DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 3, 8, and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2, last word: “sit” should be changed to --site--.
Claims 3 and 8: "transport case” should be changed to --transport cases--
Claim 11, last line: should “electronic” should be changed to --electric--?
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 11, 12, 15, and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9, 11-13, 17, and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,154,808. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims recite all of the limitations of the presently pending claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US Publication No. 2023/0001841) in view of Hsieh et al. (US Publication No. 2019/0148198).
Lee teaches:
Re claim 11. A portable cleanroom stocker, comprising:
a plurality of storage ports (storage space inside electric carts 100, Fig. 1; paragraphs [0034-0035]: “electric carts 100 configured to load articles thereon and provided to be movable”, “In the instant case, the electric cart 100 may autonomously move and has a space for loading the article. The electric cart 100 may have a specific storage function set according to a condition for storing the article.”);
an interior environment management system configured to maintain cleanroom conditions for the plurality of storage ports (paragraph [0044]: “The body portion 110 has the loading space in which the article is loaded. The body portion 110 may have a specific loading function. In the instant case, the loading function may be a function of adjusting a temperature in the loading space, a function of absorbing impact, a sterilization function, or the like.”);
wheels (electric wheels 120, Fig. 1); and
a vehicle guidance module configured to drive the portable cleanroom stocker and to maneuver the portable cleanroom stocker into an unmanned electronic vehicle (Fig. 1 and paragraph [0068]: “Therefore, when the article delivery to the destination is requested, the controller 300 controls the electric cart 100 loaded with the articles to load the electric cart 100 into the accommodation space in the delivery mobility vehicle 400 and controls and moves the delivery mobility vehicle 400 to the requested destination.”).
Lee fails to specifically teach: (re claim 11) a plurality of storage ports each configured to hold a respective transport case configured to hold a plurality of wafers.
Hsieh teaches, at Fig. 1 and paragraphs [0024 and 0028-0029], such autonomous carts may be configured to hold multiple wafer carriers, each including several wafers. This allows for such wafers to be transported around semiconductor fabrication facilities (FABs) to the locations at which the wafers are required.
In view of Hsieh’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the apparatus as taught by Lee, (re claim 11) a plurality of storage ports each configured to hold a respective transport case configured to hold a plurality of wafers, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Hsieh teaches such autonomous carts may be configured to hold multiple wafer carriers, each including several wafers. This allows for such wafers to be transported around semiconductor fabrication facilities (FABs) to the locations at which the wafers are required.
Lee further teaches:
Re claim 15. Wherein the portable cleanroom stocker includes a manufacturing execution system interface (transmitting and receiving controller 300, Fig. 1, paragraphs [0045, 0053, and 0068]).
Re claim 16. Comprising a load/unload port configured to load and unload the transport cases (door on the body portion 110, Fig. 1; and loading articles, paragraphs [0034-0035]).
While Lee teaches a single sensor at paragraph [0052], and adjusting a temperature and minimizing impacts to loaded articles at paragraph [0035], Lee fails to specifically teach: (re claim 17) comprising a plurality of environmental sensors.
Hsieh teaches, at paragraphs [0021-0022], additionally including vibrational sensors in such autonomous carts to determine if the load carried in the autonomous carts should be inspected for errors due to the vibrations.
In view of Hsieh’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the apparatus as taught by Lee, (re claim 17) comprising a plurality of environmental sensors, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Hsieh teaches additionally including vibrational sensors in such autonomous carts to determine if the load carried in the autonomous carts should be inspected for errors due to the vibrations.
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US Publication No. 2023/0001841) in view of Hsieh et al. (US Publication No. 2019/0148198) and Abraham et al. (US Publication No. 2004/0050189).
