DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agrawal et al. (US Pub. No.: 2024/0092350 A1: hereinafter “Agrawal”) in view of Gopalkrishna et al. (US Pub. No.: 20230281963 A1: hereinafter “Gopalkrishna”).
Consider claims 1, 11, and 20:
Agrawal teaches one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (See Agrawal, e.g., ¶ [0141], Figs. 1, 6 elements 100-122, 600-654, “…The memory 622, 638, and/or 652 are examples of non-transitory computer-readable media. The memory 622, 638, and/or 652 can store an operating system and one or more software applications, instructions, programs, and/or data to implement the methods…as static random access memory (SRAM), synchronous dynamic RAM (SDRAM), nonvolatile/Flash-type memory, or any other type of memory capable of storing information…”), a system (Figs. 1, 6 elements 100-122, 600-654), and a computer-implemented method for controlling vehicles (See Agrawal, e.g., “…validating or determining trajectories for a vehicle are discussed herein. A trajectory management component can receive status and/or error data from other safety system components and select or otherwise determine safe and valid vehicle trajectories…validate a trajectory upon which the trajectory management component can wait for selecting a vehicle trajectory, validate trajectories stored in a queue, and/or utilize kinematics for validation of trajectories…filter out objects based on trajectories stored in a queue…determine the collision states based on trajectories stored in a queue or determine a collision state upon which the trajectory management component can wait for selecting or otherwise determining a vehicle trajectory…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0010]-¶ [0017], ¶ [0020]-¶ [0030], ¶ [0051]-¶ [0061], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0068], ¶ [0070]-¶ [0078], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0093], ¶ [0113]-¶ [0114], and Figs. 1-2 elements 100-218, Figs. 3-6 elements 300-654, Fig. 7 steps 700-708), the method comprising: generating, based on sensor data, a first plan for controlling a vehicle (See Agrawal, e.g., “…The trajectory management component can select or otherwise determine a trajectory from among trajectories generated by, and received from, the primary system based on data generated by, and received from, other components of the safety system…include planned trajectories, first safe stop trajectories, second safe stop trajectories…the trajectories can be managed and stored via a state transition model of the trajectory management component 108. The trajectory management component 108 can store the current trajectory(ies), including the selected trajectory…retain one or more previous trajectories (e.g., any of the previous trajectory(ies) received and/or determined by the trajectory management component 108)…provide a failsafe in the event that the vehicle safety system does not receive an updated trajectory from the primary system…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0010]-¶ [0017], ¶ [0020]-¶ [0030], ¶ [0051]-¶ [0061], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0068], ¶ [0070]-¶ [0078], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0093], ¶ [0113]-¶ [0114], and Figs. 1-2 elements 100-218, Figs. 3-6 elements 300-654, Fig. 7 steps 700-708); generating, using a trained neural network (See Agrawal, e.g., “…The vehicle safety system 102 can receive data (or “primary system data”) from a primary system of the vehicle system 100. The data received from the primary system can include sensor data 104 and trajectory data 106. The sensor data 104 can include data received from one or more sensors of any of one or more systems (e.g., the sensor system(s)…The vehicle safety system 102 can include a trajectory management component 108 (e.g., a first component), a perception component 110 (e.g., a second component), a filter component 112 (e.g., a third component), and a collision detection (or “machine learned (ML)”) or (“neural network”) component 114 (e.g., a fourth component)…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0010]-¶ [0017], ¶ [0020]-¶ [0030], ¶ [0051]-¶ [0061], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0068], ¶ [0070]-¶ [0078], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0093], ¶ [0113]-¶ [0114], and Figs. 1-2 elements 100-218, Figs. 3-6 elements 300-654, Fig. 7 steps 700-708), a final plan for controlling the vehicle based on the first plan and a second plan (See Agrawal, e.g., “…The trajectory data 106 can include one or more trajectories (e.g., trajectory(ies) of different types) for the vehicle. The trajectory(ies) (or “received trajectory(ies)”) (or “candidate trajectory(ies)”) can include a planned trajectory, and/or one or more other trajectories (or “alternative trajectory(ies)”) (e.g., a first safe stop trajectory (or “error trajectory”), a second safe stop trajectory (or “high-priority error trajectory”), a third safe stop trajectory (or “immediate stop trajectory”), etc.)… The data output from the trajectory management component 108 can include control data 122. The control data 122 can be utilized to control the vehicle…can be determined based on one or more of the results (e.g., the validated trajectory(ies) and/or the collision probability(ies)) received from the perception component 110, the results (e.g., the filtered object(s) and/or resulting object(s) based on the filtered object(s) being excluded) received from the filter component 112, and the results (e.g., the collision state(s)) received from the collision detection component 114. The control data 122 can include one or more of validation information (e.g., any results from any of the perception component 110, the filter component 112, and/or the collision detection component 114), the planned trajectory, the first safe stop trajectory, the second safe stop trajectory, the n-th safe stop trajectory, etc…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0010]-¶ [0017], ¶ [0020]-¶ [0030], ¶ [0051]-¶ [0061], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0068], ¶ [0070]-¶ [0078], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0093], ¶ [0113]-¶ [0114], and Figs. 1-2 elements 100-218, Figs. 3-6 elements 300-654, Fig. 7 steps 700-708).
Agrawal further teaches and controlling the vehicle based on the final plan (See Agrawal, e.g., “…The trajectory management component 108 can output data based on results from components of the vehicle safety system 102. The data output from the trajectory management component 108 can include control data 122. The control data 122 can be utilized to control the vehicle…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0010]-¶ [0017], ¶ [0020]-¶ [0030], ¶ [0051]-¶ [0061], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0068], ¶ [0070]-¶ [0078], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0093], ¶ [0113]-¶ [0114], and Figs. 1-2 elements 100-218, Figs. 3-6 elements 300-654, Fig. 7 steps 700-708). However, Agrawal does not explicitly teach visual language model (VLM).
In an analogous field of endeavor, Gopalkrishna teaches a visual language model (VLM) (See Gopalkrishna, e.g., “…method is provided for pretraining vision and language models that includes receiving image-text pairs, each including an image and a text describing the image…” of Abstract, ¶ [0005]-¶ [0007], ¶ [0016], ¶ [0031], ¶ [0041], ¶ [0048]-¶ [0056], and Figs. 3-6 elements 300-364, 600-699, steps 400-460A).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine “…validating or determining trajectories for a vehicle are discussed herein. A trajectory management component can receive status and/or error data from other safety system components and select or otherwise determine safe and valid vehicle trajectories…validate a trajectory upon which the trajectory management component can wait for selecting a vehicle trajectory, validate trajectories stored in a queue, and/or utilize kinematics for validation of trajectories…filter out objects based on trajectories stored in a queue…determine the collision states based on trajectories stored in a queue or determine a collision state upon which the trajectory management component can wait for selecting or otherwise determining a vehicle trajectory…”, as disclosed in Agrawal with “a visual language model (VLM)”, as taught in Gopalkrishna with a reasonable expectation of success to yield a method, and a system for implementing an enhanced, improved, and robust alignment of the visual and text modalities.
