DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
This action is in response to applicant’s filing on 11/4/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending and considered below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent Number 11,564,761. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Comparing claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent Number 11,564,761 to claims 1-13 of the instant application:
“A robotic surgical system comprising: a surgical tool; a manipulator configured to support the surgical tool, the manipulator comprising a plurality of links; a force/torque sensor to measure forces and torques applied to the surgical tool; and a control system configured to:” of U.S. Patent Number 11,564,761 is the same as “A robotic surgical system comprising: a surgical tool; a manipulator configured to support the surgical tool, the manipulator comprising a plurality of links; a force/torque sensor to measure forces and torques applied to the surgical tool; and a control system configured to:” of the instant application;
“obtain a milling path for the surgical tool wherein the milling path is three-dimensional and predetermined” of U.S. Patent Number 11,564,761 is equivalent to “obtain a virtual boundary for the surgical tool, the virtual boundary being a virtual tube that is three-dimensional and elongated to predefine a tool path for the surgical tool” of the instant application;
“define virtual constraints to constrain movement of the surgical tool to be along the milling path, wherein the virtual constraints are defined with respect to two degrees of freedom each being normal to the milling path, and wherein movement of the surgical tool with respect to one degree of freedom tangential to the milling path is unconstrained by the virtual constraints” of U.S. Patent Number 11,564,761 is equivalent to “define virtual constraints on movement of the surgical tool inside the virtual tube, the virtual constraints being defined to constrain movement of the surgical tool to be along the tool path defined by the virtual tube” of the instant application;
“receive an input from the force/torque sensor in response to user forces and torques manually applied to the surgical tool by a user” of U.S. Patent Number 11,564,761 is the same as “receive an input from the force/torque sensor in response to user forces and torques manually applied to the surgical tool by a user” of the instant application;
“simulate dynamics of the surgical tool in a virtual simulation based on the virtual constraints and the input from the force/torque sensor” of U.S. Patent Number 11,564,761 is the same as “simulate dynamics of the surgical tool in a virtual simulation based on the virtual constraints and the input from the force/torque sensor” of the instant application; and
“command the manipulator to advance the surgical tool along the milling path based on the virtual simulation” of U.S. Patent Number 11,564,761 is equivalent to “command the manipulator to advance the surgical tool along the tool path based on the virtual simulation” of the instant application.
Comparing claims 16-30 of U.S. Patent Number 11,564,761 to claims 14-18 of the instant application:
“A method for operating a robotic surgical system, the robotic surgical system comprising a surgical tool, a manipulator configured to support the surgical tool, and a force/torque sensor to measure forces and torques applied to the surgical tool, the method comprising the steps of:” of U.S. Patent Number 11,564,761 is equivalent to “A method for operating a robotic surgical system, the robotic surgical system comprising a surgical tool, a manipulator configured to support the surgical tool, a force/torque sensor to measure forces and torques applied to the surgical tool, and a control system, the method comprising the control system performing the steps of:” of the instant application;
“obtaining a milling path for the surgical tool wherein the milling path is three-dimensional and predetermined” of U.S. Patent Number 11,564,761 is equivalent to “obtaining a virtual boundary for the surgical tool, the virtual boundary being a virtual tube that is three-dimensional and elongated to predefine a tool path for the surgical tool” of the instant application;
“defining virtual constraints to constrain movement of the surgical tool to be along the milling path, wherein the virtual constraints are defined with respect to two degrees of freedom each being normal to the milling path, and wherein movement of the surgical tool with respect to one degree of freedom tangential to the milling path is unconstrained by the virtual constraints” of U.S. Patent Number 11,564,761 is equivalent to “defining virtual constraints on movement of the surgical tool inside the virtual tube, the virtual constraints being defined to constrain movement of the surgical tool to be along the tool path defined by the virtual tube” of the instant application;
“receiving input from the force/torque sensor in response to user forces and torques manually applied to the surgical tool by a user” of U.S. Patent Number 11,564,761 is equivalent to “receiving an input from the force/torque sensor in response to user forces and torques manually applied to the surgical tool by a user” of the instant application;
“simulating dynamics of the surgical tool in a virtual simulation based on the virtual constraints and the input from the force/torque sensor” of U.S. Patent Number 11,564,761 is the same as “simulating dynamics of the surgical tool in a virtual simulation based on the virtual constraints and the input from the force/torque sensor” of the instant application; and
“commanding the manipulator to advance the surgical tool along the milling path based on the virtual simulation” of U.S. Patent Number 11,564,761 is equivalent to “commanding the manipulator for advancing the surgical tool along the tool path based on the virtual simulation” of the instant application.
