DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 2/19/26 has been entered. Claim 17 has been canceled. Claim 16 has been amended. Claims 1-16, and 18-20 remain pending in the application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 2/19/26 is acknowledged and the arguments are found persuasive. The restriction requirement as set forth in the Office action mailed on 8/19/25 is hereby withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: none of reference numbers 1-33 referenced in Paras 86-118 are found in the drawings. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the piston” in line 3 should be --the first piston--;
“the piston” in line 8 should be --the second piston--;
“wherein a fluid” in line 15 should be --wherein the fluid--;
“the first and second piston housings” in lines 18-19 should be --the first piston housing and the second piston housing--;
“the first and second pistons” in line 20 should be --the first piston and the second piston--;
“the first and second piston housings” in line 20 should be --the first piston housing and the second piston housing--;
“displaces a fluid” in line 21 should be --displaces the fluid--.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“The system of claim 1” referenced in line 1 should be --The power generating system of claim 1--;
“the first and second plungers of the first and second pistons” in lines 1-2 should be -- the first plunger and the second plunger each ;
“the pistons” in line 3 should be --the first piston and the second piston--.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“The system of claim 2” referenced in claim 1 should be --The power generating system of claim 2--;
“wherein the opening” in line 1 should be --wherein
“the first and second pistons” in line 1 should be --the first piston and the second piston--;
“the pistons” in line 2 should be --the first piston and the second piston--;
“a ballast” in line 2 should be --the ballast--;
“the buoyancy” in line 3 should be --
“the first and second pistons” in line 3 should be --the first piston and the second piston--;
“the piston” in line 3 should be --the first piston and the second piston--.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“The system of claim 2” referenced in claim 1 should be --The power generating system of claim 2--;
“wherein the closing” in line 1 should be --wherein
“the first and second pistons” in line 1 should be --the first piston and the second piston--;
“traps the liquid” in line 2 should be --traps a liquid--;
“not allowing it to pass” in line 2 should be --not allowing the liquid to pass--;
“the weight” in line 2 should be --a weight--;
“the first and second pistons” in lines 2-3 should be --the first piston and the second piston--;
“as it moves” in line 3 should be --as the first piston and the second piston move downward--.
Claim 5 is objected to because “The system of claim 1” referenced in line 1 should be --The power generating system of claim 1--.
Claim 6 is objected to because “The system of claim 5” referenced in line 1 should be --The power generating system of claim 5--.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“The system of claim 1” in line 1 should be --The power generating system of claim 1--;
“the first and second volume displacers” in line 2 should be --the first volume displacer and the second volume displacer--;
“reciprocating pumping kind of mechanisms” in line 3 should be -- reciprocating pumping
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“The system of claim 1” in line 1 should be --The power generating system of claim 1--;
“the first rod portion” in line 1 should be --the housing portion--;
“the second rod portion” in line 3 should be --the housing portion--;
“the first and second rod portions” in line 4 should be --the rod housing portion of the first piston housing and the rod housing portion of the second piston housing--;
“the first or second piston rods” in line 5 should be --the first piston rod or the second piston rod--;
“the first and second penstocks” in lines 5-6 should be --the first penstock and the second penstock--.
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“The system of claim 1” in line 1 should be --The power generating system of claim 1--;
“the first and second pistons” in line 1 should be --the first piston and the second piston--.
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the first and second pistons” in line 8 should be --the first piston and the second piston--;
“after liquid is removed” in line 8 should be --after the first liquid and the second liquid is removed--;
“the pistons” in line 9 should be --the first piston and the second piston respectively--;
“by the addition of liquid” in line 9 should be - bythe first liquid and the second liquid--;
“of the pistons” in line 10 should be --of the first piston and the second piston respectively--;
“the liquid” in line 10 should be --the first liquid and the second liquid--.
Claim 12 is objected to because “the displaced first and second liquids” in lines 1-2 should be --the first liquid and the second liquid--.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the lower end” in line 1 should be --a lower end--;
“the first and second pistons” in lines 1-2 should be --the first piston and the second piston--;
“the pistons” in line 2 should be --the first piston and the second piston--;
“leveraging on the buoyancy” in line 3 should be --leveraging
“the main piston housing” in line 3 should be --a main piston housing--.
