DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 4/30/2026, with respect to Foose et al. (US 7,980,817; hereinafter Foose) and the combination of Bowden et al. (US 10,399,664; hereinafter Bowden) and Foose not disclosing all the newly claimed limitations have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Bowden, Foose, and Ganiger et al. (US 11,674,399; hereinafter Ganiger).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4,7-9, and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bowden et al. (US 10,399,664; hereinafter Bowden) in view of Foose et al. (US 7,980,817; hereinafter Foose) and Ganiger et al. (US 11,674,399; hereinafter Ganiger).
Regarding claim 1, Bowden (Fig. 1) discloses a swirl recovery vane (31) comprising: a leading edge and a trailing edge opposite chordwise from the leading edge; an attachment region opposite spanwise from a tip region (34); a span dimension extending between the attachment region and the tip region (34); a chord dimension extending between the leading edge and the trailing edge; a pressure side opposite a suction side of the swirl recovery vane (31), wherein the swirl recovery vane (31) is a cantilever supported structure. Refer to Fig. I below.
Fig. I. Bowden, Fig. 1 (Annotated)
Bowden fails to disclose an acoustic zone formed integral with the swirl recovery vane, wherein integral is defined as from a single, continuous material without joints, connections, or assembly of multiple components; and an acoustic treatment formed integral with the acoustic zone, the acoustic treatment configured to dissipate sound energy.
Foose (Fig. 1-8, Col. 3, lines 38-61) teaches an outlet guide vane (50) comprising a cavity (164) on the pressure side (62) of the airfoil (50) filled with a honeycomb acoustic liner (204) and covered by a panel (200) formed with one or more apertures. Fosse (Fig. 8, Col. 3, line 38-61) teaches that the resonators can be tuned to provide acoustic damping at a target operating condition of the engine. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bowden by forming the swirl recovery vane with a cavity on the pressure side of the vane filled with an acoustic liner and covered by a perforated panel, as taught by Foose, in order to provide acoustic damping. The structural region was interpreted as the vane structure surrounding the cavity (164).
Ganiger (Col, 2, lines 61-67, Col. 3, lines 1-9) teaches that airfoils, turbine vanes, and compressor vanes can be formed as a single, monolithic component with unique features, configurations, thicknesses, materials, densities, fluid passageways, headers, and mounting structures via additive manufacturing. By forming the airfoil, turbine vane, or compressor vane as a single, monolithic component, this can simplify the manufacture of the component by reducing the amount of steps, tools, and materials needed to form the component. Since Foose (Col. 3, lines 18-37, 63-65) already teaches securing the acoustic zone and acoustic treatment via means such as adhesive to the vane, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the vane, acoustic zone, and acoustic treatment as a single, monolithic component, as taught by Ganiger in order to produce the expected result of simplifying manufacturing by reducing the number steps, tools, and/or materials needed to manufacture the vane.
Regarding claim 2, Bowden, as modified, discloses the swirl recovery vane according to claim 1, wherein Bowden (Foose: Fig. 1-8), as modified, further discloses that the acoustic zone (area occupied by core 166) is formed in the swirl recovery vane at a predetermined location along the span of the swirl recovery vane.
Regarding claim 3, Bowden, as modified, discloses the swirl recovery vane according to claim 1, wherein Bowden (Foose: Fig. 1-8), as modified, further discloses that the acoustic zone (area occupied by core 166) is located on the pressure side of the swirl recovery vane.
Regarding claim 4, Bowden, as modified, discloses the swirl recovery vane according to claim 1, wherein Bowden (Foose: Fig. 1-8), as modified, further discloses that the acoustic zone (area occupied by core 166) extends at least one of spanwise through the swirl recovery vane between the attachment region and the tip region or chordwise between the leading edge and the trailing edge.
Regarding claim 7, Bowden, as modified, discloses the swirl recovery vane according to claim 1, wherein Bowden (Foose: Fig. 1-8), as modified, further discloses that the acoustic zone (area occupied by core 166) is located adjacent a structural region.
