DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 01/20/2025 and 01/22/2025 have been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 2-3, 5-6, 8-9, 11-12, 14-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim(s) 2-3 and 19-20, a limitation "each magnetic field sensing element being identical to the magnetic field sensing element" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if two magnetic field sensing elements are in addition to preceding magnetic field sensing element or the magnetic field sensing element comprises two magnetic field sensing elements is meant. Examiner assumes the later for examination.
Dependent Claim(s) 5-6, 8-9, 11-12 and 14-15 not specifically addressed share the same 112(b) rejection as the rejected base Claim(s). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by SHIMIZU et al. (US 20200064417; hereinafter SHIMIZU).
Regarding claim 1, SHIMIZU discloses in figure(s) 1-13 a current measurement module comprising:
a conductor (2,2A; figs. 1,13) including two main body portions (portions of 2A along X) arranged side by side in a first direction, and two current path portions (21,22 ) arranged side by side in a second direction (Y,Z) orthogonal to the first direction with a through hole (XYZ hole between 21 and 22 and slit 23; fig. 23) interposed therebetween and for connecting the two main body portions; and
a magnetic field sensing element (10; fig. 1) including a magnetosensitive surface for detecting magnetic fields generated by currents flowing through the two current path portions, wherein
the through hole has a protruding region (YZ hole of 21) which locally protrudes in the second direction only (+YZ) on one side adjacent to a current path portion (21) of the two current path portions (versus -YZ for 22), and, in the current path portion on the one side, a narrow region having a same width (symmetry of 21 & 22 dimensions along XYZ with respect to 23) in the second direction as that of another current path portion of the two current path portions on another side or a narrower width in the second direction than that of the another current path portion of the two current path portions on the another side is formed.
Regarding claim 2, SHIMIZU discloses in figure(s) 1-13 the current measurement module according to claim 1, wherein two magnetic field sensing elements (31-34; fig. 5) are arranged side by side in a third direction orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction, each magnetic field sensing element being identical to the magnetic field sensing element, and each of the two magnetic field sensing elements includes a magnetosensitive surface for detecting a component in the second direction of magnetic fields generated by currents flowing through the two current path portions.
Regarding claim 3, SHIMIZU discloses in figure(s) 1-13 the current measurement module according to claim 1, wherein two magnetic field sensing elements (3a, 3b; fig. 4) are arranged side by side in the second direction, each magnetic field sensing element being identical to the magnetic field sensing element, and each of the two magnetic field sensing elements includes a magnetosensitive surface for detecting a component in a third direction orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction of magnetic fields generated by currents flowing through the two current path portions (21,22).
Regarding claim 4, SHIMIZU discloses in figure(s) 1-13 the current measurement module according to claim 1, wherein a length of the protruding region (YZ offset of 21 from 23) in the first direction is equal to or less than a half of a length of the through hole (length of 23) in the first direction and equal to or more than a thickness of the conductor (2A).
Regarding claim 5, SHIMIZU discloses in figure(s) 1-13 the current measurement module according to claim 2, wherein a length of the protruding region (YZ offset of 21 from 23) in the first direction is equal to or less than a half of a length of the through hole (length of 23) in the first direction and equal to or more than a thickness of the conductor (2A).
Regarding claim 6, SHIMIZU discloses in figure(s) 1-13 the current measurement module according to claim 3, wherein a length of the protruding region (YZ offset of 21 from 23) in the first direction is equal to or less than a half of a length of the through hole (length of 23) in the first direction and equal to or more than a thickness of the conductor (2A).
Regarding claim 7, SHIMIZU discloses in figure(s) 1-13 the current measurement module according to claim 1, wherein a width of any remaining portion of the through hole (width of 23 along Y/Z) other than the protruding region in the second direction is equal to or less than two-thirds of a maximum value of a width of a portion of the through hole (width of 21 along Y/Z) in the second direction where the protruding region of the through hole is formed.
Regarding claim 8, SHIMIZU discloses in figure(s) 1-13 the current measurement module according to claim 2, wherein a width of any remaining portion of the through hole (width of 23 along Y/Z) other than the protruding region in the second direction is equal to or less than two-thirds of a maximum value of a width of a portion of the through hole (width of 21 along Y/Z) in the second direction where the protruding region of the through hole is formed.
Regarding claim 9, SHIMIZU discloses in figure(s) 1-13 the current measurement module according to claim 3, wherein a width of any remaining portion of the through hole (width of 23 along Y/Z) other than the protruding region in the second direction is equal to or less than two-thirds of a maximum value of a width of a portion of the through hole (width of 21 along Y/Z) in the second direction where the protruding region of the through hole is formed.
Regarding claim 10, SHIMIZU discloses in figure(s) 1-13 the current measurement module according to claim 4, wherein a width of any remaining portion of the through hole (width of 23 along Y/Z) other than the protruding region in the second direction is equal to or less than two-thirds of a maximum value of a width of a portion of the through hole (width of 21 along Y/Z) in the second direction where the protruding region of the through hole is formed.
Regarding claim 11, SHIMIZU discloses in figure(s) 1-13 the current measurement module according to claim 5, wherein a width of any remaining portion of the through hole (width of 23 along Y/Z) other than the protruding region in the second direction is equal to or less than two-thirds of a maximum value of a width of a portion of the through hole (width of 21 along Y/Z) in the second direction where the protruding region of the through hole is formed.
Regarding claim 12, SHIMIZU discloses in figure(s) 1-13 the current measurement module according to claim 6, wherein a width of any remaining portion of the through hole (width of 23 along Y/Z) other than the protruding region in the second direction is equal to or less than two-thirds of a maximum value of a width of a portion of the through hole (width of 21 along Y/Z) in the second direction where the protruding region of the through hole is formed.
Regarding claim 16, SHIMIZU discloses in figure(s) 1-13 the current measurement module according to claim 1, wherein, when viewed from a third direction (Z) orthogonal to the first direction and the second direction, the magnetic field sensing element (10) is within the through hole.
Regarding claim 17, SHIMIZU discloses in figure(s) 1-13 the current measurement module according to claim 1, wherein, when viewed from the second direction (Y), the magnetic field sensing element (10) is arranged in a range where the protruding region of the through hole is formed.
Regarding claim 18, SHIMIZU discloses in figure(s) 1-13 the current measurement module according to claim 1, wherein the magnetic field sensing element is a Hall element (para. 57 - magnetic device including a Hall device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIMIZU in view of OKUYAMA et al. (US 20150204915).
Regarding claim(s) 13-15 SHIMIZU teaches in figure(s) 1-13 the current measurement module according to claim(s) 1-3, respectively.
SHIMIZU does not teach explicitly wherein a width of any remaining portion of the through hole other than the protruding region in the second direction is equal to or less than 6 mm.
However, OKUYAMA teaches in figure(s) 1-6 wherein a width of any remaining portion of the through hole other than the protruding region in the second direction is equal to or less than 6 mm (para. 54 - width W of the current paths 5 and 6 in the present embodiment is desirably not more than 0.5 mm; fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of SHIMIZU by having wherein a width of any remaining portion of the through hole other than the protruding region in the second direction is equal to or less than 6 mm as taught by OKUYAMA in order to provide "a current detection structure that allows the use of a high sensitivity magnetic detection element even if a large current flows through the busbar so as to conduct a more accurate measurement" (para. 10).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Racz et al. (US 20140253103) discloses "A current sensor comprises a housing of plastic, a current conductor with integrally shaped first and second electrical terminals, through which a current to be measured is supplied and discharged, third electrical terminals, and a semiconductor chip having at least one magnetic field sensor".
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 19-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AKM ZAKARIA/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858