DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 12/07/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Japanese application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kobayashi et al. (US20040219254).
Regarding claim 1, Kobayashi teaches an extension rod sliding mechanism (Figure 1) comprising:
an extension rod (stretch rods 12; Figure 1) that outputs a fluid, which extends an intermediate molding product through blow molding ([0032] After fitting of the blow core members 8, 8 with the neck mold 20 and insertion of the stretch rods 12, 12 to the blow core member 8, 8 are completed, the above mentioned stretch driving means 14 is actuated to extend the plunger 14a and pushes down the stretch rods 12 with the set plate 13 together, and the preform is stretched to the longitudinal direction. Simultaneously, the blow air is forced into the preform from an air circuit, which is not shown, of the blow core member 8 so that the preform is molded to a hollow vessel like a bottle by the stretch blow molding process), from a tip part (see annotated Figure 1 below);
an extension plate (movable platen 10; Figure 1) that is joined to the extension rod (via joint plate 13a in Figure 1) and that moves in an axial direction of the extension rod ([0032] After fitting of the blow core members 8, 8 with the neck mold 20 and insertion of the stretch rods 12, 12 to the blow core member 8, 8 are completed, the above mentioned stretch driving means 14 is actuated to extend the plunger 14a and pushes down the stretch rods 12 with the set plate 13 together, and the preform is stretched to the longitudinal direction);
a blow core portion (blow-core member 8; Figure 1) in which a through-hole for guiding the extension rod that moves in the axial direction with a movement of the extension plate is formed ([0027] therein the stretch rods 12 are inserted into the preform and the blow core members 8,8 fit airtightly with the neck mold 20); and
a guide member (tie rods 11; Figure 1) that penetrates the extension plate in the axial direction of the extension rod ([0023] The tie rods 11,11 are inserted through the set plate 13 of the stretch rods 12 vertically movable) and that guides the extension plate moving in the axial direction of the extension rod ([0023]).
Regarding claim 5, Kobayashi teaches the extension rod sliding mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the guide member is a columnar member of which both ends are fixed (see tie rods 11 fixed at clamp plate 15 and at movable platen 10 in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, Kobayashi teaches an intermediate mold (Figure 1) comprising:
an extension rod sliding mechanism (see the rejection of claim 1 above),
wherein the extension rod sliding mechanism includes an extension rod (stretch rods 12; Figure 1) that outputs a fluid ([0032] After fitting of the blow core members 8, 8 with the neck mold 20 and insertion of the stretch rods 12, 12 to the blow core member 8, 8 are completed, the above mentioned stretch driving means 14 is actuated to extend the plunger 14a and pushes down the stretch rods 12 with the set plate 13 together, and the preform is stretched to the longitudinal direction. Simultaneously, the blow air is forced into the preform from an air circuit, which is not shown, of the blow core member 8 so that the preform is molded to a hollow vessel like a bottle by the stretch blow molding process), which extends an intermediate molding product through blow molding, from a tip part (see annotated Figure 1 in the rejection of claim 1 above),
an extension plate (movable platen 10; Figure 1) that is joined to the extension rod (via joint plate 13a in Figure 1) and that moves in an axial direction of the extension rod ([0032] After fitting of the blow core members 8, 8 with the neck mold 20 and insertion of the stretch rods 12, 12 to the blow core member 8, 8 are completed, the above mentioned stretch driving means 14 is actuated to extend the plunger 14a and pushes down the stretch rods 12 with the set plate 13 together, and the preform is stretched to the longitudinal direction),
a blow core portion (blow-core member 8; Figure 1) in which a through-hole for guiding the extension rod that moves in the axial direction with a movement of the extension plate is formed ([0027] therein the stretch rods 12 are inserted into the preform and the blow core members 8,8 fit airtightly with the neck mold 20), and
a guide member (tie rods 11; Figure 1) that penetrates the extension plate in the axial direction of the extension rod and that guides the extension plate moving in the axial direction of the extension rod ([0023] The tie rods 11,11 are inserted through the set plate 13 of the stretch rods 12 vertically movable) and that guides the extension plate moving in the axial direction of the extension rod ([0023]).