Comparing claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent Number 11,564,761 to claims 19-20 of the instant application:
“A robotic surgical system comprising: a surgical tool; a manipulator configured to support the surgical tool, the manipulator comprising a plurality of links; a force/torque sensor to measure forces and torques applied to the surgical tool; and a control system configured to:” of U.S. Patent Number 11,564,761 is the same as “A robotic surgical system comprising: a surgical tool; a manipulator configured to support the surgical tool, the manipulator comprising a plurality of links; a force/torque sensor to measure forces and torques applied to the surgical tool; and a control system configured to:” of the instant application;
“obtain a milling path for the surgical tool wherein the milling path is three-dimensional and predetermined” of U.S. Patent Number 11,564,761 is equivalent to “obtain a virtual boundary for the surgical tool, the virtual boundary being a virtual tube path that is predefined, three-dimensional and elongated” of the instant application;
“define virtual constraints to constrain movement of the surgical tool to be along the milling path, wherein the virtual constraints are defined with respect to two degrees of freedom each being normal to the milling path, and wherein movement of the surgical tool with respect to one degree of freedom tangential to the milling path is unconstrained by the virtual constraints” of U.S. Patent Number 11,564,761 is equivalent to “define virtual constraints on movement of the surgical tool inside the virtual tube path, the virtual constraints being defined to constrain the surgical tool to within the virtual tube path” of the instant application;
“receive an input from the force/torque sensor in response to user forces and torques manually applied to the surgical tool by a user” of U.S. Patent Number 11,564,761 is the same as “receive an input from the force/torque sensor in response to user forces and torques manually applied to the surgical tool by a user” of the instant application;
“simulate dynamics of the surgical tool in a virtual simulation based on the virtual constraints and the input from the force/torque sensor” of U.S. Patent Number 11,564,761 is the same as “simulate dynamics of the surgical tool in a virtual simulation based on the virtual constraints and the input from the force/torque sensor” of the instant application; and
“command the manipulator to advance the surgical tool along the milling path based on the virtual simulation” of U.S. Patent Number 11,564,761 is equivalent to “command the manipulator to advance the surgical tool along the virtual tube path based on the virtual simulation” of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9-12, 14, 16-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bowling et al. (US-2015/0289941-A1, hereinafter Bowling).
Regarding claim 1, Bowling discloses:
a surgical tool (paragraph [0062] and FIG. 1, manipulator-50, end effector-110, and surgical instrument-160);
a manipulator configured to support the surgical tool, the manipulator comprising a plurality of links (paragraphs [0067-0071] and FIG. 4, shoulders-67,69, arms-68,70, links-74,76,78,80, and coupler-88);
a force/torque sensor to measure forces and torques applied to the surgical tool (paragraph [0086] and FIG. 13D, force torque sensor-108);
a control system configured to: (paragraphs [0087], [0093] and [0109]; and FIG. 11, manipulator controller-124, joint motor controllers-126, tool controller-132, and navigation processor-218);
obtain a virtual boundary for the surgical tool (paragraphs [0175-0190] and FIG. 17, path segments-297,310, and target position-302);
the virtual boundary being a virtual tube that is three-dimensional and elongated to predefine a tool path for the surgical tool (paragraphs [0132] and [0262-0269]; and FIG. 21A, TRANSFORM EAPP POSE AND VELOCITY FROM INTGTR TO CRD.SYS.BONE-482, ALL BOUNDARY TILES OUTSIDE OF DEFINED DISTANCE? - 486, OUTPUT COMMANDED POSE AND COMMANDED VELOCITY-488, and BOUNDING VOLUME INTERSECTS BOUNDARY TILE? - 492);
define virtual constraints on movement of the surgical tool inside the virtual tube, the virtual constraints being defined to constrain movement of the surgical tool to be along the tool path defined by the virtual tube (paragraphs [0212-0217] and FIG. 16D, force torque sensor-108, energy applicator force calculator-358, force transformer-362, tool orientation force regulator-368, and force overrider-375);
receive an input from the force/torque sensor in response to user forces and torques manually applied to the surgical tool by a user (paragraphs [0212-0217]);
simulate dynamics of the surgical tool in a virtual simulation based on the virtual constraints and the input from the force/torque sensor (paragraphs [0216-0217]); and
command the manipulator to advance the surgical tool along the tool path based on the virtual simulation (paragraphs [0216-0217]).
