DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 6/26/26 has been entered. Claim 17 has been canceled. Claims1-10, 12-16, and 18-19 have been amended. Claims 1-16, and 18-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/26/26 have been fully considered but they are not fully persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of claims 1 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ekanem (U.S. 2020/0208615), Applicant has argued Ekanem fails to disclose “that the rod housing portion has a diameter less than that of the plunger housing portion” (see Remarks; filed 6/26/26, Pages 10-11). The Examiner finds this argument persuasive, however a new ground of rejection relying on Ekanem is detailed below.
Regarding the rejection of claims 1 and 10 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ekanem (U.S. 2020/0208615), Applicant has argued Ekanem fails to disclose “the first piston housing and the second piston housing are separate structures fluidly connected to one another” (see Remarks filed 6/26/26, Pages 10-11). With regards to claim 1, this limitation is not currently claimed. Rather, claim 1 currently requires “wherein the first piston system and the second piston system comprising separate structures” and the Examiner takes the position that this limitation is disclosed by Ekanem. Ekanem discloses wherein the first piston system (Modified Fig. 12 below - A) and the second piston system (Modified Fig. 12 below - H) comprising separate structures (see Modified Fig. 12 below (element A shown comprising separate structures from those of element H (e.g. element A is shown comprising a separate element 12 from that in element H))). Regarding claim 10, the Examiner does not find this argument persuasive because Ekanem discloses wherein the first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 below - B) and the second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 below - I) are separate structures (see Modified Fig. 12 Below, Fig. 13, and Para 113 - “…These three separate housing 102 operate separately but interdependently…”) fluidly connected to one another (see Figs. 12-13 and Para 113 - “…water displaced from any one of the sections would be moved through the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and sixth power generation stages ( see , e.g. , FIGS . 10 and 11)…” (also see Para 81)).
Applicant has argued claims 2-9, 11-15, 18, and 19-20 are allowable for the same reasons as indicated above regarding claims 1, 10, and 16 (see Remarks filed 6/26/26, Pages 10-12). The Examiner does not find the argument persuasive for the same reasons as indicated above regarding claims 1, 10, and 16.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“than that of” in line 4 should be --than a diameter of--;
“with the rod housing portion having a diameter less than that of the plunger housing portion” in lines 8-9 should be -- with the rod housing portion of the second piston housing having a diameter less than a diameter of the plunger housing portion of the second piston housing--.
Claim 3 is objected to because “the pistons” in line 3 should be --the first piston and the second piston--.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“than that of” in line 3 should be --than a diameter of--;
“with the rod housing portion having a diameter less than that of the plunger housing portion” in lines 15-16 should be --with the rod housing portion of the second piston housing having a diameter less than a diameter of the plunger housing portion of the second piston housing--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ekanem (U.S. 2020/0208615).