Claim(s) 1, 5, 12, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bruning (US5156798).
Regarding claim 1, Bruning teaches an extension rod sliding mechanism comprising:
an extension rod (blow needles 47; Figure 1) that outputs a fluid (col 11 line 37-41), which extends an intermediate molding product through blow molding, from a tip part (col 11 line 37-41);
an extension plate (support beam 41; Figure 1) that is joined to the extension rod and that moves in an axial direction of the extension rod (col 11 line 34-41; see support beam 41 position in Figure 1 and Figure 2);
a blow core portion (blowpin head 45; Figure 1) in which a through-hole for guiding the extension rod that moves in the axial direction with a movement of the extension plate is formed (col 11 line 26-29); and
a guide member (columns 39c, 39d, 39e and 39f; Figure 1) that penetrates the extension plate in the axial direction of the extension rod and that guides the extension plate moving in the axial direction of the extension rod (col 11 line 19-22).
Regarding claim 5, Bruning teaches the extension rod sliding mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the guide member is a columnar member (columns 39c, 39d, 39e and 39f; Figure 1) of which both ends are fixed (col 11 line 15-19).
Regarding claim 12, Bruning teaches an intermediate mold (blow station assembly 13 ; Figure 1) comprising:
an extension rod sliding mechanism (see rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the extension rod sliding mechanism includes an extension rod (blow needles 47; Figure 1) that outputs a fluid (col 11 line 37-41), which extends an intermediate molding product through blow molding, from a tip part (col 11 line 37-41),
an extension plate (support beam 41; Figure 1) that is joined to the extension rod and that moves in an axial direction of the extension rod (col 11 line 34-41; see support beam 41 position in Figure 1 and Figure 2),
a blow core portion (blowpin head 45; Figure 1) in which a through-hole for guiding the extension rod that moves in the axial direction with a movement of the extension plate is formed (col 11 line 26-29), and
a guide member (columns 39c, 39d, 39e and 39f; Figure 1) that penetrates the extension plate in the axial direction of the extension rod and that guides the extension plate moving in the axial direction of the extension rod (col 11 line 19-22).
Regarding claim 13, Bruning teaches a mold unit (Figure 1) comprising:
a stationary side mold (extruder head assembly 11 in Figure 1; col 10 line 28-35);
an intermediate mold (blow station assembly 13 ; Figure 1) that includes an extension rod sliding mechanism (see the rejection of claim 1 and claim 12 above); and
a movable side mold (mold assembly 15; Figure 1 and Figure 2),
wherein the extension rod sliding mechanism of the intermediate mold includes:
an extension rod (blow needles 47; Figure 1) that outputs a fluid (col 11 line 37-41), which extends an intermediate molding product through blow molding, from a tip part (col 11 line 37-41),
an extension plate (support beam 41; Figure 1) that is joined to the extension rod and that moves in an axial direction of the extension rod (col 11 line 34-41; see support beam 41 position in Figure 1 and Figure 2),
a blow core portion (blowpin head 45; Figure 1) in which a through-hole for guiding the extension rod that moves in the axial direction with a movement of the extension plate is formed (col 11 line 26-29), and
a guide member (columns 39c, 39d, 39e and 39f; Figure 1) that penetrates the extension plate in the axial direction of the extension rod and that guides the extension plate moving in the axial direction of the extension rod (col 11 line 19-22).
Claim(s) 1, 5, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyazawa (US5129815).
Regarding claim 1, Miyazawa teaches an extension rod sliding mechanism (Figure 1) comprising:
an extension rod (inner stretching rod 36; Figure 1) that outputs a fluid, which extends an intermediate molding product through blow molding (col 2 line 37-43 and col 6 line 10-16), from a tip part (inner tip piece 36a; Figure 1);
an extension plate (inner rod fixing plate 38; Figure 1) that is joined to the extension rod and that moves in an axial direction of the extension rod (col 6 line 41-46);
a blow core portion (blow core mold 50; Figure 1) in which a through-hole for guiding the extension rod that moves in the axial direction with a movement of the extension plate is formed (see through hole at tip piece 40a in Figure 2B and col 6 line 41-46); and
a guide member (primary cylinder 30 with cylinder portion 30a and piston rod 30b; Figure 1) that penetrates the extension plate in the axial direction of the extension rod and that guides the extension plate moving in the axial direction of the extension rod (col 4 line 38-45).
