DETAILED ACTION
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to the application filed on 11/01/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
As an initial matter, the claims as a whole are to a plurality of apparatus and a process, which falls within one or more statutory categories. (Step 1: YES) The recitation of the claimed invention is then further analyzed as follow, in which the abstract elements are boldfaced.
Claim 1 recites:
A first server comprising: memory configured to store at least one instruction; and one or more processors configured to execute the at least one instruction stored in the memory to:
send, to a second server, attribute information of a mobility device, wherein the attribute information indicates that a service of at least one device part of the mobility device is associated with at least one of an accident risk value or a user convenience value of the mobility device;
receive, from the second server, a first assessment estimate that is determined based on at least one of the accident risk value or a user convenience value;
receive, from a user device, an indication of approval of the first assessment estimate; and
send, to the second server, information about the indication of approval of the first assessment estimate.
Claim 8 recites:
A second server comprising:
a transceiver configured to transmit and receive one or more signals; and
one or more processors configured to control the transceiver, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
receive, from a user device, a request for an assessment estimate;
receive, from a first server, attribute information of a mobility device, wherein the attribute information indicates that a service of at least one device part of the mobility device is associated with at least one of an accident risk value or a user convenience value of the mobility device;
determine, based on at least one of the accident risk value of the user convenience value, a first assessment estimate;
send, to the user device, the first assessment estimate;
receive, from the user device, an indication of approval of the first assessment estimate; and
send, to the first server, information about the indication of approval of the first assessment estimate.
Claim 15 recites:
A method comprising:
sending, by a first server to a second server, attribute information of a mobility device, wherein the attribute information indicates that a service of at least one device part of the mobility device is associated with at least one of an accident risk value or a user convenience value of the mobility device;
receiving, from the second server, a first assessment estimate that is determined based on at least one of the accident risk value or the user convenience value;
receiving, from a user device, an indication of approval of the first assessment estimate; and
sending, to the second server, information about the indication of approval of the first assessment estimate.
Claims 2, 9 and 16 recite:
receive, from the user device, a request for a second service of at least one second device part of the mobility device, wherein the second service is associated with at least one of a second accident risk value or a second user convenience value of the mobility device; and receive, based on the request, a second assessment estimate that is determined based on at least one of the second accident risk value or the second convenience value.
receive, from the first server, an indication of a second service of at least one second device part of the mobility device, wherein the second service is associated with at least one of a second accident risk value or a second user convenience value of the mobility device; and send, to the user device, a second assessment estimate that is determined based on at least one of the second accident risk value or the second user convenience value.
Claims 3, 10 and 17 recite:
send, to the user device, the second assessment estimate; receive, from the user device, an indication of approval of the second assessment estimate; and send, to the second server, information about the indication of approval of the second assessment estimate.
receive, from the user device, an indication of approval of the second assessment estimate; and send, to the first server, information about the indication of approval of the second assessment estimate.
Claims 4, 11 and 18 recite:
wherein the second server comprises a plurality of second servers, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive, from the plurality of second servers, a plurality of assessment estimates, and wherein the second assessment estimate is different from at least one of the plurality of assessment estimates.
wherein the second server further comprises a plurality of second servers, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine, for each of the plurality of second servers, a different one of a plurality of assessment estimates, and wherein the second assessment estimate is different from at least one of the plurality of assessment estimates.
Claims 5, 12 and 19 recite:
receive, from the user device, an indication of termination of the service for the mobility device; and receive, from the second server, a second assessment estimate that reflects the termination of the service.
receive, from the first server, an indication of termination of the service; and send, to the user device, a second assessment estimate that reflects the termination of the service.
Claims 6, 13 and 20 recite:
send, to the user device, the second assessment estimate; receive, from the user device, an indication of approval of the second assessment estimate; and send, to the second server, information about the indication of approval of the second assessment estimate.
receive, from the user device, an indication of approval of the second assessment estimate.
