DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 08/06/2026. The previous objections to the drawings, specification, and claims have been withdrawn. Furthermore, the previous 35 USC 112 rejections have also been withdrawn. Claims 1 and 5 remain pending for consideration.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the:
“a dehumidification line (200) that is coupled to the discharge side (11) and the 4-way valve (20)” in claim 1
“wherein the dehumidification line (200) is coupled to a discharge side (11) of a compressor (10) and a 4-way valve (20)” in claim 5
“indoor air flowing inside through a front surface of the interior unit (50) is cooled and dehumidified while passing through a heat exchanger of the lower refrigerant line (210b) of the dehumidification heat exchanger (210)” in claim 5
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “a cooling/heating heat pump system, comprising: a cooling line (100) … the cooling/heating heat pump system further comprises a heating line (300)” which renders the claim indefinite. As recited, the claim is confusing as it seems to indicate that cooling line 100 is separate and distinct from heating line 300. However, referring to Figs. 1-2 of the drawings, both cooling line 100 and heating line 300 refer to the same physical structure. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “a dehumidification line (200) that is coupled to … the 4-way valve (20)” which renders the claim indefinite. Referring to Figs. 1-2, dehumidification line 200 is connected to dehumidification valve 230 and intake side 12 of the compressor 10. Therefore, the dehumidification circuit does not include 4-way valve 20. Thus, it is unclear how dehumidification line 200 is coupled to 4-way valve 20 as disclosed by the claim. More clarity is requested.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the outdoor heater exchanger (35)” in line 19. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “circulates back to the intake side (12) of the compressor (10) through the outdoor heater exchanger (35)” will be interpreted as -- circulates back to the intake side (12) of the compressor (10) through the outdoor heat exchanger (35) --
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “a humidity temperature of inflow air” which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear what parameter of the inflow air the disclosed term “humidity temperature” is referring to. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claims 1 and 5, the claims recite “the multiple reheat pipes (70) are selectively simultaneously operated” which renders the claim indefinite. As recited, the claim is confusing because it is not entirely clear if the multiple reheat pipes (70) are either selectively operated or simultaneously operated. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites “the cooling/heating heat pump comprising: a cooling line (100) and a heating line (300) connected to an outdoor heat exchanger (35) of an outdoor unit (30) and formed by connecting the indoor heat exchanger (51) and the outdoor heat exchanger (35)” which renders the claim indefinite. As recited, the claim is confusing as it seems to indicate that cooling line 100 is separate and distinct from heating line 300. However, referring to Figs. 1-2 of the drawings, both cooling line 100 and heating line 300 refer to the same physical structure. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites “a high-temperature and high-pressure refrigerant discharged from the discharge side (11) of the compressor (10) is discharged to the dehumidification line (200), a high-temperature and high-pressure refrigerant coming through the upper refrigerant line (210a) of the dehumidification heat exchanger (210)” which renders the claim indefinite. As recited, the claim is confusing as it seems to indicate that the “high-temperature and high-pressure refrigerant” discharged from the discharge side of the compressor is different from the “high-temperature and high-pressure refrigerant” coming through the upper refrigerant line of the dehumidification heat exchanger. However, referring to Figs. 1-2, the “high-temperature and high-pressure refrigerant” discharged from the discharge side of the compressor is the same refrigerant flowing through the upper refrigerant line of the dehumidification heat exchanger. More clarity is requested.
For examination purposes, the phrase “a high-temperature and high-pressure refrigerant coming through the upper refrigerant line (210a) of the dehumidification heat exchanger (210) changes into a low-temperature and low-pressure refrigerant” will be interpreted as -- the high-temperature and high-pressure refrigerant coming through the upper refrigerant line (210a) of the dehumidification heat exchanger (210) changes into a low-temperature and low-pressure refrigerant --
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites “wherein the dehumidification line (200) is coupled to … a 4-way valve (20)” which renders the claim indefinite. Referring to Figs. 1-2, dehumidification line 200 is connected to dehumidification valve 230 and intake side 12 of the compressor 10. Therefore, the dehumidification circuit does not include 4-way valve 20. Thus, it is unclear how dehumidification line 200 is coupled to 4-way valve 20 as disclosed by the claim. More clarity is requested.