Consider claims 2, 12, :
The combination of Agrawal, Gopalkrishna teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 1, 11. In addition, Agrawal teaches wherein generating the final plan comprises: processing a plurality of embeddings or tokens associated with the sensor data (See Agrawal, e.g., “…The trajectory management component can select or otherwise determine a trajectory from among trajectories generated by, and received from, the primary system based on data generated by, and received from, other components of the safety system…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0010]-¶ [0017], ¶ [0020]-¶ [0030], ¶ [0051]-¶ [0061], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0068], ¶ [0070]-¶ [0078], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0093], ¶ [0113]-¶ [0114], and Figs. 1-2 elements 100-218, Figs. 3-6 elements 300-654, Fig. 7 steps 700-708), one or more detections based on the sensor data, and the first plan via the trained neural network to generate a risk score (See Agrawal, e.g., “…the collision detection component 114 can determine machine learned (ML) based one or more collision states based on the stored trajectory(ies), and/or based on one or more object trajectories determined for corresponding object(s) in the environment. The collision detection component 114 can transmit a signal (e.g., a third signal) 120 based on results of operating the collision detection component 114…determine to operate according to higher likelihood(s) of collision from corresponding component(s) by changing to another trajectory (e.g., safer trajectory), regardless of remaining component(s) indicating borderline, or lower likelihood(s) of collision (e.g., the trajectory management component 108 can ignore results associated with borderline, or lower likelihood(s) of collision, and instead perform trajectory selection based on the results associated with the higher likelihood(s) of collision)…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0010]-¶ [0017], ¶ [0020]-¶ [0030], ¶ [0051]-¶ [0061], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0068], ¶ [0070]-¶ [0078], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0093], ¶ [0113]-¶ [0114], and Figs. 1-2 elements 100-218, Figs. 3-6 elements 300-654, Fig. 7 steps 700-708); and selecting the first plan or the second plan as the final plan based on the risk score (See Agrawal, e.g., “…the trajectory management component 108 can determine to operate according to higher likelihood(s) of collision from corresponding component(s) by changing to another trajectory (e.g., safer trajectory), regardless of remaining component(s) indicating borderline, or lower likelihood(s) of collision (e.g., the trajectory management component 108 can ignore results associated with borderline, or lower likelihood(s) of collision, and instead perform trajectory selection based on the results associated with the higher likelihood(s) of collision)…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0010]-¶ [0017], ¶ [0020]-¶ [0030], ¶ [0051]-¶ [0061], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0068], ¶ [0070]-¶ [0078], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0093], ¶ [0113]-¶ [0114], and Figs. 1-2 elements 100-218, Figs. 3-6 elements 300-654, Fig. 7 steps 700-708). Gopalkrishna teaches a visual language model (VLM) (See Gopalkrishna, e.g., “…method is provided for pretraining vision and language models that includes receiving image-text pairs, each including an image and a text describing the image…” of Abstract, ¶ [0005]-¶ [0007], ¶ [0016], ¶ [0031], ¶ [0041], ¶ [0048]-¶ [0056], and Figs. 3-6 elements 300-364, 600-699, steps 400-460A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Agrawal with the teachings of Gopalkrishna so as, with a reasonable expectation of success, to yield a method, and a system for implementing an enhanced, improved, and robust alignment of the visual and text modalities.
Consider claims 3, 13, :
The combination of Agrawal, Gopalkrishna teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 2, 12. In addition, Agrawal teaches wherein at least one of geometric information or physics information associated with the one or more detections (See Agrawal, e.g., “…the collision detection component 114 can determine machine learned (ML) based one or more collision states based on the stored trajectory(ies), and/or based on one or more object trajectories determined for corresponding object(s) in the environment. The collision detection component 114 can transmit a signal (e.g., a third signal) 120 based on results of operating the collision detection component 114…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0010]-¶ [0017], ¶ [0020]-¶ [0030], ¶ [0051]-¶ [0061], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0068], ¶ [0070]-¶ [0078], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0093], ¶ [0113]-¶ [0114], and Figs. 1-2 elements 100-218, Figs. 3-6 elements 300-654, Fig. 7 steps 700-708) is also processed via the trained neural network to generate the risk score (See Agrawal, e.g., “…the trajectory management component 108 can determine to operate according to higher likelihood(s) of collision from corresponding component(s) by changing to another trajectory (e.g., safer trajectory), regardless of remaining component(s) indicating borderline, or lower likelihood(s) of collision (e.g., the trajectory management component 108 can ignore results associated with borderline, or lower likelihood(s) of collision, and instead perform trajectory selection based on the results associated with the higher likelihood(s) of collision)…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0010]-¶ [0017], ¶ [0020]-¶ [0030], ¶ [0051]-¶ [0061], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0068], ¶ [0070]-¶ [0078], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0093], ¶ [0113]-¶ [0114], and Figs. 1-2 elements 100-218, Figs. 3-6 elements 300-654, Fig. 7 steps 700-708). Gopalkrishna teaches a visual language model (VLM) (See Gopalkrishna, e.g., “…method is provided for pretraining vision and language models that includes receiving image-text pairs, each including an image and a text describing the image…” of Abstract, ¶ [0005]-¶ [0007], ¶ [0016], ¶ [0031], ¶ [0041], ¶ [0048]-¶ [0056], and Figs. 3-6 elements 300-364, 600-699, steps 400-460A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Agrawal with the teachings of Gopalkrishna so as, with a reasonable expectation of success, to yield a method, and a system for implementing an enhanced, improved, and robust alignment of the visual and text modalities.
