DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending and are examined on the merits herein. This action is made non-final.
Claim numbering. The claim listing restarts its numbering at "1" following claim 11. For purposes of this action, the claims presented after claim 11 are treated as claims 12-20 in the order presented, such that the claim reciting "A pluggable module cage assembly, the cage assembly comprising: a cage configured to receive a pluggable module; ... a pedestal; and a spring-loaded retainer" is treated as claim 15. Applicant is required to renumber the claims consecutively in the next reply. See the objection below.
Claim Objections
Claims 12-20 are objected to because of the following informality: the claims are misnumbered, the numbering restarting at "1" after claim 11. Claims must be numbered consecutively in Arabic numerals. See 37 CFR 1.126. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 3 and 4 are objected to because of the following informality: each recites "the lifting mechanism," whereas claim 1 recites "a module lifting mechanism." The intended antecedent is ascertainable, and the claims are examined as understood; nevertheless, consistent terminology is required. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 9, 14, and 20 are objected to because of the following informality: each recites "the heat dissipating element," whereas the corresponding independent claim recites "a heat dissipation element." The intended antecedent is ascertainable, and the claims are examined as understood. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 16-20 are objected to because of the following informality: each recites "The pluggable module cage assembly in claim 15," which should read "The pluggable module cage assembly of claim 15." Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2111.
"lifting mechanism." Claim 1 recites "a module lifting mechanism." Applicant's own dependent claims define the term: claim 3 recites that the lifting mechanism "comprises a plurality of spring clips," and claim 4 recites that it "comprises a pedestal and a spring-loaded retainer." Consistent with this drafting, and with the specification's statement that the lifting mechanism includes spring-loaded and slider-activated variations, the term is construed to encompass any resilient or displaceable structure that moves an inserted pluggable module toward the heat dissipation element. The term is a structural recitation and does not invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f); no "means" language is used and the claim recites structure for performing the recited movement. See MPEP 2181.
"fixedly attached" and "substantially immobile relative to the cage." In light of applicant's specification, which states that any suitable method of attachment may be used, including gluing, spot welding, screw-mounting, riveting, and crimping, and which further describes attachment of the heat dissipation element to the host printed circuit board as an alternative, these terms are construed to require only that the heat dissipation element not be displaced relative to the cage when a pluggable module is inserted. Neither term requires a particular fastener, and neither excludes an element that is formed integrally with the cage or that constitutes a wall of the cage.
"a first side of the cage." Claim 9 recites that "the first side of the cage comprises the heat dissipating element itself." Applicant's own drafting therefore contemplates that a heat dissipation element may constitute the first side to which it is attached, and the term "attached to a first side" is construed accordingly to encompass both attachment to a separate wall and a heat dissipation element that forms that wall.
"configured to" recitations. Recitations such as "a cage configured to receive a pluggable module" recite a capability of the claimed structure. A prior art structure that is capable of performing the recited function meets such a limitation. See MPEP 2114.
The "wherein, upon insertion" clauses. The wherein clauses of claims 1, 10, and 15 recite the operation of the recited lifting mechanism, spring clips, or pedestal upon insertion of a pluggable module. These clauses are given patentable weight as supplying meaning and purpose to the recited structure, and are addressed on the merits below. See MPEP 2111.04. No pluggable module is positively recited as an element of any claim; the pluggable module is recited in terms of the use to which the claimed cage assembly is put.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 102
Rejection of Claims 1-3, 8, 10, 11, and 13 over Van Gaal
Claims 1-3, 8, 10, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Van Gaal (US 9,851,519 B1).
Van Gaal issued December 26, 2017, more than one year before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and is prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
Claim 1.
Van Gaal discloses a pluggable module cage assembly in a network device (optic module cage assembly 10 for an optic shelf or rack, FIGS. 1-2, col. 4, ll. 51-53), the cage assembly comprising:
a cage configured to receive a pluggable module (optic module cage body 16 configured to selectively receive and retain an optic module, FIG. 1, col. 4, ll. 51-56);
a heat dissipation element fixedly attached to a first side of the cage, wherein the heat dissipation element is substantially immobile relative to the cage (stationary heatsink 12 "bonded or otherwise fixedly attached to the optic module cage body 16," FIG. 1, col. 4, ll. 54-56);
at least a portion of the heat dissipation element exposed to an interior volume of the cage through the first side of the cage (a portion of stationary heatsink 12 protrudes through cage body 16 and makes direct physical contact with the inserted optic module, FIG. 1, col. 4, ll. 56-59); and
a module lifting mechanism disposed at a second side of the cage opposite the heat dissipation element (one or more internal spring members 18 disposed on the cage wall opposite stationary heatsink 12, FIG. 1, col. 4, ll. 59-62);
wherein, upon insertion of a pluggable module into the cage, the module lifting mechanism engages the pluggable module and moves the pluggable module toward the heat dissipation element (internal spring members 18 "serve to bias the inserted optic module into secure contact with the protruding portion of the stationary heatsink 12," FIG. 1, col. 4, ll. 59-62).