Regarding claim 5, the claim recites “another of the two refrigerant supplies is controlled such that each of valves of the other of the two refrigerant supplies is opened/ or closed such that the high-temperature and high-pressure refrigerant is supplied to the dehumidification line (200)” which renders the claim indefinite. As recited, the claim is confusing because it is not entirely clear what “each of valves of the other of the two refrigerant supplies” is referring to. More clarity is requested.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “preset temperature and humidity” in line 48. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “preset temperature and humidity are controlled” will be interpreted as -- the preset temperature and humidity are controlled --
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (WO2021169390A1, herein after referred to as Li), in view of Arai (JP6886701B2), in view of Hu (CN207146966U), in view of Xie (CN209624282U), in view of Song et al. (US 20220018581 A1, herein after referred to as Song), and in further view of Haikawa et l. (US 9546806 B2, herein after referred to as Haikawa).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a cooling/heating heat pump system (corresponds to the air conditioning system illustrated in Fig. 1), comprising: a cooling line (100) (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Li) in which a high-temperature and high-pressure refrigerant (corresponds to the refrigerant leaving the outlet of compressor 1 during cooling as described in paragraph [21]) discharged from a discharge side (11) (corresponds to the disclosed “refrigerant outlet” of compressor 1 as described in paragraph [21]) of a compressor (10) (compressor 1 Fig. 1) passes through a 4-way valve (20) (four-way reversing valve 8 Fig. 1) and changes into a low-temperature and low-pressure refrigerant (corresponds to the refrigerant leaving first throttling device 61 Fig. 1 during the cooling mode as described in paragraph [21]) while passing through a first expansion valve (40) (first throttling device 61 Fig. 1) after passing through an outdoor unit (30) (corresponds to the combination of outdoor heat exchanger 31 and outdoor fan 32 Fig. 1), flows into the 4-way valve (20) through an indoor heat exchanger (51) (indoor heat exchanger 41 Fig. 1) seated in an interior unit (50) (Fig. 1 where the indoor unit corresponds to a combination of indoor heat exchanger 41 and dehumidification module 5), and circulates back to an intake side (12) of the compressor (10) (corresponds to the disclosed “refrigerant inlet” of compressor 1 as described in paragraph [21]); and a dehumidification line (200) (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Li) that is coupled to the discharge side (11) and the 4-way valve (20) (Fig. 1) and in which the high-temperature and high-pressure refrigerant discharged from the discharge side (11) of the compressor (10) is discharged (paragraphs [33] and 34]), the high-temperature and high-pressure refrigerant coming through an upper refrigerant line (210a) (see paragraph [34] and annotated Fig. 1 of Li below) of a dehumidification heat exchanger (210) (dehumidification module 5 Fig. 1) spaced apart from and seated parallel with a lower end of the indoor heat exchanger (51) of the interior unit (50) (Fig. 1) and changing into a low-temperature and low-pressure refrigerant (paragraph [34]) while passing through a second expansion valve (220) (second throttling device 62 Fig. 1); and flowing back into a lower refrigerant line (210b) of the dehumidification heat exchanger (210) (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Li), the low-temperature and low-pressure refrigerant circulating to the compressor (10) through the intake side (12) of the compressor (10) (paragraph [34] and Fig. 1), wherein the lower refrigerant line (210b) of the dehumidification heat exchanger (210) into which the low-temperature and low-pressure refrigerant is flowing back is spaced apart from the indoor heat exchanger (51) (Fig. 1), the cooling/heating heat pump system further comprises a heating line (300) (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Li) in which the high-temperature and high-pressure refrigerant discharged from the discharge side (11) of the compressor (10) passes through the 4-way valve (20) (the heating flow function described in paragraph [34]) and changes into the low-temperature and low-pressure refrigerant while passing through the first expansion valve (40) after passing through the indoor heat exchanger (51) seated in the interior unit (50) (the heating flow function described in paragraph [34]), and circulates back to the intake side (12) of the compressor (10) through an outdoor heater exchanger (35) (outdoor heat exchanger 31 Fig. 1) and the 4-way valve (20) (the heating flow function described in paragraph [34]).
Li teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “wherein indoor air flowing inside through a front surface of the interior unit (50) is cooled and dehumidified while passing through the lower refrigerant line (210b) of the dehumidification heat exchanger (210), and the cooled and dehumidified air increases in temperature while passing through the upper refrigerant line (210a) and is then cooled and dehumidified while passing through the indoor heat exchanger (51) and supplied to an interior”.
However, Arai teaches wherein indoor air (the disclosed “airflow” in paragraph [0018] and Fig. 3) flowing inside through a front surface of an interior unit (50) (front surface of dehumidifying blower 10 Fig. 3 where dehumidifying blower 10 corresponds to the indoor unit of Li) is cooled and dehumidified (paragraph [0018]) while passing through a lower refrigerant line (210b) (Fig. 3 and paragraph [0018] where the lower refrigerant line of evaporator 20 corresponds to the lower refrigerant line of Li) of a dehumidification heat exchanger (210) (the combination of evaporator 20 and condenser 17 correspond to the dehumidification heat exchanger of Li), and the cooled and dehumidified air increases in temperature (paragraph [0018]) while passing through an upper refrigerant line (210a) (Fig. 3 and paragraph [0018] where the upper refrigerant line of condenser 17 corresponds to the upper refrigerant line of Li) and is then cooled and dehumidified (paragraph [0018]) while passing through an indoor heat exchanger (51) (paragraph [0018] and Fig. 3 where cooler 23 corresponds to the indoor heat exchanger of Li) and supplied to an interior (paragraph [0018]) to provide a system with excellent operational stability (paragraph [0004]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Li to include “wherein indoor air flowing inside through a front surface of the interior unit (50) is cooled and dehumidified while passing through the lower refrigerant line (210b) of the dehumidification heat exchanger (210), and the cooled and dehumidified air increases in temperature while passing through the upper refrigerant line (210a) and is then cooled and dehumidified while passing through the indoor heat exchanger (51) and supplied to an interior” in view of the teachings of Arai to provide a system with excellent operational stability.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “when a cooling mode is started by a controller (400), a dehumidification valve (230) formed on the dehumidification line (200) is closed and simultaneously a cooling/heating valve (60) is opened; when a dehumidification mode is started, the dehumidification valve (230) is opened and simultaneously the cooling/heating valve (60) is closed, when a cooling/dehumidification mode is started, the dehumidification valve (230) is opened and simultaneously the cooling/heating valve (60) is opened; and the high-temperature and high-pressure refrigerant discharged from the compressor (10) is distributed and supplied at a cooling line preset ratio to the cooling line (100) and the dehumidification line (200), and flows inside from a liquid separator (80) mounted at a front end of the compressor (10) to circulate to the compressor (10); when a heating mode is started by the controller (400), the dehumidification valve (230) is closed and simultaneously the cooling/heating valve (60) is opened; when the dehumidification mode is started, the dehumidification valve (230) is opened and simultaneously the cooling/heating valve (60) is closed, when a heating/dehumidification mode is started, the dehumidification valve (230) is opened and simultaneously the cooling/heating valve (60) is also opened, and the high-temperature and high-pressure refrigerant discharged from the compressor (10) is distributed and supplied at a heating line preset ratio to the heating line (300) and the dehumidification line (200) and flows inside from the liquid separator (80) mounted at the front end of the compressor (10) to circulate to the compressor (10); wherein the dehumidification heat exchanger (210) has a thermal capacity smaller than a thermal capacity of the indoor heat exchanger (51)”.