Claims 7 and 14 recite:
wherein the second server comprises a plurality of second servers, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive, from the plurality of second servers, a plurality of assessment estimates, and wherein the second assessment estimate that reflects the termination of the service is different from at least one of the plurality of assessment estimates.
wherein the second server comprises a plurality of second servers, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine, for each of the plurality of second servers, a different one of a plurality of assessment estimates, and wherein the second assessment estimate that reflects the termination of the service is different from at least one of the plurality of assessment estimates.
Based on the limitations above, the claims describe a process that covers providing risk assessment estimate of mobility dev. The Specification paragraph 0051 and 0054 indicate that “mobility device is a vehicle that is a ground moving body that runs on the ground …” and “An assessment may be an insurance, and an assessment estimate may be an insurance quote.” Providing insurance quote for vehicle is considered to be a commercial interaction, which falls within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas. As such, the claim(s) recite(s) a Judicial Exception. (Step 2A prong one: Yes)
This analysis then evaluates whether the claims as a whole integrates the recited Judicial Exception into a practical application of the exception. In particular, the claims recite the additional element(s) of “server” and “processor” as a mere tool to perform the steps of the Judicial Exception, which encompasses no more than Mere Instruction to Apply.
For example, the limitation “send, to a second server, attribute information of a mobility device, wherein the attribute information indicates that a service of at least one device part of the mobility device is associated with at least one of an accident risk value or a user convenience value of the mobility device” encompasses no more than generically invoking one or more server to apply the Judicial Exception step of sending attribute information of the mobility device (vehicle) to an assessment manager;
the limitation “receive, from the second server, a first assessment estimate that is determined based on at least one of the accident risk value or a user convenience value” encompasses no more than generically invoking one or more server to apply the Judicial Exception step of receiving the assessment estimate.
the limitation “receive, from a user device, an indication of approval of the first assessment estimate” encompasses no more than generically invoking one or more server to apply the Judicial Exception step of receiving the indication of approval of the first assessment estimate from the user;
the limitation “send, to the second server, information about the indication of approval of the first assessment estimate” encompasses no more than generically invoking one or more server to apply the Judicial Exception step of sending information about the indication of approval of the first assessment estimate to the assessment manager;
the limitation “receive, from a user device, a request for an assessment estimate” encompasses no more than generically invoking one or more server to apply the Judicial Exception step of receiving a request for assessment estimate (insurance quote) from the user;
the limitation “receive, from a first server, attribute information of a mobility device, wherein the attribute information indicates that a service of at least one device part of the mobility device is associated with at least one of an accident risk value or a user convenience value of the mobility device” encompasses no more than generically invoking one or more server to apply the Judicial Exception step of receiving attribute information of a mobility device (vehicle) from a facilitator;
the limitation “determine, based on at least one of the accident risk value or the user convenience value, a first assessment estimate” encompasses no more than generically invoking one or more server to apply the Judicial Exception step of determining the first assessment estimate based on at least one of accident risk value or the user convenience value;
the limitation “send, to the user device, the first assessment estimate” encompasses no more than generically invoking one or more server to apply the Judicial Exception step of sending the first assessment estimate to the user;
the limitation “receive, from the user device, an indication of approval of the first assessment estimate” encompasses no more than generically invoking one or more server to apply the Judicial Exception step of receiver the indication of approval of the first assessment estimate from the user;
the limitation “send, to the first server, information about the indication of approval of the first assessment estimate” encompasses no more than generically invoking one or more server to apply the Judicial Exception step of sending information about the indication of approval to the facilitator;
the limitation “receive, from the user device, a request for a second service of at least one second device part of the mobility device, wherein the second service is associated with at least one of a second accident risk value or a second user convenience value of the mobility device; and receive, based on the request, a second assessment estimate that is determined based on at least one of the second accident risk value or the second convenience value” encompasses no more than generically invoking one or more server to apply the Judicial Exception step of receiving the request for a second service (insurance) from the user, receiving a second assessment estimate (second insurance quote);
