Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 & 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 6 the applicant claims a second angle without a prior antecedent basis for a first angle in the claim chain which leaves one to question if there is a first angle or not. This leaves the scope indefinite.
In Claim 9 the applicant claims both a first and second angle without a prior antecedent basis in the claim chain for either which leaves one to question if there is a first and second angle or not. Further, they define the third angle in terms of the first and second angle. All of this leaves the scope indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 7, 9, 10, 13, 14, 18, & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DiFoggio (PGPub 2007/0068242) (DiFoggio).
Regarding Claims 1 & 18, DiFoggio discloses a device of testing a substance in a liquid (30) under test through plasma optical emission spectrum (Fig. 3), comprising:
an electrode (36) having at least a portion adapted to be disposed inside the liquid under test and adapted to be in contact with the liquid under test, wherein the electrode is adapted to produce a plasma in the liquid under test under an applied voltage (Paragraph 30), and the plasma is located in a bubble generated under the applied voltage; and
a light detection element (22 & 34) adapted to detect an optical emission spectrum generated from the plasma in the bubble (Paragraph 30), the light detection element being an optical fiber (Paragraph 30), wherein no light-focusing component is present between the light detection element and the plasma (See fig. 3). The probe in figure 3 is mislabeled as 24 but it’s 22 in the text.
The method of claim 18 is also met by this disclosure.
Regarding Claim 2, DiFoggio discloses the aforementioned. Further, DiFoggio discloses wherein the light detection element has at least a portion adapted to be disposed inside the liquid under test (See figs. 3 & 7) and comprising a light-receiving end (Fig. 7, 23) adapted to be located in the bubble to detect the optical emission spectrum generated from the plasma in the bubble (Paragraphs 16 & 70). As illustrated the end is in the bubble. Further, given the pointed tip and the optically-transparent coating (25) which may be tin oxide or indium tin oxide it is adapted to be located in the bubble.
Regarding Claim 3, DiFoggio discloses the aforementioned. Further, DiFoggio discloses wherein the light detection element is oriented at a first angle to a normal of a contact surface between the electrode and the liquid under test, with an included angle of 0° defined between the first angle and the normal of the contact surface (see fig. 3). This limitation is claimed in such a way that all angles work. Thus, it is met by the disclosure.
Regarding Claim 4, DiFoggio discloses the aforementioned. Further, DiFoggio discloses wherein the light detection element has at least a portion adapted to be disposed inside the liquid under test (See figs. 3 & 7) and comprising a light-receiving end (Fig. 7, 23) separated from the electrode by a distance configured to allow the light-receiving end to be adapted to be located within scope of the bubble (Paragraphs 16 & 70). As illustrated the end is in the bubble. Further, given the pointed tip and the optically-transparent coating (25) which may be tin oxide or indium tin oxide it is adapted to be located in the bubble.
Regarding Claim 6, DiFoggio discloses the aforementioned. Further, DiFoggio discloses wherein the light detection element is oriented at a second angle to a normal of a contact surface between the electrode and the liquid under test, with an included angle of 90° defined between the second angle and the normal of the contact surface (See fig. 3). This limitation is claimed in such a way that all angles work. Thus, it is met by the disclosure.
Regarding Claim 7, DiFoggio discloses the aforementioned. Further, DiFoggio discloses wherein the light detection element has at least a portion adapted to be disposed inside the liquid under test (See figs. 3 & 7) and comprising a light-receiving end (Fig. 7, 23) separated from the electrode by a distance configured to allow the light-receiving end to be adapted to be located within scope of the bubble (Paragraphs 16 & 70). As illustrated the end is in the bubble. Further, given the pointed tip and the optically-transparent coating (25) which may be tin oxide or indium tin oxide it is adapted to be located in the bubble.
Regarding Claim 9, DiFoggio discloses the aforementioned. Further, DiFoggio discloses bwherein the light detection element is oriented at a third angle to a normal of a contact surface between the electrode and the liquid under test, allowing an included angle defined between the third angle and the normal of the contact surface to fall between a first angle and a second angle, with an included angle of 0° defined between the first angle and the normal of the contact surface, with an included angle of 90° defined between the second angle and the normal of the contact surface (See fig. 3). This limitation is claimed in such a way that all angles work. Thus, it is met by the disclosure.
Regarding Claim 10, DiFoggio discloses the aforementioned. Further, DiFoggio discloses wherein the light detection element has at least a portion adapted to be disposed inside the liquid under test (See figs. 3 & 7) and comprising a light-receiving end (Fig. 7, 23) separated from the electrode by a distance configured to allow the light-receiving end to be adapted to be located within scope of the bubble (Paragraphs 16 & 70). As illustrated the end is in the bubble. Further, given the pointed tip and the optically-transparent coating (25) which may be tin oxide or indium tin oxide it is adapted to be located in the bubble.