Claim 2.
Van Gaal discloses that the lifting mechanism presses the module against the exposed portion to make thermal contact: internal spring members 18 bias the inserted optic module into secure contact with the protruding portion of stationary heatsink 12, which makes direct physical contact with the module for cooling (col. 4, ll. 56-62).
Claim 3.
Van Gaal discloses a plurality of spring clips disposed at the second side of the cage that protrude into the interior volume of the cage and that engage the pluggable module by exerting a pushing force that moves the module toward the heat dissipation element (a plurality of internal spring members 18 within cage body 16, shown in FIG. 1 protruding into the cage interior from the wall opposite stationary heatsink 12, which bias the inserted optic module into secure contact with the heatsink, col. 4, ll. 59-62). See the Claim Interpretation section above regarding "lifting mechanism."
Claim 8.
Van Gaal discloses that the first side of the cage has an opening through which the portion of the heat dissipation element is exposed to the interior volume: a portion of stationary heatsink 12 "protrudes through the optic module cage body 16" to contact the inserted module (FIG. 1, col. 4, ll. 56-59).
Claim 10.
Van Gaal discloses a pluggable module cage assembly comprising a cage, a heat dissipation element fixedly attached to a first side of the cage and substantially immobile relative to the cage with a portion exposed to the interior volume through the first side, and a plurality of spring clips disposed at a second side of the cage opposite the first side that protrude into the interior volume of the cage, wherein upon insertion the spring clips engage the pluggable module by exerting a pushing force that moves the pluggable module toward the heat dissipation element, for the reasons and with the pinpoint citations given for claims 1 and 3 above (FIG. 1, col. 4, ll. 51-62).
Claim 11.
Van Gaal discloses that the spring clips press the pluggable module against the exposed portion of the heat dissipation element to make thermal contact, for the reasons given for claim 2 above (col. 4, ll. 56-62).
Claim 13.
Van Gaal discloses that the first side of the cage has an opening through which the portion of the heat dissipation element is exposed, for the reasons given for claim 8 above (col. 4, ll. 56-59).
Rejection of Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 10-13 over Guetig
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Guetig et al. (US 2022/0013960 A1).
Guetig published January 13, 2022, more than one year before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and is prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
Claim 1.
Guetig discloses a pluggable module cage assembly in a network device (cage assembly for transceivers on a line card of rack-mountable equipment, FIGS. 8-10, 17), the cage assembly comprising:
a cage configured to receive a pluggable module (cage 830 having opposed top and bottom walls and first and second side walls, sized to receive a transceiver, FIGS. 10-11, paragraph 0073);
a heat dissipation element fixedly attached to a first side of the cage, substantially immobile relative to the cage (heat exchanger fixed to the top wall of the cage, paragraph 0015; heat exchanger 1750 attached to cage assembly 1730, FIG. 17, paragraph 0082; "the top of the cage and a bottom surface of the heat exchanger are both static or fixed," paragraph 0091);
at least a portion of the heat dissipation element exposed to an interior volume of the cage through the first side of the cage (heat exchanger 1750 includes a protruding portion that protrudes into an opening in the top of cage 1735 and contacts the top of the transceiver housing 1760, FIG. 17, paragraph 0082; top wall opening receiving a portion of the heat exchanger, paragraph 0073); and
a module lifting mechanism disposed at a second side of the cage opposite the heat dissipation element (arms 890 extending from the bottom wall of cage 830, FIG. 10, paragraphs 0072-0073);
wherein, upon insertion of a pluggable module into the cage, the module lifting mechanism engages the pluggable module and moves the pluggable module toward the heat dissipation element (arms 890 "elastically deform when a transceiver is inserted into the cage 830, providing a spring force against the bottom of the transceiver," forcing the transceiver upward toward the top wall and the heat exchanger, paragraphs 0072-0073).
Claim 2.
Guetig discloses that the lifting mechanism presses the pluggable module against the exposed portion to make thermal contact: the normal force presses the top of the transceiver housing against the bottom of the heat exchanger, "providing a continuous conductive heat transfer path for heat flow from the transceiver housing to the heat exchanger" (paragraphs 0072, 0101).
Claim 3.