the limitation “receive, from the first server, an indication of a second service of at least one second device part of the mobility device, wherein the second service is associated with at least one of a second accident risk value or a second user convenience value of the mobility device; and send, to the user device, a second assessment estimate that is determined based on at least one of the second accident risk value or the second user convenience value” encompasses no more than generically invoking one or more server to apply the Judicial Exception step of receiving the indication of a second service (insurance) from a facilitator and sending a second assessment estimate (second insurance quote) to the user;
the limitation “send, to the user device, the second assessment estimate; receive, from the user device, an indication of approval of the second assessment estimate; and send, to the second server, information about the indication of approval of the second assessment estimate” encompasses no more than generically invoking one or more server to apply the Judicial Exception step of sending a second assessment estimate (second insurance quote) to the user, receiving an indication of approval from the user, and sending information about the indication of approval to the assessment manager;
the limitation “receive, from the user device, an indication of approval of the second assessment estimate; and send, to the first server, information about the indication of approval of the second assessment estimate.” encompasses no more than generically invoking one or more server to apply the Judicial Exception step of receiving an indication of approval from the user, and sending information about the indication of approval to the facilitator;
the limitation “wherein the second server comprises a plurality of second servers, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive, from the plurality of second servers, a plurality of assessment estimates, and wherein the second assessment estimate is different from at least one of the plurality of assessment estimates” encompasses no more than generically invoking one or more server to apply the Judicial Exception step of receiving a plurality of different second assessment estimates from a plurality of assessment manager;
the limitation “wherein the second server further comprises a plurality of second servers, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine, for each of the plurality of second servers, a different one of a plurality of assessment estimates, and wherein the second assessment estimate is different from at least one of the plurality of assessment estimates” encompasses no more than generically invoking one or more server to apply the Judicial Exception step of having a plurality of assessment managers determine different assessment estimates;
the limitation “receive, from the user device, an indication of termination of the service for the mobility device; and receive, from the second server, a second assessment estimate that reflects the termination of the service” encompasses no more than generically invoking one or more server to apply the Judicial Exception step of receiving an indication of termination of the service (insurance) from the user and receiving a second assessment estimate (insurance quote) from the assessment manager;
the limitation “receive, from the first server, an indication of termination of the service; and send, to the user device, a second assessment estimate that reflects the termination of the service” encompasses no more than generically invoking one or more server to apply the Judicial Exception step of receiving an indication of termination of the service (insurance) from the facilitator and sending a second assessment estimate (insurance quote) to the user;
the limitation “send, to the user device, the second assessment estimate; receive, from the user device, an indication of approval of the second assessment estimate; and send, to the second server, information about the indication of approval of the second assessment estimate” encompasses no more than generically invoking one or more server to apply the Judicial Exception step of sending a second assessment estimate (insurance quote) to the user, receiving the indication of approval of the second assessment estimate, and sending to the assessment manager the information;
the limitation “receive, from the user device, an indication of approval of the second assessment estimate” encompasses no more than generically invoking one or more server to apply the Judicial Exception step of receiving the indication of approval of the second assessment estimate;
the limitation “wherein the second server comprises a plurality of second servers, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive, from the plurality of second servers, a plurality of assessment estimates, and wherein the second assessment estimate that reflects the termination of the service is different from at least one of the plurality of assessment estimates” encompasses no more than generically invoking one or more server to apply the Judicial Exception step of receiving a plurality of different second assessment estimates from a plurality of assessment manager;
the limitation “wherein the second server comprises a plurality of second servers, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine, for each of the plurality of second servers, a different one of a plurality of assessment estimates, and wherein the second assessment estimate that reflects the termination of the service is different from at least one of the plurality of assessment estimates” encompasses no more than generically invoking one or more server to apply the Judicial Exception step of having a plurality of assessment managers determine different assessment estimates;
Other than being generally linked to the steps of the Judicial Exception, the additional elements in the above step(s) is/are recited at a high-level of generality, without technological detail of how the particular steps are performed technologically.
