20230169085), in view of Ackerman et al. (United States Patent Publication Number 20190205773 ), hereinafter referred to as Ackerman and in further view of Bruckhaus et al., (United States Patent Number 8417715) hereinafter Bruckhaus
Regarding claim 27 Verma in view of Ackerman the method of claim 21,
Verma does not fully disclose wherein the optimization objective is based on data type conversion.
Bruckhaus teaches wherein the optimization objective (optimization Col 44 ln 49) is based on data type conversion (Depending on algorithm requirements,
the model manager 144 can then request from data management services to perform certain data type conversions, Col 49 ln 4 - 8)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Verma to incorporate the teachings of Bruckhaus wherein the optimization objective is based on data type conversion. By doing so data is converted as needed. Bruckhaus Col 49 ln 10
Claim 37 corresponds to claim 27 and is rejected accordingly
Regarding claim 28 Verma in view of Ackerman the method of claim 21,
Verma does not fully disclose wherein the optimization objective is configured to convert data into one data type
Bruckhaus teaches wherein the optimization objective (optimization Col 44 ln 49) is configured to convert data into one data type (such as converting ORACLE "CHAR(2000)" into ORACLE "VARCHAR2 (2000)," or into a JAVA "String." Col 49 ln 4 - 8)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Verma to incorporate the teachings of Bruckhaus wherein the optimization objective is based on data type conversion. By doing so data is converted as needed. Bruckhaus Col 49 ln 10
Claim 38 corresponds to claim 28 and is rejected accordingly
Claim 41 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verma et al. (United States Patent Publication Number 20230169085), in view of Ackerman et al. (United States Patent Publication Number 20190205773 ), hereinafter referred to as Ackerman and in further view of Bahrami et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 2021/0067337) hereinafter Bahrami
Regarding claim 41 Verma in view of Ackerman teaches the method of claim 21,
Verma as modified does not fully disclose wherein the restructuring includes performing an authentication process according to an Open Authorization (OAuth) protocol and obtaining an access token from the authentication server.
Ackerman teaches restructuring (restructuring [0314])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Verma to incorporate the teachings of Ackerman whereby restructuring the ETL process based on the optimization objectives; and sending for display to a financial application on a user device, the restructured ETL process. By doing so re-structured admixtures of information elements that are systematically derived from the progenitorial entities and that are recast based upon user-driven (and in variations, system-mandated) points-of view (thereby crystallizing the outcome of applying structured assertions upon the information involved in a given situation). Ackerman [0093]
Bahrami teaches includes performing an authentication process (API authentication [0020]) according to an Open Authorization (OAuth) protocol (In such an example, the usemame and/or password may be included in the encrypted portion 164. Other examples of authentication include API keys, open authentication (OAuth, including OAuth version 1.0, 2.0, etc.). [0020]) and obtaining an access token (access token [0043]) from the authentication server (API provider [0043]) such as “authentication server”
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Verma in view of Ackerman to incorporate the teachings of Bahrami wherein performing an authentication process according to an Open Authorization (OAuth) protocol and obtaining an access token from the authentication server. By doing so the authorization information field 216 may include a token or other authentication information via
which the API client may be validated by the API service manager. Bahrami [0032]
Claim 42 and 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verma et al. (United States Patent Publication Number 20230169085), in view of Ackerman et al. (United States Patent Publication Number 20190205773 ), hereinafter referred to as Ackerman and in further view of Li et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 2018/0365305) hereinafter Li
Regarding claim 42 Verma in view of Ackerman teaches the method of claim 21,
Verma as modified teaches wherein the optimization objectives (user authentication credentials 130, user code 104, user code permissions [0025] and the user code authentication token [0043) such as “optimization objectives”
Verma as modified does not fully disclose include performing an authentication process via a representational state transfer (REST) based web service.
Li teaches include performing an authentication process (For example, an ETL job to load a document to a cloud NoSQL database may include one REST step for Jogging into the NoSQL database by invoking a particular log-in REST service API which returns an authentication cookie, as well as another REST step which takes as input the authentication cookie and uses the authentication cookie to send multiple documents to the NoSQL database. [0018]) via a representational state transfer (REST) based web service ( That is, the reusable connection groups REST steps that are sharing the same connection into one web session which is commonly managed through cookies. [0036])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Verma in view of Ackerman to incorporate the teachings of Li wherein include performing an authentication process via a representational state transfer (REST) based web service. By doing so The reusable connection is a REST connection that is reused to call different REST services in one or more REST steps that share the reusable connection. The reusable connection is also responsible for passing co=on cookies among different REST services so that different REST steps are grouped into one session. Li [0036]
Regarding claim 45 Verma in view of Ackerman teaches the system of claim 31,
Verma as modified further teaches wherein the optimization objectives (user authentication credentials 130, user code 104, user code permissions [0025] and the user code authentication token [0043) such as “optimization objectives”
Verma as modified does not fully disclose include performing an authentication process via a representational state transfer (REST) based web service.
Li teaches include performing an authentication process (an ETL
job to load a document to a cloud NoSQL database may include one REST step for Jogging into the NoSQL database by invoking a particular log-in REST service API which
returns an authentication cookie, as well as another REST step which takes as input the authentication cookie [0018]) via a representational state transfer (REST) based web service (A reusable connection may be employed so that a connection can be shared to invoke multiple different REST services hosted on the same web application. [0048])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Verma in view of Ackerman to incorporate the teachings of Li include performing an authentication process via a representational state transfer (REST) based web service. By doing so the
ETL engine 135 may validate during a logging in REST step that an authentication cookie has been returned in the REST body. Li [0038]
Claims 43 and 46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verma et al. (United States Patent Publication Number 20230169085), in view of Ackerman et al. (United States Patent Publication Number 20190205773 ), hereinafter referred to as Ackerman and in further view of Paya et al., (United States Patent Number 7240192 ) hereinafter Paya
Regarding claim 43 Verma in view of Ackerman teaches the method of claim 29,
Verma as modified does not fully disclose wherein the token request includes a client identifier and a secret value provided by the authentication server for the financial application.