Consider claims 4, 14, :
The combination of Agrawal, Gopalkrishna teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 2, 12. In addition, Agrawal teaches further comprising: computing at least one collision, trajectory, or simulation based on the one or more detections (See Agrawal, e.g., “…the collision detection component 114 can determine machine learned (ML) based one or more collision states based on the stored trajectory(ies), and/or based on one or more object trajectories determined for corresponding object(s) in the environment. The collision detection component 114 can transmit a signal (e.g., a third signal) 120 based on results of operating the collision detection component 114…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0010]-¶ [0017], ¶ [0020]-¶ [0030], ¶ [0051]-¶ [0061], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0068], ¶ [0070]-¶ [0078], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0093], ¶ [0113]-¶ [0114], and Figs. 1-2 elements 100-218, Figs. 3-6 elements 300-654, Fig. 7 steps 700-708), wherein the at least one collision, trajectory, or simulation is also processed via the trained neural network to generate the risk score (See Agrawal, e.g., “…the trajectory management component 108 can determine to operate according to higher likelihood(s) of collision from corresponding component(s) by changing to another trajectory (e.g., safer trajectory), regardless of remaining component(s) indicating borderline, or lower likelihood(s) of collision (e.g., the trajectory management component 108 can ignore results associated with borderline, or lower likelihood(s) of collision, and instead perform trajectory selection based on the results associated with the higher likelihood(s) of collision)…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0010]-¶ [0017], ¶ [0020]-¶ [0030], ¶ [0051]-¶ [0061], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0068], ¶ [0070]-¶ [0078], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0093], ¶ [0113]-¶ [0114], and Figs. 1-2 elements 100-218, Figs. 3-6 elements 300-654, Fig. 7 steps 700-708). Gopalkrishna teaches a visual language model (VLM) (See Gopalkrishna, e.g., “…method is provided for pretraining vision and language models that includes receiving image-text pairs, each including an image and a text describing the image…” of Abstract, ¶ [0005]-¶ [0007], ¶ [0016], ¶ [0031], ¶ [0041], ¶ [0048]-¶ [0056], and Figs. 3-6 elements 300-364, 600-699, steps 400-460A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Agrawal with the teachings of Gopalkrishna so as, with a reasonable expectation of success, to yield a method, and a system for implementing an enhanced, improved, and robust alignment of the visual and text modalities.
Consider claim 5:
The combination of Agrawal, Gopalkrishna teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 2. In addition, Agrawal teaches wherein the one or more detections include at least one of a detected object, a bounding box, or map information (See Agrawal, e.g., “…sing detection algorithms, the perception component 626 can generate a two-dimensional bounding box and/or a perception-based three-dimensional bounding box associated with the object. The perception component 626 can further generate a three-dimensional bounding box associated with the object. As discussed above, the three-dimensional bounding box can provide additional information such as a location, orientation, pose, and/or size (e.g., length, width, height, etc.) associated with the object…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0010]-¶ [0017], ¶ [0020]-¶ [0030], ¶ [0051]-¶ [0061], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0068], ¶ [0070]-¶ [0078], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0093], ¶ [0113]-¶ [0114], ¶ [0120], and Figs. 1-2 elements 100-218, Figs. 3-6 elements 300-654, Fig. 7 steps 700-708).