However, Hu teaches when a cooling mode (corresponds to the mode in which the disclosed device is operated as an “air conditioner” as described in paragraph [56]) is started by a controller (400) (corresponds to the disclosed “controller” in paragraph [57]), a dehumidification valve (230) (expansion valve 7 Fig. 2) formed on a dehumidification line (200) (Fig. 2 where the refrigerant line that includes expansion valve 7 corresponds to the dehumidification line of Li) is closed (paragraph [56]) and simultaneously a cooling/heating valve (60) (expansion valve 9 Fig. 2) is opened (paragraph [56]); when a dehumidification mode (corresponds to the mode in which the disclosed device is operated as a “dehumidifier” as described in paragraph [56]) is started, the dehumidification valve (230) is opened and simultaneously the cooling/heating valve (60) is closed (paragraph [56]), when a cooling/dehumidification mode (corresponds to the mode in which the disclosed device is operated in “temperature-increasing dehumidification mode” as described in paragraph [56]) is started (paragraphs [56]), the dehumidification valve (230) is opened and simultaneously the cooling/heating valve (60) is opened (paragraph [56]); and the high-temperature and high-pressure refrigerant discharged from a compressor (10) (Fig. 2 where compressor 1 corresponds to the compressor of Li) is distributed and supplied at a cooling line preset ratio (paragraph [56] where it is disclosed that both electronic expansion valves 7 and 9 are “partially opened to a certain fixed opening”) to a cooling line (100) (paragraph [56] and Fig. 2 where the refrigerant line that accommodates expansion valve 9 corresponds to the cooling line of Li) and a dehumidification line (200) (paragraph [56] and Fig. 2 where the refrigerant line that accommodates expansion valve 7 corresponds to the dehumidification line of Li), and flows inside from a liquid separator (80) (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Hu) mounted at a front end of the compressor (10) (see below annotated Fig. 2 of Hu) to circulate to the compressor (10) (paragraph [56]); when a heating mode is started (corresponds to the mode in which the disclosed device is operated as an “air conditioner” as described in paragraph [56]) by the controller (400), the dehumidification valve (230) is closed (paragraph [56]) and simultaneously the cooling/heating valve (60) is opened (paragraph [56]); when the dehumidification mode is started, the dehumidification valve (230) is opened and simultaneously the cooling/heating valve (60) is closed (paragraph [56]), when a heating/dehumidification mode (corresponds to the mode in which the disclosed device is operated in “temperature-increasing dehumidification mode” as described in paragraph [56]) is started (paragraph [56]), the dehumidification valve (230) is opened and simultaneously the cooling/heating valve (60) is also opened (paragraph [56]), and the high-temperature and high-pressure refrigerant discharged from the compressor (10) is distributed and supplied at a heating line preset ratio (paragraph [56] where it is disclosed that both electronic expansion valves 7 and 9 are “partially opened to a certain fixed opening”) to the heating line (300) and the dehumidification line (200) (paragraph [56]) and flows inside from the liquid separator (80) mounted at the front end of the compressor (10) to circulate to the compressor (10) (paragraph [56] and Fig. 2); wherein a dehumidification heat exchanger (210) (dehumidifying evaporator 6 Fig. 2 corresponds to the dehumidification heat exchanger of Li) has a thermal capacity (corresponds to the thermal capacity of dehumidifying evaporator 6 Fig. 2) smaller than a thermal capacity of an indoor heat exchanger (51) (corresponds to the thermal capacity of indoor heat exchanger 4 Fig. 2 and paragraph [62] where based on the direct proportionality between airflow and thermal capacity, a person skilled in the art would recognize that indoor heat exchanger 4 with a higher airflow has a greater thermal capacity than dehumidifying evaporator 6) to provide a more efficient system (paragraph [62]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “when a cooling mode is started by a controller (400), a dehumidification valve (230) formed on the dehumidification line (200) is closed and simultaneously a cooling/heating valve (60) is opened; when a dehumidification mode is started, the dehumidification valve (230) is opened and simultaneously the cooling/heating valve (60) is closed, when a cooling/dehumidification mode is started, the dehumidification valve (230) is opened and simultaneously the cooling/heating valve (60) is opened; and the high-temperature and high-pressure refrigerant discharged from the compressor (10) is distributed and supplied at a cooling line preset ratio to the cooling line (100) and the dehumidification line (200), and flows inside from a liquid separator (80) mounted at a front end of the compressor (10) to circulate to the compressor (10); when a heating mode is started by the controller (400), the dehumidification valve (230) is closed and simultaneously the cooling/heating valve (60) is opened; when the dehumidification mode is started, the dehumidification valve (230) is opened and simultaneously the cooling/heating valve (60) is closed, when a heating/dehumidification mode is started, the dehumidification valve (230) is opened and simultaneously the cooling/heating valve (60) is also opened, and the high-temperature and high-pressure refrigerant discharged from the compressor (10) is distributed and supplied at a heating line preset ratio to the heating line (300) and the dehumidification line (200) and flows inside from the liquid separator (80) mounted at the front end of the compressor (10) to circulate to the compressor (10); wherein the dehumidification heat exchanger (210) has a thermal capacity smaller than a thermal capacity of the indoor heat exchanger (51)” in view of the teachings of Hu to provide a more efficient system (paragraph [62]).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “multiple reheat pipes (70) having electric heater rods (71) are formed at an inflow side of the outdoor unit (30), a surface temperature of the outdoor heat exchanger (35) of the outdoor unit (30) is measured, the controller (400) determines whether to perform defrosting, and when a defrosting condition is reached, the electric heater rods (71) are operated such that the multiple reheat pipes (70) are selectively simultaneously operated”.
