Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,165,261 in view of Wiemker et al. US 2014/0298270. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are present or obvious from the limitations of the more detailed patented application as shown in the mapping below.
Regarding claim 1, ‘261 discloses a system, comprising (claim 1 line 1): a memory that stores executable components (claim 1 line 2); and a processor, operatively coupled to the memory, that executes the executable components, the executable components comprising (claim 1 lines 3-5): a user interface component configured to receive, via interaction with one or more display interfaces, annotation input that defines a manual edit to a segmentation of a two-dimensional (2D) image, wherein the 2D image is one of a set of 2D images of a three-dimensional (3D) scan of a subject (claim 1 lines 6-11); a 2D annotation component configured to apply the manual edit to the segmentation to yield an edited segmentation for the 2D image (claim 1 lines 12-14),
Wiemkler discloses editing segmentation for a 2D image comprising one or more dimensions and a position of a two dimensional shape encompassing one or more segmentation lines modified by the manual edit (see paragraph 0055 which discloses a 2D segmentation that is displayed on a graphical user interface [figure 2] allows the user to specify position data of an initial slice using a segmentation line, see paragraph 0012).
‘261 and Wiemkler are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of interacting with a 2D slice to define changes across a 3D volume image.
Before the effective filing date of the invention it would have been obvious to modify ‘261 with the teaching of Wiemkler to show segmentation lines modified by the manual edit. The motivation would be to allow the user to visualize better the changes being made to the image.
Claims 2-20 are similarly mapped with claims 1-20 of ‘261.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "interpolating the edited 3D segmentation" in lines 15-16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2-13 are rejected due to their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 8-15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wiemker et al. US 2014/0298270 (hereinafter “Wiemker”).
Regarding claim 1, Wiemker discloses a system, comprising: a memory that stores executable components; and a processor, operatively coupled to the memory, that executes the executable components (see paragraph 0084, a computer unit adapted to perform the steps of the method)
the executable components comprising: a user interface component configured to receive, via interaction with one or more display interfaces, annotation input that defines a manual edit to a segmentation of a two-dimensional (2D) image, wherein the 2D image is one of a set of 2D images of a three-dimensional (3D) scan of a subject (graphical user interface 155 is used to allow a user to initiate a 2D segmentation of an image that forms part of the slices forming a 3D volume, see paragraph 0047 and 0055)
; a 2D annotation component configured to apply the manual edit to the segmentation to yield an edited segmentation for the 2D image, wherein the edited segmentation for the 2D image comprises one or more dimensions and a position of a two-dimensional shape encompassing one or more segmentation lines modified by the manual edit (see paragraph 0055, a graphical rendering of the calculated 2D segmentation is then displayed which comprises dimensions and positions of a two-dimensional shape with a segmentation line 108 modified by the manual edit, see figure 2)
; a 3D interpolation component configured to modify an initial segmentation of a non-edited image, of the set of 2D images, by interpolating the edited 3D segmentation to the non-edited image to yield an updated segmentation for the non-edited image (see paragraph 0056 upon confirming the 2D segmentation the 3D volume set is generated by the 3D segmenter based on the 2D segmentation, this is interpreted by the Examiner as an interpolation component)
Regarding claim 2, Wiemker discloses wherein the 3D interpolation component is configured to: maintain contours of the initial segmentation for portions of the updated 3D segmentation that do not satisfy a relationship criterion relative to an area corresponding to the manual edit, and modify contours, based on the interpolating, for portions of the updated segmentation that satisfy the relationship criterion relative to the area corresponding to the manual edit (see paragraphs 0072-0074, a comparator establishes a deviation between currently displayed 3D segmentation solution and a candidate segmentation which is compared to a threshold deviation to allow the user to be aware of ambiguous regions and thus update the segmentation based on the deviating chunks, here the comparator which generates deviation values is interpreted by the Examiner as equivalent to the relationship criterion of the claim language, thus the parts that do not deviate from the threshold deviation are maintained and parts that deviate are modified)
Regarding claim 3, Wiemker discloses automatically propagate the annotation input to additional 2D images from the set of 2D images of the three-dimensional (3D) scan of the subject (see paragraph 0056, the 3D segmentation is generated across the 3D dataset and the user can then select a new slice which has been updated, thus the annotation of the 2D image is propagated to the additional images)
Regarding claim 8, wherein the relationship criterion is a distance criterion, and the 3D interpolation component is configured to: maintain contours of the initial segmentation for portions of the updated 3D segmentation that are located outside a defined distance from the area corresponding to the manual edit, and modify contours, based on the interpolating, for portions of the updated segmentation that are located within the defined distance (see paragraph 0073 above, the deviating chunk may be chosen to be the one furthest away from the chunks making up the currently displayed 3D segmentation, thus this is based on a distance criterion).