Consider claims 6, 16:
The combination of Agrawal, Gopalkrishna teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 1, 11. In addition, Agrawal teaches wherein generating the final plan comprises: processing a plurality of embeddings or tokens associated with the sensor data (See Agrawal, e.g., “…The trajectory management component can select or otherwise determine a trajectory from among trajectories generated by, and received from, the primary system based on data generated by, and received from, other components of the safety system…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0010]-¶ [0017], ¶ [0020]-¶ [0030], ¶ [0051]-¶ [0061], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0068], ¶ [0070]-¶ [0078], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0093], ¶ [0113]-¶ [0114], and Figs. 1-2 elements 100-218, Figs. 3-6 elements 300-654, Fig. 7 steps 700-708), one or more detections based on the sensor data, and the first plan via the trained neural network to generate program code (See Agrawal, e.g., “…the collision detection component 114 can determine machine learned (ML) based one or more collision states based on the stored trajectory(ies), and/or based on one or more object trajectories determined for corresponding object(s) in the environment. The collision detection component 114 can transmit a signal (e.g., a third signal) 120 based on results of operating the collision detection component 114…determine to operate according to higher likelihood(s) of collision from corresponding component(s) by changing to another trajectory (e.g., safer trajectory), regardless of remaining component(s) indicating borderline, or lower likelihood(s) of collision (e.g., the trajectory management component 108 can ignore results associated with borderline, or lower likelihood(s) of collision, and instead perform trajectory selection based on the results associated with the higher likelihood(s) of collision)…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0010]-¶ [0017], ¶ [0020]-¶ [0030], ¶ [0051]-¶ [0061], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0068], ¶ [0070]-¶ [0078], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0093], ¶ [0113]-¶ [0114], and Figs. 1-2 elements 100-218, Figs. 3-6 elements 300-654, Fig. 7 steps 700-708); and executing the program code to select the first plan or the second plan as the final plan (See Agrawal, e.g., “…the collision detection component 114 can determine machine learned (ML) based one or more collision states based on the stored trajectory(ies), and/or based on one or more object trajectories determined for corresponding object(s) in the environment. The collision detection component 114 can transmit a signal (e.g., a third signal) 120 based on results of operating the collision detection component 114…determine to operate according to higher likelihood(s) of collision from corresponding component(s) by changing to another trajectory (e.g., safer trajectory), regardless of remaining component(s) indicating borderline, or lower likelihood(s) of collision (e.g., the trajectory management component 108 can ignore results associated with borderline, or lower likelihood(s) of collision, and instead perform trajectory selection based on the results associated with the higher likelihood(s) of collision)…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0010]-¶ [0017], ¶ [0020]-¶ [0030], ¶ [0051]-¶ [0061], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0068], ¶ [0070]-¶ [0078], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0093], ¶ [0113]-¶ [0114], and Figs. 1-2 elements 100-218, Figs. 3-6 elements 300-654, Fig. 7 steps 700-708). Gopalkrishna teaches a visual language model (VLM) (See Gopalkrishna, e.g., “…method is provided for pretraining vision and language models that includes receiving image-text pairs, each including an image and a text describing the image…” of Abstract, ¶ [0005]-¶ [0007], ¶ [0016], ¶ [0031], ¶ [0041], ¶ [0048]-¶ [0056], and Figs. 3-6 elements 300-364, 600-699, steps 400-460A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Agrawal with the teachings of Gopalkrishna so as, with a reasonable expectation of success, to yield a method, and a system for implementing an enhanced, improved, and robust alignment of the visual and text modalities.
