DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Election/Restrictions
This application contains claims directed to the following patentably distinct species.
Species 1. Drawn to airborne agent sensor devices include a microelectromechanical chip, having a conductive trace configured to heat the adsorbent material to cause the adsorbent material to release accumulated ambient chemical agent molecules into the agent sensor.
Species 2. Drawn to airborne agent sensor devices include a laser device, configured to shine through a focusing element onto an adsorbent material to cause the adsorbent material to release accumulated chemical agent molecules into the sensor assembly.
Species 3. Drawn to airborne agent sensor devices include an array of ultraviolet lights adapted to shine onto an adsorbent material to cause the adsorbent material to release accumulated chemical agent molecules into the sensor assembly.
Species 4. Drawn to airborne agent sensor devices include a micro-coil adapted to heat the adsorbent material to cause the adsorbent material to release accumulated chemical agent molecules into the sensor assembly.
The species are independent or distinct because the claims to the different species recite the mutually exclusive characteristics of such species. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record.
Upon the allowance of a generic claim, applicant will be entitled to consideration of claims to additional species which depend from or otherwise require all the limitations of an allowable generic claim as provided by 37 CFR 1.141.
During a telephone conversation with Applicant’s representative Mr. Charles Fredericks, Rej. No.51703, on 10/21/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of species 1, claim 18. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 19-21 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-6, 10,12,15 and 17 are objected.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informality: in the last line, the phrase “the second opening is circumferentially offset from the second opening” should read “the second opening is circumferentially offset from the first opening.”
Claim 5: “to cause deployment assembly to switch” should read “to cause the deployment assembly to switch.”
Claim 10: “or one the second plurality” should read “or one of the second plurality.”
Claim 12 recites that the deployment assembly includes the first and second conductive rods. However, the specification describes rods 156B as part of charging assembly 156 of storage assembly 150, which can be removed before the storage assembly is installed on the deployment assembly (see PG-PUB: ¶0108, 0117). The claim should be amended to be consistent with the specification.
Claim 15: “each removable storage assembly” lacks “sensor,” which is inconsistent with “removable sensor storage assemblies” in claim 13.
Claim 17: “configured to be removable secured” should read “removably secured.”
Appropriate action is required.
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Husain US20190082015A1 in view of Woodland, US6056237A and Rivers US20050127242A1.
Claim 2
Husain in e.g., fig.16 teaches:
A portable sensor system configured to be removably secured to a vehicle 1601 (¶0096: latch/EED mount), the portable sensor system comprising:
a first plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices (1609-1613, 104, 107, 110, 113, 116, 105, 108, 111, 114, 117) configured to wirelessly transmit sensor data (¶0032-0035,0086 :chemical sensors, antennas on sensorlets, wireless paths 121-127: 106, 109, 112, 115, 118,communication platform 101,102,103);
a first sensor storage assembly (Fig.16 1606¶0094,0096) containing the first plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices 1609-1613, 104, 107, 110, 113, 116, 105, 108, 111, 114, 117; and
the deployment assembly (1607,1608) maintaining the first plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices within the first sensor storage assembly (¶0086 individual deployment).
Husain does not specifically teach a first sensor storage assembly comprising a tube containing the first plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices; the deployment assembly having a first position maintaining the first plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices within the first sensor storage assembly and a second position releasing one of the first plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices.
In the similar field of endeavor, Woodland teaches:
A portable sensor system configured to be removably secured to a vehicle 10.0 (e.g., col.6 ll.18-30 modular removable sections: FIGS. 8–10, aircraft mounting FIGS. 37–38), the portable sensor system comprising:
a first plurality of portable airborne agent sensor (43,37:e.g., col.9 ll.49-55)/col.7 ll.15-25/col.20 ll28-32/col.10 ll.47-65) devices configured to wirelessly transmit sensor data (e.g., via 44, col.9 ll.52)
;a first sensor storage assembly (28, 210/figs.8,11) comprising a containing the first plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices (col.8 ll.50-55); and
a deployment assembly (31,29,38,39,32) connected to the first sensor storage assembly 2.0,28, the deployment assembly (31,29,38,39,32) having a first position maintaining the first plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices 37,43 within the first sensor storage assembly 2.0,28 and a second position releasing one of the first plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices (launcher rotates one compartment into deployment position and releases through doors 38: fig.11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use Woodland‘s first sensor storage assembly containing the first plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices for Hussain‘s portable sensor system and a deployment assembly connected to the first sensor storage assembly, the modified Husain’s deployment assembly having a first position maintaining the first plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices within the first sensor storage assembly and a second position releasing one of the first plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices. Husain discloses a UAV deploying wireless sensorlets with chemical sensing, stored as a plurality and released individually or as a unit, and attached by a releasable mount. Although, Husain does not describe a storage structure with a retaining and a releasing position for single-device release. Woodland teaches storing a plurality of sensor payload packages in a modular, removable UAV payload section and releasing one at a time using a rotary launcher or gravity release mechanism with sequential release doors, describing the rotary launcher as of existing design. Husain itself contemplates individual deployment and replenishment and both Husain and Woodland address UAV-borne sensor deployment. Woodland's background also identifies detection of toxic gases and biological agents as a motivating application, supporting chemical-sensing sensorlets. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to perform Husain's stated individual-deployment need.