The additional element(s) of “memory” and/or “non-transitory storage medium” are generically recited to store data and/or instructions of the Judicial Exception.
The additional element(s) of “from / to … the server” are generically recited to perform communication steps such as receiving and transmitting.
The additional element(s) of “mobility device” are generically recited as the subject associated with assessment estimate, such as a vehicle being insured.
The examiner further noted generic computer affixes such as “first server” and “second server(s)” are invoked in place of a facilitator and one or more assessment manager coordinating communications of the insurance quoting process, but found that to be mere instructions to implement the Judicial Exception idea on a computer.
Indeed, the instant claims (1) attempted to cover a solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result; (2) used of a computer or other machinery in its ordinary capacity for economic or other tasks or simply added a general purpose computer or computer components after the fact to the Judicial Exception and (3) generally applied the Judicial Exception to a generic computing environment without limitation indicative of practical application (See MPEP 2106.04(d)I). Thus, the claims are no more than Mere Instruction to Apply the Judicial Exception (See MPEP 2106.05(f)) or adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception (See MPEP 2106.05(g)), which do not integrate the cited Judicial Exception into practical application (Step 2A prong two: No) The claims are directed to a Judicial Exception.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using one or more processors to facilitate insurance quoting to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. The recited ordered combination of additional elements includes one or more servers invoked in place of parties of the insurance quoting. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. No additional element currently recited in the claims amount the claims to be significantly more than the cited abstract idea. (Step 2B: No)
Therefore, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gay et al. (US 2007/0299700)
As per claim 1, Gay discloses a first server comprising:
memory configured to store at least one instruction; and one or more processors (See Gay Paragraph 0041) configured to execute the at least one instruction stored in the memory to:
send, to a second server, attribute information of a mobility device, wherein the attribute information indicates that a service of at least one device part of the mobility device is associated with at least one of an accident risk value or a user convenience value of the mobility device; (See Gay Paragraph 0030-0032 and 0066-0068)
receive, from the second server, a first assessment estimate that is determined based on at least one of the accident risk value or a user convenience value; (See Gay Paragraph 0034-0036 and 0066-0068)
receive, from a user device, an indication of approval of the first assessment estimate; (See Gay Paragraph 0051-0052 and 0066-0068, customer selection of insurance quote is an indication of approval of the assessment estimate.) and
send, to the second server, information about the indication of approval of the first assessment estimate. (See Gay Paragraph 0051-0052 and 0066-0068)
As per claim 8, Gay discloses a second server comprising:
a transceiver configured to transmit and receive one or more signals; and
one or more processors configured to control the transceiver, wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
receive, from a user device, a request for an assessment estimate; (See Gay Paragraph 0030-0032 and 0066-0068)
receive, from a first server, attribute information of a mobility device, wherein the attribute information indicates that a service of at least one device part of the mobility device is associated with at least one of an accident risk value or a user convenience value of the mobility device;
determine, based on at least one of the accident risk value of the user convenience value, a first assessment estimate; (See Gay Paragraph 0034-0036 and 0066-0068)
send, to the user device, the first assessment estimate; (See Gay Paragraph 0034-0036 and 0066-0068)
receive, from the user device, an indication of approval of the first assessment estimate; (See Gay Paragraph 0051-0052 and 0066-0068, customer selection of insurance quote is an indication of approval of the assessment estimate.) and
send, to the first server, information about the indication of approval of the first assessment estimate. (See Gay Paragraph 0051-0052 and 0066-0068)
As per claim 15, Gay discloses a method comprising:
sending, by a first server to a second server, attribute information of a mobility device, wherein the attribute information indicates that a service of at least one device part of the mobility device is associated with at least one of an accident risk value or a user convenience value of the mobility device; (See Gay Paragraph 0030-0032 and 0066-0068)