Guetig discloses a plurality of spring clips disposed at the second side of the cage that protrude into the interior volume and exert a pushing force that moves the module toward the heat dissipation element (a plurality of arms 890 extending from the bottom wall into the cage interior, six arms in three rows of two being shown, which elastically deform against the bottom of the transceiver and force it upward, FIG. 10, paragraphs 0072-0074). See the Claim Interpretation section above regarding "lifting mechanism."
Claim 6.
Guetig discloses that the heat dissipation element is a liquid cold plate: "the heat exchanger can be a cold plate that uses a cooling fluid, such as water, to remove heat" (paragraph 0101).
Claim 8.
Guetig discloses that the first side of the cage has an opening through which the portion of the heat dissipation element is exposed to the interior volume (the top wall includes an opening that receives a portion of the heat exchanger, paragraph 0073; the heatsink is inserted into the opening in the top wall, "which allows direct mechanical contact between the transceiver housing and the heatsink," paragraph 0107).
Claims 10 and 11.
Guetig discloses the cage assembly of claim 10, including a plurality of spring clips disposed at a second side of the cage opposite the first side that protrude into the interior volume and, upon insertion, exert a pushing force moving the pluggable module toward the heat dissipation element, and discloses that those clips press the module against the exposed portion to make thermal contact as recited in claim 11, for the reasons and with the pinpoint citations given for claims 1-3 above (FIG. 10, paragraphs 0072-0073, 0101).
Claim 12.
Guetig discloses that the heat dissipation element is a liquid cold plate, for the reasons given for claim 6 above (paragraph 0101).
Claim 13.
Guetig discloses that the first side of the cage has an opening through which the portion of the heat dissipation element is exposed, for the reasons given for claim 8 above (paragraphs 0073, 0107).
Rejection of Claims 1-3, 7, 9-11, and 14 over Ice
Claims 1-3, 7, 9-11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ice (US 2004/0027816 A1).
Ice published February 12, 2004, more than one year before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and is prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
Claim 1.
Ice discloses a pluggable module cage assembly in a network device (heat sink and module cage assembly mounted on a printed circuit board of a host device such as a network switch or router, FIGS. 1-3, paragraphs 0022, 0029), the cage assembly comprising:
a cage configured to receive a pluggable module (module cage 4 having sleeve 40 defining opening 6 of a chamber configured to receive a pluggable electronic module 8, FIG. 1, paragraph 0029);
a heat dissipation element fixedly attached to a first side of the cage, wherein the heat dissipation element is substantially immobile relative to the cage (heat sink 2 attached to module cage 4 by pins 22 received in holes 20, snap fitted during the fabrication process such that the connection "does not require later manipulation by the user, nor will the heat sink 2 become unintentionally detached," FIGS. 3-4, paragraph 0034; heat sink 2 mechanically ties the two lateral sidewalls in substantially fixed positions, paragraph 0030);
at least a portion of the heat dissipation element exposed to an interior volume of the cage through the first side of the cage (heat sink 2 forms one of the four sidewalls of the assembly, its smooth bottom surface 14 bounding and exposed to the chamber for contact with the top surface 16 of the module, FIGS. 1, 4, paragraphs 0030-0031); and
a module lifting mechanism disposed at a second side of the cage opposite the heat dissipation element (one or more leaf springs 10 formed in the bottom side wall 12 of module cage 4, positioned opposite the top side wall at which heat sink 2 is located, FIGS. 2-3, paragraphs 0032-0033);
wherein, upon insertion of a pluggable module into the cage, the module lifting mechanism engages the pluggable module and moves the pluggable module toward the heat dissipation element (upon receipt of module 8, leaf springs 10 and the module mechanically interfere and the springs are displaced, exerting a counteracting force that "biases the electronic module 8 against bottom surface 14 of the heat sink 2," paragraph 0032).
Claim 2.
Ice discloses that the lifting mechanism presses the module against the exposed portion of the heat dissipation element to make thermal contact: leaf springs 10 bias module 8 against bottom surface 14 of heat sink 2 so that the module "is positioned in close contact with heat sink 2 rather than residing loosely within the module cage assembly," the smooth contacting surfaces enhancing the conductivity of the interface (paragraphs 0031-0032).
Claim 3.
Ice discloses a plurality of spring clips disposed at the second side of the cage that protrude into the interior volume of the cage and that engage the module by exerting a pushing force moving it toward the heat dissipation element (three leaf springs 10 formed in the bottom side wall 12 of module cage 4, which are "displaced away from the chamber of the module cage assembly" by the inserted module and thereby exert a counteracting force against it, FIGS. 2-3, paragraphs 0032-0033). See the Claim Interpretation section above regarding "lifting mechanism."