Re claim 10:
Ekanem discloses a method for generating power (Fig. 12), comprising:
moving a first piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognized element E as a type of first piston; element E corresponds to the left element g shown in Fig. 12 which is a “convertible piston assembly” per Para 71 and referenced in Para 115 - “…separate housing 102 with convertible pistons…”)) vertically in a first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of first piston housing; element B corresponds to the left element 102 shown in Fig. 12 and referenced in Paras 67 and 112)) to displace a first liquid (Modified Fig. 12 above - Q (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element Q as a type of first liquid; element Q corresponds to 43 (water per Para 75) in element B)) by a plunger (Modified Fig. 12 above - G (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element G as a type of plunger; element G corresponds to elements 14 (an inflatable bladder seals per Para 72) and 17 (tanks per Para 72) of element E)) extending from the first piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E) in the first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B) towards and through a turbine generator (4, 44, turbine generator unit - Para 82)(see Figs. 1, 12, Modified Fig. 12 above, Paras 74-82);
moving a second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - L (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognized element L as a type of second piston; element L corresponds to the right element g shown in Fig. 12 which is a “convertible piston assembly” per Para 71 and referenced in Para 115 - “…separate housing 102 with convertible pistons…”)) vertically in a second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element I as a type of second piston housing; element I corresponds to the right element 102 shown in Fig. 12 and referenced in Paras 67 and 112)) to displace a second liquid (Modified Fig. 12 above - R (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element R as a type of second liquid; element R corresponds to 43 (water per Para 75) in element I)) by a plunger (Modified Fig. 12 above - N (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element N as a type of plunger; element N corresponds to elements 14 (an inflatable bladder seals per Para 72) and 17 (tanks per Para 72) of element L)) extending from the second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - L) in the second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I) towards and through the turbine generator (4, 44, turbine generator unit - Para 82)(see Figs. 1, 12, Modified Fig. 12 above, Paras 74-82);
wherein the first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B (element B corresponds to the left element 102 shown in Fig. 12 and referenced in Paras 67 and 112)) and the second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I (element I corresponds to the right element 102 shown in Fig. 12 and referenced in Paras 67 and 112)) are separate structures (see Modified Fig. 12 above, Fig. 13, and Para 113 - “…These three separate housing 102 operate separately but interdependently…”) fluidly connected to one another (see Figs. 12-13 and Para 113 - “…water displaced from any one of the sections would be moved through the first, second, third, fourth, fifth, and sixth power generation stages ( see , e.g. , FIGS . 10 and 11)…” (also see Para 81));
wherein the first piston and the second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) move downwardly after the first liquid and the second liquid (Modified Fig. 12 above - Q, R) is removed from an area under a portion (see Modified Fig. 12 above at elements D and K) of the first piston and the second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) respectively, and move upwardly by addition of the first liquid and the second liquid (Modified Fig. 12 above - Q, R) under the portion (see Modified Fig. 12 above at elements D and K) of the first piston and the second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) respectively (Paras 74-82 (especially see Para 74)), and wherein the first liquid and the second liquid (Modified Fig. 12 above - Q, R) is removed and added by a first volume displacer (9, rotary plate - Para 74; 11, submersible pump - Para 76; 13, discharge line - Para 76; 15, rotary valve - Para 74 (elements 9, 11, 13, and 15 of element E of Modified Fig. 12 above are collectively a type of first volume displacer)) connected to the first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B) and a second volume displacer (elements 9, 11, 13, and 15 of element L of Modified Fig. 12 above are collectively a type of second volume displacer) connected to second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I)(Paras 74-82); and
wherein the first and second pistons (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) move vertically in an alternating manner (Paras 74-82, and 114 (especially see Para 114)).
Re claim 11:
Ekanem discloses the method (Fig. 12) of claim 10 (as described above), wherein the turbine generator (4, 44) comprises:
a. a Pelton turbine;
b. a Francis turbine (Para 82 - “…the turbines 4, 44 may be Francis turbines…”);
c. a Kaplan turbine; or
d. a moment power wheel generator.
Re claim 12:
Ekanem discloses the method (Fig. 12) of claim 10 (as described above), further comprising moving the first liquid and the second liquid (Modified Fig. 12 above - Q, R) via a first penstock (Modified Fig. 12 above - O (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element O as a type of first penstock; element O corresponds to an element 5 which is a “motorable penstock valve/strainer” per Para 80)) connected to the first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B) and a second penstock (Modified Fig. 12 above - P (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element P as a type of second penstock; element P corresponds to an element 5 which is a “motorable penstock valve/strainer” per Para 80)) connected to the second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I)( see Modified Fig. 12 above and Paras 74-82).
Re claim 13:
Ekanem discloses the method (Fig. 12) of claim 10 (as described above), further comprising opening a door (15, convertible piston door hydraulic closer/opener - Para 71) at a lower end (see Figs. 8A-8B and Fig. 12 at element 9) of the first piston and the second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) to aid in moving the first piston and the second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) vertically upward by allowing water (43, water - Para 75) to pass through while leveraging buoyancy within a main piston housing (106 (see Fig. 12, person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element 106 as a type of main piston housing))(see Modified Fig. 12 above and Paras 74-82).