Although the combination does not teach tube, i.e., a first sensor storage assembly comprising a tube containing the first plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices. This is obvious in view of Rivers.
In the similar field of endeavor, Rivers ( fig.6: tubes 158) supports the tubular storage form. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use River‘s tube form for the modified Husain‘s first sensor storage assembly comprising a tube containing the first plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to contain capsules and facilitate their release.(e.g., ¶0010 Rivers).
Claim 12
Husain in view of Woodland and Rivers teaches the portable sensor system of claim 2, Husain teaches an electrical interconnect that supplies power to charge the battery of each stored sensorlet “in the form of a bus connected to each of the plurality of sensorlets,” so that the sensorlets stay charged while stored in the unitized container (¶0097–0100; FIG. 16, container 1606). Husain also teaches a plug that can be removed from or inserted into a sensorlet (¶0095) and a container attached to the host platform by a releasable latch (¶0096). Husain does not expressly teach that the conductors are first and second rods contacting a first and a second electrode of each sensorlet. It would have been obvious to form the power bus as two conductive rods, each contacting an electrode of each stored sensorlet, since an elongated rod or bar is a conventional form of power bus. It would also have been obvious to make the rods removable from the deployment assembly without removing the sensorlets, since the container must be releasable from the host platform (¶0096) and the plug of ¶0095 is removable. The result would have been predictable. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416; In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523 (CCPA 1961).
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Husain US20190082015A1 in view of Woodland, US6056237A and Rivers US20050127242A1 further in view of Kurosawa, US 4574980 and Heiman, US 4221227.
Claim 3
Husain in view of Woodland and Rivers teaches the portable sensor system of claim 2, the combination does not expressly teach that the sensor devices are stacked vertically within the tube. In the similar field of endeavor, Kurosawa teaches that the articles S are stacked vertically within article storage area 21(col. 3, ll. 40–55; col. 4, ll. 3–10; col. 5, l. 40–col. 6, l. 8; FIGS. 4–5). In the similar field of endeavor, Heiman teaches generally vertical, cylindrical coin storage tubes 5, 10, 25 in which coins are stacked. (col. 2, ll. 24–34; claim 1; FIGS. 1–3). It would have been obvious to stack Husain’s sensorlets vertically within the tube of the modified system. A vertical stack in a tube is a known, space-efficient way to store small articles and release the lowermost one while retaining the rest, as Kurosawa and Heiman teach1. Husain also contemplates dense packing of sensorlets (¶0102). The result would have been predictable. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007). Kurosawa and Heiman are reasonably pertinent to the problem of storing plural small articles and releasing them one at a time. MPEP § 2141.01(a).
Claim 4
Husain in view of Woodland and Rivers Kurosawa Heiman teaches the portable sensor system of claim 3, the combination does not expressly teach a bracket that releasably secures a portion of the tube to the deployment assembly. Woodland teaches a bracket. Rotary launcher assembly 31, which holds and releases payload packages 37 from compartments 210, is mounted on rotary launcher mounting bracket 32 (FIGS. 8–10). Woodland does not state that bracket 32 is releasable. Husain teaches releasable attachment on the same kind of platform: a unitized container 1606 of sensorlets is attached to a host platform by “a releasable latch” (¶0096; FIG. 16).