Regarding claim 2, Bowling further discloses:
wherein the virtual tube is defined by a triangle mesh surface having a plurality of mesh triangles (paragraph [0127] and FIG. 15A, bone-202, and surface-242).
Regarding claim 3, Bowling further discloses:
wherein the control system is configured to intraoperatively generate the triangle mesh surface for the virtual tube (paragraphs [0121-0128] and FIG. 13A, boundary generator-232, and tool path generator-234).
Regarding claim 5, Bowling further discloses:
wherein: the control system is configured to define the virtual constraints with respect to a surface of the virtual tube to maintain the surgical tool within the virtual tube and on the tool path (paragraphs [0227] and [0384-0385]; and FIG. 13B, cut guide-390); and
movement of the surgical tool with respect to one degree of freedom defined along a length of the virtual tube is unconstrained by the virtual constraints to enable the surgical tool to freely move along the length of the virtual tube based on input from the force/torque sensor (paragraphs [0227] and [0384-0385]).
Regarding claim 7, Bowling further discloses:
wherein the virtual tube comprises: an entrance at a first end of the virtual tube to enable the surgical tool to enter the virtual tube, and an exit at an opposing second end of the virtual tube to enable the surgical tool to escape the virtual tube (paragraphs [0132] and [0170-0171]; and FIG. 15C, tool path-248, segments-256,262,266, and points-258,260,264,268).
Regarding claim 9, Bowling further discloses:
wherein the virtual tube is three-dimensionally curved and the tool path is three-dimensionally curved (paragraphs [0132-0133], [0156-0157], [0170-0171] and [0177-0180]; FIG. 15C, tool path-248, segments-256,262,266, and points-258,260,264,268; and FIG. 16B, curvature calculator-291).
Regarding claim 10, Bowling further discloses:
wherein the virtual tube is helically shaped (paragraph [0497]).
Regarding claim 11, Bowling further discloses:
wherein the virtual tube predefines the tool path relative to a tissue to guide movement of the surgical tool to remove material from the tissue (paragraphs [0127-0128] and FIG. 15A, bone-202, and surface-242).
Regarding claim 12, Bowling further discloses:
wherein the virtual tube predefines the tool path to guide movement of the surgical tool from a first location to a second location (paragraphs [0132] and [0170-0171]; and FIG. 15C, tool path-248, segments-256,262,266, and points-258,260,264,268).
Regarding claim 14, Bowling further discloses:
A method for operating a robotic surgical system, the robotic surgical system comprising a surgical tool (paragraph [0062] and FIG. 1, manipulator-50, end effector-110, and surgical instrument-160);
a manipulator configured to support the surgical tool (paragraphs [0067-0071] and FIG. 4, shoulders-67,69, arms-68,70, links-74,76,78,80, and coupler-88);
a force/torque sensor to measure forces and torques applied to the surgical tool (paragraph [0086] and FIG. 13D, force torque sensor-108);
a control system, the method comprising the control system performing the steps of: (paragraphs [0087], [0093] and [0109]; and FIG. 11, manipulator controller-124, joint motor controllers-126, tool controller-132, and navigation processor-218);
obtaining a virtual boundary for the surgical tool (paragraphs [0175-0190] and FIG. 17, path segments-297,310, and target position-302);
the virtual boundary being a virtual tube that is three-dimensional and elongated to predefine a tool path for the surgical tool (paragraphs [0132] and [0262-0269]; and FIG. 21A, TRANSFORM EAPP POSE AND VELOCITY FROM INTGTR TO CRD.SYS.BONE-482, ALL BOUNDARY TILES OUTSIDE OF DEFINED DISTANCE? - 486, OUTPUT COMMANDED POSE AND COMMANDED VELOCITY-488, and BOUNDING VOLUME INTERSECTS BOUNDARY TILE? - 492);
defining virtual constraints on movement of the surgical tool inside the virtual tube, the virtual constraints being defined to constrain movement of the surgical tool to be along the tool path defined by the virtual tube (paragraphs [0212-0217] and FIG. 16D, force torque sensor-108, energy applicator force calculator-358, force transformer-362, tool orientation force regulator-368, and force overrider-375);
receiving an input from the force/torque sensor in response to user forces and torques manually applied to the surgical tool by a user (paragraphs [0212-0217]);
simulating dynamics of the surgical tool in a virtual simulation based on the virtual constraints and the input from the force/torque sensor (paragraphs [0216-0217]); and
commanding the manipulator for advancing the surgical tool along the tool path based on the virtual simulation (paragraphs [0216-0217]).
