Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on or before 2025-10-13 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang et al. (US-20190132946-A1 – From Applicant IDS) in view of Nakamura et al. (US-20230333032-A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yang teaches a conductive structure, comprising:
substrate (Fig 2A in its entirety) including an accommodation groove (Fig 2A: cavity 22);
a solid conductor at least partially accommodated in the accommodation groove (Fig 2A: electrode, 131), wherein the solid conductor and the accommodation groove form a first accommodation region (Fig 2A: area of liquid storage area, 22, and electrode, 131), wherein the solid conductor includes a first conductor portion and a second conductor portion (The horizontal and vertical surfaces of electrode 131),
a fluid conductor filled in the first accommodation region (Fig 2A: conductive structure, 12 | Para [0031] teaches conductive structure,12, includes a liquid conductive structure) and extending outside the accommodation groove (conductive structure, 12, extends into cavity, 21, outside of accommodation groove), wherein a projection of a contact region of the fluid conductor and the solid conductor along a depth direction of the accommodation groove and a projection of the solid conductor along the depth direction have an overlapping region (Can be seen in Fig 2A).
Yang does not teach the first conductor portion and the second conductor portion forming a step structure. However, Nakamura teaches the first conductor portion and the second conductor portion forming a step structure (Refer to annotated Fig 3A of Nakamura, the first and 2nd conductor portions form a step structure). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the conductor of Yang to incorporate the conductor of Nakamura. Yang teaches in Para [0042] that increasing the surface area in contact with the conductive liquid ensures better conductivity. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that modifying the conductor to have a step shape and therefore more surface area in contact with the liquid would achieve the predictable result of improving conductivity.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Yang in view of Nakamura, as presented with respect to claim 1, teaches wherein the fluid conductor is in contact with a plurality of surfaces of the step structure (Can be seen in annotated Fig 3A of Nakamura), the plurality of surfaces including a first horizontal contact surface of the second conductor portion facing the first conductor portion (Can be seen in annotated Fig 3A of Nakamura), a first vertical contact surface of the second conductor portion facing the first accommodation region (Can be seen in annotated Fig 3A of Nakamura), and a second vertical contact surface of the first conductor portion facing the first accommodation region (Can be seen in annotated Fig 3A of Nakamura). These features are necessarily taught by the combination.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Yang in view of Nakamura, as presented with respect to claim 2, teaches wherein the first conductor portion is bonded and connected above the second conductor portion (Can be seen in annotated Fig 3A of Nakamura), and the second conductor portion is suspended in the accommodation groove (Can be seen in annotated Fig 3A of Nakamura). These features are necessarily taught by the combination.
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Yang in view of Nakamura, as presented with respect to claim 1, teaches wherein projections of the first conductor portion and the second conductor portion along the depth direction of the accommodation groove have a non-overlapping region (Can be seen in annotated Fig 3A of Nakamura). These features are necessarily taught by the combination.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Yang in view of Nakamura, as presented with respect to claim 1, teaches wherein the solid conductor and the accommodation groove further form a second accommodation region Can be seen in annotated Fig 3A of Nakamura, the second accommodation region being communicated with the first accommodation region to accommodate the fluid conductor (Can be seen in annotated Fig 3A of Nakamura). These features are necessarily taught by the combination.
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Yang in view of Nakamura, as presented with respect to claim 5, teaches wherein a projection of the second accommodation region along the depth direction of the accommodation groove and the projection of the solid conductor along the depth direction of the accommodation groove have a second overlapping region (Can be seen in annotated Fig 3A of Nakamura). These features are necessarily taught by the combination.
Annotated Fig 3A of Nakamura
Regarding Claim 8, Yang further teaches wherein the solid conductor includes a metal electrode (Para [0034] teaches the electrode, 131, may be metal).
Regarding Claim 9, Yang further teaches wherein the fluid conductor includes liquid metal or conductive oil (Para [0031]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Nakamura in view of Rehnstrom (US-20220205862-A1).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Yang in view of Nakamura teaches a solid conductor (Yang - Fig 2A: electrode, 131). The combination does not teach a conductive tape that is absorbent to the fluid conductor. However, Rehnstrom teaches a conductive tape that is absorbent to the fluid conductor (Para [0026] teaches a fluid absorbent conductive tape). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the conductor of the combination to include the conductive tape of Rehnstrom. A motivation for this modification is the absorbent tape allows a supply of fluid to be absorbed and in contact with conductive part of tape in order to facilitate conduction as taught in Rehnstrom in Para [0026].