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the first and second pistons” in lines 1-2 should be --the first piston and the second piston--;
“the weight” in line 2 should be --a weight--;
“the first and second pistons” in line 2 should be --the first piston and the second piston--.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the first and second pistons” in line 1 should be --the first piston and the second piston--;
“the pistons” in line 2 should be --the first piston and the second piston--;
“the first and second air-sealed rodlike tanks” in lines 2-3 should be --the air-sealed rodlike tanks--;
“the liquid” in line 3 should be --the first liquid and the second liquid--.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“the rod portion” in line 9 should be --the rod housing portion--;
“the rod portion” in line 11 should be --the rod housing portion--;
“a rod-shaped housing portion” in lines 13-14 should be --a rod housing portion--;
“the rod portion” in line 14 should be --the rod housing portion of the second piston housing--;
“an amount of water” in line 14 should be --a second amount of water--;
“the rod portion” in line 16 should be --the rod housing portion--;
“a liquid” in line 19 should be --the liquid--;
“the rod-shaped housing portion” in line 20 should be --the rod housing portion--;
“the amount of water” in line 22 should be --the second amount of water--;
“the rod-shaped housing portion” in line 22 should be --the rod housing portion--.
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“to selectively open allow liquid” in line 2 should be --to selectively open to allow liquid--;
“the weight” in line 3 should be --a weight--.
Claim 19 is objected to because “a reciprocating pumping mechanism such as a motorized screw press or hydraulic press or any similar mechanism” in lines 1-3 should be -- a reciprocating pumping mechanism --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 19, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 10-16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ekanem (U.S. 2020/0208615).
Re claim 1:
Ekanem discloses a power generating system (Fig. 12), comprising:
a first piston system (Modified Fig. 12 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of first piston system)) comprising a first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of first piston housing; element B corresponds to the left element 102 shown in Fig. 12 and referenced in Paras 67 and 112)) comprising a plunger housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of plunger housing portion; element C corresponds to the portion of element 102 where element g abuts element 41 as shown in Figs. 1, 12, and referenced in Para 71)) and a rod housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - D (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element D as a type of rod housing portion; element D corresponds to the portion of element 102 where element 12 resides when in the fully lowered position as shown by the right element 12 in Fig. 12 and referenced in Para 74 - “…when the convertible piston assembly g reaches the bottom…of the cylindrical base h”)) with a first piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognized element E as a type of first piston; element E corresponds to the left element g shown in Fig. 12 which is a “convertible piston assembly” per Para 71 and referenced in Para 115 - “…separate housing 102 with convertible pistons…”)) movably positioned therein (see Fig. 12 and Paras 70, 81, and 115), the piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E) comprising a first piston rod (Modified Fig. 12 above - F (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element F as a type of first piston rod; element F corresponds to an element 12 of element E which Is shown in Fig. 8B and referenced in Para 72)) extending from a first plunger (Modified Fig. 12 above - G (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element G as a type of plunger; element G corresponds to elements 14 (an inflatable bladder seals per Para 72) and 17 (tanks per Para 72) of element E)) and into the rod housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - D) of the first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B)(see Modified Fig. 12 above);
a second piston system (Modified Fig. 12 above - H (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element H as a type of first piston system)) comprising a second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element I as a type of second piston housing; element I corresponds to the right element 102 shown in Fig. 12 and referenced in Paras 67 and 112)) comprising a plunger housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - J (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element J as a type of plunger housing portion; element J corresponds to the portion of element 102 where element g abuts element 41 as shown in Figs. 1, 12, and referenced in Para 71)) and a rod housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - K (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element K as a type of rod housing portion; element K corresponds to the portion of element 102 where element 12 resides when in the fully lowered position as shown by the right element 12 in Fig. 12 and referenced in Para 74 - “…when the convertible piston assembly g reaches the bottom…of the cylindrical base h”)) with a second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - L (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognized element L as a type of second piston; element L corresponds to the right element g shown in Fig. 12 which is a “convertible piston assembly” per Para 71 and referenced in Para 115 - “…separate housing 102 with convertible pistons…”)) movably positioned therein (see Fig. 12 and Paras 70, 81, and 115), the piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - L) comprising a second piston rod (Modified Fig. 12 above - M (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element M as a type of second piston rod; element M corresponds to an element 12 of element L which Is shown in Fig. 8B and referenced in Para 72)) extending from a second plunger (Modified Fig. 12 above - N (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element N as a type of plunger; element N corresponds to elements 14 (an inflatable bladder seals per Para 72) and 17 (tanks per Para 72) of element L)) and into the rod housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - K) of the second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I)(see Modified Fig. 12 above);
a first volume displacer (9, rotary plate - Para 74; 11, submersible pump - Para 76; 13, discharge line - Para 76; 15, rotary valve - Para 74 (elements 9, 11, 13, and 15 of element E of Modified Fig. 12 above are collectively a type of first volume displacer)) in fluid communication with the plunger housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - C) of the first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B), wherein a fluid (43, water - Para 75) is selectively added and removed from the plunger housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - C) of the first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B) to selectively raise and lower the first piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E)(see Figs. 1, 12, Modified Fig. 12 above, and Paras 74-82);
a second volume displacer (elements 9, 11, 13, and 15 of element L of Modified Fig. 12 above are collectively a type of second volume displacer) in fluid communication with the plunger housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - J) of the second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I), wherein a fluid (43) is selectively added and removed from the plunger housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - J) of the second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I) to selectively raise and lower the second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - L)(see Figs. 1, 12, Modified Fig. 12 above, and Paras 74-82); and
at least one electric generator (4, 44, turbine generator unit - Para 82) in fluid communication with both the first (Modified Fig. 12 above - B) and second (Modified Fig. 12 above - I) piston housings (see Modified Fig. 12 above and Para 82);
wherein movement of the first (Modified Fig. 12 above - E) and second (Modified Fig. 12 above - L) pistons in the first (Modified Fig. 12 above - B) and second (Modified Fig. 12 above - I) piston housings displaces a fluid (43 (referenced as “…displaced water…” in Para 82)) to interact with the at least one electric generator (Para 82 - “…a turbine generator unit 4 or 44 , where the first stage of electricity is generated…”) to generate electricity therefrom (see Figs. 1, 12, Modified Fig. 12 above, Paras 74-82).
Re claim 2:
Ekanem discloses the system (Fig. 12) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the first (Modified Fig. 12 above - G) and second (Modified Fig. 12 above - N) plungers of the first (Modified Fig. 12 above - E) and second (Modified Fig. 12 above - L) pistons comprise doors (15, convertible piston door hydraulic closer/opener - Para 71) that are movable between open and closed positions (Para 74 - “…the convertible piston rotary valve 15 is closed…the convertible piston rotary valve is opened…”) to be able to create ballasts within the pistons (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L)(see Figs. 1, 12, Modified Fig. 12 above, Paras 74-82 (especially see Para 74)).
Re claim 3:
Ekanem discloses the system (Fig. 12) of claim 2 (as described above), wherein the opening of the doors (15) of the first and second pistons (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) allows a liquid (Para 74 - “…water…” (also referenced as element 43, see Para 75)) to pass through an open upper end of the pistons (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) and creates a ballast to increase the buoyancy of the first and second pistons (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) to allow the piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) to move vertically upward (Paras 74-82 (especially see Para 74)).
Re claim 4:
Ekanem discloses the system (Fig. 12) of claim 2 (as described above), wherein the closing of the doors (15) of the first and second pistons (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) traps the liquid (Para 74 - “…water…” (also referenced as element 43, see Para 75)) by not allowing it to pass therethrough thus increasing the weight of the first and second pistons (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) as it moves vertically downward (Paras 74-82 (especially see Para 74)).
Re claim 5:
Ekanem discloses the system (Fig. 12) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the at least one electric generator (4, 44) comprises a hydro-turbine (Para 82 - “…the turbines 4, 44 may be Francis turbines…”).