Regarding claim 16, Bowling further discloses:
comprising the control system: defining the virtual constraints with respect to a surface of the virtual tube for maintaining the surgical tool within the virtual tube and on the tool path (paragraphs [0227] and [0384-0385]; and FIG. 13B, cut guide-390).
Regarding claim 17, Bowling further discloses:
comprising the control system: unconstraining movement of the surgical tool with respect to one degree of freedom defined along a length of the virtual tube for enabling the surgical tool to freely move along the length of the virtual tube based on input from the force/torque sensor (paragraphs [0227] and [0384-0385]).
Regarding claim 19, Bowling further discloses:
a surgical tool (paragraph [0062] and FIG. 1, manipulator-50, end effector-110, and surgical instrument-160);
a manipulator configured to support the surgical tool, the manipulator comprising a plurality of links (paragraphs [0067-0071] and FIG. 4, shoulders-67,69, arms-68,70, links-74,76,78,80, and coupler-88);
a force/torque sensor to measure forces and torques applied to the surgical tool (paragraph [0086] and FIG. 13D, force torque sensor-108);
a control system configured to: (paragraphs [0087], [0093] and [0109]; and FIG. 11, manipulator controller-124, joint motor controllers-126, tool controller-132, and navigation processor-218);
obtain a virtual boundary for the surgical tool (paragraphs [0175-0190] and FIG. 17, path segments-297,310, and target position-302);
the virtual boundary being a virtual tube path that is predefined, three-dimensional and elongated (paragraphs [0132] and [0262-0269]; and FIG. 21A, TRANSFORM EAPP POSE AND VELOCITY FROM INTGTR TO CRD.SYS.BONE-482, ALL BOUNDARY TILES OUTSIDE OF DEFINED DISTANCE? - 486, OUTPUT COMMANDED POSE AND COMMANDED VELOCITY-488, and BOUNDING VOLUME INTERSECTS BOUNDARY TILE? - 492);
define virtual constraints on movement of the surgical tool inside the virtual tube path, the virtual constraints being defined to constrain the surgical tool to within the virtual tube path (paragraphs [0212-0217] and FIG. 16D, force torque sensor-108, energy applicator force calculator-358, force transformer-362, tool orientation force regulator-368, and force overrider-375);
receive an input from the force/torque sensor in response to user forces and torques manually applied to the surgical tool by a user (paragraphs [0212-0217]);
simulate dynamics of the surgical tool in a virtual simulation based on the virtual constraints and the input from the force/torque sensor (paragraphs [0216-0217]); and
command the manipulator to advance the surgical tool along the virtual tube path based on the virtual simulation (paragraphs [0216-0217]).
Regarding claim 20, Bowling further discloses:
wherein: the control system is configured to define the virtual constraints with respect to a surface of the virtual tube path to maintain the surgical tool within the virtual tube path (paragraphs [0227] and [0384-0385]; and FIG. 13B, cut guide-390); and
movement of the surgical tool with respect to one degree of freedom defined along a length of the virtual tube path is unconstrained by the virtual constraints to enable the surgical tool to freely move along the length of the virtual tube path based on input from the force/torque sensor (paragraphs [0227] and [0384-0385]).
Conclusion
TAMARA L. WEBER
Examiner
Art Unit 3667
/TAMARA L WEBER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3667