Regarding claim 9, the relationship criterion is a connectivity criterion, and the 3D interpolation component is configured to: maintain contours of the initial segmentation for portions of the updated 3D segmentation that are not connected to the area corresponding to the manual edit via a common contour, and modify contours, based on the interpolating, for portions of the updated segmentation that are connected to the area corresponding to the manual edit via a common contour (see paragraph 0072, the contours of the slices are identified and used to calculate the 3D segmentations).
Regarding claim 10, the 3D interpolation component is configured to generate a provisional segmentation for the non-edited image based on a global interpolation of the edited segmentation, and revert portions of the provisional segmentation that do not satisfy the relationship criterion to their corresponding contours of the initial segmentation (see paragraph 0074, the user can strike out from the 2D segmentation of the slice showing ambiguity and then the display reverts to the previously shown 3D segmentation).
Claim 11 is similarly analyzed and rejected to claim 10.
Regarding claim 12, the 3D interpolation component is configured to translate the area corresponding to the manual edit from the 2D image to the non-edited image to yield a projected area, and determine whether the portions of the updated segmentation are located outside or within the defined distance from the projected area (see paragraph 0073 above, the deviating chunk may be chosen to be the one furthest away from the chunks making up the currently displayed 3D segmentation, thus this is based on a distance criterion).
Regarding claim 13, the 3D interpolation component is further configured to determine whether to maintain contours of the initial segmentation or to maintain interpolated contours for respective portions of the updated segmentation based on a digital model of the subject (see paragraph 0074).
Regarding claim 14, Wiemker discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by a system comprising a processor via interaction with one or more display interfaces, annotation input that defines a manual edit to a segmentation of a two-dimensional (2D) image, wherein the 2D image is one of a set of 2D images of a three-dimensional (3D) scan of a subject (graphical user interface 155 is used to allow a user to initiate a 2D segmentation of an image that forms part of the slices forming a 3D volume, see paragraph 0047 and 0055); applying, by the system, the manual edit to the segmentation to yield an edited segmentation for the 2D image, wherein the edited segmentation for the 2D image comprises one or more dimensions and a position of a two-dimensional shape encompassing one or more segmentation lines modified by the manual edit (see paragraph 0055, a graphical rendering of the calculated 2D segmentation is then displayed which comprises dimensions and positions of a two-dimensional shape with a segmentation line 108 modified by the manual edit, see figure 2); and modifying, by the system, an initial segmentation of a non-edited image, of the set of 2D images, by interpolating the edited segmentation to the non-edited image to yield an updated 3D segmentation for the non-edited image (see paragraph 0056 upon confirming the 2D segmentation the 3D volume set is generated by the 3D segmenter based on the 2D segmentation, this is interpreted by the Examiner as an interpolation component)
, wherein the modifying comprises: in response to determining that a first portion of the updated segmentation does not satisfy a relationship criterion relative to an area corresponding to the manual edit, maintaining a contour of the initial segmentation for the first portion, and in response to determining that a second portion of the updated segmentation satisfies the relationship criterion, modifying the second portion in accordance with the interpolating (see paragraphs 0072-0074, a comparator establishes a deviation between currently displayed 3D segmentation solution and a candidate segmentation which is compared to a threshold deviation to allow the user to be aware of ambiguous regions and thus update the segmentation based on the deviating chunks, here the comparator which generates deviation values is interpreted by the Examiner as equivalent to the relationship criterion of the claim language, thus the parts that do not deviate from the threshold deviation are maintained and parts that deviate are modified).
Claim 15 is similarly analyzed to claim 3.
Claim 19 is similarly analyzed to claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wiemker in view of Pandolfino et al. US 2022/0405923 (hereinafter “Pandolfino”).
Regarding claim 4, as discussed above, Wiemker discloses the limitations of claim 1.
Wiemker does not explicitly disclose a neural network generates a set of contours for one or more areas of interest identified from the set of 2D image, wherein the annotation input modifies the set of contours from the neural network, however it is well known to use neural networks to generate contour data of an image as shown by Pandolfino.
Pandolfino discloses using a convolutional neural network to generate the outline [contour] of the bolus transported through the esophagus (see paragraph 0081).
Wiemker and Pandolfino are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor of segmenting medical images.
Before the effective filing date it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Wiemker and Pandolfino to use the processing power of a neural network to generate the contours of the input images. The motivation would be to assist the user in determining the contours of the medical imaging when editing.
Claim 16 is similarly analyzed to claim 4.
Claim 20 is similarly analyzed to claim 4.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5-7, 17-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the attached 892 notice of references cited.
Contact Information
/JOHN B STREGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2669