Regarding claim 5, Miyazawa teaches the extension rod sliding mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the guide member is a columnar member (piston rod 30b; Figure 1) of which both ends are fixed (col 4 line 38-45; see connection 34 and piston rod 30b fixed to top fixing plate 32 in Figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, Miyazawa teaches an intermediate mold (Figure 1) comprising:
an extension rod sliding mechanism (see rejection of claim 1 above),
wherein the extension rod sliding mechanism includes
an extension rod (inner stretching rod 36; Figure 1) that outputs a fluid, which extends an intermediate molding product through blow molding (col 2 line 37-43 and col 6 line 10-16), from a tip part (inner tip piece 36a; Figure 1),
an extension plate (inner rod fixing plate 38; Figure 1) that is joined to the extension rod and that moves in an axial direction of the extension rod (col 6 line 41-46),
a blow core portion (blow core mold 50; Figure 1) in which a through-hole for guiding the extension rod that moves in the axial direction with a movement of the extension plate is formed (see through hole at tip piece 40a in Figure 2B and col 6 line 41-46), and
a guide member (primary cylinder 30 with cylinder portion 30a and piston rod 30b; Figure 1) that penetrates the extension plate in the axial direction of the extension rod and that guides the extension plate moving in the axial direction of the extension rod (col 4 line 38-45).
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hasegawa et al. (JPH09216277A- Machine translation provided herein).
Regarding claim 1, Hasegawa teaches an extension rod sliding mechanism (Figure 1) comprising:
an extension rod (blowing pin4; Figure 1 and Figure 2) that outputs a fluid (“An inner cylinder 9 for sending a spiral flow gas accompanied by a mist-like refrigerant from the mixing head 8 to the injection nozzle 7 and a tip 13 attached to the tip of the inner cylinder are provided”- see pg. 3), which extends an intermediate molding product through blow molding (Abstract: To provide a blow pin performing the jetting of at least one of gas and a cooling medium for shaping and cooling a parison and the discharge of the gas or cooling medium by one pin in the hollow molding of a synthetic resin and capable of performing the discharge of the gas or cooling medium simultaneously with cooling), from a tip part (tip 13; Figure 2);
an extension plate that is joined to the extension rod (see plate in annotated Figure 1 below) and that moves in an axial direction of the extension rod (see annotated plate moving axially in direction of extension rod in Figure 1 and Figure 2);
a blow core portion (first mold 1; Figure 1) in which a through-hole (through hole; Figure 1) for guiding the extension rod that moves in the axial direction with a movement of the extension plate is formed (“the hollow molding blow pin 4 inserted into the through hole 3 formed in the first mold 1, and the first driving means 5 and 5 for driving the divided mold 2 forward and backward. And a second drive means 6 for driving the inner cylinder part forward and backward”- see pg. 3 and “Then, the cylinders 21 and 21 are connected to the first mold 1, and when the cylinders 21 and 21 are at the forward position as shown in FIG. 1, the inner cylinder portion 4 is housed in the through hole 3, As shown in FIG. 3, when the cylinders 21 and 21 are in the retracted position, the tip of the blow pin 4 projects from the through hole 3 toward the inside of the mold”- see pg. 4); and
a guide member (cylinders 21; Figure 1) that penetrates the extension plate in the axial direction of the extension rod (see annotated Figure 1 below) and that guides the extension plate moving in the axial direction of the extension rod (“The first driving means 5 and 5 are cylinders 21, 21 and the second drive means include a cylinder 22. Then, the cylinders 21 and 21 are connected to the first mold 1, and when the cylinders 21 and 21 are at the forward position as shown in FIG. 1, the inner cylinder portion 4 is housed in the through hole 3, As shown in FIG. 3, when the cylinders 21 and 21 are in the retracted position, the tip of the blow pin 4 projects from the through hole 3 toward the inside of the mold”- see pg. 4 and “the molded product, the cylinder 2, 2 is moved backward and the cylinders 21 and 21 are moved forward to bring the blow-in pin 4 into the state shown in FIG. 1, then the mold is opened and the molded product is taken out”- see pg. 8).