Regarding Claim 13, DiFoggio discloses the aforementioned. Further, DiFoggio discloses a sample chamber (Fig. 3, 42, this is mislabeled as 32 in the figure but is fluid conduit 42 in the disclosure) configured to retain the electrode and the light detection element and receive the liquid under test;
a spectrometer (32) coupled to the light detection element and configured to analyze an optical emission spectrum generated from a plasma in the bubble and detected by the light detection element (Paragraph 30); and
a power coupled to the electrode and configured to provide the applied voltage to the electrode (inherent). While there is not disclosed power coupled to the electrode to provide applied voltage to it this must be the case in order to generate a spark.
Regarding Claim 14, DiFoggio discloses the aforementioned. Further, DiFoggio discloses an electronic device (32) electrically connected to the spectrometer and configured to analyze the optical emission spectrum through the spectrometer (Paragraph 30).
Regarding Claim 19, DiFoggio discloses the aforementioned. Further, DiFoggio discloses wherein the step of detecting, by a light detection element, an optical emission spectrum generated from the plasma further comprises the steps of:
placing at least a portion of the light detection element in the liquid under test (See fig. 3);
placing a light-receiving end included in at least a portion of the light detection element in a bubble (Fig. 7, Paragraphs 16 & 70). As illustrated the end is in the bubble.; and
detecting directly an optical emission spectrum generated from the plasma in the bubble (Paragraph 30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 8, 11, 12, & 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DiFoggio.
Regarding Claim 5, DiFoggio discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose wherein at least a portion of the light detection element comprises a light-receiving end separated from the electrode by a distance ranging from 0.1 mm to 4 mm;
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of the claims are discloses in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range by routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify DiFoggio with wherein at least a portion of the light detection element comprises a light-receiving end separated from the electrode by a distance ranging from 0.1 mm to 4 mm because it would be common sense to locate the light-receiving end of the light detection element as related to the electrode within a working range that would provide optimum luminosity detection while still being far enough to allow for a bubble and plasma to form.
Regarding Claims 8 & 11, DiFoggio discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose wherein at least a portion of the light detection element comprises a light-receiving end separated from the electrode by a distance ranging from 0.05 mm to 3.5 mm;
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of the claims are discloses in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range by routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify DiFoggio with wherein at least a portion of the light detection element comprises a light-receiving end separated from the electrode by a distance ranging from 0.05 mm to 3.5 mm because it would be common sense to locate the light-receiving end of the light detection element as related to the electrode within a working range that would provide optimum luminosity detection while still being far enough to allow for a bubble and plasma to form.
Regarding Claim 12, DiFoggio discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose wherein at least a portion of the light detection element is adapted to be disposed inside the liquid under test and comprises a light-receiving end separated from the electrode by a distance ranging from 0.05 mm to 10 mm;
However, it has been held that where the general conditions of the claims are discloses in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable range by routine experimentation. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify DiFoggio with wherein at least a portion of the light detection element is adapted to be disposed inside the liquid under test and comprises a light-receiving end separated from the electrode by a distance ranging from 0.05 mm to 10 mm because it would be common sense to locate the light-receiving end of the light detection element as related to the electrode within a working range that would provide optimum luminosity detection while still being far enough to allow for a bubble and plasma to form.
Regarding Claim 15, DiFoggio discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the electronic device is configured to be signal-connected to an external device to provide an analysis result about the optical emission spectrum of the liquid under test to the external device in real time;
However, the examiner takes official notice this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify DiFoggio with wherein the electronic device is configured to be signal-connected to an external device to provide an analysis result about the optical emission spectrum of the liquid under test to the external device in real time because it is common sense for a down borehole device for measuring a liquid to transmit the results to a device readable by a user at the top of the borehole for making real time decisions based upon the measurements.
Regarding Claim 16, DiFoggio discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose an electronic device electrically connected to the power and configured to set a parameter of the applied voltage through the power to adjust the plasma produced in the liquid under test;
However, the examiner takes official notice this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify DiFoggio with an electronic device electrically connected to the power and configured to set a parameter of the applied voltage through the power to adjust the plasma produced in the liquid under test because this allows one to optimize the creation of the plasma to achieve the optimum illumination for detection and improve the signal to noise ratio.
Regarding Claim 17, DiFoggio discloses the aforementioned but fails to explicitly disclose an electronic device electrically connected to the power and the spectrometer and configured to synchronize the power and the spectrometer so as to synchronize production of the plasma and reception of the optical emission spectrum;
However, the examiner takes official notice this would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing;
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify DiFoggio with an electronic device electrically connected to the power and the spectrometer and configured to synchronize the power and the spectrometer so as to synchronize production of the plasma and reception of the optical emission spectrum because it’s common sense to turn on the spectrometer at the same time you turn on the plasma generating electrode.
Conclusion
/JONATHON COOK/Examiner, Art Unit 2877 January 29, 2026
/Kara E. Geisel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877