Lee teaches:
Re claim 18. A method, comprising:
generating, with a manufacturing execution system associated with a first […] site, a command for an unmanned […] vehicle to carry a portable cleanroom stocker to a second […] site (Fig. 1 and paragraph [0068]: “Therefore, when the article delivery to the destination is requested, the controller 300 controls the electric cart 100 loaded with the articles to load the electric cart 100 into the accommodation space in the delivery mobility vehicle 400 and controls and moves the delivery mobility vehicle 400 to the requested destination.”);
storing, with the portable cleanroom stocker, […] (storage space inside electric carts 100, Fig. 1; paragraphs [0034-0035]: “electric carts 100 configured to load articles thereon and provided to be movable”, “In the instant case, the electric cart 100 may autonomously move and has a space for loading the article. The electric cart 100 may have a specific storage function set according to a condition for storing the article.”); and
driving, with a vehicle guidance module of the portable cleanroom stocker, the portable cleanroom stocker into the unmanned […] vehicle (Fig. 1 and paragraph [0019 and 0068]: “Therefore, when the article delivery to the destination is requested, the controller 300 controls the electric cart 100 loaded with the articles to load the electric cart 100 into the accommodation space in the delivery mobility vehicle 400 and controls and moves the delivery mobility vehicle 400 to the requested destination.”; and paragraphs [0020, 0035 and 0073]: the electric cart 100 moves autonomously).
Lee fails to specifically teach: (re claim 18)
a first semiconductor processing site, and a second semiconductor processing site;
storing, with the portable cleanroom stocker, a transport case holding a semiconductor wafer.
Hsieh teaches, at Fig. 1 and paragraphs [0024 and 0028-0029], such autonomous carts may be configured to hold multiple wafer carriers, each including several wafers. This allows for such wafers to be transported to different sites, within semiconductor fabrication facilities (FABs), where the wafers are required.
In view of Hsieh’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the method as taught by Lee, (re claim 18) a first semiconductor processing site, and a second semiconductor processing site; storing, with the portable cleanroom stocker, a transport case holding a semiconductor wafer, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Hsieh teaches such autonomous carts may be configured to hold multiple wafer carriers, each including several wafers. This allows for such wafers to be transported to different sites, within semiconductor fabrication facilities (FABs), where the wafers are required.
Lee fails to specifically teach: (re claim 18) an unmanned electric vehicle.
Abraham teaches, at vehicle 2, wafer transfer area 1B, Fig. 3, and paragraphs [0012, 0026, 0033], such automatic guided vehicles (AGVs) for carrying wafers in a cleanroom environment are preferably propelled using electric motors. Such electric motors propel heavy loads without creating contaminants in the cleanroom environment.
In view of Abraham’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the method as taught by Lee, (re claim 18) an unmanned electric vehicle, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Abraham teaches such automatic guided vehicles (AGVs) for carrying wafers in a cleanroom environment are preferably propelled using electric motors. Such electric motors propel heavy loads without creating contaminants in the cleanroom environment.
Re claim 19. Comprising transporting, with the unmanned electric vehicle, the portable cleanroom stocker from the first semiconductor processing site to the second semiconductor processing site responsive to the command (paragraph [0068]: “Therefore, when the article delivery to the destination is requested, the controller 300 controls the electric cart 100 loaded with the articles to load the electric cart 100 into the accommodation space in the delivery mobility vehicle 400 and controls and moves the delivery mobility vehicle 400 to the requested destination.”).
Lee fails to specifically teach (re claim 20) comprising providing, from the unmanned electric vehicle, transportation data to a manufacturing execution system associated with the second semiconductor processing site.
Hsieh teaches, at paragraphs [0053-0054], transmitting wafer data, from a vehicle transporting the wafer, to a robotic arm at a receiving location for the wafer. This allows for wafer data to accompany the corresponding wafers throughout the manufacturing facility, such that the history of each wafer is known.
In view of Hsieh’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to include, with the method as taught by Lee, (re claim 20) comprising providing, from the unmanned electric vehicle, transportation data to a manufacturing execution system associated with the second semiconductor processing site, with a reasonable expectation of success, since Hsieh teaches transmitting wafer data, from a vehicle transporting the wafer, to a robotic arm at a receiving location for the wafer. This allows for wafer data to accompany the corresponding wafers throughout the manufacturing facility, such that the history of each wafer is known.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-10 are allowed.
Claims 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SPENCER D PATTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3656