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang in view of Nakamura in view of Chen et al. (WO-2021236018-A1).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Yang in view of Nakamura does not explicitly teach wherein an inner wall of the accommodation groove is provided with a rough structure. However, Chen teaches a wall provided with a rough structure (Para [00135] teaches the wall of the solid polymer electrolyte may comprise a rough interface). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the accommodation groove of the combination to include the rough surface of Chen. A motivation for this modification is a rough interface may provide higher sensitivities as taught by Chen in Para [00135].
Claims 11-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao et al. (US-20200141818-A1 – From Applicant IDS) in view of Yang in view of Nakamura.
Regarding Claim 11, Bao teaches a flexible sensor, comprising:
at least one sensing structure (Fig 2), wherein each of the at least one sensing structure includes:
two electrode plates (Fig 2: electrodes) which are disposed opposite to each other (Can be seen in Fig 2); and
a dielectric flexible body disposed between the two electrode plates (Fig 2: dielectric layer, 207), the dielectric flexible body deforming under action of an external force to change electrical signals of the two electrode plates (Para [0058] teaches the dielectric material may undergo elastic deformation); wherein each of the two electrode plates includes a conductive structure (Para [0011] describes electrodes as conductive).
Bao does not teach a conductive structure comprising: a substrate including an accommodation groove;
a solid conductor at least partially accommodated in the accommodation groove, wherein the solid conductor and the accommodation groove form a first accommodation region, wherein the solid conductor includes a first conductor portion and a second conductor portion, the first conductor portion and the second conductor portion forming a step structure; and
a fluid conductor filled in the first accommodation region and extending outside the accommodation groove, wherein a projection of a contact region of the fluid conductor and the solid conductor along a depth direction of the accommodation groove and a projection of the solid conductor along the depth direction have an overlapping region.
However, Yang teaches a conductive structure, comprising:
substrate (Fig 2A in its entirety) including an accommodation groove (Fig 2A: cavity 22);
a solid conductor at least partially accommodated in the accommodation groove (Fig 2A: electrode, 131), wherein the solid conductor and the accommodation groove form a first accommodation region (Fig 2A: area of liquid storage area, 22, and electrode, 131), wherein the solid conductor includes a first conductor portion and a second conductor portion (The horizontal and vertical surfaces of electrode 131),
a fluid conductor filled in the first accommodation region (Fig 2A: conductive structure, 12 | Para [0031] teaches conductive structure,12, includes a liquid conductive structure) and extending outside the accommodation groove (conductive structure, 12, extends into cavity, 21, outside of accommodation groove), wherein a projection of a contact region of the fluid conductor and the solid conductor along a depth direction of the accommodation groove and a projection of the solid conductor along the depth direction have an overlapping region (Can be seen in Fig 2A). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the sensor of Bao to include the conductive structure of Yang. A motivation for this modification is the increased flexibility of the conductive structures as taught by Yang in Para [0004].
The combination of Bao in view of Yang does not teach the first conductor portion and the second conductor portion forming a step structure. However, Nakamura teaches the first conductor portion and the second conductor portion forming a step structure (Refer to annotated Fig 3A of Nakamura, the first and 2nd conductor portions form a step structure). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the conductor of the combination to incorporate the conductor of Nakamura. Yang teaches in Para [0042] that increasing the surface area in contact with the conductive liquid ensures better conductivity. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that modifying the conductor to have a step shape and therefore more surface area in contact with the liquid would achieve the predictable result of improving conductivity.
