Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the second set of electrically conductive contacts" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 3, 5, 6, 15, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wei (US 20200413547).
Regarding claim 1, Wei discloses a component carrier, comprising:
a stack (the stack in Fig. 3) comprising at least one electrically conductive layer structure (the first circuit layer 12) and/or at least one electrically insulating layer structure (the insulating layer 11);
a cavity (the opening 101) formed in the stack;
an electrically conductive contact structure (the second connecting pad 131) at a bottom of the cavity (101); and
a finishing structure (the terminal appears to be resembling a solder bump or solder ball of the component 20 on top of the pad 131) on the electrically conductive contact structure;
wherein the finishing structure has a smaller lateral extension than the electrically conductive contact structure (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Wei discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Wei further discloses a component (the component 20) provided in the stack.
Regarding claim 3, Wei discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 2. Wei further discloses the component is arranged on the at least one electrically insulating layer structure (11 or 14).
Regarding claim 5, Wei discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 2. Wei further suggests an underfill (the adhesive 23, Fig. 3), arranged between the component and the bottom of the cavity.
Regarding claim 6, Wei discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 5. Wei further discloses the underfill comprises at least one of the following features: the underfill is a monolithic material (a single block of adhesive 23, Fig. 3); the underfill extends vertically so that it is at least partially in contact with the lateral surfaces of the component (Fig. 3); the underfill planarly extends between two sidewalls defining the periphery of the cavity (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Wei discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 2. Wei further suggests the component is configured as a bridge (the component 20 appears to be a bridge between the top side circuit and the bottom side circuit, Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 19, Wei discloses a component carrier, comprising:
a stack (the stack in Fig. 3) comprising at least one electrically conductive layer structure (the first circuit layer 12) and/or at least one electrically insulating layer structure (the insulating layer 11);
a cavity (the opening 101) formed in the stack;
an electrically conductive contact structure (the second connecting pad 131) at a bottom of the cavity (101); and
a finishing structure (the terminal appears to be resembling a solder bump or solder ball of the component 20 on top of the pad 131) on the electrically conductive contact structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 7, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US 20200413547), in view of Lee (US 20170207196).
Regarding claim 4, Wei discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 2.
Wei does not explicitly disclose a further electrically conductive layer structure and/or a further electrically insulating layer structure arranged as a build-up structure on a core layer, wherein said component is arranged at least partially in the build-up structure, wherein the cavity is formed at least partially in the build-up structure, and wherein the component is at least partially arranged in the cavity.
Lee teaches a further electrically conductive layer structure (conductors in layer 204; Fig. 2) and/or a further electrically insulating layer structure (a first build-up portion 204) arranged as a build-up structure (204) on a core layer (the core 202), wherein said component (component 214) is arranged at least partially in the build-up structure, wherein the cavity (recess 106) is formed at least partially in the build-up structure, and wherein the component is at least partially arranged in the cavity (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include a core layer in order to provide a mechanical support for the circuit board.
Regarding claim 7, Wei discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 2.
Wei does not explicitly disclose the component comprises a first set of electrical contacts along a bottom side, and wherein said first set of electrical contacts is connected to the electrically conductive contact structure through the finishing structure.
Lee teaches the component (the IC component 214, Fig. 2) comprises a first set of electrical contacts (the conductive contacts 220) along a bottom side, and wherein said first set of electrical contacts is connected to the electrically conductive contact structure (the pad same as the pad 110 of the via on the bottom side of the recess 106) through the finishing structure (112).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include a set of the electrical contacts for the components in order to mount the components to the circuit board and to establish the electrical connection between the circuitry of the circuit board and the mounted components.
Regarding claim 8, Wei, in view of Lee, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 7. Lee further suggests a solder structure (solder balls 252, Fig. 2) arranged between the finishing structure (112) and the first set of electrical contacts (220) of the component, wherein the space between the electrically conductive contact structure at the bottom of the cavity, the finishing structure, the solder structure, and the first set of electrical contacts of the component is filled by the underfill (Wei suggests in claim 1 that the adhesive 23 covers the side and the bottom of the component including all the electrical contacts, Fig. 3).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US 20200413547), in view of Kapsula (US 10332832).
Regarding claim 13, Wei discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1.
Wei does not explicitly disclose the cavity is filled by an electrically insulating material.
Wei suggests that the cavity is filled with the adhesive 23 made of the thermal conductive material. The adhesive 23 connects all electrical contacts together. It is obvious that the adhesive 23 is an electrically insulating material to prevent short circuit between the electrical contacts.
Kapsula suggests the resin material 112, Fig. 22C, fills the opening 126 and encapsulate the component 102.
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use the electrically insulating material to fill the space between the contacts in order to prevent electrical short circuit between the contacts.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 – 12, 16 – 18, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claims 1, 2, and 7, a combination of limitations that the component is a double-sided component, and wherein the component comprises a second set of electrical contacts on the side opposite to the bottom side. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 16, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claims 1, 2, and 15, a combination of limitations that at least two further components arranged at a main surface of the stack, wherein said at least two further components are connected to the bridge. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Regarding claim 20, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that the component is a double-sided component; wherein the component comprises a second set of electrical contacts on the side opposite to the bottom side; wherein the second set of electrical contacts is connected to the external side of the component carrier through vias with exposed pads on top of the vias; wherein the component comprises through-hole structures that connect the first set of electrical contacts and the second set of electrical contacts, respectively; wherein at least two of the electrical contacts of the second set of electrical contacts are connected with each other; wherein the cavity is filled by an electrically insulating material; wherein the vias connected to the second set of electrically conductive contacts pass through said electrically insulating material; wherein the component is configured as a bridge; at least two further components arranged at a main surface of the stack; wherein said at least two further components are connected to the bridge; wherein the at least two further components are electrically connected by the bridge; wherein the at least two further components are connected to the second set of electric contacts. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zluc (US 20200365573) discloses a component mounted in a cavity, Fig. 8.
Lin (US 20160262267) discloses a component mounted in a cavity, Fig. 4.
Yamamoto (US 20120039055) discloses a component mounted in a cavity, Fig. 10.
/BINH B TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847