DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 4/6/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-4, 7-9, and 11-13 under 35 USC 102 and claims 14-15 and 17-20 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Foose et al. (US 7,980,817; hereinafter Foose) and Ganiger et al. (US 11,674,399; hereinafter Ganiger).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9, 11-15, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foose et al. (US 7,980,817; hereinafter Foose) in view of Ganiger et al. (US 11,674,399; hereinafter Ganiger).
Regarding claim 1, Foose (Fig. 1-8) discloses a fan exit guide vane (50) comprising: a leading edge (58) and a trailing edge (60) opposite chordwise from the leading edge (58); a radially inner attachment region (66) opposite spanwise from a radially outer attachment region (68); a span dimension extending between the radially inner attachment region (66) and the radially outer attachment region (68); a chord dimension extending between the leading edge (58) and the trailing edge (60); a pressure side (62) opposite a suction side (64) of the fan exit guide vane (50); an acoustic zone (100, shown best in Fig. 2 and 4-7) formed integral with the fan exit guide vane (50); and an acoustic treatment formed with the acoustic zone (100), the acoustic treatment configured to dissipate sound energy (Col. 3, lines 41-61).
Foose fails to disclose that the acoustic zone is formed integral and monolithic with the fan exit guide vane and an acoustic treatment formed integral and monolithic with the acoustic zone.
Ganiger (Col. 3, lines 3-6) teaches that additive manufacturing can be used in the production of airfoils, turbine vanes, and compressor vanes, and fan blades. Ganiger (Col. 3, lines 6-9) teaches that additive manufacturing allows for the creation of unique features, configurations, thicknesses, materials, densities, fluid passageways, headers, and mounting structures that may not have been possible or practical using prior manufacturing methods. Ganiger (Col. 2, lines 4-7) teaches that additive manufacturing allows such components to be formed as a single, monolithic component. Since Foose (Col. 3, lines 18-37, 63-65) already teaches securing the acoustic zone and acoustic treatment via means such as adhesive to the vane, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the vane, acoustic zone, and acoustic treatment via additive manufacturing, as taught by Ganiger in order to simplify manufacturing by forming the vane as one piece.
Regarding claim 2, Foose, as modified, discloses the fan exit guide vane according to claim 1, wherein Foose (Fig. 1-8), as modified, further discloses that the acoustic zone (100) is formed in the fan exit guide vane (50) at a predetermined location (shown best in Fig. 2, 4-7) along the span of the fan exit guide vane (50).
Regarding claim 3, Foose, as modified, discloses the fan exit guide vane according to claim 1, wherein Foose (Fig. 1-8), as modified, further discloses that the acoustic zone (100) is located on the pressure side (Fig. 5 and 7) of the fan exit guide vane (50).
Regarding claim 4, Foose, as modified, discloses the fan exit guide vane according to claim 1, wherein Foose (Fig. 1-8), as modified, further discloses that the acoustic zone (100) extends at least one of spanwise (shown best in Fig. 2, 4, and 6) through the fan exit guide vane (50) between the radially inner attachment region (66) and the radially outer attachment region (68) or chordwise (shown best in Fig. 5 and 7) between the leading edge (58) and the trailing edge (60).
Regarding claim 7, Foose, as modified, discloses the fan exit guide vane according to claim 1, wherein Foose (Fig. 1-8), as modified, further discloses that the acoustic zone (100) is located adjacent a structural region (shown adjacent to 68 and 66 which are coupled to what has been interpreted as structural regions).
Regarding claim 8, Foose (Fig. 1-8) discloses a gas turbine engine (20) with a fan exit guide vane (Col. 1, lines 5-7) with acoustic treatment (Fig. 8) comprising: a fan (30) located within a fan duct (38); and an array of fan exit guide vanes (50) supported within the fan duct (38) downstream from the fan (30), the array of fan exit guide vanes (50) span across the fan duct (38) attached to a radially inner surface (36) of the fan duct (38) and a radially outer surface (40) of the fan duct (38); wherein a fan exit guide vane (50) of the array of fan exit guide vanes (50) comprising: a leading edge (58) and a trailing edge (60) opposite chordwise from the leading edge (58); a radially inner attachment region (66) opposite spanwise from a radially outer attachment region (68); a span dimension extending between the radially inner attachment region (66) and the radially outer attachment region (68); a chord dimension extending between the leading edge (58) and the trailing edge (60); a pressure side (62) opposite a suction side (64) of the fan exit guide vane (50); an acoustic zone (100) formed with the fan exit guide vane (50); an acoustic treatment formed with the acoustic zone (Fig. 8); the acoustic treatment configured to dissipate sound energy (Col. 3, lines 41-61); and a structural region (shown adjacent to 68 and 66 which are coupled to what has been interpreted as structural regions) adjacent the acoustic zone (100).
Foose fails to disclose the acoustic zone integrally formed monolithic with the fan exit guide vane and the acoustic treatment formed integral and monolithic with the acoustic zone.
Ganiger (Col. 3, lines 3-6) teaches that additive manufacturing can be used in the production of airfoils, turbine vanes, and compressor vanes, and fan blades. Ganiger (Col. 3, lines 6-9) teaches that additive manufacturing allows for the creation of unique features, configurations, thicknesses, materials, densities, fluid passageways, headers, and mounting structures that may not have been possible or practical using prior manufacturing methods. Ganiger (Col. 2, lines 4-7) teaches that additive manufacturing allows such components to be formed as a single, monolithic component. Since Foose (Col. 3, lines 18-37, 63-65) already teaches securing the acoustic zone and acoustic treatment via means such as adhesive to the vane, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the vane, acoustic zone, and acoustic treatment via additive manufacturing, as taught by Ganiger in order to simplify manufacturing by forming the vane as one piece.
