DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 01/16/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 5, the recitation of “ the compensation circuit includes a plurality of operational transconductance amplifiers” is not clear because which plurality of operational transconductance amplifiers is the applicant referring. It is noted that in Claim 1 which states “the compensation circuit includes one or more operational transconductance amplifiers” thus the recitation of Claim 5 is unclear and indefinite. Further clarification is needed.
In Claim 5, the recitation of “ the filter circuit is provided for each of the plurality of operational transconductance amplifiers” is unclear because the filter circuit appear to be a single the filter circuit and it defined that “wherein the filter circuit is a low pass filter” in claim 4, thus it is not clear that a single the filter circuit would provide for each of the plurality of operational transconductance amplifiers. It is noted that each filter 171-173 connected to each amplifier 161-161n. Further clarification is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by S Romero et al. (US 10481219 B2, hereinafter Romero).
Regarding claim 10:
Romero discloses in Fig. 1, a sensor amplifier circuit, comprising:
a differential amplifier circuit (amplifier 102) with a current feedback loop (see feedback loop includes resistor R1), the differential amplifier circuit being configured to amplify a difference voltage from a sensor circuit (Sensing element 104) and to generate an output voltage in response to the difference voltage; and
a compensation circuit (circuit includes elements 142, 148, 152) configured to generate a compensation current signal (Col. 4, lines 30-31, compensation signal 152a) based on the output voltage, the compensation current signal being input to the current feedback loop that compensates for a non-linear distortion of the output voltage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 1-4 & 6-9 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The independence Claim 1 is allowable over prior art (i.e., Hegde). Hegde discloses in Fig. 2, a sensor amplifier circuit, comprising:
a differential amplifier circuit (Fig. 2, amplifier 100) configured to amplify a difference voltage between a pair of output signals from a sensor circuit (Sensor 133) to generate an output voltage (e.g., a differential output signal); and
a compensation circuit (e.g., circuit 122) configured to generate a compensation signal based on the output voltage to compensate for a non-linear distortion of the output voltage.
Hegde does not disclose the differential amplifier circuit includes a current feedback instrumentation amplifier; the compensation circuit includes one or more operational transconductance amplifiers (OTAs) configured to output one or more electric currents based on the output voltage and output a sum of the one or more electric currents from the one or more OTAs as the compensation signal; and the compensation signal from the compensation circuit is input to a current feedback loop in the current feedback instrumentation amplifier.
Claims 2-4 & 6-9 are allowable because they depend on claim 1.
Therefore, the applicant’s claimed invention has been determined to be novel and non-obvious. By virtue of dependency, claims 2-4 & 6-9 have also been determined to be novel and non-obvious.
Claims 11-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 11-14 are allowable since the closest prior art does not disclose wherein the compensation circuit includes at least a first operational transconductance amplifier (OTA) configured to output a first electric current based on the output voltage, the first electric current being at least a portion of the compensation current signal that is input to the current feedback loop.
Claims 15-18 are allowable since the closest prior art does not disclose wherein the compensation circuit includes a plurality of operational transconductance amplifiers (OTAs) configured to output a plurality of electric currents based on the output voltage and to output a sum of the plurality of electric currents from the plurality of operational transconductance amplifiers as the compensation current signal.
Claims 18-20 are allowable since the closest prior art does not disclose the compensation circuit includes a first operational transconductance amplifier and a second operational transconductance amplifier; the first operational transconductance amplifier configured to output a first compensation current when the output voltage reaches a first threshold; and the second operational transconductance amplifier configured to output a second compensation current when the output voltage reaches a second threshold greater than the first threshold; and/or wherein the differential amplifier circuit includes a current feedback instrumentation amplifier.
Conclusion
/KHIEM D NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2843