Claim 7.
Ice discloses that the heat dissipation element is an air cooled element comprising a base plate and heat dissipation fins: heat sink 2 has a smooth bottom surface 14 that contacts the module, and "the opposite surface of heat sink 2 that is in contact with the atmosphere can have a set of fins or other structures that are known in the art for increasing the effective surface area of the heat sink and to thereby enhance the conductive and convective transfer of heat into the atmosphere" (FIG. 4, paragraph 0031).
Claim 9.
Ice discloses that the first side of the cage comprises the heat dissipating element itself: heat sink 2 "forms one of the four sidewalls of the module cage assembly, with the other three of the four sidewalls being provided by module cage 4," and the chamber that receives the module is formed by those four sidewalls (FIG. 1, paragraphs 0029-0030). See the Claim Interpretation section above regarding "a first side of the cage."
Claims 10 and 11.
Ice discloses the cage assembly of claim 10, including a plurality of spring clips disposed at a second side of the cage opposite the first side that protrude into the interior volume and, upon insertion, exert a pushing force moving the pluggable module toward the heat dissipation element, and discloses that those clips press the module against the exposed portion to make thermal contact as recited in claim 11, for the reasons and with the pinpoint citations given for claims 1-3 above (FIGS. 2-3, paragraphs 0030-0033).
Claim 14.
Ice discloses that the first side of the cage comprises the heat dissipating element itself, for the reasons given for claim 9 above (paragraphs 0029-0030).
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 103
Rejection of Claims 4, 5, 15-17, and 19 over Van Gaal in view of Bright
Claims 4, 5, 15-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Gaal (US 9,851,519 B1) in view of Bright et al. (US 2003/0161108 A1).
Bright published August 28, 2003, more than one year before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and is prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1).
Claim 15.
Van Gaal discloses a pluggable module cage assembly comprising:
a cage configured to receive a pluggable module (optic module cage body 16, FIG. 2, col. 5, ll. 19-22);
a heat dissipation element fixedly attached to a first side of the cage, substantially immobile relative to the cage, at least a portion exposed to an interior volume of the cage through the first side (stationary heatsink 12 "bonded or otherwise fixedly attached to the optic module cage body 16," a portion of which "protrudes through the optic module cage body 16 such that it selectively makes direct physical contact with an inserted optic module," FIG. 2, col. 5, ll. 22-27);
a pedestal having a portion extending into the interior volume of the cage through an opening formed through the second side of the cage, the second side being opposite the first side (floating heatsink 22 "disposed opposite the stationary heatsink 12," which "includes a portion that protrudes through the optic module cage body 16 such that it selectively makes direct physical contact with the inserted optic module opposite the stationary heatsink 12," FIG. 2, col. 5, ll. 27-32); and
wherein, upon insertion of a pluggable module into the cage, the pedestal engages with the pluggable module and exerts a pushing force on the pluggable module which moves the pluggable module toward the heat dissipation element (floating heatsink 22 "is spring loaded or the like such that it serves to bias the inserted optic module into secure contact with the protruding portion of the stationary heatsink 12," FIG. 2, col. 5, ll. 32-35).
Van Gaal does not expressly disclose a spring-loaded retainer that supports the pedestal at the second side of the cage, the pedestal engaging the module by virtue of the spring-loaded retainer exerting a pushing force on the pedestal. Van Gaal states only that the floating heatsink is "spring loaded or the like," and further states that a variety of materials and similar configurations of spring members may be used as appropriate (col. 5, ll. 6-9, ll. 32-35).
Bright discloses such a retainer. A clip 152 is mounted over a heat sink 150 that is seated in an opening 194 formed through a wall of the cage, the heat sink having an engagement surface 162 stepped relative to its peripheral surface 160 so as to extend through the opening and into the interior cavity 138 of the cage to abut the module (FIGS. 1-2, paragraphs 0039, 0041). Clip 152 is secured to the cage by retention tabs 154 formed on the cage side walls, and includes resilient spring members 155 that extend over the heat sink; the spring members "flex to permit the heat sink 150 to move outward away from the guide frame 122 when the module assembly 102 is installed" and "exert a desired force against the heat sink 150 to maintain a desired abutting interface to facilitate thermal transfer" (FIG. 7, paragraph 0040).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to support and spring-load Van Gaal's floating heatsink 22 with a clip and resilient spring members secured to the cage as taught by Bright. Van Gaal expressly leaves the spring loading of the floating heatsink to known configurations of spring members (col. 5, ll. 6-9, ll. 32-35), and Bright teaches that such a clip both retains the heat sink on the cage and exerts the force needed "to maintain a desired abutting interface to facilitate thermal transfer and heat dissipation from the module assembly" (paragraph 0040), which is the same result Van Gaal seeks from the floating heatsink.
