DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 11-17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Daly et al. (US 2018/0369860).
Claim 1: Daly teaches a tool for painting (i.e. touching up) a surface (Abst.), the tool comprising: a faceplate (the face of 23 shown as hatched lines in Fig. 4) on the distal end of the tool (Figs. 1, 3) and having an opening that surrounds a target region of the substrate (Fig. 3; ¶¶ 0042-0043, 0047); and a plurality of sidewalls (the sloped portions of 23 in Fig. 3) extending away from the faceplate and forming a reservoir to receive excess paint (Fig. 3; ¶¶ 0042-0043, 0047).
Claims 2-4: Daly teaches a handle (14) which is coupled to the sidewalls by two supports (13).
Claim 5: Daly teaches that the tool comprises four lateral sidewalls (Fig. 2, e.g.).
Claim 6: Daly teaches a runoff section (24) connected to the sidewalls (¶¶ 0043, 0047).
Claim 7: Daly teaches that the faceplate and sidewalls are configured to detach from the distal end of the tool (¶ 0040).
Claim 8: Daly teaches that the faceplate comprises a seal which creates a negative pressure (i.e. claimed seal) with the surface (¶ 0047).
Claims 9 and 11: Daly teaches that the faceplate is flat like the surface and polygonal (Fig. 1, e.g.).
Claim 12: Daly teaches a tool for painting (i.e. touching up) a surface (Abst.), the tool comprising: a distal end comprising a faceplate (the face of 23 shown as hatched lines in Fig. 4) (Figs. 1, 3 and 4); a proximal end having a handle (14); a plurality of sidewalls (the sloped portions of 23 in Fig. 3) coupled with the faceplate and handle (Fig. 1); and a runoff portion (24) where the runoff portion and sidewalls form a reservoir (Fig. 3; ¶ 0043).
Claims 13-14: Daly teaches that the sidewalls and handle are coupled by two curved supports (13; Fig. 1).
Claim 15: Daly teaches a container (18) coupled to the reservoir.
Claim 16: Daly teaches that the runoff directs excess coating towards the centerline of the reservoir (Fig. 3; ¶ 0043).
Claim 17: Daly teaches that the tool comprises four lateral sidewalls (Fig. 2, e.g.).
Claim 19: Daly teaches that the faceplate comprises a seal which creates a negative pressure (i.e. claimed seal) with the surface (¶ 0047).
Claim 20: Daly teaches that the faceplate is flat like the surface (Fig. 1, e.g.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daly in light of Chase et al. (US 2017/0136491).
Claim 10: Daly fails to teach how the faceplate is formed. Chase teaches a paint applicator tool (Abst.) and explains that the tool can be formed using injection molding or three dimensional printing (i.e. additive manufacturing) (¶ 0030). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have formed the faceplate of Daly using additive manufacturing with the predictable expectation of success.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Daly in light of Matsumoto et al. (US 2009/0266377).
Claim 18: Daly fails to teach that the faceplate is removably coupled with the sidewalls. Matsumoto teaches an applicator for applying color to a surface (Abst.) and explains that the applicator includes a stencil faceplate with an opening corresponding to an shape or image (Abst.) which is removably attached to the distal end of the applicator (Fig. 3). Matsumoto teaches that using such a configuration allows for transfer of desired images to the surface (Abst.) and allows different images to be transferred using the same applicator (Fig. 7). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have utilized a detachable stencil plate at the distal end of the applicator of Daly in order to have transferred images to the surface where desired with the predictable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/ROBERT A VETERE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712