Heiman teaches a releasable fastener that secures a portion of a tube to the stationary dispensing side. Heiman’s tubes 5, 10, 25 store stacked articles. Removable front segment 200, which carries tube halves 5b, 10b, 25b, is detachably secured to rear segment 100 by cam lock fasteners 301 and 302 (col. 1, ll. 53–62; col. 2, ll. 35–46; FIGS. 1–3). Rear segment 100 is fastened within the machine, and both segments fit dispenser mechanism 400 at the foot of the tubes (col. 2, ll. 24–34). Each cam lock has a shaft 304, a collar 305 and a tab portion 308 that passes through slots 233, 235. Turning it 90° locks or releases the segments. Heiman states that the separable construction lets a serviceman remove the contents, free jams and clear dirt and debris from the tubes (abstract; col. 1, ll. 36–45).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to secure a portion of the tube of the modified system to the deployment assembly with a releasable bracket. That would use Woodland’s bracket 32 as the mount and Heiman’s cam lock fasteners 301, 302 as the releasable securing means. Husain also teaches releasable attachment (¶0096). The person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to do so for the reason Heiman gives: a removable tube portion allows reloading, servicing and clearing of the tube. Making a fixed mount releasable with a known fastener is a predictable change to a known element. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007); In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523 (CCPA 1961); MPEP § 2144.04.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Husain US20190082015A1 in view of Woodland, US6056237A and Rivers US20050127242A1 and Kurosawa, US 4574980.
Claim 5
Husain in view of Woodland and Rivers teaches the portable sensor system of claim 2, they do not expressly teach wherein the deployment assembly further comprises: a first member positioned adjacent an end of the tube to retain the first plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices within the first sensor storage assembly; and a second member spaced apart from the first member to define a cavity sized to receive one of the first plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices, wherein the first member and the second member each rotate with respect to the first sensor storage assembly to cause deployment assembly to switch between the first position and the second position.
Kurosawa teaches a first member (Pivoting doors 221 are disposed in discharge opening 24 at the bottom end of storage area 21 and retain the stacked articles S:col. 4, ll. 3–6; FIGS. 4–5) positioned adjacent an end of the storage 21 to retain the first plurality of portable articles S within the first storage assembly 21; and a second member (Holder member 223 is attached to shaft 222. Its holding surface 223b, projection 223c and shoulder 223d are spaced above door 221, at the level of the article stacked immediately above the lowermost article :col. 4, ll. 56–65; col. 5, ll. 10–23; FIGS. 4–6, 12) spaced apart from the first member 221 to define a cavity (The space on door 221 beneath the article held by holder 223 receives the lowermost article S1 or S2. It is sized to one article S : col. 5, ll. 10–23; FIGS. 4–6) sized to receive one of the first plurality of portable articles S, wherein the first member (including 221) and the second member (including 223)each rotate (Motor 27 drives shaft 222 through coupling member 226: col. 4, ll. 17–27). Shaft 222 rotates holder 223 and control plate 29. As control plate 29 turns, it releases door 221, which pivots about shafts 224F and 224B :col. 5, l. 38–col. 6, l. 20; FIGS. 6–11) with respect to the first storage assembly 21 to cause the assembly to switch between the first position and the second position (Control plate 29 contacts both doors 221, holding them horizontal. Holder 223 grips the article above the lowermost article between holding surface 223b and side spacer surface 30b. The stack is retained FIGS. 4–6/ After shaft 222 turns past about 90°, control plate 29 contacts only one door. That door pivots down and the lowermost article S1 is dispensed through opening 24. Holder 223 retains the article above it, which is hooked on projection 223c and shoulder 223d: col. 6, ll. 1–20; FIGS. 8–9. Shaft 222 continues to 180°, where cam 227 and microswitch 28 stop motor 27 FIGS. 10–11).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Kurosawa’s hold-and-release mechanism as the deployment assembly of the modified system. Doing so would release the sensor devices one at a time while retaining the others in the tube. It is a known way to meter single articles from a stack, and the result would have been predictable. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Husain US20190082015A1 in view of Woodland, US6056237A.
Claim 13
Husain teaches:
A portable sensor system configured to be removably secured to a vehicle (a UAV ¶0096), the portable sensor system comprising: a plurality of plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices 104, 107, 110, 113, 116 configured to wirelessly transmit sensor data; and a deployment system configured to contact and release one portable agent sensor device of the plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices (¶0032; FIG. 1: They are held in a unitized container 1606 and dispersed individually ¶0094; FIG. 16), but does not teach a plurality of removable sensor storage assemblies, a deployment system configured to contact and release one portable agent sensor device of the plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices at a time. Woodland teaches removable and replaceable modular payload sections 34, 35, 36, used together, each holding a plurality of payload packages 37 in compartments 210 (FIGS. 8–11), a deployment system configured to contact and release one portable agent sensor device of the plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices at a time (rotary launcher assembly 31 rotates a selected package into deployment position and releases it through doors 38). It would have been obvious to hold Husain’s sensorlets in Woodland’s removable modular sections and release them one at a time with Woodland’s launcher. This is a known way to carry and sequentially release payloads, and the result would be predictable. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416.
