DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 10/31/2024 and 06/10/2026 has been acknowledged and a signed copy of the PTO-1449 is attached herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 3, 4, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 3 and 7 recite “the size or shape different from the side or shape of the other of the recessed portions”
“the side” lacks antecedent basis. For examination purposes, “the side or shape” is interpreted as “the size or shape.”
“the other of the recessed portions” in unclear. The claim earlier recites “ones thereof”(plural) in the vicinity of the non-roughened region, so it is not clear whether “the other” refers to a single remaining recessed portion or to all remaining recessed portions. For examination purposes, it is interpreted as “others of the recessed portions.”
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected by virtue of dependence on rejected claims 3 and 7, respectively, and failing cure their deficiencies.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saito et al. (US WO 2022/004758 A1, its equivalent US PG PUB 2022/0278039 A1 is used for the rejection(s) below, hereinafter “Saito”).
In regards to claim 1, Saito discloses (See, for example, Figs. 1-4) a semiconductor module (100) comprising:
a stacked substrate, including: an insulating plate (26), and a plurality of circuit boards (160) formed on an upper surface of the insulating plate (26/26A/26B);
a semiconductor element (40) formed on an upper surface of one of the plurality of circuit boards (160/26A); and
a metal wiring board (50) formed on an upper surface of the semiconductor element (40),
wherein the metal wiring board (50) has a bonding portion bonded to the upper surface of the semiconductor element (40) via a bonding material (32),
the bonding portion (52) includes a plate-shaped portion having an upper surface and a lower surface (See, for example, Fig. 3),
the plate-shaped portion includes a roughened region (51, See Fig. 4) in which a plurality of recessed portions (See Par [0115], 210 in Figs. 25) are formed on the upper surface of the plate-shaped portion, and
the plurality of recessed portions (See Par [0115]; See also 210-1 and 210-2) include a
plurality of kinds of recessed portions, each kind differing in at least one of a size, a shape, and a
depth of the recessed portions therein from another kind different from said each kind (See, Pars [0114]-[0115], [0124]-[0131]; concave portions 210-1 and 210-2 formed in the upper surface
64, wherein depth D2 of concave portion 210-2 is smaller than depth D1 of concave portion
210-1, See Par [0213]).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saito.
In regards to claim 2, Saito discloses all limitations of claim 1 above except that wherein said each kind further differs from said another kind in an interval between adjacent two of the recessed portions within said each kind.
However, Saito’s current embodiment fails to teach that wherein said each kind further differs from said another kind in an interval between adjacent two of the recessed portions within said each kind.
Saito’s other embodiment teaches (See, for example, Figs. 44-45) said each kind further differs from said another kind in an interval between adjacent two of the recessed portions within said each kind (interval PY in the lateral direction is smaller than interval PZ in the height direction; See Fig. 44 and Par [0221]; interval PZ1 near upper surface 64 is smaller than interval PZ2 near lower surface 62; Fig. 45, See Par [0223]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply Saito’s variable-interval arrangement to the concave portions of differing depth on the upper surface because this would help us set recess density by region for resin adhesion and solder inhibition.
In regards to claim 3, Saito teaches all limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the plate-shaped portion further includes a non-roughened region (212, “flat portion” See Par [0220]) in which the upper surface of the plate-shaped portion is substantially flat (See, for example, Fig. 44).
Saito’s another configuration teaches and the recessed portions are so arranged that ones thereof in a vicinity of the non-roughened region have the size or shape different from the side or shape of the other of the recessed portions (See, for example, Figs. 32-37; Pars [0201]-[0214]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to arrange Saito’s concave portions so that those adjacent to the non-roughened interior region differ in size or shape from others. This is the predictable result of Saito’s own position dependent oblique irradiation, and Saito explicitly teaches that the shape and size of the concave portions may differ.
In regards to claim 4, Saito discloses all limitations of claim 1 above except that wherein the plate-shaped portion has, in the non-roughened region, a through hole penetrating through the plate-shaped portion.
However, Saito’s other configuration teaches the plate-shaped portion has, in the non-roughened region, a through hole (74) penetrating through the plate-shaped portion (“Note the opening 74 …may be provided in …chip connecting portion 52 and the circuit pattern connecting portion 56.” See Par [0107]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to place the opening in the chip connecting portion because this would help reliably distributed above and below the lead frame.
In regards to claim 7, Saito teaches all limitations of claim 1 above and further teaches that the plate-shaped portion further includes a non-roughened region (212, “flat portion” See Par [0220]) in which the upper surface of the plate-shaped portion is substantially flat (See, for example, Fig. 44).
Saito’s another configuration teaches and the recessed portions are so arranged that ones thereof in a vicinity of the non-roughened region have the size or shape different from the side or shape of the other of the recessed portions (See, for example, Figs. 32-37; Pars [0201]-[0214]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to arrange Saito’s concave portions so that those adjacent to the non-roughened interior region differ in size or shape from others. This is the predictable result of Saito’s own position dependent oblique irradiation, and Saito explicitly teaches that the shape and size of the concave portions may differ.
In regards to claim 8, Saito discloses all limitations of claim 1 above except that wherein the plate-shaped portion has, in the non-roughened region, a through hole penetrating through the plate-shaped portion.
However, Saito’s other configuration teaches the plate-shaped portion has, in the non-roughened region, a through hole (74) penetrating through the plate-shaped portion (“Note the opening 74 …may be provided in …chip connecting portion 52 and the circuit pattern connecting portion 56.” See Par [0107]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to place the opening in the chip connecting portion because this would help reliably distributed above and below the lead frame.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Correspondence
/ERMIAS T WOLDEGEORGIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893