Regarding claim 5, Hasegawa teaches the extension rod sliding mechanism according to claim 1, wherein the guide member is a columnar member (cylinders 21 ; Figure 1) of which both ends are fixed (see annotated Figure 1 in the rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 6, Hasegawa teaches the extension rod sliding mechanism according to claim 5, wherein the both ends of the guide member are fixed using a bolt (see annotated Figure 1 in the rejection of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 12, Hasegawa teaches an intermediate mold (Figure 1) comprising:
an extension rod sliding mechanism (see rejection of claim 1 above),
wherein the extension rod sliding mechanism includes an extension rod (blowing pin4; Figure 1 and Figure 2) that outputs a fluid (“An inner cylinder 9 for sending a spiral flow gas accompanied by a mist-like refrigerant from the mixing head 8 to the injection nozzle 7 and a tip 13 attached to the tip of the inner cylinder are provided”- see pg. 3), which extends an intermediate molding product through blow molding (Abstract: To provide a blow pin performing the jetting of at least one of gas and a cooling medium for shaping and cooling a parison and the discharge of the gas or cooling medium by one pin in the hollow molding of a synthetic resin and capable of performing the discharge of the gas or cooling medium simultaneously with cooling), from a tip part (tip 13; Figure 2),
an extension plate that is joined to the extension rod (see plate in annotated Figure 1 in the rejection of claim 1 above) and that moves in an axial direction of the extension rod (see annotated plate moving axially in direction of extension rod in Figure 1 in the rejection of claim 1 above and Figure 2),
a blow core portion (first mold 1; Figure 1) in which a through-hole (through hole; Figure 1) for guiding the extension rod that moves in the axial direction with a movement of the extension plate is formed (“the hollow molding blow pin 4 inserted into the through hole 3 formed in the first mold 1, and the first driving means 5 and 5 for driving the divided mold 2 forward and backward. And a second drive means 6 for driving the inner cylinder part forward and backward”- see pg. 3 and “Then, the cylinders 21 and 21 are connected to the first mold 1, and when the cylinders 21 and 21 are at the forward position as shown in FIG. 1, the inner cylinder portion 4 is housed in the through hole 3, As shown in FIG. 3, when the cylinders 21 and 21 are in the retracted position, the tip of the blow pin 4 projects from the through hole 3 toward the inside of the mold”- see pg. 4); and
a guide member (cylinders 21; Figure 1) that penetrates the extension plate in the axial direction of the extension rod (see annotated Figure 1 in the rejection of claim 1 above) and that guides the extension plate moving in the axial direction of the extension rod (“The first driving means 5 and 5 are cylinders 21, 21 and the second drive means include a cylinder 22. Then, the cylinders 21 and 21 are connected to the first mold 1, and when the cylinders 21 and 21 are at the forward position as shown in FIG. 1, the inner cylinder portion 4 is housed in the through hole 3, As shown in FIG. 3, when the cylinders 21 and 21 are in the retracted position, the tip of the blow pin 4 projects from the through hole 3 toward the inside of the mold”- see pg. 4 and “the molded product, the cylinder 2, 2 is moved backward and the cylinders 21 and 21 are moved forward to bring the blow-in pin 4 into the state shown in FIG. 1, then the mold is opened and the molded product is taken out”- see pg. 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (US20040219254), and further in view of Burns et al. (US8523557).
Regarding claim 2, Kobayashi teaches the extension rod sliding mechanism according to claim 1. While Kobayashi teaches the extension rod is configured to output high-pressure air for extending a preform through the blow molding from the tip part ([0032] Simultaneously, the blow air is forced into the preform from an air circuit, which is not shown, of the blow core member 8 so that the preform is molded to a hollow vessel like a bottle by the stretch blow molding process), Kobayashi fails to teach wherein the extension rod is a metal member.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to blow molding, Burns teaches the extension rod is a metal member. Metals or metal alloys such as stainless steel, are durable materials that render the need suitable for its intended use of blow molding (col 5 line 57-61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the extension rod of Kobayashi be a metal member, as taught by Burns, since metals are durable materials that render the need suitable for its intended use of blow molding.