Re claim 6:
Ekanem discloses the system (Fig. 12) of claim 5 (as described above), wherein the hydro-turbine (4, 44) comprises:
a. a Pelton turbine;
b. a Francis turbine (Para 82 - “…the turbines 4, 44 may be Francis turbines…”);
c. a Kaplan turbine; or
d. a moment power wheel generator.
Re claim 8:
Ekanem discloses the system (Fig. 12) of claim 1 (as described above), further comprising a first penstock (Modified Fig. 12 above - O (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element O as a type of first penstock; element O corresponds to an element 5 which is a “motorable penstock valve/strainer” per Para 80)) between the first rod portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - D) of the first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B) and the at least one electric generator (4, 44)(see Modified Fig. 12 above) and a second penstock (Modified Fig. 12 above - P (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element P as a type of second penstock; element P corresponds to an element 5 which is a “motorable penstock valve/strainer” per Para 80)) between the second rod portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - J) of the second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I) and the at least one electric generator (4, 44)(see Modified Fig. 12 above) to direct a liquid (43) from the first and second rod portions (Modified Fig. 12 above - D, I) to the at least one electric generator (4, 44) upon movement of the first or second piston rods (Modified Fig. 12 above - F, M)(see Modified Fig. 12 above and Paras 74-82), and wherein the first and second penstocks (Modified Fig. 12 above - O, P) include adjustable valves (Para 80 - “…motorable penstock valve/strainer 5…”).
Re claim 10:
Ekanem discloses a method for generating power (Fig. 12), comprising:
moving a first piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognized element E as a type of first piston; element E corresponds to the left element g shown in Fig. 12 which is a “convertible piston assembly” per Para 71 and referenced in Para 115 - “…separate housing 102 with convertible pistons…”)) vertically in a first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of first piston housing; element B corresponds to the left element 102 shown in Fig. 12 and referenced in Paras 67 and 112)) to displace a first liquid (Modified Fig. 12 above - Q (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element Q as a type of first liquid; element Q corresponds to 43 (water per Para 75) in element B)) by a plunger (Modified Fig. 12 above - G (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element G as a type of plunger; element G corresponds to elements 14 (an inflatable bladder seals per Para 72) and 17 (tanks per Para 72) of element E)) extending from the first piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E) in the first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B) towards and through a turbine generator (4, 44, turbine generator unit - Para 82)(see Figs. 1, 12, Modified Fig. 12 above, Paras 74-82);
moving a second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - L (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognized element L as a type of second piston; element L corresponds to the right element g shown in Fig. 12 which is a “convertible piston assembly” per Para 71 and referenced in Para 115 - “…separate housing 102 with convertible pistons…”)) vertically in a second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element I as a type of second piston housing; element I corresponds to the right element 102 shown in Fig. 12 and referenced in Paras 67 and 112)) to displace a second liquid (Modified Fig. 12 above - R (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element R as a type of second liquid; element R corresponds to 43 (water per Para 75) in element I)) by a plunger (Modified Fig. 12 above - N (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element N as a type of plunger; element N corresponds to elements 14 (an inflatable bladder seals per Para 72) and 17 (tanks per Para 72) of element L)) extending from the second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - L) in the second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I) towards and through the turbine generator (4, 44, turbine generator unit - Para 82)(see Figs. 1, 12, Modified Fig. 12 above, Paras 74-82);
wherein the first and second pistons (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) move downwardly after liquid (Modified Fig. 12 above - Q, R) is removed from an area under a portion (see Modified Fig. 12 above at elements D and K) of the pistons (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) and move upwardly by the addition of liquid (Modified Fig. 12 above - Q, R) under the portion (see Modified Fig. 12 above at elements D and K) of the pistons (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L)(Paras 74-82 (especially see Para 74)), and wherein the liquid (Modified Fig. 12 above - Q, R) is removed and added by a first volume displacer (9, rotary plate - Para 74; 11, submersible pump - Para 76; 13, discharge line - Para 76; 15, rotary valve - Para 74 (elements 9, 11, 13, and 15 of element E of Modified Fig. 12 above are collectively a type of first volume displacer)) connected to the first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B) and a second volume displacer (elements 9, 11, 13, and 15 of element L of Modified Fig. 12 above are collectively a type of second volume displacer) connected to second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I)(Paras 74-82); and
wherein the first and second pistons (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) move vertically in an alternating manner (Paras 74-82, and 114 (especially see Para 114)).
