DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-9 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2023/0276681 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a display device comprising: a light emitting element layer (EL) including light emitting elements disposed on a substrate (110); a color filter layer (320) disposed on the light emitting element layer, the color filter layer (320) including color filters (CF-R, CF-B, CF-G) disposed in respective emission areas and a first light blocking pattern (P1) disposed in a non-emission area (NLA) surrounding the emission areas (LA); and second light blocking patterns (P2) disposed on the light emitting element layer and disposed in the emission areas (LA, Fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses a display device wherein the second light blocking patterns (P2) are at positions spaced apart from the first light blocking pattern (P1), and at least one of the second light blocking patterns (P2) is disposed in each of the emission areas (LA).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses a display device wherein the emission areas includes a first emission area (LA-B) emitting light of a first color, a second emission area (LB-G) emitting light of a second color, and a third emission area (LB-R) emitting light of a third color, and the color filters (320) include a first color filter (CF-B) disposed in at least the first emission area, a second color filter (CF-G) disposed in at least the second emission area, and a third color filter (CF-R) disposed in at least the third emission area (Fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 8, Kim discloses a display device wherein the first light blocking pattern (P1) includes a first black matrix pattern disposed in the non-emission area (¶[0164]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim discloses a display device wherein the second light blocking patterns (P2) include at least one second black matrix pattern disposed in each of the emission areas (¶[0164]).
Regarding claim 16, Kim discloses a display device wherein each of the second light blocking patterns (P2) includes a second pattern disposed in the color filter layer (Fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 17, Kim discloses a display device wherein each of the second light blocking patterns (P2) further includes a reflective film (FP, ¶[0168]) disposed on a surface of the second pattern facing the light emitting element layer (Fig. 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-7, 10-11, 13-15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2023/0276681 A1) in view of Lee (US 2021/0359011 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Kim fails to exemplify wherein the second light blocking patterns include color filters of at least two colors that overlap each other at a position where each of the second light blocking patterns is disposed.
Lee discloses a display device comprising: a light emitting element layer (EML) including light emitting elements disposed on a substrate (110); a color filter layer (CFL) disposed on the light emitting element layer, the color filter layer (CFL) including color filters (CFL_1, CFL_2, CFL_3) disposed in respective emission areas (EMA1, EMA2, EMA3) and a light blocking pattern (¶[0077]) disposed in a non-emission area (NEM) surrounding the emission areas, wherein the light blocking pattern include color filters of at least two colors that overlap each other at a position where each of the light blocking patterns is disposed in order block light emission from the display and suppress reflection of external light. One skilled in that art would have reasonably contemplate forming the second light blocking pattern by using the same color filter layer arrangement of the first blocking pattern as disclosed by Lee. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the light blocking pattern including color filters of at least two colors that overlap as disclosed by Lee in the display device of Kim in order to block light emission from the display and suppress reflection of external light.
Regarding claims 5-6, Kim fails to exemplify wherein the light of the first color, the light of the second color, and the light of the third color are red light, green light, and blue light, respectively, the first color filter, the second color filter, and the third color filter are a red color filter, a green color filter, and a blue color filter, respectively, and each of the second light blocking patterns includes the first color filter and the third color filter, and wherein each of the second light blocking patterns further includes the second color filter..
Lee discloses a display device wherein the light of the first color (EMA1), the light of the second color (EMA2), and the light of the third color (EMA3) are red light, green light, and blue light, respectively, the first color filter (CFL_1), the second color filter (CFL_2), and the third color filter (CFL_3) are a red color filter, a green color filter, and a blue color filter (¶[0073]), respectively, and each of the light blocking patterns includes the first color filter and the third color filter (¶[0077], Fig. 4), and wherein each of the light blocking patterns further includes the second color filter (¶[0077], Fig. 4). Same rational for combining stated in the rejection of claim 4 applies.
Regarding claim 7, Kim fails to exemplify wherein the first light blocking pattern includes the first color filter, the second color filter, and the third color filter that overlap each other in the non-emission area.