Claim 4.
The combination of Van Gaal and Bright renders obvious a lifting mechanism comprising a pedestal and a spring-loaded retainer, with the second side of the cage having an opening therethrough and the spring-loaded retainer supporting the pedestal such that a portion of the pedestal extends into the interior volume, for the reasons and with the pinpoint citations given for claim 15 above.
Claims 5 and 17.
Each of claims 5 and 17 further recites that the pedestal includes a plurality of heat dissipation fins formed on an exterior side of the pedestal. Bright discloses that the heat sink retained by clip 152 includes heat transfer pins 302 arranged in rows and columns and extending upwardly from a generally rectangular base 304, on the side opposite the module, and that "other shapes and configurations of pins 302, fins and/or bases 304 may be employed" (FIG. 8, paragraphs 0057-0058). It would have been obvious to provide the pedestal of the Van Gaal and Bright combination with such fins on its exterior side, because Bright's fins and pins increase the surface area of the retained heat sink available for transferring heat to the surrounding air, and Van Gaal's floating heatsink is itself a heat-dissipating body.
Claim 16.
The combination renders obvious that the pedestal presses the pluggable module against the exposed portion of the heat dissipation element to make thermal contact, for the reasons given for claim 15 above: Van Gaal's floating heatsink 22 biases the inserted module into secure contact with the protruding portion of stationary heatsink 12 (col. 5, ll. 32-35).
Claim 19.
The combination renders obvious that the first side of the cage has an opening through which the portion of the heat dissipation element is exposed to the interior volume: a portion of Van Gaal's stationary heatsink 12 protrudes through the optic module cage body 16 to contact the inserted module (col. 5, ll. 22-27).
Rejection of Claim 18 over Van Gaal, Bright, and Guetig
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Gaal in view of Bright, and further in view of Guetig et al. (US 2022/0013960 A1).
The combination of Van Gaal and Bright renders obvious the cage assembly of claim 15 for the reasons given above. Claim 18 further recites that the heat dissipation element is a liquid cold plate.
Van Gaal teaches that its stationary heatsink may be thermally coupled to a unified heat pipe, an integrated fan, or a thermoelectric cooler in order to cool downstream modules subjected to compounded heating (col. 4, ll. 42-50), but does not expressly recite a liquid cold plate. Guetig teaches that the heat exchanger fixed to the top wall of a pluggable transceiver cage "can be a cold plate that uses a cooling fluid, such as water, to remove heat," as an alternative to convective air flowing past an array of fins (paragraph 0101), and that a shared liquid-cooled heat exchanger can be implemented "with only two connections, i.e., one input connection and one output connection" (paragraph 0089).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the stationary heat dissipation element of the Van Gaal and Bright combination as a liquid cold plate as taught by Guetig, in order to obtain the greater heat removal capacity Guetig attributes to active liquid cooling while reducing the number of cooling connections required (paragraphs 0089, 0101).
Rejection of Claim 20 over Van Gaal, Bright, and Ice
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Van Gaal in view of Bright, and further in view of Ice (US 2004/0027816 A1).
The combination of Van Gaal and Bright renders obvious the cage assembly of claim 15 for the reasons given above. Claim 20 further recites that the first side of the cage comprises the heat dissipating element itself.
Van Gaal discloses that its stationary heatsink is fixedly attached to the cage body and that a portion of it protrudes through that body into contact with the module (col. 5, ll. 22-27), and further discloses an embodiment in which the stationary heatsink is in thermal communication with the module through the intervening wall of the cage body (col. 6, ll. 41-47). Ice teaches that the heat sink of a pluggable module cage assembly may itself form one of the four sidewalls of the chamber that receives the module, the other three being provided by the cage body, and teaches that this arrangement preserves the space within the cage for the module and its components and mechanically ties the two lateral sidewalls of the stamped cage in fixed positions, providing structural stability and a simpler fabrication process (FIG. 1, paragraphs 0028-0030).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the first side of the cage of the Van Gaal and Bright combination as the heat dissipation element itself, as taught by Ice, in order to preserve interior space for the pluggable module and to obtain the structural stability and simplified fabrication that Ice attributes to the arrangement (paragraphs 0028, 0030).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2021/0382252 – cooling multiple high-density network pluggable optical modules
US 2022/0216632 – receptacle cage for a receptacle connector assembly
/ZHENGFU J FENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835 September 18, 2026