Claim 14 is rejected under § 103 as unpatentable over the combination applied to claim 13, further in view of Rivers US20050127242A1 and Heiman, US 4221227.
Claim 14
Husain in view of Woodland teaches the portable sensor system of claim 13, The combination does not expressly teach wherein the plurality of removable sensor storage assemblies includes four removable sensor storage assemblies each positioned parallel to one another within the deployment system; and wherein each of the plurality of removable sensor storage assemblies comprises a tubular structure retaining its plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices in a vertically stacked arrangement. Rivers teaches tubes 158₁…158ₙ lodged side by side in rack 156, some shown removed (¶0043; FIG. 6). Heiman teaches: three parallel, generally vertical cylindrical tubes 5, 10, 25 of stacked coins, each with its own dispensing slide (col. 2, ll. 9–34; claim 1; FIGS. 1–3). It would have been obvious to give each removable assembly its own motor-driven engagement member under a central controller. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Husain US20190082015A1 in view of Woodland, US6056237A, further in view of Mason, US20160343193A1 and Fowler , US 20140260496 A1.
Claim 15
Husain in view of Woodland teaches the portable sensor system of claim 13, Woodland’s separate sections have separately operating release doors 38 and system components, controlled by systems computer 15 through launcher motor and control interface 29 (FIGS. 2, 8–10).
Mason gives each roller its own drive motor assembly 110, with motor 114, gearing 116 and 118, and drive member 111, coordinated by control board 104 (¶0063–0064; FIGS. 3–4). Mason’s motor-driven roller 140 takes successive articles into pockets 145, 146 (¶¶ [0077]–[0079]; FIGS. 18–21).
Fowler’s feeder disk assembly 80 includes a motor driving feeder disk 81, whose pocket 94 takes cup 1 after cup 1 from stack (¶0052,0054; FIGS. 5–8).
It would have been obvious to give each removable assembly its own motor-driven engagement member under a central controller, wherein the deployment system comprises a plurality of individual deployment mechanisms in communication with a central controller; wherein each removable storage assembly of the plurality of removable sensor storage assemblies includes one of the plurality of individual deployment mechanisms; and wherein each deployment mechanism of the plurality of individual deployment mechanisms comprises a motor that rotates an engagement member into sequential contact with the plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices contained therein. See KSR, 550 U.S. at 416.
Claim 16
Husain in view of Woodland Mason Fowler teaches the portable sensor system of claim 15,
Fowler teaches feeder disk 81 with disk body 82. Pocket 94 has arcuate surface 96, the “curvature of [which] … generally corresponds to the curvature of a cup 1” (¶[0052; FIGS. 5–8). Pocket 94 receives one cup, while constant-radius surface 86 holds back the next cup (¶0054). Mason’s pockets are likewise sized so the retained article sits flush with roller 140 (¶0070).
It would have been obvious to shape the engagement member as a disc with a notch matching the sensor device housing, to hold one device at a time wherein the engagement member comprises a disc with a notch corresponding to a shape of a housing of each of the plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices such that the engagement member can hold one of the plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices at a time. Matching the shape of a holder to the article is a routine design choice. MPEP § 2144.04(IV)(B); KSR, 550 U.S. at 416.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Husain US20190082015A1 in view of Woodland, US6056237A, and Mason, US20160343193A1.
Claim 17
Husain teaches:
A portable sensor system configured to be removable secured to a vehicle 1601 (¶0096: latch/EED mount), the portable sensor system comprising:
a plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices (1609-1613, 104, 107, 110, 113, 116, 105, 108, 111, 114, 117) configured to wirelessly transmit sensor data(¶0032-0035,0086 FIGS. 1, 16 :chemical sensors, antennas on sensorlets, wireless paths 121-127: 106, 109, 112, 115, 118,communication platform 101,102,103);
a sensor storage assembly (Fig.16 1606 ¶0094,0096) containing the plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices (1609-1613, 104, 107, 110, 113, 116, 105, 108, 111, 114, 117) ; and
a deployment assembly (1607,1608). It does not expressly teach a rotatable component moving between holding and releasing positions or claimed a deployment assembly connected to the sensor storage assembly, the deployment assembly having a rotatable component configured to rotate between a first position holding the plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices within the sensor storage assembly and a second position releasing one of the plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices from the sensor storage assembly. Woodland teaches rotary launcher assembly 31 holds packages 37 in compartments 210, rotates the selected one into deployment position, and releases it through doors 38 (FIGS. 8–11). Mason teaches roller 140 is at 0° with bottle 200 in pocket 145 and bottle 202 retained (¶0077; FIG. 18). At 15° bottle 202 falls through opening 147 (¶0077; FIG. 19). At 90° pocket 145 still retains bottle 200 (¶0078; FIG. 20), and at 195° it releases through opening 144 FIG. 21).