However, Xie teaches multiple reheat pipes (70) (electric heating wires 5 Fig. 3) having electric heater rods (71) (corresponds to the outer tubes of electric heating wires 5 Fig. 2) are formed at an inflow side of an outdoor unit (30) (liquid inlet pipe 31 Fig. 3 and paragraph [32] where the plurality of condensers 3 corresponds to the outdoor unit of Li), a surface temperature (surface temperature of condenser 3 paragraph [32]) of an outdoor heat exchanger (35) (condenser 3 Fig. 3 and paragraph [32] corresponds to the outdoor heat exchanger of Li) of the outdoor unit (30) is measured (paragraph [32]), a controller (400) (the disclosed “controller” in paragraph [32] corresponds to the controller of Hu) determines whether to perform defrosting (paragraph [32]), and when a defrosting condition (paragraph [32]) is reached, the electric heater rods (71) are operated such that the multiple reheat pipes (70) are selectively simultaneously operated (paragraph [32]) to provide a frost-proof device (paragraph [7]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “multiple reheat pipes (70) having electric heater rods (71) are formed at an inflow side of the outdoor unit (30), a surface temperature of the outdoor heat exchanger (35) of the outdoor unit (30) is measured, the controller (400) determines whether to perform defrosting, and when a defrosting condition is reached, the electric heater rods (71) are operated such that the multiple reheat pipes (70) are selectively simultaneously operated” in view of the teachings of Xie to provide a frost-proof device.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “a humidity temperature of inflow air flowing into the outdoor unit (30) is measured”.
However, Song teaches a humidity temperature of inflow air (disclosed “humidity information” in paragraph [0084]) flowing into an outdoor unit (30) (outdoor unit A Fig. 10 and paragraph [0084] corresponds to the outdoor unit of Kang) is measured (paragraph [0084]) to improve the detection of frost formation on the outdoor unit (paragraph [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “a humidity temperature of inflow air flowing into the outdoor unit (30) is measured” in view of the teachings of Song to improve the detection of frost formation on the outdoor unit.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “multiple refrigerant divergent paths of the outdoor heat exchanger (35) of the outdoor unit (30) are composed of an upper path part (35a), a middle path part (35b), and a lower path part (35c), the upper path part (35a) forms an upper preset refrigerant path channel enabling flows from an upper end of the upper path part (35a) into an outdoor refrigerant collector (38) positioned at an outer end of the outdoor heat exchanger (35); the middle path part (35b) forms a middle preset refrigerant path channel enabling flows from a middle portion of the middle path part (35b) into the outdoor refrigerant collector (38); the lower path part (35c) forms a lower preset refrigerant path channel enabling flows from a lower end of the lower path part (35c) into the outdoor refrigerant collector (38); and refrigerant received from the upper path part (35a), the middle path part (35b) and the lower path part (35c) is mixed in the outdoor refrigerant collector (38) exchanges heat, and is then discharged back to the outdoor heat exchanger (35)”.
However, Haikawa teaches multiple refrigerant divergent paths (corresponds to the multiple refrigerant paths formed by inlets 17c and outlets 17d Fig. 3 and Col. 4 lines 62-67, Col. 5 lines 1-12) of an outdoor heat exchanger (35) (indoor heat exchanger 14, Figs. 1 and 3 corresponds to the outdoor heat exchanger of Li) of an outdoor unit (30) (indoor unit 2 Fig. 1 corresponds to the outdoor of Li) are composed of an upper path part (35a) (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Haikawa), a middle path part (35b) (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Haikawa), and a lower path part (35c) (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Haikawa), the upper path part (35a) forms an upper preset refrigerant path channel (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Haikawa) enabling flows from an upper end of the upper path part (35a) (Col. 4 lines 62-67 and Col. 5 lines 1-12) into an outdoor refrigerant collector (38) (branching section 18a Fig. 3 and Col. 4 lines 62-67, Col. 5 lines 1-12 where it is disclosed that during the heating operation mode, the refrigerant will flow in a direction that is opposite to the one illustrated in Fig. 3 resulting in the refrigerant collecting at branching section 18a) positioned at an outer end of the outdoor heat exchanger (35) (Fig. 3 where branching section 18a is located at the outer left end of indoor heat exchanger 14); the middle path part (35b) forms a middle preset refrigerant path channel (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Haikawa) enabling flows from a middle portion of the middle path part (35b) (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Haikawa) into the outdoor refrigerant collector (38) (Col. 4 lines 62-67 and Col. 5 lines 1-12 during the heating mode); the lower path part (35c) forms a lower preset refrigerant path channel (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Haikawa) enabling flows from a lower end of the lower path part (35c) (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Haikawa) into the outdoor refrigerant collector (38) (Col. 4 lines 62-67 and Col. 5 lines 1-12 during the heating mode); and refrigerant received from the upper path part (35a), the middle path part (35b) and the lower path part (35c) is mixed in the outdoor refrigerant collector (38) exchanges heat, and is then discharged back to the outdoor heat exchanger (35) (Fig. 3, Col. 4 lines 62-67 and Col. 5 lines 1-12 during the described heating mode where refrigerant is flowing in the reverse direction and is collected in branching section 18 a before reentering indoor heat exchanger 14 through auxiliary heat exchanger 20 Fig. 3) to provide a heat exchanger with multiple heat exchange zones.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “multiple refrigerant divergent paths of the outdoor heat exchanger (35) of the outdoor unit (30) are composed of an upper path part (35a), a middle path part (35b), and a lower path part (35c), the upper path part (35a) forms an upper preset refrigerant path channel enabling flows from an upper end of the upper path part (35a) into an outdoor refrigerant collector (38) positioned at an outer end of the outdoor heat exchanger (35); the middle path part (35b) forms a middle preset refrigerant path channel enabling flows from a middle portion of the middle path part (35b) into the outdoor refrigerant collector (38); the lower path part (35c) forms a lower preset refrigerant path channel enabling flows from a lower end of the lower path part (35c) into the outdoor refrigerant collector (38); and refrigerant received from the upper path part (35a), the middle path part (35b) and the lower path part (35c) is mixed in the outdoor refrigerant collector (38) exchanges heat, and is then discharged back to the outdoor heat exchanger (35)” in view of the teachings of Haikawa to provide a heat exchanger with multiple heat exchange zones.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the outdoor refrigerant collector (38) positioned at an outer lower end of the outdoor heat exchanger”.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that having “the outdoor refrigerant collector (38) positioned at an outer lower end of the outdoor heat exchanger” does anything more than produce the predictable result of collecting refrigerant. Since it has been held that mere rearrangement of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 VI. C, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings and meet the claimed limitations in order to provide the predictable results of collecting refrigerant.