Consider claims 7, 17:
The combination of Agrawal, Gopalkrishna teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 6, 16. In addition, Agrawal teaches wherein executing the program code comprises invoking one or more functions to compute geometric or physics information associated with the one or more detections (See Agrawal, e.g., “…the collision detection component 114 can determine machine learned (ML) based one or more collision states based on the stored trajectory(ies), and/or based on one or more object trajectories determined for corresponding object(s) in the environment. The collision detection component 114 can transmit a signal (e.g., a third signal) 120 based on results of operating the collision detection component 114…determine to operate according to higher likelihood(s) of collision from corresponding component(s) by changing to another trajectory (e.g., safer trajectory), regardless of remaining component(s) indicating borderline, or lower likelihood(s) of collision (e.g., the trajectory management component 108 can ignore results associated with borderline, or lower likelihood(s) of collision, and instead perform trajectory selection based on the results associated with the higher likelihood(s) of collision)…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0010]-¶ [0017], ¶ [0020]-¶ [0030], ¶ [0051]-¶ [0061], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0068], ¶ [0070]-¶ [0078], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0093], ¶ [0113]-¶ [0114], and Figs. 1-2 elements 100-218, Figs. 3-6 elements 300-654, Fig. 7 steps 700-708).
Consider claims 8, 18:
The combination of Agrawal, Gopalkrishna teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 1, 11. In addition, Agrawal teaches further comprising performing one or more operations to re-train a pre-trained neural network (See Agrawal, e.g., “…the collision detection component 114 can determine machine learned (ML) based one or more collision states based on the stored trajectory(ies), and/or based on one or more object trajectories determined for corresponding object(s) in the environment. The collision detection component 114 can transmit a signal (e.g., a third signal) 120 based on results of operating the collision detection component 114. The signal 120 can include the ML based on collision state(s)…physical based collision states received from the perception component 110, objects received based on filtering performed by the filter component 112, and machine learned (ML) collision states received from the collision detection component 114, can be utilized by the trajectory management component 108 to more accurately select vehicle trajectory(ies)…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0010]-¶ [0017], ¶ [0020]-¶ [0030], ¶ [0051]-¶ [0061], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0068], ¶ [0070]-¶ [0078], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0093], ¶ [0113]-¶ [0114], and Figs. 1-2 elements 100-218, Figs. 3-6 elements 300-654, Fig. 7 steps 700-708) based on at least one of one or more predefined labels or one or more generated labels that are associated with additional sensor data to generate the trained neural network (See Agrawal, e.g., “…The primary system may generally perform processing to control how the vehicle maneuvers within an environment. The primary system may implement various Artificial Intelligence (AI) techniques, such as machine learning, to understand an environment around the vehicle and/or instruct the vehicle to move within the environment. For example, the primary system may implement the AI techniques to localize the vehicle, detect an object around the vehicle, segment sensor data, determine a classification of the object, predict an object track, generate a trajectory for the vehicle, and so on. In examples, the primary system processes data from multiple types of sensors on the vehicle, such as light detection and ranging (lidar) sensors, radar sensors, image sensors, depth sensors (time of flight, structured light, etc.), and the like…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0010]-¶ [0017], ¶ [0020]-¶ [0030], ¶ [0051]-¶ [0061], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0068], ¶ [0070]-¶ [0078], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0093], ¶ [0113]-¶ [0114], and Figs. 1-2 elements 100-218, Figs. 3-6 elements 300-654, Fig. 7 steps 700-708). Gopalkrishna teaches a visual language model (VLM) (See Gopalkrishna, e.g., “…method is provided for pretraining vision and language models that includes receiving image-text pairs, each including an image and a text describing the image…” of Abstract, ¶ [0005]-¶ [0007], ¶ [0016], ¶ [0031], ¶ [0041], ¶ [0048]-¶ [0056], and Figs. 3-6 elements 300-364, 600-699, steps 400-460A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Agrawal with the teachings of Gopalkrishna so as, with a reasonable expectation of success, to yield a method, and a system for implementing an enhanced, improved, and robust alignment of the visual and text modalities.
