Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 - 4, 7 – 11, 13 – 15, 17 - 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikriannikov (US 9263177; herein after Ikri).
Regarding claim 1, Ikri discloses an electronic assembly comprising:
a first circuit board (the assembly substrate 604, Fig. 6, is a printed circuit board; see Ikri’s claim 17); and
an electronic component (the inductor 300) attached to the first circuit board, the electronic component including a dielectric body (the ferrite core 302; column 6, line 37) and a first clip (the conductors 314; Fig. 5) secured to the dielectric body, wherein the first clip is electrically connected to the first circuit board (604) to operate as vertical interconnect (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 2, Ikri discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Ikri further discloses a second circuit board (the module substrate 606 is a printed circuit board; see Ikri’s claim 17) attached to the electronic component (300) opposite the first circuit board (604), wherein first clip electrically connects the first circuit board (604) to the second circuit board (606).
Regarding claim 3, Ikri discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Ikri further discloses the electronic component is an inductor component (inductor 300).
Regarding claim 4, Ikri discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 3. Ikri further discloses the dielectric body is a ferrite core (the ferrite core 302; column 6, line 37), the inductor component including one or more inductors formed through the ferrite core (Fig. 26 - 29).
Regarding claim 7, Ikri discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Ikri further discloses a second clip (conductors 314(1) & 314 (2), Fig. 6 & 7) secured to the electronic component and electrically connected to the first circuit board to operate as vertical interconnect.
Regarding claim 8, Ikri discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 7. Ikri further discloses the first clip carries a signal (signal conductors 314(3) – 314(8); column 7, lines 66 - 67) and the second clip carries power (power conductors 314(1)-313(2); column 7, lines 55 - 59).
Regarding claim 9, Ikri discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 8. Ikri further discloses the first clip and the second clip have different sizes (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, Ikri discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 8. Ikri further discloses a component (module substrate 606, Fig. 6) mounted across the first clip (314(8)) and the second clip (314(2)).
Regarding claim 11, Ikri discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1. Ikri further discloses the first clip (314(8), Fig. 6) is plated on the dielectric body (302).
Regarding claim 13, Ikri discloses a method of providing electrical connections in an electronic assembly, the method comprising:
securing a first clip (the conductors 314(8); Fig. 5 & 6) to a dielectric body (the ferrite core 302; column 6, line 37) of an electronic component (inductor 300);
attaching the electronic component to a first circuit board (the assembly substrate 604, Fig. 6, is a printed circuit board; see Ikri’s claim 17); and
using the first clip as vertical interconnect (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 14, Ikri discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 13. Ikri further discloses attaching a second circuit board (the module substrate 606 is a printed circuit board; see Ikri’s claim 17) to the electronic component (300) opposite the first circuit board and using the first clip (314) as vertical interconnect between the first circuit board to the second circuit board (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 15, Ikri discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 13. Ikri further discloses the electronic component (314) is an inductor (inductor 300) component including at least one inductor formed through the dielectric body.
Regarding claim 17, Ikri discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 13. Ikri further discloses securing a second clip (314(2)) to the electronic component, and using the second clip as vertical interconnect (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 18, Ikri discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 17. Ikri further discloses carrying a signal using the first clip (signal conductors 314(3) – 314(8); column 7, lines 66 - 67) and carrying power using the second clip (power conductors 314(1)-313(2); column 7, lines 55 - 59).
Regarding claim 19, Ikri discloses an electronic component comprising:
a dielectric body (the ferrite core 302, Fig. 6; column 6, line 37) having a first surface (top surface), a second surface (bottom surface) opposite the first surface, and a side (side surface); and
a first clip (conductor 314(8) or 314(2)) secured to the dielectric body to operate as vertical interconnect, the first clip providing an electrical connection from the first surface to the second surface along the side (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 20, Ikri discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 19. Ikri further discloses an inductor (inductor 300) formed through the dielectric body (302).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, 12, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikriannikov (US 9263177; herein after Ikri), in view of Zeng (US 20090175014).
Regarding claim 5, Ikri discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1.
Ikri does not explicitly disclose the first clip comprises a metal.
Ikri suggests the conductor 314 is a conductor and likely an electrical conductor, column 6, line 19.
Zeng teaches the conductor 40 on the surface of the inductor body 62, Fig. 4A, is made of copper (paragraph 61).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use metal such as copper to make a conductor in order to conduct power and signal through the inductor body.
Regarding claim 6, Ikri, in view of Zeng, discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 5. Zheng further suggests the metal is copper (paragraph 61).
Regarding claim 12, Ikri discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1.
Ikri does not explicitly disclose the first clip attached to the dielectric body by an adhesive.
Zeng teaches the first clip (conductive layer 61, Fig. 5B) is attached to the dielectric body (62) by an adhesive (paragraph 63).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use adhesive to attach the conductor to the body of the component in order to form a complete functional component.
Regarding claim 16, Ikri discloses the claimed invention as set forth in claim 13.
Ikri does not explicitly disclose the first clip comprises a metal.
Ikri suggests the conductor 314 is a conductor and likely an electrical conductor, column 6, line 19.
Zeng teaches the conductor 40 on the surface of the inductor body 62, Fig. 4A, is made of copper (paragraph 61).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to use metal such as copper to make a conductor in order to conduct power and signal through the inductor body.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Vinciarelli (US 12096549) discloses an inductor having terminals on the sides, Fig. 1.
Ikirannikov (US 20210391113) discloses an inductor between two circuit boards, Fig.14.
/BINH B TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847