Re claim 14:
Ekanem discloses the method (Fig. 12) of claim 10 (as described above), further comprising closing a door (15, convertible piston door hydraulic closer/opener - Para 71) at a lower end (see Figs. 8A-8B and Fig. 12 at element 9) of the first piston and the second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) to create ballasts and increase a weight of the first piston and the second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) while moving vertically downward (see Modified Fig. 12 above and Paras 74-82).
Re claim 15:
Ekanem discloses the method (Fig. 12) of claim 10 (as described above), wherein the first piston and the second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) comprise air-sealed rodlike tanks (12, ballast tank - Para 71 (see Fig. 12 and Para 77-79 - “…the bladder(s) 14 is inflated using an external compressor and compressed air tank…this creates a seal between the bladder(s) and the wall of the housing, which may be water-tight to prevent or otherwise mitigate water from being displaced above the convertible piston“...inflatable bladders 14, which can comprise abrasion resistant polymer convertible piston seals are inflated to insure slidable, water-tight contact between convertible piston sides and housing wall..” (description in Paras 78-79 requires a type of air tight seal on outside of elements 12 within space below element 14 thereby making elements 12 sealed to air))) extending downward from the first piston and the second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L)(see Figs. 8A-8B and Modified Fig. 12 above), and wherein the air-sealed rodlike tanks (12) displace the first liquid and the second liquid (Modified Fig. 12 above - Q, R)(see Modified Fig. 12 above and Paras 74-82).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 8, 16, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ekanem (U.S. 2020/0208615).
Re claim 1:
Ekanem discloses a power generating system (Fig. 12), comprising:
a first piston system (Modified Fig. 12 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of first piston system)) comprising a first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of first piston housing; element B corresponds to the left element 102 shown in Fig. 12 and referenced in Paras 67 and 112)) comprising a plunger housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of plunger housing portion; element C corresponds to the portion of element 102 where element g abuts element 41 as shown in Figs. 1, 12, and referenced in Para 71)) and a rod housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - D (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element D as a type of rod housing portion; element D corresponds to the portion of element 102 where element 12 resides when in the fully lowered position as shown by the right element 12 in Fig. 12 and referenced in Para 74 - “…when the convertible piston assembly g reaches the bottom…of the cylindrical base h”)) with a first piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognized element E as a type of first piston; element E corresponds to the left element g shown in Fig. 12 which is a “convertible piston assembly” per Para 71 and referenced in Para 115 - “…separate housing 102 with convertible pistons…”)) movably positioned therein (see Fig. 12 and Paras 70, 81, and 115),
a second piston system (Modified Fig. 12 above - H (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element H as a type of first piston system)) comprising a second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element I as a type of second piston housing; element I corresponds to the right element 102 shown in Fig. 12 and referenced in Paras 67 and 112)) comprising a plunger housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - J (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element J as a type of plunger housing portion; element J corresponds to the portion of element 102 where element g abuts element 41 as shown in Figs. 1, 12, and referenced in Para 71)) and a rod housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - K (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element K as a type of rod housing portion; element K corresponds to the portion of element 102 where element 12 resides when in the fully lowered position as shown by the right element 12 in Fig. 12 and referenced in Para 74 - “…when the convertible piston assembly g reaches the bottom…of the cylindrical base h”)) with a second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - L (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognized element L as a type of second piston; element L corresponds to the right element g shown in Fig. 12 which is a “convertible piston assembly” per Para 71 and referenced in Para 115 - “…separate housing 102 with convertible pistons…”)) movably positioned therein (see Fig. 12 and Paras 70, 81, and 115), Para 72)) extending from a second plunger (Modified Fig. 12 above - N (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element N as a type of plunger; element N corresponds to elements 14 (an inflatable bladder seals per Para 72) and 17 (tanks per Para 72) of element L)) and into the rod housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - K) of the second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I)(see Modified Fig. 12 above);