Consider claim 9:
The combination of Agrawal, Gopalkrishna teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 1. In addition, Agrawal teaches wherein the second plan is a predefined plan (See Agrawal, e.g., “…The trajectory data 106 can include one or more trajectories (e.g., trajectory(ies) of different types) for the vehicle. The trajectory(ies) (or “received trajectory(ies)”) (or “candidate trajectory(ies)”) can include a planned trajectory, and/or one or more other trajectories (or “alternative trajectory(ies)”) (e.g., a first safe stop trajectory (or “error trajectory”), a second safe stop trajectory (or “high-priority error trajectory”), a third safe stop trajectory (or “immediate stop trajectory”), etc.)… The data output from the trajectory management component 108 can include control data 122. The control data 122 can be utilized to control the vehicle…can be determined based on one or more of the results (e.g., the validated trajectory(ies) and/or the collision probability(ies)) received from the perception component 110, the results (e.g., the filtered object(s) and/or resulting object(s) based on the filtered object(s) being excluded) received from the filter component 112, and the results (e.g., the collision state(s)) received from the collision detection component 114…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0010]-¶ [0017], ¶ [0020]-¶ [0030], ¶ [0051]-¶ [0061], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0068], ¶ [0070]-¶ [0078], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0093], ¶ [0113]-¶ [0114], and Figs. 1-2 elements 100-218, Figs. 3-6 elements 300-654, Fig. 7 steps 700-708).
Consider claims 10, 19:
The combination of Agrawal, Gopalkrishna teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claims 1, 11. In addition, Agrawal teaches further comprising generating the second plan based on the sensor data (See Agrawal, e.g., “…The trajectory management component can select or otherwise determine a trajectory from among trajectories generated by, and received from, the primary system based on data generated by, and received from, other components of the safety system…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0010]-¶ [0017], ¶ [0020]-¶ [0030], ¶ [0051]-¶ [0061], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0068], ¶ [0070]-¶ [0078], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0093], ¶ [0113]-¶ [0114], and Figs. 1-2 elements 100-218, Figs. 3-6 elements 300-654, Fig. 7 steps 700-708).
Consider claim 15:
The combination of Agrawal, Gopalkrishna teaches everything claimed as implemented above in the rejection of claim 11. In addition, Agrawal teaches wherein generating the final plan comprises modifying the first plan (See Agrawal, e.g., “…he trajectory management component 108 can utilize any results from some or all of the perception component 110, the filter component 112, and/or the collision detection component 114 to avoid collisions. In other words, if any results from one or more of the perception component 110, the filter component 112, and/or the collision detection component 114 indicate a potential collision, the trajectory management component 108 can modify the trajectory for the vehicle (e.g., change to a safer trajectory, such as from the planned trajectory to a safe-stop trajectory)…”, of Abstract, ¶ [0010]-¶ [0017], ¶ [0020]-¶ [0030], ¶ [0051]-¶ [0061], ¶ [0063]-¶ [0068], ¶ [0070]-¶ [0078], ¶ [0081]-¶ [0093], ¶ [0113]-¶ [0114], and Figs. 1-2 elements 100-218, Figs. 3-6 elements 300-654, Fig. 7 steps 700-708).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chintakindi (US Pat. No.: 12,246,750 B2) teaches “Apparatuses, systems, and methods are provided for the utilization of vehicle control systems to cause a vehicle to take preventative action responsive to the detection of a near short term adverse driving scenario. A vehicle control system may receive information corresponding to vehicle operation data and ancillary data. Based on the received vehicle operation data and the received ancillary data, a multi-dimension risk score module may calculate risk scores associated with the received vehicle operation data and the received ancillary data. Subsequently, the vehicle control systems may cause the vehicle to perform at least one of a close call detection action and a close call detection alert to lessen the risk associated with the received vehicle operation data and the received ancillary data.”
KIM et al. (US Pub. No.:2024/0383473 A1) teaches “A method predicting a path of an object includes: recognizing the object by using at least one sensor of the vehicle; generating movement path data associated with the object by tracking a movement path of the object during a first time interval when the object is recognized; and generating prediction path data including at least one prediction path associated with the object during a second time interval based on the generated movement path data.”
/BABAR SARWAR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667