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches a method (the method illustrated in Fig. 1) of controlling a cooling/heating heat pump (corresponds to the air conditioning system illustrated in Fig. 1) with a function of a dehumidification unit (paragraphs [28] and [30]) inside an interior unit (50) (Fig. 1 where the indoor unit corresponds to a combination of indoor heat exchanger 41 and dehumidification module 5), wherein an indoor heat exchanger (51) (indoor heat exchanger 41 Fig. 1) and a dehumidification heat exchanger (210) (dehumidification module 5 Fig. 1) spaced apart from the indoor heat exchanger (51) (Fig. 1) are separately mounted at the interior unit (50) (Fig. 1), the cooling/heating heat pump comprising: a cooling line (100) (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Li) and a heating line (300) (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Li) connected to an outdoor heat exchanger (35) (outdoor heat exchanger 31 Fig. 1) of an outdoor unit (30) (corresponds to the combination of outdoor heat exchanger 31 and outdoor fan 32 Fig. 1) and formed by connecting the indoor heat exchanger (51) and the outdoor heat exchanger (35) (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Li); and a dehumidification line (200) (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Li) including an upper refrigerant line (210a) (see paragraph [34] and annotated Fig. 1 of Li below) functioning as a condenser (paragraph [34] where compressed refrigerant from compressor 1 flows in the upper refrigerant line of Li which is connected to dehumidifying condenser 54 Fig. 1) in the dehumidification heat exchanger (210) (paragraph [34]) and a lower refrigerant line (210b) (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Li) functioning as an evaporator (paragraph [34] where decompressed refrigerant from second throttling device 62 flows in the lower refrigerant line of Li which is connected to dehumidifying evaporator 53 Fig. 1) separately from the cooling line (100) and the heating line (300) (see below annotated Fig. 1 of Li), wherein the dehumidification line (200) is coupled to a discharge side (11) (Fig. 1 and paragraph [21] where the disclosed “refrigerant outlet” of compressor 1 corresponds to the discharge side) of a compressor (10) (compressor 1 Fig. 1) and a 4-way valve (20) (four-way reversing valve 8 Fig. 1), a high-temperature and high-pressure refrigerant (corresponds to the refrigerant leaving compressor 1 and flowing into dehumidifying condenser 54 as described in paragraph [34]) discharged from the discharge side (11) of the compressor (10) is discharged to the dehumidification line (200) (paragraph [34]), the high-temperature and high-pressure refrigerant coming through the upper refrigerant line (210a) of the dehumidification heat exchanger (210) changes into a low-temperature and low-pressure refrigerant (corresponds to the refrigerant leaving second throttling device 62 as described in paragraph [34]) while passing through a second expansion valve (220) (second throttling device 62 Fig. 1 and paragraph [34]), and flows back into the lower refrigerant line (210b) of the dehumidification heat exchanger (210) (paragraph [34]), and the passing refrigerant circulates to the compressor (10) through an intake side (12) of the compressor (10) (paragraphs [21] and [34] where the disclosed “refrigerant inlet” of compressor 1 corresponds to the intake side), wherein the lower refrigerant line (210b) of the dehumidification heat exchanger (210) into which the low-temperature and low-pressure refrigerant is flowing back is spaced apart from the indoor heat exchanger (51) (Fig. 1); the method including: the cooling line (100) and the dehumidification line (200) are controlled to simultaneously operate in a cooling and dehumidification simultaneous operation mode (correspond to the operation mode described in paragraph [33]), the heating line (300) and the dehumidification line (200) are controlled to simultaneously operate in a heating and dehumidification simultaneous operation mode (correspond to the operation mode described in paragraph [33]), wherein the discharge side (11) is diverged into two refrigerant supplies (corresponds to the refrigerant flowing in the dehumidification circuit and the refrigerant flowing in the cooling/heating circuit as described in paragraphs [33] and [34]), one of the two refrigerant supplies (corresponds to the refrigerant flowing in the cooling/heating circuit as described in paragraphs [33] and [34]) is controlled such that the high-temperature and high-pressure refrigerant is supplied to the cooling line (100) and the heating line (300) (paragraphs [33] and [34]); another of the two refrigerant supplies (corresponds to the refrigerant flowing in the dehumidification circuit as described in paragraphs [33] and [34]) is controlled such that each of valves of the other of the two refrigerant supplies (due to indefiniteness, corresponds to first on-off valve 71 and second on-off valve 72 Fig. 1 and paragraphs [33] to [34]) is opened/ or closed such that the high-temperature and high-pressure refrigerant is supplied to the dehumidification line (200) (paragraphs [33] and [34]).
Li teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “a controller (400) is formed for the cooling/heating heat pump, indoor air flowing inside through a front surface of the interior unit (50) is cooled and dehumidified while passing through a heat exchanger of the lower refrigerant line (210b) of the dehumidification heat exchanger (210), and the cooled and dehumidified air increases in temperature while passing through the upper refrigerant line (210a) and is then cooled and dehumidified while passing through the indoor heat exchanger (51) and supplied to an interior”.