Regarding claim 8, Bowden (Fig. 1) discloses a gas turbine engine (10) with a swirl recovery vane (31) comprising: a propulsor rotor (21) located within an open environment; an array of swirl recovery vanes (31) supported downstream from the propulsor rotor (21), the array of swirl recovery vanes (31) attached to a nacelle flow surface (41); a swirl recovery vane (31) of the array of swirl recovery vanes (31) comprising: a leading edge and a trailing edge opposite chordwise from the leading edge; an attachment region opposite spanwise from a tip region (34); a span dimension extending between the attachment region and the tip region (34); a chord dimension extending between the leading edge and the trailing edge; a pressure side opposite a suction side of the swirl recovery vane (31). Refer to Fig. I above.
Bowden fails to disclose that the swirl recovery vane includes acoustic treatment and an acoustic zone integrally formed within the swirl recovery vane, the acoustic treatment is formed integral with the acoustic zone, wherein integral is defined as from a single, continuous material without joints, connections, or assembly of multiple components, and the acoustic treatment is configured to dissipate sound energy; and a structural region adjacent the acoustic zone.
Foose (Fig. 1-8; Col. 3, lines 38-61) teaches an outlet guide vane (50) comprising a cavity (164) on the pressure side (62) of the airfoil (50) filled with a honeycomb acoustic liner (204) and covered by a panel (200) formed with one or more apertures. Foose (Fig. 8; Col. 3, lines 38-61) teaches that the combination of the acoustic liner and apertured panel can act as Helmoholtz resonators as air flows over the panel (200). Foose (Col. 3, lines 38-61) teaches that the resonators can be tuned to provide acoustic damping at a target operating condition of the engine. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bowden by forming the swirl recovery vane with a cavity on the pressure side of the vane filled with an acoustic liner and covered by a perforated panel, as taught by Foose, in order to provide acoustic damping.
Ganiger (Col, 2, lines 61-67, Col. 3, lines 1-9) teaches that airfoils, turbine vanes, and compressor vanes can be formed as a single, monolithic component with unique features, configurations, thicknesses, materials, densities, fluid passageways, headers, and mounting structures via additive manufacturing. By forming the airfoil, turbine vane, or compressor vane as a single, monolithic component, this can simplify the manufacture of the component by reducing the amount of steps, tools, and materials needed to form the component. Since Foose (Col. 3, lines 18-37, 63-65) already teaches securing the acoustic zone and acoustic treatment via means such as adhesive to the vane, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the vane, acoustic zone, and acoustic treatment as a single, monolithic component, as taught by Ganiger in order to produce the expected result of simplifying manufacturing by reducing the number steps, tools, and/or materials needed to manufacture the vane.
Regarding claim 9, Bowden, as modified, discloses the gas turbine engine with a swirl recovery vane with acoustic treatment according to claim 8, wherein Bowden (Foose: Fig. 2 and 4-7), as modified, further discloses that the acoustic zone (Foose: 100) is formed in the swirl recovery vane (referring to Foose Fig. 2 and 4-7 as to how the acoustic zone is positioned along the span of the vane) at a predetermined location along the span of the swirl recovery vane.
Regarding claim 11, Bowden, as modified, discloses the gas turbine engine with a swirl recovery vane with acoustic treatment according to claim 8, wherein Bowden (Foose: Fig. 5 and 7), as modified, further discloses that the acoustic zone (Foose: area occupied by core 166) is located on the pressure side (Foose: Fig. 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 12, Bowden, as modified, discloses the gas turbine engine with a swirl recovery vane with acoustic treatment according to claim 8, wherein Bowden (Foose: Fig. 2 and 4-8), as modified, further discloses a surface skin (Foose: 200) in operative communication with the acoustic zone (Foose: area occupied by core 166) and the acoustic treatment (Foose: Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 13, Bowden, as modified, discloses the gas turbine engine with a swirl recovery vane with acoustic treatment according to claim 8, wherein Bowden (Foose: Fig. 2-8), as modified, further discloses that the acoustic zone (Foose: area occupied by core 166) extends at least one of spanwise (Foose: shown best in Fig. 2 and 4) through the swirl recovery vane (Bowden: 31) between the attachment region and the tip region (34) or chordwise between the leading edge and the trailing edge. Refer to Fig. I above.