Re claim 11:
Ekanem discloses the method (Fig. 12) of claim 10 (as described above), wherein the turbine generator (4, 44) comprises:
a. a Pelton turbine;
b. a Francis turbine (Para 82 - “…the turbines 4, 44 may be Francis turbines…”);
c. a Kaplan turbine; or
d. a moment power wheel generator.
Re claim 12:
Ekanem discloses the method (Fig. 12) of claim 10 (as described above), further comprising moving the displaced first and second liquids (Modified Fig. 12 above - Q, R) via a first penstock (Modified Fig. 12 above - O (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element O as a type of first penstock; element O corresponds to an element 5 which is a “motorable penstock valve/strainer” per Para 80)) connected to the first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B) and a second penstock (Modified Fig. 12 above - P (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element P as a type of second penstock; element P corresponds to an element 5 which is a “motorable penstock valve/strainer” per Para 80)) connected to the second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I)( see Modified Fig. 12 above and Paras 74-82).
Re claim 13:
Ekanem discloses the method (Fig. 12) of claim 10 (as described above), further comprising opening a door (15, convertible piston door hydraulic closer/opener - Para 71) at the lower end (see Figs. 8A-8B and Fig. 12 at element 9) of the first and second pistons (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) to aid in moving the pistons (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) vertically upward by allowing water (43, water - Para 75) to pass through while leveraging on the buoyancy within the main piston housing (106 (see Fig. 12, person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element 106 as a type of main piston housing))(see Modified Fig. 12 above and Paras 74-82).
Re claim 14:
Ekanem discloses the method (Fig. 12) of claim 10 (as described above), further comprising closing a door (15, convertible piston door hydraulic closer/opener - Para 71) at a lower end (see Figs. 8A-8B and Fig. 12 at element 9) of the first and second pistons (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) to create ballasts and increase the weight of the first and second pistons (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) while moving vertically downward (see Modified Fig. 12 above and Paras 74-82).
Re claim 15:
Ekanem discloses the method (Fig. 12) of claim 10 (as described above), wherein the first and second pistons (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) comprise air-sealed rodlike tanks (12, ballast tank - Para 71 (see Fig. 12 and Para 77-79 - “…the bladder(s) 14 is inflated using an external compressor and compressed air tank…this creates a seal between the bladder(s) and the wall of the housing, which may be water-tight to prevent or otherwise mitigate water from being displaced above the convertible piston“...inflatable bladders 14, which can comprise abrasion resistant polymer convertible piston seals are inflated to insure slidable, water-tight contact between convertible piston sides and housing wall..” (description in Paras 78-79 requires a type of air tight seal on outside of elements 12 within space below element 14 thereby making elements 12 sealed to air))) extending downward from the pistons (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L)(see Figs. 8A-8B and Modified Fig. 12 above), and wherein the first and second air-sealed rodlike tanks (12) displace the liquid (Modified Fig. 12 above - Q, R)(see Modified Fig. 12 above and Paras 74-82).