Claim(s) 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobayashi (US20040219254) and Burns et al. (US8523557), and further in view of Richter (US20140013568).
Regarding claim 3, Kobayashi modified with Burns teaches the extension rod sliding mechanism according to claim 2.
Further, Kobayashi teaches wherein the extension plate is installed to be movable in an opening and closing direction, which is the axial direction of the extension rod ([0023] The tie rods 11,11 are inserted through the set plate 13 of the stretch rods 12 vertically movable and [0024] The blow-core member 8 is set downwardly under the holding member 9 by the joint plate 9a. The stretch rods 12 are set downwardly under the set plate 13 by the joint plate 13a), inside a blow core frame (plurality of pillars 5; Figure 1 and Figure 3).
However, Kobayashi fails to teach wherein the extension plate is a metal plate.
In the same field of endeavor pertaining to blow molding, Richter teaches a blow molding machine with locking devices that include metal plates whose movement is guided by rails ([0036] Each of the locking devices 54, 56 includes a metal plate 62, 64, whose movement is guided by means of at least one guide rail not shown). Metal are durable materials that render the need suitable for its intended use of blow molding, particularly withstanding high pressures when locking molds for the blow molding process.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the extension plate of Kobayashi modified with Burns be a metal plate, as taught by Richter, since metals are durable materials that render the need suitable for its intended use of blow molding, including withstanding high pressures when locking molds for the blow molding process.
Regarding claim 4, Kobayashi modified with Burns and Richter teaches the extension rod sliding mechanism according to claim 3.
Further, Kobayashi teaches wherein an end portion of the extension rod on an opposite side to the tip part is joined to the extension plate ([0024] The blow-core member 8 is set downwardly under the holding member 9 by the joint plate 9a. The stretch rods 12 are set downwardly under the set plate 13 by the joint plate 13a; see Figure 1 where set plate 13 is connected to end of stretch rods 12 by joint plat 13a).
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa et al. (JPH09216277A- Machine translation provided herein)
Regarding claim 7, Hasegawa teaches the extension rod sliding mechanism according to claim 5.
Hasegawa teaches wherein the both ends of the guide member are fixed, but fails to teach the ends of the guide member are fixed through welding. However, Hasegawa does teach other components in the extension rod sliding mechanism are fixed through welding (“One end of the inner cylinder 9 is inserted into the connection hole 34, and one end of the inner cylinder 9 is fixed to the connection hole 34 by brazing, welding or the like”- see pg. 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have both ends of the guide member of Hasegawa fixed through welding, to achieve the predictable result of fixing the guide member ends. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success, since Hasegawa teaches the guide member ends are fixed through a bolt, and Hasegawa further teaches a different component of the extension rod sliding mechanism is fixed through welding, such that one of ordinary skill would look to welding as an alternative to a bolt to render the fixing suitable for its intended use of blow molding, particularly for withstanding high pressures.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The closest prior art is: Miyazawa (US5129815) and Hasegawa et al. (JPH09216277A- Machine translation provided herein).
Regarding claim 8, Miyazawa, and Hasegawa teach the extension rod sliding mechanism according to claim 1.
Further, Miyazawa and Hasegawa teach wherein a first gap determined in advance is formed between the extension rod and the blow core portion in the through-hole (see annotated Figure 2B below of Miyazawa.
However, Miyazawa and Hasegawa fails to teach in a portion where the guide member penetrates the extension plate, a second gap determined in advance is formed between the guide member and the extension plate, and in a joining portion between the extension rod and the extension plate, a third gap that is a play is formed. Rather, no second gap appears or is suggested between the guide member and the extension plate and in a joining portion between the extension rod and the extension plate in Miyazawa and Hasegawa.
Claims 9-11 depend from claim 8 and are, therefore, allowed.
Conclusion
/ARIELLA MACHNESS/Examiner, Art Unit 1743