a first volume displacer (9, rotary plate - Para 74; 11, submersible pump - Para 76; 13, discharge line - Para 76; 15, rotary valve - Para 74 (elements 9, 11, 13, and 15 of element E of Modified Fig. 12 above are collectively a type of first volume displacer)) in fluid communication with the plunger housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - C) of the first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B), wherein a fluid (43, water - Para 75) is selectively added and removed from the plunger housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - C) of the first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B) to selectively raise and lower the first piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E)(see Figs. 1, 12, Modified Fig. 12 above, and Paras 74-82);
a second volume displacer (elements 9, 11, 13, and 15 of element L of Modified Fig. 12 above are collectively a type of second volume displacer) in fluid communication with the plunger housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - J) of the second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I), wherein the fluid (43) is selectively added and removed from the plunger housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - J) of the second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I) to selectively raise and lower the second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - L)(see Figs. 1, 12, Modified Fig. 12 above, and Paras 74-82); and
at least one electric generator (4, 44, turbine generator unit - Para 82) in fluid communication with both the first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B) and the second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I)(see Modified Fig. 12 above and Para 82);
wherein movement of the first piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E) and the second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - L) in the first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B) and the second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I) displaces the fluid (43 (referenced as “…displaced water…” in Para 82)) to interact with the at least one electric generator (Para 82 - “…a turbine generator unit 4 or 44 , where the first stage of electricity is generated…”) to generate electricity therefrom (see Figs. 1, 12, Modified Fig. 12 above, Paras 74-82); and
wherein the first piston system (Modified Fig. 12 above - A) and the second piston system (Modified Fig. 12 above - H) comprising separate structures (see Modified Fig. 12 above (element A shown comprising separate structures from those of element H (e.g. element A is shown comprising a separate element 12 from that in element H))).
Ekanem fails to disclose a first piston housing comprising a plunger housing portion and a rod housing portion, with the rod housing portion having a diameter less than that of the plunger housing portion; nor a second piston housing comprising a plunger housing portion and a rod housing portion, with the rod housing portion having a diameter less than that of the plunger housing portion.
Ekanem teaches the shape of the first and second piston housing is a results effective variable that determines orientation, size, and similarity to other structures (Ekanem; Para 110 (each of the interpreted first piston housing of Ekanem and the interpreted second piston housing of Ekanem are an element 102 as described above)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the shape of each of the first piston housing and the second piston housing of Ekanem such that the rod housing portion of the first piston housing have a diameter less than that of the plunger housing portion of the first piston housing and that the rod housing portion of the second piston housing have a diameter less than that of the plunger housing portion of the second piston housing as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Re claim 2:
Ekanem teaches the power generating system (Fig. 12) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the first plunger (Modified Fig. 12 above - G) and the second plunger (Modified Fig. 12 above - N) each comprise doors (15, convertible piston door hydraulic closer/opener - Para 71) that are movable between open and closed positions (Para 74 - “…the convertible piston rotary valve 15 is closed…the convertible piston rotary valve is opened…”) to be able to create ballasts within the first piston and the second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L)(see Figs. 1, 12, Modified Fig. 12 above, Paras 74-82 (especially see Para 74)).
Re claim 3:
Ekanem teaches the power generating system (Fig. 12) of claim 2 (as described above), wherein opening of the doors (15) of the first piston and the second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) allows a liquid (Para 74 - “…water…” (also referenced as element 43, see Para 75)) to pass through an open upper end of the pistons (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) and creates the ballast to increase buoyancy of the first piston and the second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) to allow the first piston and the second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) to move vertically upward (Paras 74-82 (especially see Para 74)).