Lee discloses a display device comprising: a light emitting element layer (EML) including light emitting elements disposed on a substrate (110); a color filter layer (CFL) disposed on the light emitting element layer, the color filter layer (CFL) including color filters (CFL_1, CFL_2, CFL_3) disposed in respective emission areas (EMA1, EMA2, EMA3) and a light blocking pattern (¶[0077]) disposed in a non-emission area (NEM) surrounding the emission areas, wherein the first light blocking pattern includes the first color filter (CFL_1), the second color filter (CFL_2), and the third color filter (CFL_3) that overlap each other in the non-emission area (NEM) in order block light emission from the display and suppress reflection of external light. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the light blocking pattern including the first color filter, the second color filter, and the third color filter as disclosed by Lee in the display device of Kim in order to block light emission from the display and suppress reflection of external light.
Regarding claim 10, Kim fails to exemplify wherein the color filter layer further includes a low refraction layer covering a surface of each of the color filters facing the light emitting element layer, and the second light blocking patterns include colored spacer patterns disposed on a surface of the low refraction layer.
Lee discloses a display device comprising: a light emitting element layer (EML) including light emitting elements disposed on a substrate (110); a color filter layer (CFL) disposed on the light emitting element layer, the color filter layer (CFL) including color filters (CFL_1, CFL_2, CFL_3) disposed in respective emission areas (EMA1, EMA2, EMA3) and a light blocking pattern (¶[0077]) disposed in a non-emission area (NEM) surrounding the emission areas, wherein the color filter layer further includes a low refraction layer (LRL) covering a surface of each of the color filters facing the light emitting element layer, and the second light blocking patterns include colored spacer patterns (¶[0077]) disposed on a surface of the low refraction layer (LRL) in order to reflect a portion of the light emitted toward the color filter layer from a color conversion layer and back to the color conversion layer. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the low refraction layer disclosed by Lee in the display device of Kim in order to reflect a portion of the light emitted toward the color filter layer from a color conversion layer and back to the color conversion layer.
Regarding claim 11, Kim fails to exemplify a light conversion layer disposed between the light emitting element layer and the color filter layer, the light conversion layer including light transmitting members disposed in the emission areas and a first bank disposed in the non-emission area.
Lee discloses a display device comprising: a light emitting element layer (EML) including light emitting elements disposed on a substrate (110); a color filter layer (CFL) disposed on the light emitting element layer, the color filter layer (CFL) including color filters (CFL_1, CFL_2, CFL_3) disposed in respective emission areas (EMA1, EMA2, EMA3) and a first light blocking pattern (¶[0077]) disposed in a non-emission area (NEM) surrounding the emission areas (EMA1, EMA2, EMA3), and a light conversion layer (WCL) disposed between the light emitting element layer (EML) and the color filter layer (CFL), the light conversion layer (WCL) including light transmitting members (BRS) disposed in the emission areas and a first bank (MBM) disposed in the non-emission area (NEM) in order to convert light emitted by the light emitting element to a desired color light emission. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the light conversion layer as disclosed by Lee in the display device of Kim in order to convert light emitted by the light emitting element to a desired color light emission.
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses a display device wherein the emission areas include a first emission area (LA-B) emitting light of a first color, a second emission area (LA-G) emitting light of a second color, and a third emission area (LA-R) emitting light of a third color, but fails to exemplify the light transmitting members include a first light transmitting member disposed in the first emission area, a second light transmitting member disposed in the second emission area, and a third light transmitting member disposed in the third emission area.
Lee discloses a display device further comprising wherein the emission areas include a first emission area emitting light of a first color (EMA1), a second emission area emitting light of a second color (EMA2), and a third emission area emitting light of a third color (EMA3), and the light transmitting members include a first light transmitting member (BRS1) disposed in the first emission area, a second light transmitting member (BRS2) disposed in the second emission area, and a third light transmitting member (BRS3) disposed in the third emission area (Fig. 4) in order to convert light emitted by the light emitting element areas to a desired color light emission. Same rationale for combining stated in the rejection of claim 11 applies
Regarding claim 14, Kim fails to exemplify wherein the light emitting elements emit the light of the third color, the first light transmitting member includes a first wavelength shifter converting the light of the third color into the light of the first color, and the second light transmitting member includes a second wavelength shifter converting the light of the third color into the light of the second color.