However, Arai teaches a controller (400) (control unit 32 Fig. 2) is formed for a cooling/heating heat pump (paragraph [0013] where dehumidifying blower 10 corresponds to the cooling/heating heat pump of Li), indoor air (the disclosed “airflow” in paragraph [0018] and Fig. 3) flowing inside through a front surface of an interior unit (50) (front surface of dehumidifying blower 10 Fig. 3 where dehumidifying blower 10 corresponds to the indoor unit of Li) is cooled and dehumidified (paragraph [0018]) while passing through a heat exchanger (evaporator 20 Fig. 3) of a lower refrigerant line (210b) (Fig. 3 and paragraph [0018] where the lower refrigerant line of evaporator 20 corresponds to the lower refrigerant line of Li) of a dehumidification heat exchanger (210) (the combination of evaporator 20 and condenser 17 correspond to the dehumidification heat exchanger of Li), and the cooled and dehumidified air increases in temperature (paragraph [0018]) while passing through an upper refrigerant line (210a) (Fig. 3 and paragraph [0018] where the upper refrigerant line of condenser 17 corresponds to the upper refrigerant line of Li) and is then cooled and dehumidified (paragraph [0018]) while passing through an indoor heat exchanger (51) (paragraph [0018] and Fig. 3 where cooler 23 corresponds to the indoor heat exchanger of Li) and supplied to an interior (paragraph [0018]) to provide a system with excellent operational stability (paragraph [0004]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of Li to include “a controller (400) is formed for the cooling/heating heat pump, indoor air flowing inside through a front surface of the interior unit (50) is cooled and dehumidified while passing through a heat exchanger of the lower refrigerant line (210b) of the dehumidification heat exchanger (210), and the cooled and dehumidified air increases in temperature while passing through the upper refrigerant line (210a) and is then cooled and dehumidified while passing through the indoor heat exchanger (51) and supplied to an interior” in view of the teachings of Arai to provide a system with excellent operational stability.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the controller (400) receives values including temperature and humidity measured in real time at an indoor supply place, a surface temperature of the outdoor heat exchanger (35), and humidity flowing into the outdoor heat exchanger (35), and controls the received values at preset values; the controller (400) measures a humidity and temperature of inflow air”.
However, Song teaches a controller (400) (the disclosed “controller” in paragraph [0052] corresponds to the controller of Arai) receives values (correspond to the disclosed “information” in paragraph [0052]) including temperature and humidity (paragraph [0052]) measured in real time at an indoor supply place (understood to be the area in which the air is conditioned as described in paragraph [0052]), a surface temperature of an outdoor heat exchanger (35) (paragraph [0052] and Fig. 1 where outdoor heat exchangers A1-A3 correspond to the outdoor heat exchanger of Li), and humidity (paragraph [0052]) flowing into the outdoor heat exchanger (35) (paragraph [0052]), and controls the received values at preset values (paragraph [0052] where it is understood to be any value set by the user); the controller (400) measures a humidity and temperature of inflow air (disclosed “temperature and humidity information” in paragraph [0084]) to improve the detection of frost formation on the outdoor unit (paragraph [0084]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of the combined teachings to include “the controller (400) receives values including temperature and humidity measured in real time at an indoor supply place, a surface temperature of the outdoor heat exchanger (35), and humidity flowing into the outdoor heat exchanger (35), and controls the received values at preset values; the controller (400) measures a humidity and temperature of inflow air” in view of the teachings of Song to improve the detection of frost formation on the outdoor unit.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the method including: a control method of the cooling line (100) in which, in a cooling operation mode, the humidification line (200) is turned off, the indoor heat exchanger (51) is changed to function as an evaporator, a refrigerant is supplied, and preset temperature and humidity are controlled; a control method of the dehumidification line (200) in which, in a dehumidification operation mode, the cooling line (100) and the heating line (300) are turned off, a refrigerant is supplied to the dehumidification heat exchanger (210), and temperature and humidity set in advance at the indoor supply place are controlled; a control method of the heating line (300) in which, in a heating operation mode, the humidification line (200) is turned off, the indoor heat exchanger (51) is changed to function as a condenser, a refrigerant is supplied, and the preset temperature and humidity are controlled; the controller (400), in the cooling and dehumidification simultaneous operation mode and the heating and dehumidification simultaneous operation mode, controls amounts of refrigerants supplied separately from the discharge side (11) of the compressor (10) such that the temperature and humidity measured in real time at the indoor supply place reach the preset temperature and humidity”.