receiving, from the second server, a first assessment estimate that is determined based on at least one of the accident risk value or the user convenience value; (See Gay Paragraph 0034-0036 and 0066-0068)
receiving, from a user device, an indication of approval of the first assessment estimate; (See Gay Paragraph 0051-0052 and 0066-0068, customer selection of insurance quote is an indication of approval of the assessment estimate.) and
sending, to the second server, information about the indication of approval of the first assessment estimate. (See Gay Paragraph 0051-0052 and 0066-0068)
As per claims 2 and 16, Gay discloses:
receive, from the user device, a request for a second service of at least one second device part of the mobility device, wherein the second service is associated with at least one of a second accident risk value or a second user convenience value of the mobility device; and receive, based on the request, a second assessment estimate that is determined based on at least one of the second accident risk value or the second convenience value. (See Gay Paragraph 0034-0036, 0049-0050 and 0066-0068)
As per claim 9, Gay discloses:
receive, from the first server, an indication of a second service of at least one second device part of the mobility device, wherein the second service is associated with at least one of a second accident risk value or a second user convenience value of the mobility device; and send, to the user device, a second assessment estimate that is determined based on at least one of the second accident risk value or the second user convenience value. (See Gay Paragraph 0034-0036, 0049 and 0066-0068)
As per claims 3 and 17, Gay discloses:
send, to the user device, the second assessment estimate; receive, from the user device, an indication of approval of the second assessment estimate; and send, to the second server, information about the indication of approval of the second assessment estimate. (See Gay Paragraph 0049-0052 and 0066-0068)
As per claims 10, Gay discloses:
receive, from the user device, an indication of approval of the second assessment estimate; and send, to the first server, information about the indication of approval of the second assessment estimate. (See Gay Paragraph 0049-0052 and 0066-0068)
As per claims 4 and 18, Gay discloses:
wherein the second server comprises a plurality of second servers, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive, from the plurality of second servers, a plurality of assessment estimates, and wherein the second assessment estimate is different from at least one of the plurality of assessment estimates. (See Gay Paragraph 0034-0036, 0041, 0049 and 0066-0068)
As per claim 11, Gay discloses:
wherein the second server further comprises a plurality of second servers, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine, for each of the plurality of second servers, a different one of a plurality of assessment estimates, and wherein the second assessment estimate is different from at least one of the plurality of assessment estimates. (See Gay Paragraph 0034-0036, 0041, 0049 and 0066-0068)
As per claims 5 and 19, Gay discloses:
receive, from the user device, an indication of termination of the service for the mobility device; and receive, from the second server, a second assessment estimate that reflects the termination of the service. (See Gay Paragraph 0062, 0066-0068 and 0089)
As per claim 12, Gay discloses:
receive, from the first server, an indication of termination of the service; and send, to the user device, a second assessment estimate that reflects the termination of the service. (See Gay Paragraph 0062, 0066-0068 and 0089)
As per claims 6 and 20, Gay discloses:
send, to the user device, the second assessment estimate; receive, from the user device, an indication of approval of the second assessment estimate; and send, to the second server, information about the indication of approval of the second assessment estimate. (See Gay Paragraph 0062, 0066-0068 and 0089)
As per claim 13, Gay discloses:
receive, from the user device, an indication of approval of the second assessment estimate. (See Gay Paragraph 0062, 0066-0068 and 0089)
As per claim 7, Gay discloses:
wherein the second server comprises a plurality of second servers, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive, from the plurality of second servers, a plurality of assessment estimates, and wherein the second assessment estimate that reflects the termination of the service is different from at least one of the plurality of assessment estimates. (See Gay Paragraph 0041, 0049, 0062, 0066-0068 and 0089)
As per claim 14, Gay discloses:
wherein the second server comprises a plurality of second servers, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to determine, for each of the plurality of second servers, a different one of a plurality of assessment estimates, and wherein the second assessment estimate that reflects the termination of the service is different from at least one of the plurality of assessment estimates. (See Gay Paragraph 0041, 0049, 0062, 0066-0068 and 0089)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Donnelli (US 2008/0114620)
/CHO YIU KWONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3693