Re claim 4:
Ekanem teaches the power generating system (Fig. 12) of claim 2 (as described above), wherein closing of the doors (15) of the first piston and the second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) traps a liquid (Para 74 - “…water…” (also referenced as element 43, see Para 75)) by not allowing the liquid to pass therethrough thus increasing a weight of the first piston and the second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) as the first piston and the second piston move vertically downward (Paras 74-82 (especially see Para 74)).
Re claim 5:
Ekanem teaches the power generating system (Fig. 12) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the at least one electric generator (4, 44) comprises a hydro-turbine (Para 82 - “…the turbines 4, 44 may be Francis turbines…”).
Re claim 6:
Ekanem teaches the power generating system (Fig. 12) of claim 5 (as described above), wherein the hydro-turbine (4, 44) comprises:
a. a Pelton turbine;
b. a Francis turbine (Para 82 - “…the turbines 4, 44 may be Francis turbines…”);
c. a Kaplan turbine; or
d. a moment power wheel generator.
Re claim 8:
Ekanem teaches the power generating system (Fig. 12) of claim 1 (as described above), further comprising a first penstock (Modified Fig. 12 above - O (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element O as a type of first penstock; element O corresponds to an element 5 which is a “motorable penstock valve/strainer” per Para 80)) between the rod housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - D) of the first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B) and the at least one electric generator (4, 44)(see Modified Fig. 12 above) and a second penstock (Modified Fig. 12 above - P (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element P as a type of second penstock; element P corresponds to an element 5 which is a “motorable penstock valve/strainer” per Para 80)) between the rod housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - J) of the second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I) and the at least one electric generator (4, 44)(see Modified Fig. 12 above) to direct a liquid (43) from the rod housing portion of the first piston housing and the rod housing portion of the second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - D, I) to the at least one electric generator (4, 44) upon movement of the first piston rod or the second piston rod (Modified Fig. 12 above - F, M)(see Modified Fig. 12 above and Paras 74-82), and wherein the first penstock and the second penstock (Modified Fig. 12 above - O, P) include adjustable valves (Para 80 - “…motorable penstock valve/strainer 5…”).
Re claim 16:
Ekanem discloses a system (Fig. 12) for generating electricity (see Fig. 12 and Para 82 - “…electricity is generated…”), comprising:
a first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of first piston housing; element B corresponds to the left element 102 shown in Fig. 12 and referenced in Paras 67 and 112)) including a plunger housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of plunger housing portion; element C corresponds to the portion of element 102 where element g abuts element 41 as shown in Figs. 1, 12, and referenced in Para 71)) and a rod housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - D (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element D as a type of rod housing portion; element D corresponds to the portion of element 102 where element 12 resides when in the fully lowered position as shown by the right element 12 in Fig. 12 and referenced in Para 74 - “…when the convertible piston assembly g reaches the bottom…of the cylindrical base h”)),
a first piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognized element E as a type of first piston; element E corresponds to the left element g shown in Fig. 12 which is a “convertible piston assembly” per Para 71 and referenced in Para 115 - “…separate housing 102 with convertible pistons…”)) housed in the first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B)(see Modified Fig. 12 above), the first piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E) comprising a convertible plunger (Modified Fig. 12 above - G (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element G as a type of convertible plunger; element G corresponds to elements 14 (an inflatable bladder seals per Para 72) and 17 (tanks per Para 72) of element E)) and an air-sealed rod-like tank (Modified Fig. 12 above - F (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element F as a type of air-sealed rod-like tank; element F corresponds to an element 12 of element E which Is shown in Fig. 8B and referenced in Para 72; see Fig. 12 and Para 77-79 - “…the bladder(s) 14 is inflated using an external compressor and compressed air tank…this creates a seal between the bladder(s) and the wall of the housing, which may be water-tight to prevent or otherwise mitigate water from being displaced above the convertible piston“...inflatable bladders 14, which can comprise abrasion resistant polymer convertible piston seals are inflated to insure slidable, water-tight contact between convertible piston sides and housing wall..” (description in Paras 78-79 requires a type of air tight seal on outside of elements 12 within space below element 14 thereby making elements 12 sealed to air))) extending into the rod-shaped housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - D) of the first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B)(see Modified Fig. 12 above and Paras 77-82);