Lee discloses a display panel wherein the light emitting elements emit the light of the third color (¶[0063]), the first light transmitting member includes a first wavelength shifter (WCP1) converting the light of the third color into the light of the first color, and the second light transmitting member includes a second wavelength shifter (WCP2) converting the light of the third color into the light of the second color (¶s[0063, 0109]). Same rationale for combining stated in the rejection of claim 11 applies.
Regarding claim 15, Kim fails to exemplify wherein the first light transmitting member, the second light transmitting member, and the third light transmitting member include a light diffusing agent.
Lee discloses a display panel wherein the first light transmitting member, the second light transmitting member, and the third light transmitting member include a light diffusing agent (SCP) in order to increase wavelength conversion efficiency and control an emission angle of the light emitted through the light transmitting member (¶s[0109-0110]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the light diffusing agent disclosed by Lee in the display device of Kim in order to increase wavelength conversion efficiency and control an emission angle of the light emitted through the light transmitting members.
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses a display device comprising: a light emitting element layer (EL) including light emitting elements disposed on a substrate (110); a color filter layer (320), the color filter layer including color filters (CF-B, CF-G, CF-R) disposed in the emission areas and a first light blocking pattern (P1) disposed in the non-emission area (NLA); and second light blocking patterns (P2) disposed in the color filter layer and disposed in the emission areas (LA). Kim fails to exemplify a light conversion layer disposed on the light emitting element layer, the light conversion layer including light transmitting members disposed in emission areas and a first bank disposed in a non-emission area surrounding the emission areas.
Lee discloses a display device comprising: a light emitting element layer (EML) including light emitting elements disposed on a substrate (110); a light conversion layer (WCL) disposed on the light emitting element layer, the light conversion layer including light transmitting members (BRS1) disposed in emission areas and a first bank (MBM) disposed in a non-emission area surrounding the emission areas; a color filter layer (CFL) disposed on the light conversion layer, the color filter layer including color filters (CFL_1, CFL_2, CFL_3) disposed in the emission areas (EMA1-EMA3) and a first light blocking pattern ((¶[0077]) disposed in the non-emission area (NEM), the light conversion layer is used to convert light emitted by the light emitting element layer to corresponding red and green light emission. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the light conversion layer as disclosed by Lee in the display device of Kim in order to convert light emitted by the light emitting elements to a desired color light emission.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12, 19 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim(s) 12, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 12, and specifically comprising the limitation of the second light blocking patterns include at least one second bank disposed in the light conversion layer and disposed in each of the emission areas to be separated from the first bank, and the first bank and the second bank include a same material.
Regarding claim(s) 19, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 19, and specifically comprising the limitation of each of the second light blocking patterns includes a second bank disposed in the light conversion layer and separated from the first bank.
Regarding claim(s) 20, the references of the Prior Art of record fails to teach or suggest the combination of the limitations as set forth in claim(s) 20, and specifically comprising the limitation of each of the second light blocking patterns includes color filters of at least two colors disposed in the color filter layer and overlapping each other and a black matrix pattern disposed in the color filter layer and separated from the first light blocking pattern or a colored spacer pattern disposed on a surface of a low refraction layer covering a surface of each of the color filters.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hong et al. (US 2022/0336781 A1) discloses a display device including: a display panel including a light emitting area emitting light and a peripheral area adjacent to the light emitting area; and a light blocking member disposed on the display panel and blocking light, at least a portion of the light blocking member is disposed in the light emitting area.
Kim et al. (US 2020/0212111 A1) discloses a display apparatus including a color filter layer, a reflective metal at a portion of the color filter layer, and a light absorbing part on an upper surface of the reflective metal.
Park et al. (KR 20180026267 A) discloses an organic light emitting display including an organic light emitting diode and a color filter part disposed on the organic light emitting diode, and a black matrix surrounding boundaries of subpixels R, G, and B to prevent color mixing in a space where the subpixels R, G, and B are spaced apart.
Kim et al. (US 2023/0284512 A1) discloses a display device including a first emission area and a non-emission area, a first light emitting element overlapping the first emission area, a thin film encapsulation layer on the first light emitting element, a first color filter overlapping the first emission area, a first wavelength conversion pattern on the first color filter and overlapping the first emission area, and a first optical pattern between the first color filter and the first wavelength conversion pattern and overlapping the first emission area.
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood or implied from the texts of the references. To emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out. Each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
Contact Information
/Mariceli Santiago/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2879