Re claim 16:
Ekanem discloses a system (Fig. 12) for generating electricity (see Fig. 12 and Para 82 - “…electricity is generated…”), comprising:
a first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of first piston housing; element B corresponds to the left element 102 shown in Fig. 12 and referenced in Paras 67 and 112)) including a plunger housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of plunger housing portion; element C corresponds to the portion of element 102 where element g abuts element 41 as shown in Figs. 1, 12, and referenced in Para 71)) and a rod housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - D (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element D as a type of rod housing portion; element D corresponds to the portion of element 102 where element 12 resides when in the fully lowered position as shown by the right element 12 in Fig. 12 and referenced in Para 74 - “…when the convertible piston assembly g reaches the bottom…of the cylindrical base h”)), the rod housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - D) containing an amount of water (Modified Fig. 12 above - Q (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element Q as a type of an amount of water; element Q corresponds to 43 (water per Para 75) in element B))(see Modified Fig. 12 above);
a first piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognized element E as a type of first piston; element E corresponds to the left element g shown in Fig. 12 which is a “convertible piston assembly” per Para 71 and referenced in Para 115 - “…separate housing 102 with convertible pistons…”)) housed in the first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B)(see Modified Fig. 12 above), the first piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E) comprising a convertible plunger (Modified Fig. 12 above - G (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element G as a type of convertible plunger; element G corresponds to elements 14 (an inflatable bladder seals per Para 72) and 17 (tanks per Para 72) of element E)) and an air-sealed rod-like tank (Modified Fig. 12 above - F (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element F as a type of air-sealed rod-like tank; element F corresponds to an element 12 of element E which Is shown in Fig. 8B and referenced in Para 72; see Fig. 12 and Para 77-79 - “…the bladder(s) 14 is inflated using an external compressor and compressed air tank…this creates a seal between the bladder(s) and the wall of the housing, which may be water-tight to prevent or otherwise mitigate water from being displaced above the convertible piston“...inflatable bladders 14, which can comprise abrasion resistant polymer convertible piston seals are inflated to insure slidable, water-tight contact between convertible piston sides and housing wall..” (description in Paras 78-79 requires a type of air tight seal on outside of elements 12 within space below element 14 thereby making elements 12 sealed to air))) extending into the rod-shaped housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - D) of the first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B)(see Modified Fig. 12 above and Paras 77-82);
a first volume displacer (9, rotary plate - Para 74; 11, submersible pump - Para 76; 13, discharge line - Para 76; 15, rotary valve - Para 74 (elements 9, 11, 13, and 15 of element E of Modified Fig. 12 above are collectively a type of first volume displacer)) fluidly connected to the plunger portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - C) of the first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B) to add and remove a liquid therefrom (see Figs. 1, 12, Modified Fig. 12 above, and Paras 74-82); and
a turbine generator (4, 44, turbine generator unit - Para 82) in fluid communication with the rod portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - D) of the first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B)(see Modified Fig. 12 above and Para 82), wherein movement of the first piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E) in a downward manner displaces the amount of water (Modified Fig. 12 above - Q) in the rod portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - D) of the first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B) to and through the turbine generator (4, 44) to generate electricity (see Figs. 1, 12, Modified Fig. 12 above, Paras 74-82);
a second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element I as a type of second piston housing; element I corresponds to the right element 102 shown in Fig. 12 and referenced in Paras 67 and 112)) including a plunger housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - J (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element J as a type of plunger housing portion; element J corresponds to the portion of element 102 where element g abuts element 41 as shown in Figs. 1, 12, and referenced in Para 71)) and a rod-shaped housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - K (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element K as a type of rod housing portion; element K corresponds to the portion of element 102 where element 12 resides when in the fully lowered position as shown by the right element 12 in Fig. 12 and referenced in Para 74 - “…when the convertible piston assembly g reaches the bottom…of the cylindrical base h”)), the rod portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - K) containing an amount of water (Modified Fig. 12 above - R (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element R as a type of an amount of water; element R corresponds to 43 (water per Para 75) in element I))(see Modified Fig. 12 above);
a second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - L (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognized element L as a type of second piston; element L corresponds to the right element g shown in Fig. 12 which is a “convertible piston assembly” per Para 71 and referenced in Para 115 - “…separate housing 102 with convertible pistons…”)) housed in the second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I)(see Modified Fig. 12 above), the second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - L) comprising a convertible plunger (Modified Fig. 12 above - N (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element N as a type of convertible plunger; element N corresponds to elements 14 (an inflatable bladder seals per Para 72) and 17 (tanks per Para 72) of element L)) and an air-sealed rod-shaped tank (Modified Fig. 12 above - M (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element M as a type of air-sealed piston rod; element M corresponds to an element 12 of element L which Is shown in Fig. 8B and referenced in Para 72; see Fig. 12 and Para 77-79 - “…the bladder(s) 14 is inflated using an external compressor and compressed air tank…this creates a seal between the bladder(s) and the wall of the housing, which may be water-tight to prevent or otherwise mitigate water from being displaced above the convertible piston“...inflatable bladders 14, which can comprise abrasion resistant polymer convertible piston seals are inflated to insure slidable, water-tight contact between convertible piston sides and housing wall..” (description in Paras 78-79 requires a type of air tight seal on outside of elements 12 within space below element 14 thereby making elements 12 sealed to air))) extending into the rod portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - K) of the second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I)(see Modified Fig. 12 above and Paras 77-82);
a second volume displacer (elements 9, 11, 13, and 15 of element L of Modified Fig. 12 above are collectively a type of second volume displacer) fluidly connected to the plunger portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - J) of the second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I) to add and remove a liquid therefrom (see Figs. 1, 12, Modified Fig. 12 above, and Paras 74-82); and
wherein the turbine generator (40, 44) is in fluid communication with the rod-shaped housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - K) of the second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I)(see Modified Fig. 12 above), wherein movement of the second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - L) in a downward manner displaces the amount of water (Modified Fig. 12 above - R) in the rod-shaped housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - K) of the second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I) to and through the turbine generator (40, 44) to generate electricity (see Figs. 1, 12, Modified Fig. 12 above, Paras 74-82).