However, Hu teaches a method (the method described in paragraph [56] corresponds to the method of Li) including: a control method of a cooling line (100) (paragraph [56] and Fig. 2 where the refrigerant line that accommodates expansion valve 9 corresponds to the cooling line of Li) in which, in a cooling operation mode (corresponds to the mode in which the disclosed device is operated as an “air conditioner” as described in paragraph [56]), the humidification line (200) is turned off (paragraph [56]), an indoor heat exchanger (51) (indoor heat exchanger 4 Fig. 2 corresponds to the indoor heat exchanger of Li) is changed to function as an evaporator (paragraphs [21] and [56]), a refrigerant (paragraph [21]) is supplied (paragraphs [21] and [56]), and preset temperature (paragraph [1]) and humidity (paragraph [1]) are controlled (paragraph [40]); a control method of the dehumidification line (200) (paragraph [56]) in which, in a dehumidification operation mode (corresponds to the mode in which the disclosed device is operated as a “dehumidifier” as described in paragraph [56]), the cooling line (100) and a heating line (300) are turned off (paragraph [56] and Fig. 2 where the refrigerant line that accommodates expansion valve 9 corresponds to the heating line of Li), a refrigerant (paragraphs [21] and [56]) is supplied to a dehumidification heat exchanger (210) (dehumidifying evaporator 6 Fig. 2 corresponds to the dehumidification heat exchanger of Li), and temperature (paragraph [1]) and humidity (paragraph [1]) set in advance at an indoor supply place are controlled (paragraph [40] where the disclosed “room” corresponds to the supply place of Song); a control method of the heating line (300) (paragraph [56]) in which, in a heating operation mode (corresponds to the mode in which the disclosed device is operated as an “air conditioner” as described in paragraph [56]), the humidification line (200) is turned off (paragraph [56]), the indoor heat exchanger (51) is changed to function as a condenser (paragraphs [21] and [56]), a refrigerant (paragraphs [21] and [56]) is supplied (paragraphs [21] and [56]), and the preset temperature and humidity are controlled (paragraphs [1] and [40]); a controller (400) (the disclosed “controller” in paragraph [57] corresponds to the controller of Arai), in a cooling and dehumidification simultaneous operation mode (the mode in which the disclosed device is operated in “temperature-increasing dehumidification mode” as described in paragraph [56] corresponds to the cooling and dehumidification simultaneous operation mode of Li) and a heating and dehumidification simultaneous operation mode (the mode in which the disclosed device is operated in “temperature-increasing dehumidification mode” as described in paragraph [56] corresponds to the heating and dehumidification simultaneous operation mode of Li), controls amounts of refrigerants (paragraph [56] where it is disclosed that both electronic expansion valves 7 and 9 are “partially opened to a certain fixed opening”) supplied separately from a discharge side (11) of a compressor (10) (the discharge side of compressor 1 Fig. 2 corresponds to the discharge side of the compressor of Li) such that temperature and humidity measured in real time (paragraph [1]) at the indoor supply place reach the preset temperature and humidity (paragraph [40]) to provide a more efficient system (paragraph [62]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of the combined teachings to include “the method including: a control method of the cooling line (100) in which, in a cooling operation mode, the humidification line (200) is turned off, the indoor heat exchanger (51) is changed to function as an evaporator, a refrigerant is supplied, and preset temperature and humidity are controlled; a control method of the dehumidification line (200) in which, in a dehumidification operation mode, the cooling line (100) and the heating line (300) are turned off, a refrigerant is supplied to the dehumidification heat exchanger (210), and temperature and humidity set in advance at the indoor supply place are controlled; a control method of the heating line (300) in which, in a heating operation mode, the humidification line (200) is turned off, the indoor heat exchanger (51) is changed to function as a condenser, a refrigerant is supplied, and the preset temperature and humidity are controlled; the controller (400), in the cooling and dehumidification simultaneous operation mode and the heating and dehumidification simultaneous operation mode, controls amounts of refrigerants supplied separately from the discharge side (11) of the compressor (10) such that the temperature and humidity measured in real time at the indoor supply place reach the preset temperature and humidity” in view of the teachings of Hu to provide a more efficient system.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the controller (400) measures the surface temperature of the outdoor heat exchanger (35) and determines whether to perform defrosting, and when a defrosting condition is reached, multiple reheat pipes (70) equipped with an electric heater rod (71) installed at an inflow side of the outdoor unit (30) are operated such that the multiple reheat pipes (70) are selectively simultaneously operated”.
However, Xie teaches a controller (400) (the disclosed “controller” in paragraph [32] corresponds to the controller of Arai) measures a surface temperature (surface temperature of condenser 3 paragraph [32]) of an outdoor heat exchanger (35) (condenser 3 Fig. 3 and paragraph [32] corresponds to the outdoor heat exchanger of Li) and determines whether to perform defrosting (paragraph [32]), and when a defrosting condition is reached (paragraph [32]), multiple reheat pipes (70) (electric heating wires 5 Fig. 3) equipped with an electric heater rod (71) (corresponds to the outer tubes of electric heating wires 5 Fig. 2) installed at an inflow side of an outdoor unit (30) (liquid inlet pipe 31 Fig. 3 and paragraph [32] where the plurality of condensers 3 corresponds to the outdoor unit of Li) are operated such that the multiple reheat pipes (70) are selectively simultaneously operated (paragraph [32]) to provide a frost-proof device (paragraph [7]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of the combined teachings to include “the controller (400) measures the surface temperature of the outdoor heat exchanger (35) and determines whether to perform defrosting, and when a defrosting condition is reached, multiple reheat pipes (70) equipped with an electric heater rod (71) installed at an inflow side of the outdoor unit (30) are operated such that the multiple reheat pipes (70) are selectively simultaneously operated” in view of the teachings of Xie to provide a frost-proof device.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “multiple refrigerant divergent paths of the outdoor heat exchanger (35) of the outdoor unit (30) are composed of an upper path part (35a), a middle path part (35b), and a lower path part (35c), the upper path part (35a) forms an upper preset refrigerant path channel enabling flow from an upper end of the upper path part (35a) into an outdoor refrigerant collector (38) positioned at an outer end of the outdoor heat exchanger (35); the middle path part (35b) forms a middle preset refrigerant path channel enabling flow from a middle portion of the middle path part (35b) into the outdoor refrigerant collector (38); the lower path part (35c) forms a lower preset refrigerant path channel enabling flow from a lower end of the lower path part (35c) into the outdoor refrigerant collector (38); and refrigerant received from the upper path part (35a), the middle path part (35b) and the lower path part (35c) is mixed in the outdoor refrigerant collector (38), exchanges heat, and is then discharged back to the outdoor heat exchanger (35)”.