Regarding claim 9, Foose, as modified, discloses the gas turbine engine with a fan exit guide vane with acoustic treatment according to claim 8, wherein Foose (Fig. 1-8), as modified, further discloses that the acoustic zone (100) is formed in the fan exit guide vane (50) at a predetermined location (shown best in Fig. 2 and 4-7) along the span of the fan exit guide vane (50).
Regarding claim 11, Foose, as modified, discloses the gas turbine engine with a fan exit guide vane with acoustic treatment according to claim 8, wherein Foose (Fig. 1-8), as modified, further discloses that the acoustic zone (100) is located on the pressure side (62 – best shown in Fig. 5 and 7) of the fan exit guide vane (50).
Regarding claim 12, Foose, as modified, discloses the gas turbine engine with a fan exit guide vane with acoustic treatment according to claim 8, wherein Foose (Fig. 1-8), as modified, further discloses a surface skin (102) in operative communication with the acoustic zone (100) and the acoustic treatment (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 13, Foose, as modified, discloses the gas turbine engine with a fan exit guide vane with acoustic treatment according to claim 8, wherein Foose (Fig. 1-8), as modified, further discloses that the acoustic zone (100) extends at least one of spanwise through the fan exit guide vane (50) between the radially inner attachment region (66) and the radially outer attachment region (68) or chordwise between the leading edge (58) and the trailing edge (60).
Regarding claim 14, Foose (Fig. 1-8) discloses a process for creating a fan exit guide vane (50) with acoustic treatment (Fig. 8) comprising: supporting an array of fan exit guide vanes (50) within a fan duct (38) downstream from a location associated with a fan (30); attaching the array of fan exit guide vanes (50) spanned across the fan duct (38) to a radially inner surface (36) of the fan duct (38) and a radially outer surface (40) of the fan duct (38) by; coupling a radially inner attachment region (66) of the fan exit guide vane (50) of the array of fan exit guide vanes (50) in operative communication with the radially inner surface (36) of the fan duct (38); and coupling a radially outer attachment region (68) of the fan exit guide vane (50) of the array of fan exit guide vanes (50) in operative communication with the radially outer surface (40) of the fan duct (38); forming an acoustic zone (100) integral with the fan exit guide vane (50); forming the acoustic treatment integral with the acoustic zone (Fig. 8, Col. 3, lines 38-46: since the core is formed in situ and it acts with the apertures to provide acoustic benefits - this was interpreted as the acoustic treatment being formed integral with the acoustic zone); and configuring the acoustic treatment to dissipate sound energy (Col. 3, lines 41-61); and forming a structural region (shown adjacent to 68 and 66 which are coupled to what has been interpreted as structural regions) adjacent the acoustic zone (100).
Foose fails to disclose forming an acoustic zone integral with the fan exit guide vane utilizing additive manufacturing techniques, wherein integral is define as being created from a single, continuous material without joints, connections, or assembly of multiple components.
Ganiger (Col. 3, lines 3-6) teaches that additive manufacturing can be used in the production of airfoils, turbine vanes, and compressor vanes, and fan blades. Ganiger (Col. 3, lines 6-9) teaches that additive manufacturing allows for the creation of unique features, configurations, thicknesses, materials, densities, fluid passageways, headers, and mounting structures that may not have been possible or practical using prior manufacturing methods. Ganiger (Col. 2, lines 4-7) teaches that additive manufacturing allows such components to be formed as a single, monolithic component. Since Foose (Col. 3, lines 18-37, 63-65) already teaches securing the acoustic zone and acoustic treatment via means such as adhesive to the vane, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the vane, acoustic zone, and acoustic treatment via additive manufacturing, as taught by Ganiger in order to simplify manufacturing by forming the vane as one piece.
Regarding claim 15, Foose, as modified, discloses the process of claim 14, wherein Foose (Fig. 1-8), as modified, further discloses forming the acoustic zone (100) in the fan exit guide vane (50) at a predetermined location (Fig. 2 and 4-7) of the fan exit guide vane (50).
Regarding claim 17, Foose, as modified, discloses the process of claim 14, wherein Foose (Fig. 1-8), as modified, further discloses locating the acoustic zone (100) on the pressure side (62 – shown best in Fig. 5 and 7) of the fan exit guide vane (50).
Regarding claim 18, Foose, as modified, discloses the process of claim 14, wherein Foose (Fig. 1-8), as modified, further discloses configuring the acoustic zone (100) extending at least one of spanwise through the fan exit guide vane (50) between the radially inner attachment region (66) and the radially outer attachment region (68) or chordwise between a leading edge (58) and a trailing edge (60).
Regarding claim 19, Foose, as modified, discloses the process of claim 14, wherein Foose (Fig. 1-8), as modified, further discloses forming a surface skin (102) in operative communication with an exterior of the fan exit guide vane (50) proximate the acoustic treatment (Fig. 8 – specifically the core structure, 204).
Regarding claim 20, Foose, as modified, discloses the process of claim 14, wherein Foose (fig. 1-8), as modified, further discloses shaping the acoustic zone (100) to influence acoustic dampening capability (Col. 3, lines 41-57) in the proximity of the fan exit guide vane (50).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/DMC/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745