Re claim 18:
Ekanem discloses the system (Fig. 12) of claim 16 (as described above), wherein the convertible plunger (Modified Fig. 12 above - G) of the first piston comprises a movable door (15, convertible piston door hydraulic closer/opener - Para 71) to selectively open allow liquid to pass through or to close to create a ballast to increase the weight of the first piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E)(see Figs. 1, 12, Modified Fig. 12 above, Paras 74-82 (especially see Para 74))
Re claim 20:
Ekanem discloses the system (Fig. 12) of claim 16 (as described above), wherein the turbine generator (4, 44) comprises:
a. a Pelton turbine;
b. a Francis turbine (Para 82 - “…the turbines 4, 44 may be Francis turbines…”);
c. a Kaplan turbine; or
d. a moment power wheel generator.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ekanem (U.S. 2020/0208615), as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, in view of Meager (U.S. 2015/0052885).
Re claim 7:
Ekanem discloses the system (Fig. 12) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the first and second volume displacers (9, 11, 13, 15) comprise
Ekanem fails to disclose reciprocating pumping kind of mechanisms.
Meager teaches reciprocating pumping kind of mechanisms (5, pump - Para 143)(Para 143 - “…pump 5 may correspond to…reciprocating pump…”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the pumping kind of mechanisms of Ekanem after that of Meager, thereby making the pumping kind of mechanism of Ekanem reciprocating pumping kind of mechanism in the way taught by Meager, for the advantage of being able to force a flow of fluid from a main fluid line toward an outlet fluid line (Meager; Para 143).
Re claim 19:
Ekanem discloses the system (Fig. 12) of claim 16 (as described above), wherein the first volume displacer (9, 11, 13, 15) comprises a
Ekanem fails to disclose a reciprocating pumping mechanism.
Meager teaches a reciprocating pumping mechanisms (5, pump - Para 143)(Para 143 - “…pump 5 may correspond to…reciprocating pump…”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the pumping mechanism of Ekanem after that of Meager, thereby making the pumping mechanism of Ekanem a reciprocating pumping mechanism in the way taught by Meager, for the advantage of being able to force a flow of fluid from a main fluid line toward an outlet fluid line (Meager; Para 143).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ekanem (U.S. 2020/0208615) in view of Vamvas (U.S. 2021/0285415).
Re claim 9:
Ekanem discloses the system (Fig. 12) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the first and second pistons (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) comprise
Ekanem fails to disclose spring-loaded landing pads.
Vamvas teaches spring-loaded landing pads (772, 774 - stops - Para 109)(see Fig. 16b and Para 109 - “…These stops can be cushions or springs…”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the landing pads of Ekanem after those of Vamvas, thereby making the landing pads of Ekanem spring-loaded landing pads in the way taught by Vamvas, for the advantage of being able to absorb impact of stopping mass (Vamvas; Para 109).
Conclusion
/LOREN C EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746 3/13/26