Regarding claim 14, Bowden (Fig. 1) discloses a process for creating a swirl recovery vane (31) comprising: supporting an array of swirl recovery vanes (31) downstream from a location associated with a propulsor rotor (21) in an open environment; attaching the array of swirl recovery vanes (31) to a nacelle flow surface (41) by coupling an attachment region of a swirl recovery vane (31) of the array of swirl recovery vanes (31) in operative communication with the nacelle flow surface (41). Refer to Fig. I above.
Bowden fails to disclose forming an acoustic zone integral with the swirl recovery vanes utilizing additive manufacturing techniques, wherein integral is defined as from a single, continuous material without joints, connections, or assembly of multiple components; forming the acoustic treatment integrally with the acoustic zone; and forming a structural region adjacent the acoustic zone.
Foose (Fig. 1-8; Col. 3, lines 38-61) teaches an outlet guide vane (50) comprising a cavity (164) on the pressure side (62) of the airfoil (50) filled with a honeycomb acoustic liner (204) and covered by a panel (200) formed with one or more apertures. Foose (Fig. 8; Col. 3, lines 38-61) teaches that the combination of the acoustic liner and apertured panel can act as Helmoholtz resonators as air flows over the panel (200). Foose (Col. 3, lines 38-61) teaches that the resonators can be tuned to provide acoustic damping at a target operating condition of the engine. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bowden by forming the swirl recovery vane with a cavity on the pressure side of the vane filled with an acoustic liner and covered by a perforated panel, as taught by Foose, in order to provide acoustic damping. The structural region was interpreted as the vane structure surrounding the cavity (164).
Ganiger (Col. 3, lines 3-6) teaches that additive manufacturing can be used in the production of airfoils, turbine vanes, and compressor vanes, and fan blades. Ganiger (Col. 3, lines 6-9) teaches that additive manufacturing allows for the creation of unique features, configurations, thicknesses, materials, densities, fluid passageways, headers, and mounting structures that may not have been possible or practical using prior manufacturing methods. Ganiger (Col. 2, lines 4-7) teaches that additive manufacturing allows such components to be formed as a single, monolithic component. Since Foose (Col. 3, lines 18-37, 63-65) already teaches securing the acoustic zone and acoustic treatment via means such as adhesive to the vane, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the vane, acoustic zone, and acoustic treatment via additive manufacturing, as taught by Ganiger in order to simplify manufacturing by forming the vane as one piece.
Regarding claim 15, Bowden, as modified, discloses the process of claim 14, wherein Bowden (Bowden: Fig. 1; Foose: Fig. 2 and 4-7), as modified, further discloses forming the acoustic zone (Foose: area occupied by core 166) in the swirl recovery vane (31) at a predetermined location of the swirl recovery vane (31).
Regarding claim 16, Bowden, as modified, discloses the process of claim 14, wherein Bowden, as modified, further discloses configuring the acoustic treatment (Foose: Fig. 8) to dissipate sound energy (Foose: Col. 3, lines 38-61).
Regarding claim 17, Bowden, as modified, discloses the process of claim 14, wherein Bowden (Foose: Fig. 5 and 7), as modified, further discloses locating the acoustic zone (Foose: area occupied by core 166) on a pressure side (shown in Fig. 5 and 7 of Foose) of the swirl recovery vane (31).
Regarding claim 18, Bowden, as modified, discloses the process of claim 14, wherein Bowden (Foose: Fig. 2 and 4-7), as modified, further discloses configuring the acoustic zone (Foose: area occupied by core 166) extending at least one of spanwise through the swirl recovery vane (31) between the attachment region and the tip region (34) or chordwise between a leading edge and a trailing edge of the swirl recovery vane (31). Refer to Fig. I above.
Regarding claim 19, Bowden, as modified, discloses the process of claim 14, wherein Bowden (Foose: Fig. 5-8), as modified, further discloses forming a surface skin (Foose: 200) in operative communication with an exterior of the swirl recovery vanes (31) proximate the acoustic treatment (Fig. 8).
Regarding claim 20, Bowden, as modified, discloses the process of claim 14, wherein Bowden (Foose: Fig. 8), as modified, further discloses shaping the acoustic zone (Foose: area occupied by core 166) to influence acoustic dampening capability (Foose: Col. 3, lines 38-61) in the proximity of the swirl recovery vane (31).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/DMC/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745