However, Haikawa teaches multiple refrigerant divergent paths (corresponds to the multiple refrigerant paths formed by inlets 17c and outlets 17d Fig. 3 and Col. 4 lines 62-67, Col. 5 lines 1-12) of an outdoor heat exchanger (35) (indoor heat exchanger 14, Figs. 1 and 3 corresponds to the outdoor heat exchanger of Li) of an outdoor unit (30) (indoor unit 2 Fig. 1 corresponds to the outdoor of Li) are composed of an upper path part (35a) (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Haikawa), a middle path part (35b) (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Haikawa), and a lower path part (35c) (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Haikawa), the upper path part (35a) forms an upper preset refrigerant path channel (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Haikawa) enabling flow from an upper end of the upper path part (35a) (Col. 4 lines 62-67 and Col. 5 lines 1-12) into an outdoor refrigerant collector (38) (branching section 18a Fig. 3 and Col. 4 lines 62-67, Col. 5 lines 1-12 where it is disclosed that during the heating operation mode, the refrigerant will flow in a direction that is opposite to the one illustrated in Fig. 3 resulting in the refrigerant collecting at branching section 18a) positioned at an outer end of the outdoor heat exchanger (35) (Fig. 3 where branching section 18a is located at the outer left end of indoor heat exchanger 14); the middle path part (35b) forms a middle preset refrigerant path channel (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Haikawa) enabling flow from a middle portion of the middle path part (35b) (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Haikawa) into the outdoor refrigerant collector (38) (Col. 4 lines 62-67 and Col. 5 lines 1-12 during the heating mode); the lower path part (35c) forms a lower preset refrigerant path channel (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Haikawa) enabling flow from a lower end of the lower path part (35c) (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Haikawa) into the outdoor refrigerant collector (38) (Col. 4 lines 62-67 and Col. 5 lines 1-12 during the heating mode); and refrigerant received from the upper path part (35a), the middle path part (35b) and the lower path part (35c) is mixed in the outdoor refrigerant collector (38) exchanges heat, and is then discharged back to the outdoor heat exchanger (35) (Fig. 3, Col. 4 lines 62-67 and Col. 5 lines 1-12 during the described heating mode where refrigerant is flowing in the reverse direction and is collected in branching section 18 a before reentering indoor heat exchanger 14 through auxiliary heat exchanger 20 Fig. 3) to provide a heat exchanger with multiple heat exchange zones.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of the combined teachings to include “multiple refrigerant divergent paths of the outdoor heat exchanger (35) of the outdoor unit (30) are composed of an upper path part (35a), a middle path part (35b), and a lower path part (35c), the upper path part (35a) forms an upper preset refrigerant path channel enabling flow from an upper end of the upper path part (35a) into an outdoor refrigerant collector (38) positioned at an outer end of the outdoor heat exchanger (35); the middle path part (35b) forms a middle preset refrigerant path channel enabling flow from a middle portion of the middle path part (35b) into the outdoor refrigerant collector (38); the lower path part (35c) forms a lower preset refrigerant path channel enabling flow from a lower end of the lower path part (35c) into the outdoor refrigerant collector (38); and refrigerant received from the upper path part (35a), the middle path part (35b) and the lower path part (35c) is mixed in the outdoor refrigerant collector (38), exchanges heat, and is then discharged back to the outdoor heat exchanger (35)” in view of the teachings of Haikawa to provide a heat exchanger with multiple heat exchange zones.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the indoor heat exchanger (51) and the dehumidification heat exchanger (210) are mounted at a lower end of the interior unit (50); the outdoor refrigerant collector (38) positioned at an outer lower end of the outdoor heat exchanger (35)”.
However, Applicant has not disclosed that having “wherein the indoor heat exchanger (51) and the dehumidification heat exchanger (210) are mounted at a lower end of the interior unit (50); the outdoor refrigerant collector (38) positioned at an outer lower end of the outdoor heat exchanger (35)” does anything more than produce the predictable result of providing a plurality of heat exchangers for the indoor unit and collecting refrigerant from the outdoor unit. Since it has been held that mere rearrangement of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, see MPEP 2144.04 VI. C, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings and meet the claimed limitations in order to produce the predictable results of providing a plurality of heat exchangers for the indoor unit and collecting refrigerant from the outdoor unit.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 13-14, filed on 08/06/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of a different interpretation of the previously applied reference.
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Haikawa teaches multiple refrigerant divergent paths (corresponds to the multiple refrigerant paths formed by inlets 17c and outlets 17d Fig. 3 and Col. 4 lines 62-67, Col. 5 lines 1-12) of an outdoor heat exchanger (35) (indoor heat exchanger 14, Figs. 1 and 3 corresponds to the outdoor heat exchanger of Li) of an outdoor unit (30) (indoor unit 2 Fig. 1 corresponds to the outdoor of Li) are composed of an upper path part (35a) (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Haikawa), a middle path part (35b) (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Haikawa), and a lower path part (35c) (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Haikawa), the upper path part (35a) forms an upper preset refrigerant path channel (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Haikawa) enabling flow from an upper end of the upper path part (35a) (Col. 4 lines 62-67 and Col. 5 lines 1-12) into an outdoor refrigerant collector (38) (branching section 18a Fig. 3 and Col. 4 lines 62-67, Col. 5 lines 1-12 where it is disclosed that during the heating operation mode, the refrigerant will flow in a direction that is opposite to the one illustrated in Fig. 3 resulting in the refrigerant collecting at branching section 18a) positioned at an outer end of the outdoor heat exchanger (35) (Fig. 3 where branching section 18a is located at the outer left end of indoor heat exchanger 14); the middle path part (35b) forms a middle preset refrigerant path channel (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Haikawa) enabling flow from a middle portion of the middle path part (35b) (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Haikawa) into the outdoor refrigerant collector (38) (Col. 4 lines 62-67 and Col. 5 lines 1-12 during the heating mode); the lower path part (35c) forms a lower preset refrigerant path channel (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Haikawa) enabling flow from a lower end of the lower path part (35c) (see below annotated Fig. 3 of Haikawa) into the outdoor refrigerant collector (38) (Col. 4 lines 62-67 and Col. 5 lines 1-12 during the heating mode); and refrigerant received from the upper path part (35a), the middle path part (35b) and the lower path part (35c) is mixed in the outdoor refrigerant collector (38) exchanges heat, and is then discharged back to the outdoor heat exchanger (35) (Fig. 3, Col. 4 lines 62-67 and Col. 5 lines 1-12 during the described heating mode where refrigerant is flowing in the reverse direction and is collected in branching section 18 a before reentering indoor heat exchanger 14 through auxiliary heat exchanger 20 Fig. 3) to provide a heat exchanger with multiple heat exchange zones.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763