It would have been obvious to use Woodland’s rotary launcher, as supplemented by Mason’s roller, to store and release Husain’s sensorlets one at a time or claimed a deployment assembly connected to the sensor storage assembly, the deployment assembly having a rotatable component configured to rotate between a first position holding the plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices within the sensor storage assembly and a second position releasing one of the plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices from the sensor storage assembly. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Husain US20190082015A1 in view of Woodland, US6056237A, and Mason, US20160343193A1 and further in view of Manginell (US 7727314 B1).
Claim 18
Husain in view of Woodland and Mason teaches the portable sensor system of claim 17, Husain teaches that each sensorlet includes a sensor subsystem 1508 that can include “chemical sensors” (¶0086; FIG. 15). The combination does not expressly teach that each sensor device includes a microelectromechanical chip with a conductive trace that heats an adsorbent material, so that the adsorbent releases accumulated ambient chemical agent molecules into the agent sensor.
In the similar field of endeavor, Manginell teaches a compact chemical preconcentrator formed on a microfabricated silicon substrate (abstract; substrate 801, FIG. 8; substrates 305, 403, FIGS. 3–4; FIGS. 18A–C). A resistive heating element is disposed on the substrate, formed as a “circuitous metal trace” of deposited metal (claims 1, 12; heating element 805, FIG. 8; heater 1507, FIG. 15; heater trace 1801, FIG. 18A; col. 8, ll. 55–65). A sorptive material (sorbent zone 807, FIG. 8; 1905, FIG. 19) on the heater collects target chemicals over time. When heated by the resistive heating element, it rapidly releases them for downstream analysis (abstract; col. 1, ll. 21–27; col. 2, ll. 30–40: “integrated thin-film resistive heaters allow for rapid thermal desorption of the sample into an analytical chain for separation and detection”). The preconcentrator “selectively collect and concentrate the analyte of interest out of a large gas sample volume on a sorptive material at the inlet of the microanalytical system,” ahead of the detector (col. 1, ll. 43–65). Manginell identifies the use of such preconcentrators with miniaturized, “autonomous, portable, handheld chemical analysis systems” for detecting “pollutants, high explosives and chemical warfare agents” (col. 1, ll. 28–36). It identifies selective preconcentration as “an essential step for early-warning, trace analyte detection” (col. 2, ll. 24–26). It describes the preconcentrator as “millimeter-sized or smaller” and for use “with the above miniaturized chemical analysis systems to increase the sensitivity and selectivity” (col. 2, ll. 42–47).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include Manginell’s MEMS preconcentrator, with its heater trace and sorbent, in each of Husain’s sensorlets, with the released molecules delivered to the sensorlet’s chemical sensor. Doing so would concentrate trace airborne agents and release them to the sensor on demand, improving detection sensitivity in a compact device. Manginell expressly teaches that its millimeter-scale preconcentrator is intended to increase the sensitivity and selectivity of miniaturized, portable chemical analysis systems (col. 1, ll. 28–36; col. 2, ll. 42–47), which supplies the reason to place it in Husain’s small, battery-powered sensorlet. Combining a known preconcentration stage with a downstream chemical sensor yields predictable results. KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007).
Allowable subject matter
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 6: The prior art, alone or in combination, fails to anticipate or render obvious a portable sensor system wherein the first member defines a first opening and the second member defines a second opening, the first opening and the second opening each sized and shaped to enable the first plurality of portable airborne agent sensor devices to pass there through; and wherein the first member is arranged with respect to the second member so that the second opening is circumferentially offset from the second opening, in conjunction with the remaining claim limitations.
Claims 7-11 depends on claim 6.
Conclusion
/FATEMEH ESFANDIARI NIA/Examiner, Art Unit 2855
1 See also Sawhney US20180016007A1 (2018) in same field and teaching vertically stacked articles in a storage/deployment assembly: ¶ 0019 (cylindrical shape, one or more articles per compartment), ¶ 0020 (independent shutters; vertical stacking, FIGS. 1A, 1D, 6), ¶ 0022–0023 (locks, magnets release selected article), ¶ 0031–0032 (levers).