Ackerman teaches for the financial application (financial services on a DTS Platform [0602]) such as “financial application”
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Verma to incorporate the teachings of Ackerman whereby for display to a financial application. By doing so re-structured admixtures of information elements that are systematically derived from the progenitorial entities and that are recast based upon user-driven (and in variations, system-mandated) points-of view (thereby crystallizing the outcome of applying structured assertions upon the information involved in a given situation). Ackerman [0093]
Paya teaches wherein the token request (Fig. 2, receives a request from a client for a resource (202) Col 8 ln 60 – 65 (204) first portion of token provide Col 8 ln 60 – 65 (206) second portion of token provided Col 9 ln 10 - 15) includes a client identifier (includes a client identifier Col 8 ln 67 - Col 9 ln 1) and a secret value (secret value Col 10 ln 14 – 17) provided by the authentication server (authentication server Col 7 ln 10 – 15)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Verma in view of Ackerman to incorporate the teachings of Paya wherein the token request includes a client identifier and a secret value provided by the authentication server. By doing so The overall security of the authentication token is enhanced because the token is stored as information in memory areas subject to different security risks. Paya Col 2 ln 67 – Col3 ln 1 – 3
Regarding claim 46 Verma in view of Ackerman teaches the system of claim 39, Verma as modified does not fully disclose wherein the token request includes a client identifier and a secret value provided by the authentication server for the financial application.
Ackerman teaches for the financial application (financial services on a DTS Platform [0602]) such as “financial application”
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Verma to incorporate the teachings of Ackerman whereby for display to a financial application. By doing so re-structured admixtures of information elements that are systematically derived from the progenitorial entities and that are recast based upon user-driven (and in variations, system-mandated) points-of view (thereby crystallizing the outcome of applying structured assertions upon the information involved in a given situation). Ackerman [0093]
Paya teaches wherein the token request (Fig. 2, receives a request from a client for a resource (202) Col 8 ln 60 – 65 (204) first portion of token provide Col 8 ln 60 – 65 (206) second portion of token provided Col 9 ln 10 - 15) includes a client identifier (includes a client identifier Col 8 ln 67 - Col 9 ln 1) and a secret value (secret value Col 10 ln 14 – 17) provided by the authentication server (authentication server Col 7 ln 10 – 15)
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Verma in view of Ackerman to incorporate the teachings of Paya wherein the token request includes a client identifier and a secret value provided by the authentication server. By doing so The overall security of the authentication token is enhanced because the token is stored as information in memory areas subject to different security risks. Paya Col 2 ln 67 – Col3 ln 1 – 3
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verma et al. (United States Patent Publication Number 20230169085), in view of Ackerman et al. (United States Patent Publication Number 20190205773 ), hereinafter referred to as Ackerman and in further view of Bahrami et al., (United States Patent Publication Number 2021/0067337 ), hereinafter referred to as Bahrami
Regarding claim 44 Verma in view of Ackerman teaches the system of claim 31,
Verma as modified does not fully disclose, wherein the restructuring includes performing an authentication process according to an Open Authorization (OAuth) protocol and obtaining an access token from the authentication server.
Ackerman teaches wherein the restructuring (restructuring [0314])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Verma to incorporate the teachings of Ackerman wherein restructuring. By doing so extended capabilities
by means of which to create, organize, parameterize, duplicate, restructure, transform and otherwise manipulate the aforementioned organizational and relational and geometric schemata and/or the composition and semantical framework(s) (as well as other transformative and supplemental affiliates) that define the elements subsumed and composed within an assertional structure. Ackerman [00066]
Bahrami teaches performing an authentication process (In some embodiments,
the authenticating information may be part of the encrypted
portion 164 or the unencrypted portion 162. For example, for hypertext transfer protocol (HTTP) authentication, a usemame and password may be provided in the API request 160 to prove authenticity to theAPI provider 120 [0020])according to an Open Authorization (OAuth) protocol ( In such an example, the username and/or password may be included in the encrypted portion 164. Other examples of authentication
include API keys, open authentication (OAuth, including OAuth version 1.0, 2.0, etc.). [0020]) and obtaining an access token (access token [0043]) from the authentication server (API Management server [0040])
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Verma in view of Ackerman to incorporate the teachings of Bahrami wherein performing an authentication process according to an Open Authorization (OAuth) protocol and obtaining an access token from the authentication server. By doing so a secure approach to interact with API management services, such as an API flow that passes through an API management service. Bahrami [0013]
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is
filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action
is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory
period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory
action is mailed, and any extension fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be
calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will
the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the date of this
final action.
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
examiner should be directed to Kweku Halm whose telephone number is (469)295-
9144. The examiner can normally be reached on 9:00AM - 5:30PM Mon - Thur. If
attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's
supervisor, Sanjiv Shah can be reached on (571) 272 - 4098. The fax phone
number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-
8300.
Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published
applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information
for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more
information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have
questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center
(EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-
9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/KWEKU WILLIAM HALM/Examiner, Art Unit 2166
/SANJIV SHAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2166