a first volume displacer (9, rotary plate - Para 74; 11, submersible pump - Para 76; 13, discharge line - Para 76; 15, rotary valve - Para 74 (elements 9, 11, 13, and 15 of element E of Modified Fig. 12 above are collectively a type of first volume displacer)) fluidly connected to the plunger portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - C) of the first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B) to add and remove a liquid therefrom (see Figs. 1, 12, Modified Fig. 12 above, and Paras 74-82); and
a turbine generator (4, 44, turbine generator unit - Para 82) in fluid communication with the rod housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - D) of the first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B)(see Modified Fig. 12 above and Para 82), wherein movement of the first piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E) in a downward manner displaces the amount of water (Modified Fig. 12 above - Q) in the rod housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - D) of the first piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - B) to and through the turbine generator (4, 44) to generate electricity (see Figs. 1, 12, Modified Fig. 12 above, Paras 74-82);
a second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element I as a type of second piston housing; element I corresponds to the right element 102 shown in Fig. 12 and referenced in Paras 67 and 112)) including a plunger housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - J (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element J as a type of plunger housing portion; element J corresponds to the portion of element 102 where element g abuts element 41 as shown in Figs. 1, 12, and referenced in Para 71)) and a rod housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - K (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element K as a type of rod housing portion; element K corresponds to the portion of element 102 where element 12 resides when in the fully lowered position as shown by the right element 12 in Fig. 12 and referenced in Para 74 - “…when the convertible piston assembly g reaches the bottom…of the cylindrical base h”)),
a second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - L (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognized element L as a type of second piston; element L corresponds to the right element g shown in Fig. 12 which is a “convertible piston assembly” per Para 71 and referenced in Para 115 - “…separate housing 102 with convertible pistons…”)) housed in the second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I)(see Modified Fig. 12 above), the second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - L) comprising a convertible plunger (Modified Fig. 12 above - N (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element N as a type of convertible plunger; element N corresponds to elements 14 (an inflatable bladder seals per Para 72) and 17 (tanks per Para 72) of element L)) and an air-sealed rod-shaped tank (Modified Fig. 12 above - M (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element M as a type of air-sealed piston rod; element M corresponds to an element 12 of element L which Is shown in Fig. 8B and referenced in Para 72; see Fig. 12 and Para 77-79 - “…the bladder(s) 14 is inflated using an external compressor and compressed air tank…this creates a seal between the bladder(s) and the wall of the housing, which may be water-tight to prevent or otherwise mitigate water from being displaced above the convertible piston“...inflatable bladders 14, which can comprise abrasion resistant polymer convertible piston seals are inflated to insure slidable, water-tight contact between convertible piston sides and housing wall..” (description in Paras 78-79 requires a type of air tight seal on outside of elements 12 within space below element 14 thereby making elements 12 sealed to air))) extending into the rod housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - K) of the second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I)(see Modified Fig. 12 above and Paras 77-82);
a second volume displacer (elements 9, 11, 13, and 15 of element L of Modified Fig. 12 above are collectively a type of second volume displacer) fluidly connected to the plunger portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - J) of the second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I) to add and remove the liquid therefrom (see Figs. 1, 12, Modified Fig. 12 above, and Paras 74-82); and
wherein the turbine generator (40, 44) is in fluid communication with the rod housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - K) of the second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I)(see Modified Fig. 12 above), wherein movement of the second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - L) in a downward manner displaces the second amount of water (Modified Fig. 12 above - R) in the rod housing portion (Modified Fig. 12 above - K) of the second piston housing (Modified Fig. 12 above - I) to and through the turbine generator (40, 44) to generate electricity (see Figs. 1, 12, Modified Fig. 12 above, Paras 74-82).