Regarding Claim 12, Bao further teaches a flexible matrix (Fig 2: substrate, 208 | Para [0035] teaches the substrates are flexible), wherein the at least one sensing structure includes a first sensing structure and a second sensing structure (the electrodes and components 210, 209, and 208 form a first sensing structure to sense movement in one direction, while the electrodes and components 206, 207, and 208 form a second sensing structure to sense movement in another direction), the first sensing structure and the second sensing structure are disposed on opposite sides of the flexible matrix (Can be seen in Fig 2), respectively, and the flexible sensor further comprises a processor (Para [0013] teaches sensor circuitry to include processing circuitry), wherein
the processor is configured to determine a deformation of the flexible sensor based on an electrical signal generated by the first sensing structure and an electrical signal generated by the second sensing structure (Para [0013] teaches the processor is configured to determine pressure characteristics, and as taught in Para [0040] this is determined by the deformation of the dielectric layer).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Bao in view of Yang in view of Nakamura, as presented with respect to claim 11, teaches wherein the fluid conductor is in contact with a plurality of surfaces of the step structure (Can be seen in annotated Fig 3A of Nakamura), the plurality of surfaces including a first horizontal contact surface of the second conductor portion facing the first conductor portion (Can be seen in annotated Fig 3A of Nakamura), a first vertical contact surface of the second conductor portion facing the first accommodation region (Can be seen in annotated Fig 3A of Nakamura), and a second vertical contact surface of the first conductor portion facing the first accommodation region (Can be seen in annotated Fig 3A of Nakamura). These features are necessarily taught by the combination.
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Bao in view of Yang in view of Nakamura, as presented with respect to claim 13, teaches wherein the first conductor portion is bonded and connected above the second conductor portion (Can be seen in annotated Fig 3A of Nakamura), and the second conductor portion is bonded and connected on a bottom wall of the accommodation groove or is suspended in the accommodation groove (Can be seen in annotated Fig 3A of Nakamura). These features are necessarily taught by the combination.
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Bao in view of Yang in view of Nakamura, as presented with respect to claim 11, teaches wherein projections of the first conductor portion and the second conductor portion along the depth direction of the accommodation groove have a non-overlapping region (Can be seen in annotated Fig 3A of Nakamura). These features are necessarily taught by the combination.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Bao in view of Yang in view of Nakamura, as presented with respect to claim 11, teaches wherein the solid conductor and the accommodation groove further form a second accommodation region (Can be seen in annotated Fig 3A of Nakamura), the second accommodation region being communicated with the first accommodation region to accommodate the fluid conductor (Can be seen in annotated Fig 3A of Nakamura). These features are necessarily taught by the combination.
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Bao in view of Yang in view of Nakamura, as presented with respect to claim 16, teaches wherein a projection of the second accommodation region along the depth direction of the accommodation groove and the projection of the solid conductor along the depth direction of the accommodation groove have a second overlapping region (Can be seen in annotated Fig 3A of Nakamura). These features are necessarily taught by the combination.
Regarding Claim 19, the combination of Bao in view of Yang in view of Nakamura, as presented with respect to claim 11, teaches wherein the solid conductor includes a metal electrode (Yang - Para [0034] teaches the electrode, 131, may be metal) or a conductive coating, the conductive coating being made of an elastomer paste and at least one of graphite, carbon powder, or conductive nanoparticles. These features are necessarily taught by the combination.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao in view of Yang in view of Nakamura in view of Rehnstrom.
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Bao in view of Yang in view of Nakamura teaches a solid conductor (Yang - Fig 2A: electrode, 131). The combination does not teach a conductive tape that is absorbent to the fluid conductor. However, Rehnstrom teaches a conductive tape that is absorbent to the fluid conductor (Para [0026] teaches a fluid absorbent conductive tape). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the conductor of the combination to include the conductive tape of Rehnstrom. A motivation for this modification is the absorbent tape allows a supply of fluid to be absorbed and in contact with conductive part of tape in order to facilitate conduction as taught in Rehnstrom in Para [0026].
Claims 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao in view of Yang in view of Nakamura in view of Chen.
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Bao in view of Yang in view of Nakamura does not explicitly teach wherein an inner wall of the accommodation groove is provided with a rough structure. However, Chen teaches a wall provided with a rough structure (Para [00135] teaches the wall of the solid polymer electrolyte may comprise a rough interface). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the accommodation groove of the combination to include the rough surface of Chen. A motivation for this modification is a rough interface may provide higher sensitivities as taught by Chen in Para [00135].
Conclusion
/JEREMIAH J BARRON/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858