Ekanem fails to disclose a first piston housing including a plunger housing portion and a rod housing portion, with the rod housing portion having a diameter less than that of the plunger housing portion; nor a second piston housing including a plunger housing portion and a rod housing portion, with the rod housing portion having a diameter less than that of the plunger housing portion.
Ekanem teaches the shape of the first and second piston housing is a results effective variable that determines orientation, size, and similarity to other structures (Ekanem; Para 110 (each of the interpreted first piston housing of Ekanem and the interpreted second piston housing of Ekanem are an element 102 as described above)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified the shape of each of the first piston housing and the second piston housing of Ekanem such that the rod housing portion of the first piston housing have a diameter less than that of the plunger housing portion of the first piston housing and that the rod housing portion of the second piston housing have a diameter less than that of the plunger housing portion of the second piston housing as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Re claim 18:
Ekanem teaches the system (Fig. 12) of claim 16 (as described above), wherein the convertible plunger (Modified Fig. 12 above - G) of the first piston comprises a movable door (15, convertible piston door hydraulic closer/opener - Para 71) to selectively open to allow liquid to pass through or to close to create a ballast to increase a weight of the first piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E)(see Figs. 1, 12, Modified Fig. 12 above, Paras 74-82 (especially see Para 74)).
Re claim 20:
Ekanem teaches the system (Fig. 12) of claim 16 (as described above), wherein the turbine generator (4, 44) comprises:
a. a Pelton turbine;
b. a Francis turbine (Para 82 - “…the turbines 4, 44 may be Francis turbines…”);
c. a Kaplan turbine; or
d. a moment power wheel generator.
Claims 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ekanem (U.S. 2020/0208615), as applied to claims 1 and 16 above, in view of Meager (U.S. 2015/0052885).
Re claim 7:
Ekanem teaches the power generating system (Fig. 12) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the first volume displacer and the second volume displacer (9, 11, 13, 15) comprise
Ekanem fails to disclose reciprocating pumping mechanisms.
Meager teaches reciprocating pumping mechanisms (5, pump - Para 143)(Para 143 - “…pump 5 may correspond to…reciprocating pump…”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the pumping mechanisms of Ekanem after that of Meager, thereby making the pumping mechanism of Ekanem reciprocating pumping mechanism in the way taught by Meager, for the advantage of being able to force a flow of fluid from a main fluid line toward an outlet fluid line (Meager; Para 143).
Re claim 19:
Ekanem teaches the system (Fig. 12) of claim 16 (as described above), wherein the first volume displacer (9, 11, 13, 15) comprises a
Ekanem fails to disclose a reciprocating pumping mechanism.
Meager teaches a reciprocating pumping mechanisms (5, pump - Para 143)(Para 143 - “…pump 5 may correspond to…reciprocating pump…”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the pumping mechanism of Ekanem after that of Meager, thereby making the pumping mechanism of Ekanem a reciprocating pumping mechanism in the way taught by Meager, for the advantage of being able to force a flow of fluid from a main fluid line toward an outlet fluid line (Meager; Para 143).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ekanem (U.S. 2020/0208615) in view of Vamvas (U.S. 2021/0285415).
Re claim 9:
Ekanem teaches the power generatin system (Fig. 12) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein the first piston and the second piston (Modified Fig. 12 above - E, L) comprise
Ekanem fails to disclose spring-loaded landing pads.
Vamvas teaches spring-loaded landing pads (772, 774 - stops - Para 109)(see Fig. 16b and Para 109 - “…These stops can be cushions or springs…”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the landing pads of Ekanem after those of Vamvas, thereby making the landing pads of Ekanem spring-loaded landing pads in the way taught by Vamvas, for the advantage of being able to absorb impact of stopping mass (Vamvas; Para 109).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOREN C EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746 7/10/26